5 star rating: Highly Recommended 37 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small Group Chianti Wine Region Day Trip from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 37 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Lucca was great! I'm glad we got to see the countryside and learn a little about wine too. I definitely recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This is a most underrated tour--deserves 6 stars! I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was. Our guide Tiberio is fantastic!! Charming, gracious, knowledgeable, fun - a huge asset to the tour and made our day our BEST day in Italy. And the host at Monterinaldi the same - fabulous! We enjoyed some of the best food we had in Italy along with wonderful wines for lunch. Scenery is breathtaking, but the experiences throughout the day made it a day you WISH for when traveling to Italy. Do yourself a favor and sign up for this trip!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This was our second tour out of three with Viator while in Italy. I would recommend any tour that they arrange. Our guide Luca was amazing. We were like herding cats when he stopped to let us explore and always so accommodating. His goal was to assure that our small group had the best experience possible, not getting us back on a schedule. My husband and I were also very fortunate to take this trip with five other folks from a wonderful family. The countryside is gorgeous and Luca made certain he let us have frequent stops for photos. He was amazingly knowledgeable and could answer any of our questions. Thank you Luca for a wonderful experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The smaller group tour was just what the doctor orderded. Loved it and Jonathan was great!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Fabulous day in Chianti country. We had a small group of 8 people who were enthralled by the knowledge and information imparted by our wonderful guide...Lucca. Thank You for a GREAT trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

An outstanding, worthwhile, day trip. Our guide, Tiberio was amazing. He was personable, friendly, and knowledgeable. The Chianti countryside, small towns and the restaurant we visited were absolutely wonderful. My wife and I HIGHLY recommend this tour. You will not be disappointed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

We highly recommend this tour. Our tour guide Simone was great fun and very knowledgeable. It was also a good group of people to share our day with. The grape picking had only just finished days before, so the tour of the wineries was very interesting and informative. The region itself is beautiful to tour through and the stops at the historic little towns were memorable. Even under the grey skies (and rain by the end of the day), the tour was well worth doing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We truly enjoyed our wine country tour. We had booked a full day, but we agreed to take the half-day when they didn't get a full class. The half-day tour was informative, the scenery was awesome, and the winery was impressive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

The drivers were wonderful and our lunch at the winery was excellent. Highly recommend this trip if you want to see beautiful countryside and see firsthand how wine is made. The winetasting isn't bad, either!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

This was the best tour we took during our three week European vacation. We were there two days before the harvest of the grapes. The vines were loaded with color. The guide was wonderful. The countryside was beautiful. The ceramics tour was fascinating. The lunch setting was so romantic - sitting under a canopy of vines while overlooking the vineyards. We have been to many wine tours and tastings and this one was the best. The last tour was so personal we ended up buying 12 bottles of wine. Thank you for a day in the country we will never forget!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

Fun trip with beautiful scenery, our guide was enthusiastic, informative and fun. The wineries we visited were nice, great wine and the stop at the pottery shop was informative. Our lunch spot was gorgeous and had excellent food and service. A fun day all around.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

One of my favorite tours of all time! It was relaxed, yet packed full with friendly, helpful people and amazing views!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

The guide was extremely accommodating and personable. The van was clean, modern and very comfortable. We both loved the stops that we made at the markets, the terra-cotta factory, and the winery. The day went by so quickly.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

I woke and was not sure what time my tour was starting because of a cycling tour, I got there on time.

I driver was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. I had such great company and conversation. The drive was beautiful, we drank great wine all the way, had a super lunch a little expensive but delicious.

The tour at each wine estate was interesting and we had a great time at both. A must do for anyone going to Tuscany and a day to spare

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a wonderful day seeing the castle, palaces with wineries and our sop in the village. My only complaint was how lunch was handled. There was some misunderstanding whether lunch was included in the price and this misunderstanding was further supported when the guide suggested that we have lunch at one of the wineries. We did enjoy a lovely lunch and were quickly brought back to reality when, after dessert, we were told that lunch was an additional 25 euros (some thought it was included in the excursion cost).
This could have been handled differently. At the start of the excursion, the guide should have reviewed what was included and not included in the day and given the group an option of stopping along the way for lunch at a restaurant or going to the winery for lunch for a set cost and letting us know the cost in advance. He could easily have then called the winery on his cell phone with our group decision and adjusted the day's itinerary accordingly.
That was the only negative for the day and unfortunately it left many feeling duped.

From USD $ 168.80

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2635DLXCHI

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message