5 star rating: Highly Recommended 396 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 396 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my personal highlight of the trip! The cooks were so knowledgeable, and even an experienced pasta maker like me learned a lot. I recommend it to anyone who loves cooking, or wants to learn.

Victoria B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I'll start by saying that we were lucky enough to have a free upgrade to the VIP cooking class, so my review is really about this experience rather than the standard cooking class. When we arrived we were offered a free upgrade as there were so many people signed up for the cooking class, and I'm so happy we accepted, as this was the highlight of our time in Florence! Our teacher/chef Guiseppe, was brilliant, knowledgeable and great fun - our group (9 adults) started with a tour of the food market, where we tasted focaccia and learnt about Italian cuisine, before a short mini bus ride out into the Chianti countryside. We spent the day at a gorgeous old farmhouse, in a beautiful setting. We started the day with a prosecco toast, bruschetta and Italian treats, prepared by Guiseppe's assistant chef Claudia. We then made individual tiramisu desserts, a meat ragu sauce (and a separate vegetarian sauce for me), fresh handmade pasta in pairs, and finally a caprese salad. We ate our main meal in the beautiful historic dining room - accompanied by numerous bottles of Chianti wine - and enjoyed our dessert in the grounds. We had some additional time to roam and take photographs, before being dropped off back in central Florence. A wonderful experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I loved this class. I really enjoyed the food market with all the fresh food. From the farm to the table. It was a nice change of pace from all the museums. We learned to make fresh pasta!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable day. We were lucky to have good company on the class which made it more fun. The chefs were really interactive with the class. The walk through the markets with a real appreciation for food set the tone for a good day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was so much fun!
We were met by one of our chefs at the given address, walked thru the market to pick up fresh ingredients, then spent the rest of the time in a jolly atmosphere learning to cook 2 simple pasta dishes (Italian food is not complicated, as we were told) and dessert.
All of us really enjoyed it! Thanks to Andrea and Davide - our chefs - for making this one of the highlights of our trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The experience with the chef at the market was wonderful, then off to the farm to prepare the days menu. Pasta with a meat ragu and we made tiramasu, too! Be sure to take a few extra euro to purchase the olive oil and the vinegar. We were also served the best bruschetta and salade of tomatoes and

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organized and lots of fun while learning several traditional Italian dishes. The trip through the market before we got in the kitchen was great and very informative. We are looking forward to making our new recipes now that we are back home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Of all the tours we did throughout Europe, this one was one of the funnest and best. The chefs were funny and personable. They really cared about showing you a great Italian cooking experience. They were very knowledgeable and even patient with the less kitchen-inclined people like me in the group! The market shopping experience would have been nice though. It's closed on Sundays so we couldn't go, but our travel plans were tight, so if you can I would recommend going on a different day to have the full experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing!!! but can i say first off, my wife was recently diagnosed with food alergies and though we were not aware of this at the time of booking this course, our chefs (davide and julio) were truly great and made every effort to make and teach food she could make and eat. We were truly grateful...

I have to say that since learning some of the local foods, we have already started utilising these skills learnt in our everyday cooking. Its a fun day for all, made even more enjoyable with the chefs knowledge and humour.

Would i recommend or do this again i most certainly would, its a chance to try something different and learn the ways of the locals. We are already contemplating there other courses on a return visit!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Molto Buono! Gulio and David were fantastic, fun and great chefs. This made our trip to Florence so much more meaningful - taking us away from the tourist-flocked museums and streets and giving our family hands-on lesson in how to be a real Italian....cook! I did NOT like tiramisu before this class. The way David showed us to prepare it was such a departure from the American way. And I gladly ate every last bit. The pasta prep led by Gulio was so fun and the end-product tasted amazing. The bolognese sauce, including David's secret ingredient, was one of the best I've ever tasted. Both Gulio and David took time to help my kids (8 and 11 years old) and were so kind. Truly a wonderful experience for our whole family. We can't wait to have a family pasta night at home with the recipes!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My mom and I LOOOOOVED this cooking class. The instructors were not only friendly and informative, but easy to learn from as well. The class was well-organized, super fun and useful! I have already recommended it to many people!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A fifteen person class in an appropriately cozy environment. Personable and fun instructors; both English speaking (one native). Fun and informative for the novice or more experienced cook. Easy to follow recipes that will be used after the trip has ended and you've returned home. A worthwhile afternoon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The best thing we did in Italy during our two week stay was this cooking class. It was also the best food we we tasted. Our chef Giuseppe, was amazing. I highly recommend this class!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a fun tour. It was nice to be able to meet people from other places in the world and our tour guides were fantastic and fun.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Did this with my boyfriend during vacation. Such a cool experience that broke up the typical sightseeing tours we were doing. Varying ages in the class- we are late20/early30s- which made the group dynamic and fun.

Highly recommended. Money spent is well worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great experience, amazing food and excellent teachers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Absolutely the VERY best! Because of the holiday we did not get to go to the market, but the two chefs made up for that with a fun, informative class. We all made a great meal, the food was delicious, and we all laughed a lot! This is a must do in Florence!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fantastic company. Great experience. I booked another class that very night which was also very enjoyable.

John K
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Fabulous. The chefs were great and the food even better. Thoroughly enjoyed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The small group cooking class is a great way to spend a few hours in Florence! Our class was held at a top notch cooking school facility (formerly a restaurant) and our instructor, Giuseppe, was fantastic. We made ravioli, bolognese sauce, and tiramisu, all of which was enjoyed with red wine from the region at the end of class. Fortunately the class let out mid-afternoon so we had some free time left to enjoy more of Florence.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing. Outstanding. Delicious. Should be a must for everyone. Food was great. Lessons easy to follow. The chef was informational yet, entertaining. The visit to the market was marvelous as was the lecture by the market person. Loved the olive oil and vinegar demos.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a must do for everyone!!! Great experience! Great chefs!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We couldn't have been happier with our cooking school experience! From our visit to the market to the making of the pasta, we loved it all. Our teacher was not only helpful and entertaining, but very patient as we learned how to cook and finally enjoy our meal together. We whole heartedly recommend this experience to anyone who wants to learn to cook Italian, and have a wonderful day.

Hugh and Marcia Crane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Italian cooking class tour was exceptional--it unfolded exactly as advertised online. The initial visit to the Florence food market was outstanding. Sonya treated us to hands on demonstration and tasting of the culinary jewels of Italy: pane, olio, balsamico, parmiagiano, vino . . . truly wonderful. Andrea, our chef teacher, was extremely knowledgeable and an excellent teacher. His teaching method was easy to follow, and he made everyone feel special. As advertised we prepared tiramisu, handmade paparadelle and ravioli, bolognese sauce--all from scratch and with our own hands under the skilled eye of Chef Andrea. And then, we got to eat--buonissimo! An overall 5 stars!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The chef was very good and the trip to the market to purchase the food for our meal preparation was a great added touch to the experience. I went alone and met some very nice people from all over the world. Highly recommend this experience.

From USD $ 96.19

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5049COOKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message