4.5 star rating: Recommended 44 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Siena and San Gimignano Small Group Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 44 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Mauro our driver was very friendly and answered all our questions. Perhaps I had not read the details but I had expected more of a guided trip - the driver would tell us a little about the three places we were visiting on the way there, but then left us at the town gates to see the town on our own.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This tour gave us a good surround of Toscany from Florence. The minivan was clean and comfortable. Our guide, Marcello, was pleasent, talked a lot on the road and gave us several informations about the 3 towns visited and the Toscany. We had enough times in each town to see the major buildings of each one. This tour is recommended if you want to see a good part of Toscany, but without a concentration on only one city (you will not have time to visit everything in Sienna our in San Gimignano, but enough for one or two important buildings).

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

We enjoyed this day. There were five in the group and the tour guide was helpful. We left early in the morning and the towns were not too crowded. I had time to buy boots!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Really enjoyed the trip. Excellent guided drive and good time to yourself in each location.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We loved seeing both Siena and San Gimignano. The small group tour was definitely a plus since there were two families of 3 (total of 6) that made it much easier to concentrate on what was of most interest to us without dealing with a large crowd. The only thing that keeps this from being a 5 is that our tour guide, while charming and witty, seemed disengaged from that group at times. But he was very patient and flexible in allowing us to spend more time in one place and less in another. Shopping is great in both places and better prices than Florence! This is a great way to get a feeling for Tuscany.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Depending on what you are after, this tour may or may not be for you, but it suited us great. It's a small group and there ended up only being four of us.

Our tour guide wasn't really a tour guide, more of a glorified chauffeur. He wasn't able to give us specific information on each town but provided us with information about the regions and what products they specialized in. He also made sure to come into each town with us and show us where we could get more information and get us the appropriate information booklets. After he did that, he would leave us to explore the town and do what we wanted on our own time, which we liked as each person wanted to do their own thing. He was really friendly and chatty and we enjoyed his company as he told us entertaining stories which made the drive shorter.

He was very flexible - some groups usually agree to spend more time in Siena and San Gimignano and pass on Monterogionni. We chose to have a shorter time in all three to which he happily obliged.

While I didn't really notice, my husband thought his driving was a little alarming, however, observing other cars we believe it might be the norm in Italy!

On the whole, had a great time!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

Great tour, thoroughly recommend.

Rodger M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Good tour however it was raining on the day and very difficult to see much of what was on offer.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

A most enjoyable tour, with beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside, especially from San Gimignano, which in itself was a stunning place to visit. Would have preferred to find our own lunch venue in Siena, but the food at the restaurant we were taken to was good and reasonably priced. Would recommend this tour to friends.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

It was cancelled because there were only two of us. We agreed to provide a car and "guide"/driver for an additional 200 euros, which made it a very expensive but very enjoyable day. Ewen the "guide"/driver was very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Very good guide, accommodating and knowledgeable. Interesting visit to both locales, with free time to enjoy the sights. Comfortable van, dropped us off at our hotel.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

Great trip with a fantastic guide. Personally, I would of liked to have more time in San Gimignano but overall was very happy.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Interesting enough, but this tour felt very long. Having said that we did not have enough time in Sienna to really look around. There is quite a lot of driving and the countryside is very beautiful, but maybe Sienna by itself would be a better option.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

This was the last tour of our trip so maybe we were hitting the end of our energy level, but this was not our favorite tour. It was fine and covered Siena and San Gimignano, but compared to our other tours, was a bit lack luster. Still the drive through the Italian country side was worth it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

Our trip to Siena and San Gimignano was wonderful. The scenery and company was wonderful. The small group experience is certainly much more pleasant than a large coach tour. However in the description we were led to believe that we would have a walking tour/guide. This was not the case. When we advised the driver of this he informed us that this was not the case and then he proceeded to give us some information which he had previously not been forthcoming with. Additionally our driver was keen for us to have a lunch at a winery which we all agreed to, whilst the lunch was lovely it would have been better looking out over the countryside rather than in a cellar. We were not informed u til getting on the bus that this was an additional 30 euros each. As I stated at the outset we had a great day, but did not feel that we got what we had paid for.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Enjoyed the sites but I did not enjoy the ride in the van. Van is too small for 8 passengers and the drive is fairly long.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Tour director spent 30 minutes standing at the Michelangelo pavilion overlooking Florence when 5 minutes should have been sufficient. Then another 20 minutes looking at San Gimignano before arriving. Then only 1 hour in San Gimignano which isn't even nearly enough. Once in Siena, didn't get a guided tour because his parking pass was expired. Left on our own to explore. Frustrating and too much time wasted. Tour guide should have used time more wisely and not wasted 1 precious hour getting to San Gimignano and should have parking credentials to park in Siena. Tour should be 1 -2 hours longer as well to fully enjoy these two amazing cities.

Fezwyck
Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

Over priced for just having a driver take you to San Gimignano and Siena. Would have been better to take train myself. Had to pay own entrance to everything on top of steep "tour" price. Not a tour at all, just a ride in a car. We were supposed to get personalized tour of Siena. Did not happen.
Would never recommend this. Driver was nice but trip was a rip off.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

I can't blame Viator for the rain but as for our guide I did not feel we got what we paid for. Don't get me wrong our driver was polite and very nice but basically when we got to where we were going, it was I will meet you back here in 1/2 hr or 1 hour. The reason we didn't book a large bus is that the guides usually have to deal with 30 people so we paid the extra cost to get a smaller group. Didn't know we had to guide ourselves. Not impressed and will not use Viator again.

From USD $ 128.36

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635DLXSIE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message