4.5 star rating: Recommended 396 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  Standard Tour: 3 hoursUpgrade Tour: 4 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Uffizi Gallery and Vasari Corridor Walking Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 396 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was made wonderful by the brilliant guide, Barbara. She was enthusiastic and informative and really made the paintings and their history come alive. The corridor itself was certainly interesting. I would highly recommend anyone to take this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic tour with excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The guide we had, Mario Gesu, was fantastic. He did an excellent tour explaining the origins of Renaissance art and its development through the early stages to its height. He used samples of art and architecture inside and outside the Uffizzi. The walk through the corridor was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide Eleanora took us through the Piazza Vecchio to the Uffizi where she led us through a very crowded gallery to works of art. My favorites were the Botticelli paintings and the room dedicated to Micelangelo's work. The Medici sculpture room, which we could only look at from the entrance, was another favorite. Our guide was very knowledgable in the arts and you could see and hear her passion for the artists. Next she brought us to a locked door which was the entrance to the Vasari Corridor, a corridor built in the 1500s running from the Palazzo Vecchio, through the Uffizi Gallery, above the Ponte Vecchio across the Arno and ending at the Palazzo Pitti. The door was unlocked and guards (one in front and one in back of our tiny group) escorted us through the corridor filled with self-portraits of artists. Not many get to go through this corridor and we loved that we had the chance to do this. Dan Brown's book Inferno came to life with the Vasari Corridor, the little grey door and the secret side door of the Palazzo Vechhio. Unfortunately, no photos could be taken...even without flash. I would recommend this tour just for the chance to walk the steps of the Medici family through the Vasari Corridor!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent and informative tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Good. Instructor was a bit unconventional. Too much to see in one tour!! The gallery is great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was totally amazing, and the guide was knowledgeable and very impressive. Enjoyed it all.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent. Mario was both knowledgable and enthusiastic, giving a good overview of themes and trends found throughout the collection. The corridor itself is really cool, and even casual art lovers will recognize and appreciate the self-portraits. The point of view you get from the corridor is neat, too, and gives a good glimpse into the life of the Medici.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

VASARI Corridor

After reading Inferno, by Dan Brown and spending much time in Florence, we decided to do Florencetown’s Vasari Tour. Although the cost was 85 Euros it was well worth it for the incredible three hour tour that began in Palazzo Vecchio and ended in the Boboli Gardens. The main factor that made the tour so good was our amazing tour guide, Mario Gesu. Mario’s passion for the arts was contagious as he led us through the Palazzo Vecchio explaining how to identify when the various paintings were created, by which artist and who influenced whom. The entire tour was a class in Medieval, Renaissance, Post Renaissance and Reformation paintings. It was magical and we did not want the tour to end.
Walking through the Vasari Corridor (above the Ponte Vecchio) as the Medici did hundreds of years ago was an exhilarating step back in time. Mario’s descriptions of the self-portraits of famous artists were again splendid. He explained ‘color’ versus ‘drawing’ in such a way that everyone in the group understood and could identify which characteristic was being utilized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This tour was wonderful! Our guide, Eleanora, was amazing - informative, enthususiatic, insightful and charming, too! We saw so many amazing and memorable sights and hear such details about the art, the Medicis, and the mysterious Ito us) Corridor. I would highly recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

If you really, really want to visit the Vasari Corridor - this is the tour I can highly recommend!
The tour included a bit of sightseeing and explanations around the Piazza Signoria - so we were able to understand Florence (and Italy) in historic times.
As well, a brief tour of some of the highlights at the Uffizi (no waiting in line - we entered through a side entrance into the building) was included.
The Vasari Corridor, basically, is another section of an art gallery with very nice paintings of all ages.
However, for me it was just magical to walk in the footsteps of the Medici along the Vasari Corridor while the "common folk" was strolling underneath us in the streets.
We had a knowledgeable guide, and had additional guides in the Vasari Corridor - they were to make sure that no one took pictures in the corridor, but just through the windows to the outside...that was a little strange at first, but understandable.
Sure, everyone expects different things from a vaccation:
The Vasari Corridor was a true highlight for me on our visit to Florence!
I even would do it again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide Eleni made this a GREAT tour. She was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic and it rubbed off on us. Getting to see the corridor was the gem int the jewelry- what a place!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was amazing to be in the Uffizi Gallery only win a a few other people. The tour is really worth it. We were a very small group with a fantastic and very knowledgeable guide, Michele Colloca. I strongly recommend the tour to art lovers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This is a wonderful tour. It was well planned and worth the time. Our guide was a highly informed and charming young lady who was a Florence native. The chance to glance into this part of the Medici family's history is truly unique.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was an excellent tour led by our tour guide, Vanessa. The gallery was a delight, particularly for the precious Piero della Francesca. Her authoritative discussions were most interesting. After reading Dan Brown's Inferno, this was also a dream come true. The corridor is not what you imagine it to be. Most enjoyable were the countless self-portraits by various world-renowned artists. And for Americans, my favorite John Singer Sargent was hung right beside that of William Merritt Chase! Another thrill was walking inside the top part of the Ponte Vecchio bridge; those walking below had no inkling we were right above. Thank you Viator!

From USD $ 107.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5049VASARI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message