Insider's Guide to Florence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 476 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

smanscher

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had lots of fun and great teachers for both classes. Everyone had a great time,

chunghae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The people at this kitchen are fun, informative and very easy to learn from. All of us had a great time -- I'm going to make pizza for my family now!

chunghae

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved this! Our tour guide (Andreea) was fun and informative, and the food we made was really good! I feel really to make pasta from scratch for my family now!

Simon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing, 100% value for money and was great fun and I learnt a lot about wine too. Definitely one to reccomend.

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Definitely an enjoyable night. Virginia taught the wine and olive oil tasting, Julio and Davide the Pizza and gelato portion. They were all very good at what they do! Entertaining and nice and made for a really fun night.
In the description it says that you will meet inside a wine bar for 1 1/2 hours, and that there will be a 1 1/2 hour break in-between. Having to kill the time in-between the classes was a concern when booking but we decided to book the class. This was not the structure of the class at all. We met near Piazza Della Signoria, which was about a 10 minute walk from where we were staying(on Piazza de Duomo). We then had to walk back towards where we were staying beyond the San Lorenzo market( about a 10-15 minute walk) this wasn't the most convenient as we had an 83 year old relative with us. It would have been much easier had we been given the address of our final destination and saved the unnecessary walking.
Once we finally arrived at the school it was a great night. The olive oil /wine tasting ended and segued seamlessly into the pizza gelato making class. There was no 1 1/2 hour break in between (happily) and there was no having to move to another location!
*The description should be changed to better reflect the actuality of the time frame.
*The final destination address should be given to participants to avoid the unnecessary walking, which was considerable. Particularly with an elderly relative in tow.
All things considered I loved the class and would definitely recommend it!

Donna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had such an amazing time in this cooking class - met a lot of great people in the class and the instructors were awesome! Highly recommend you do this on your trip. It was a GREAT b-day present to my husband. We both thoroughly enjoyed the class, the company and the wine that went along with it!

Lynda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I highly recommend it. I was attending on my own and was a little apprehensive that I was not going to have a cooking partner etc but that was not the case. The class was in English, the visit to the market was great. We each made 2 types of pasta which we are later, great fun. Do it!

Jeniffer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I would HIGHLY recommend this experience! Davide was great! I learned a lot about wine, olive oil, and balsamic in the tasting portion and the gelato and pizza cooking class was very enjoyable. Even though the class was full, we still had a lot of personal attention and overall it was a memorable experience I would encourage others to pursue. Oh, and it's great for all ages! We had kids as young as 5 in our cooking class!

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My son and I spent a memorable day learning how to make pasta in Florence. The chefs were fun and energetic and gave us a hands-on experience. Best of all....lunch was delicious!

Christopher L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This cooking class was the highlight of my trip to Italy! The class was fun, informative and delicious! I would highly recommend that you give this class a try. You won't regret it.

Lee A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour and we would recommend it to anyone who would like to learn some of the basics of Italian cooking. The chefs we very friendly.

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Hard to top any of the other reviews on here. It was a fantastic day. I went on my own, but that didn't matter as everyone got on together. Couple of slight errors on the description of the course. We didn't have the famous chef Giovanni, the two chef we had were fantastic and also we were not returned to the original departure point. I had to ask where we were on the map as we had got to the cookery room walking through the streets, which were off the main tourist walks.
I would highly recommend anyone to do this on their holiday, something a bit different and you leave with a skill! Can't wait to make my own pasta again. Amazing day!!

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great time and lots of fun. Food, wine and instruction were top-notch. Enjoy!

Bonnie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This class was so much fun! The instructors were so nice and had such wonderful personalities! My friend and I will definitely be doing another class!

Jacob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We got upgraded to the VIP class because the small group was over booked. We had a fabulous time and it is our favorite experience of our trip.

Adriana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was entrataining , great staff . Perfectly organized and very much hands on. Will do it again next time I am back .

Jacinta S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had booked this tour before leaving for Europe; there weren't many loco king schools to choose from and online reviews sounded ok, so we took the chance and I'm so pleased we did. What a fantastic day we had! We were "upgraded" and had the deluxe cooking school experience with a small group totalling 13. Our professional chef Paul took us for a quick but highly informative tour of the indoor food market, and then we all set off into the Tuscan hills to a wonderful old Villa - we couldn't believe our luck.
Paul taught us to make Tiramisu, two types of pasta and he made different sauces to go with them, along with a delicious salad; all with ingredients bought that morning at the market. This was accompanied by local wines - bellissima!
The combination of our fabulous, enthusiastic and engaged group (all so lovely and friendly); our great Chef Paul (so patient! And a great cook!!); the magnificent setting - they make films about places like this... And the wonderful food and wine, made for one of the most memorable days of our holiday.
If you're thinking about doing something like this, I can only say - do it!

Janelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Although I'm not much of a cook I decided to do this tour to learn to make fresh pasta. Paul was a fantastic guide and teacher. His passion for Italy and Italian food is contagious and I thoroughly enjoyed the day. I look forward to making it again at home. I would highly recommend this tour.

Nirav B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a fantastic day, food was amazing and the chefs were fantastic - very fun and helpful. Learnt lots and can't wait to whip up an Italian feast when we get back home!

Sharon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was my personal highlight of the trip! The cooks were so knowledgeable, and even an experienced pasta maker like me learned a lot. I recommend it to anyone who loves cooking, or wants to learn.

Victoria B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I'll start by saying that we were lucky enough to have a free upgrade to the VIP cooking class, so my review is really about this experience rather than the standard cooking class. When we arrived we were offered a free upgrade as there were so many people signed up for the cooking class, and I'm so happy we accepted, as this was the highlight of our time in Florence! Our teacher/chef Guiseppe, was brilliant, knowledgeable and great fun - our group (9 adults) started with a tour of the food market, where we tasted focaccia and learnt about Italian cuisine, before a short mini bus ride out into the Chianti countryside. We spent the day at a gorgeous old farmhouse, in a beautiful setting. We started the day with a prosecco toast, bruschetta and Italian treats, prepared by Guiseppe's assistant chef Claudia. We then made individual tiramisu desserts, a meat ragu sauce (and a separate vegetarian sauce for me), fresh handmade pasta in pairs, and finally a caprese salad. We ate our main meal in the beautiful historic dining room - accompanied by numerous bottles of Chianti wine - and enjoyed our dessert in the grounds. We had some additional time to roam and take photographs, before being dropped off back in central Florence. A wonderful experience!

Dara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I loved this class. I really enjoyed the food market with all the fresh food. From the farm to the table. It was a nice change of pace from all the museums. We learned to make fresh pasta!

Stefsciascia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable day. We were lucky to have good company on the class which made it more fun. The chefs were really interactive with the class. The walk through the markets with a real appreciation for food set the tone for a good day.

Nikoletta B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was so much fun!
We were met by one of our chefs at the given address, walked thru the market to pick up fresh ingredients, then spent the rest of the time in a jolly atmosphere learning to cook 2 simple pasta dishes (Italian food is not complicated, as we were told) and dessert.
All of us really enjoyed it! Thanks to Andrea and Davide - our chefs - for making this one of the highlights of our trip!

LaDonna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The experience with the chef at the market was wonderful, then off to the farm to prepare the days menu. Pasta with a meat ragu and we made tiramasu, too! Be sure to take a few extra euro to purchase the olive oil and the vinegar. We were also served the best bruschetta and salade of tomatoes and

Viewing 5 of 20

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 104.08

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5049COOKING

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message