5 star rating: Highly Recommended 41 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small Group Chianti Wine Region Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 41 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

The drivers were wonderful and our lunch at the winery was excellent. Highly recommend this trip if you want to see beautiful countryside and see firsthand how wine is made. The winetasting isn't bad, either!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was the best tour we took during our three week European vacation. We were there two days before the harvest of the grapes. The vines were loaded with color. The guide was wonderful. The countryside was beautiful. The ceramics tour was fascinating. The lunch setting was so romantic - sitting under a canopy of vines while overlooking the vineyards. We have been to many wine tours and tastings and this one was the best. The last tour was so personal we ended up buying 12 bottles of wine. Thank you for a day in the country we will never forget!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Fun trip with beautiful scenery, our guide was enthusiastic, informative and fun. The wineries we visited were nice, great wine and the stop at the pottery shop was informative. Our lunch spot was gorgeous and had excellent food and service. A fun day all around.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

One of my favorite tours of all time! It was relaxed, yet packed full with friendly, helpful people and amazing views!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The guide was extremely accommodating and personable. The van was clean, modern and very comfortable. We both loved the stops that we made at the markets, the terra-cotta factory, and the winery. The day went by so quickly.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We had a lovely day on this tour and enjoyed our guide, Lorenzo. He didn't rush us although we got back an hour later than scheduled, but none of us minded and was a wealth of knowledge about the area. We got to see places we'd never know about otherwise -- small towns on the outskirts of Florence. As for the wineries, we enjoyed them, and the settings were lovely, but we weren't overly impressed with the wine. Also, beware that a tasting at these is MUCH larger servings than tastings in the US. Over the course of the day we were each served almost a full bottle of wine - too much for our interest, especially on the curvy roads. But it was a relaxing day in a beautiful setting and a nice way to get away from the city.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was very good. Our driver/guide was very informative, the terra-cotta factory tour was very nice, we went on Saturday so got to go to the city market in Greve which was very nice and the winery visits/tasting were GREAT! The only thing I would recommend would be to add one more winery visit into the tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I woke and was not sure what time my tour was starting because of a cycling tour, I got there on time.

I driver was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I had such great company and conversation. The drive was beautiful, we drank great wine all the way, had a super lunch a little expensive but delicious.

The tour at each wine estate was interesting and we had a great time at both. A must do for anyone going to Tuscany and a day to spare

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful day seeing the castle, palaces with wineries and our sop in the village. My only complaint was how lunch was handled. There was some misunderstanding whether lunch was included in the price and this misunderstanding was further supported when the guide suggested that we have lunch at one of the wineries. We did enjoy a lovely lunch and were quickly brought back to reality when, after dessert, we were told that lunch was an additional 25 euros (some thought it was included in the excursion cost).
This could have been handled differently. At the start of the excursion, the guide should have reviewed what was included and not included in the day and given the group an option of stopping along the way for lunch at a restaurant or going to the winery for lunch for a set cost and letting us know the cost in advance. He could easily have then called the winery on his cell phone with our group decision and adjusted the day's itinerary accordingly.
That was the only negative for the day and unfortunately it left many feeling duped.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Great situation within easy walk of all highlights of Florence. Yet quiet. The small lift was a problem but they are in course of renewing it.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Lovely day with only one other couple and our guide. Beautiful scenery and good wines to taste. Strongly recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2011

We had a great time would go it again.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

I enjoyed this tour and Stefano knew his stuff about the region and was a lot of fun. Even though this tour was pricey, I think we pretty much got our moneys worth. That having been said, I do feel we were tricked into having to buy lunch at the place however lovely that he chose, and for what we got, it was over priced. If we were going to have such a minimal meal, it should have been included in the rather expensive fee.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Had a great time in spite of the rain, Stefano was an excellent guide. We tried a lot of good Chiantis!

Bruce H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

My recent holiday to Italy was more like a flying visit, trying to visit as many places as possible in a very short space of time. I have been before to this area but this was a different tour. Good guide, small group, good day out. I certainly recommended it!

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

It was really nice to get a almost private tour of Chianti... about 8 people were in our group... so very nice! However, I have some issues....we were given 40 minutes of free time in Chianti town center... very boring. You can do the square in about 15 mins and the locals weren't nice to tourists. I would much rather have the tour company work it so we can make a trip to Siena instead. That can EASILY be done. Basically the day starts with you meeting in city center in Florence.. about a 30 min drive to a terracotta builder (which honestly, I could have done without too... this is labeled as a WINE trip!)... the terracotta tour took about 45 mins. Then we head to Chianti, for a 40 min walk around the city (again, this could be left out!). Afterwards you are taken to the first winery of the tour ...finally!! After a tour, we are offered lunch with wine tasting.. NOT INCLUDED IN THE PRICE... very disappointing, if you ask me. While the lunch was beautiful and very tasty and filling, for the amount of money you spent on the tour per person... it needs to be included. Expect to spend 25 Euro per person. Then we go to the second winery of the trip, Casa Emma... the wine is amazing with wonderful views of Tuscany. My only concern here is our tour guide gave us too much time with lunch.. he let us spend almost 2 hours eating, so this rushed our last wine tasting. If you ask me this is the point of a tour guide.. to keep us on a schedule!! It would have been nice to spend more time at the last winery. He also said since "we"--- really?--- spent so much time on lunch, we can't explore another village he had planned. Not cool. Anyway.. if we start the day by just heading straight to Siena, have 1 hour there, then head to our first winery-- timed lunch-- then go to the last winery. Would have be MUCH better. BUT, after all this, I would still recommend this tour because it is a intimate tour of the Chianti wineries.

From USD $ 146.09

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635DLXCHI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message