4.5 star rating: Recommended 1412 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Siena and San Gimignano Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 1412 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a realy good tour with free time in both locations, the guide in Siena was especially good probably because see was born there and she explained all about the Palio, the famous bare backed horse race that happenes twice a year around the piazza. The trip to San Gimignano a truly beautiful hill top ancient village was just like stepping back in time, would strongly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip was amazing, we got to see parts of Siena we would never have found if we had visited by ourselves. The guide around Siena was absolutely brilliant, friendly and informative and the recommended lunch was great value for money and really quick service leaving us more free time to explore.
San Gimigano was beautiful, I just wish we'd had longer there to really soak up the atmosphere. I'd love to go back.
We drove through some beautiful tuscan countryside.
The only downside to the trip was the bus tour guide (I think she was called Clara), we were delayed in Siena when two people didn't arrive at the meeting place, but in the end everyone decided that Clara had miscounted as none of us could see that anyone was missing. But from that moment on she was in an absolutely foul mood. When we reached San Gimigano she told an elderly couple they wouldn't be able to go into town and to stop in a cafe at the bus park but they would have managed it fine as long as they'd taken their time. She also told us we didn't have time to use the bus parks toilets and that there were free ones in the museum we were going to-this was a complete lie the museum had no toilets and the public toilets near it were out of order. The museum tour was really strange as we spent five minutes looking at model of San Gimigano and then had a glass of wine and left, it wasn't a wine tasting and there was no craft demonstration, I don't know if this was just because we had turned up late. It seemed a shame as the staff at the museum seemed really nice.
Don't let the above put you off though as tour guide aside it was an really amazing trip and great fun, it was well worth doing, just fingers crossed you don't get our tour guide. I've never been on a tour where the guide gets no tips at the end of it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent day trip I wish we had more time in San Gimignano over all great guides and tours

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a don't miss tour. Both of these towns are wonderful. The history that our guide gave us really made us realize the importance of the areas. San Gimigano has two of the best gelato stores in Italy. Don't miss them. We brought back some really wonderful pictures that will be treasured. The local guide in Siena was also wonderful. She really gave us the taste of the history of the town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Sienna is a wonderful place to visit, we were lucky to visit on the patron saints day when representatives of all the Sienna districts paraded through the city to the church in all their medieval splendour. Again e were blessed with a knowledgeable guide giving a full and interesting insight into the history and traditions of Sienna. Plenty of free time to explore this lovely place. Then on to San Gimignano the hilltop town of the 14 towers. A little gem nestled atop the hills with great views of the Tuscan countryside. Like Sienna lots of little boutiques and restaurants.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Loved this day trip. San Gimigano is fantastic, would have loved more time here. But aside from that, the tour guide was helpful, bus was comfortable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

An excellent guided tour of Siena which explained the origins of the Pallio horse race and ened at the Campo. Although tired by late afternoon, San Gimignano was well worth the visit. Plenty of free time i both places.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved Siena. We actually skipped the afternoon tour. The guide in Siena was fabulous - fell in love with the place. Again, this place deserves more than a morning tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A great day out. The tour guides on the coach, in Siena and San Gimignano were all very informative and helpfull - even down to recommendations on what to eat for lunch.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour. Knowledgeable and friendly guides. Could have done with a bit more free time in Siena and San Gimangino but that is the nature of a day tour. No complaints and recommended.

Urs G
Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Optimally organized tour, with interesting activities in the two towns. However, the program in Siena is not exactly what a first time visitor would like to see. Most would like to have a guided tour in the cathedral and to see the Piccolomini library. However it was very enjoyable and surprising for me, who has been in Siena at least 10 times before. I never had access to a contrada museum before.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour really enjoyed the day however not for the faint hearted as a great deal of steps and steep walking in parts

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We would have enjoyed a bit more time in San Gimignano, but all in all it was a great day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Loved the tour - especially the guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a great day loved Siena the sjghts are amazing and lunch yummy too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

terrific tour well planned easy to find meeting point. staff very friendly and helpful. the day out was very enjoyable--the highlight of our Florence citybreak

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I only did the Siena tour as it was way too strenuous for me to do another. This tour requires you be in excellent steep walking ability (think San Francisco upward hills), which I do not have. However, the tour itself was just excellent! I got so much out of it, and our tour guides were just great and loaded with good information. I totally enjoyed the Siena tour--even if I had a really hard time with the walking.
The tour guide for our bus was so sweet that, when I sat at the bus stop in San Gimignano while the others did the tour, she even brought me a coffee and wouldn't let me pay her for it. So kind!
This is an excellent tour if you are in shape, but I am getting over some back problems where I had to sit alot for 2 years and just was too hard for me. But it is a fantastic tour.
Siena is beautiful, so interesting and built so strange on one hill after another high up in elevation. So worth your time!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My daughter and I had a wonderful time on the tour. Our guide was very informative and we enjoyed learning about the Contradas in Siena very much. Each stop was fun and we had the right amount of free time to explore. I also enjoyed the wine tasting- and after the trip, more wine tasting and olive oil too! The truffle oil was delicious! It was a long day, but a very good one.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very interesting and enjoyable day in two different places. There was a lot of walking over steps and hills, and a lovely lunch available (not included) in Siena. Enough time to wander around the streets of both places, although the visit to the Duomo in Siena was a bit rushed. Highly recommended addition to any Tuscan experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Mu husband and I had a lovely time on this tour. Our tour director Deborah was knowledgeable and very nice. We enjoyed both cities particularly Sienna where we learned about the Paleo. Thanks Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We really enjoyed this tour. Guide in Siena, Paulo, was very good.On return from San Gimignano we lost our was to the coach but the guide found us and got us safely back to Florence.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an excellent tour. Each of the tour guides was knowledgeable about the history and current events of Firenze, Siena and San Gimangano. It was very good to have the free time at lunch. We enjoyed this tour immensely.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was absolutely amazing. Our tour guide was fantastic! Very knowledgeable and showed us interesting things in the cities. The wine tasting was fantastic also!
Would highly recommend to friends and family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very well handled and above average tour guide

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Breathtaking!!! Two cities with so much history and beauty. We would go back to see it again if given the chance. Our guide in Sienna was Chiara. Chiara was full of wisdom, animated and entertaining, she described Sienna with such passion that would want you to learn more about this little city.
Victor was our guide in San Gimignano, he was more on the serious side and also very knowledgeable.
Our bus guide William that took us to these two cities was a pure delight, we enjoyed his humor. Thank you,,,

From USD $ 62.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 24283GROUP

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message