5 star rating: Highly Recommended 368 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 368 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We got upgraded to the VIP class because the small group was over booked. We had a fabulous time and it is our favorite experience of our trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was entrataining , great staff . Perfectly organized and very much hands on. Will do it again next time I am back .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had booked this tour before leaving for Europe; there weren't many loco king schools to choose from and online reviews sounded ok, so we took the chance and I'm so pleased we did. What a fantastic day we had! We were "upgraded" and had the deluxe cooking school experience with a small group totalling 13. Our professional chef Paul took us for a quick but highly informative tour of the indoor food market, and then we all set off into the Tuscan hills to a wonderful old Villa - we couldn't believe our luck.
Paul taught us to make Tiramisu, two types of pasta and he made different sauces to go with them, along with a delicious salad; all with ingredients bought that morning at the market. This was accompanied by local wines - bellissima!
The combination of our fabulous, enthusiastic and engaged group (all so lovely and friendly); our great Chef Paul (so patient! And a great cook!!); the magnificent setting - they make films about places like this... And the wonderful food and wine, made for one of the most memorable days of our holiday.
If you're thinking about doing something like this, I can only say - do it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although I'm not much of a cook I decided to do this tour to learn to make fresh pasta. Paul was a fantastic guide and teacher. His passion for Italy and Italian food is contagious and I thoroughly enjoyed the day. I look forward to making it again at home. I would highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a fantastic day, food was amazing and the chefs were fantastic - very fun and helpful. Learnt lots and can't wait to whip up an Italian feast when we get back home!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my personal highlight of the trip! The cooks were so knowledgeable, and even an experienced pasta maker like me learned a lot. I recommend it to anyone who loves cooking, or wants to learn.

Victoria B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I'll start by saying that we were lucky enough to have a free upgrade to the VIP cooking class, so my review is really about this experience rather than the standard cooking class. When we arrived we were offered a free upgrade as there were so many people signed up for the cooking class, and I'm so happy we accepted, as this was the highlight of our time in Florence! Our teacher/chef Guiseppe, was brilliant, knowledgeable and great fun - our group (9 adults) started with a tour of the food market, where we tasted focaccia and learnt about Italian cuisine, before a short mini bus ride out into the Chianti countryside. We spent the day at a gorgeous old farmhouse, in a beautiful setting. We started the day with a prosecco toast, bruschetta and Italian treats, prepared by Guiseppe's assistant chef Claudia. We then made individual tiramisu desserts, a meat ragu sauce (and a separate vegetarian sauce for me), fresh handmade pasta in pairs, and finally a caprese salad. We ate our main meal in the beautiful historic dining room - accompanied by numerous bottles of Chianti wine - and enjoyed our dessert in the grounds. We had some additional time to roam and take photographs, before being dropped off back in central Florence. A wonderful experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I loved this class. I really enjoyed the food market with all the fresh food. From the farm to the table. It was a nice change of pace from all the museums. We learned to make fresh pasta!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable day. We were lucky to have good company on the class which made it more fun. The chefs were really interactive with the class. The walk through the markets with a real appreciation for food set the tone for a good day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable day. We were lucky to have good company on the class which made it more fun. The chefs were really interactive with the class. The walk through the markets with a real appreciation for food set the tone for a good day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was so much fun!
We were met by one of our chefs at the given address, walked thru the market to pick up fresh ingredients, then spent the rest of the time in a jolly atmosphere learning to cook 2 simple pasta dishes (Italian food is not complicated, as we were told) and dessert.
All of us really enjoyed it! Thanks to Andrea and Davide - our chefs - for making this one of the highlights of our trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The experience with the chef at the market was wonderful, then off to the farm to prepare the days menu. Pasta with a meat ragu and we made tiramasu, too! Be sure to take a few extra euro to purchase the olive oil and the vinegar. We were also served the best bruschetta and salade of tomatoes and

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organized and lots of fun while learning several traditional Italian dishes. The trip through the market before we got in the kitchen was great and very informative. We are looking forward to making our new recipes now that we are back home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Of all the tours we did throughout Europe, this one was one of the funnest and best. The chefs were funny and personable. They really cared about showing you a great Italian cooking experience. They were very knowledgeable and even patient with the less kitchen-inclined people like me in the group! The market shopping experience would have been nice though. It's closed on Sundays so we couldn't go, but our travel plans were tight, so if you can I would recommend going on a different day to have the full experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing!!! but can i say first off, my wife was recently diagnosed with food alergies and though we were not aware of this at the time of booking this course, our chefs (davide and julio) were truly great and made every effort to make and teach food she could make and eat. We were truly grateful...

I have to say that since learning some of the local foods, we have already started utilising these skills learnt in our everyday cooking. Its a fun day for all, made even more enjoyable with the chefs knowledge and humour.

Would i recommend or do this again i most certainly would, its a chance to try something different and learn the ways of the locals. We are already contemplating there other courses on a return visit!!!

From USD $ 107.22

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5049COOKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message