Insider's Guide to Florence

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Viewing All 135 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Christine H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was most enjoyable. We had good weather, the scenery was stunning, and the lunch at the winery was tasty. Our guide Bill was vigilant and gave very clear instructions, so we always knew what to expect. Some of the hills were a bit challenging but doable with the 24 gear bikes provided. (I am a reasonably fit 57 year old female.)

Ileana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Some of the hills were tough (I would say I'm a moderately skilled bike rider) but worth it. The guide was very considerate about the different levels of ability. I was great to be able to leave the city and see a different side of Florence/Tuscany.

Bryan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

AWESOME.

Chelsea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

Definitely an intermediate skill level required! Great lunch and tour of the winery. Friendly guide and good bikes. A great day in the Tuscan countryside!

Larissa H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Really good though somewhat challenging! Maybe a warning about being quite fit to do this. Excellent guide and winery!!!!

Hayden B New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

We booked the bike tour of Tuscany because we wanted to get out of the city and do something active. The tour far and away exceeded our expectations. We were met in the centre of Florence in an easy-to-find location and were taken to a campsite just outside the city by minibus with a few others. All the gear you need for the day is provided and our guide Bill gave us a comprehensive run-down on what to expect as well as some general good advice about bike safety and how to make the most of the day.

The bike ride is low-medium intensity - there are some difficult parts but it should be easily manageable for anyone with a moderate level of fitness. You do share the road with cars but drivers are courteous and most of the roads are pretty quiet. The countryside is beautiful in Tuscany and you see some of the best of it from behind the handlebars of a mountain bike.

To top it off you get to spend a couple of hours at a vineyard, doing a tour of the cellars and the olive oil making rooms followed by a traditional (and delicious) Tuscan lunch that includes wine and olive oil tasting (of course!) On the ride back there were several stops for photos as well as a gelato stop which gave everyone a break and a chance to cool down.

Overall this was a great day trip and one that we would happily do again. If you want to get the most out of your holiday in Tuscany - do this tour!

Amy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2010

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Italy. Amazing day but be forewarned, there are parts of the ride (some long hills) that were a little challenging

Rita W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This is a must for anyone visiting Florence! Our American tourguide was well versed in knowledge of the region and accomodated everyone's skill level on the bike while navigating extreme inclines and downhills. Be forewarned...some of the hills in the Tuscan countryside are steep and you should be in somewhat decent shape as they will test your endurance, but it well worth the ascent to coast on the downhills in charming and picturesque wine country with the Alps and the city of Florence providing your backdrop. You won't be disappointed!

Barbara D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

scenery was spectacular and the lunch was amazing. The only complaint we had was the shuttle back to Florence, the 7 of us were put in one van on the way, however coming back we got split up and our kids got on one van and my husband and I didn't get picked up until almost a half hour later. However the overall experience was great, and a great tour guide.

Carol N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

very good

Sheila H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Bike ride and scenery was LOVELY! I really enjoyed it, as well as the lunch at the Corsini vineyard. The 15-mile ride is NOT for the novice, however. My 20-yr old daughter is in good shape, but is not an avid exerciser. She had a tough time with the hills. The tour guide was a bit arrogant and not very genuine, but I could overlook that. The tour-guide-in-training was nicer, but he spent way too much time texting on his cell phone.

Irene M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Wonderful! Excellent guides, fabulous lunch, beautiful countryside. The bikes were were great.

lala

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very very good tour. Very informative. Beautiful scenery and EXCELLENT lunch afterwards. Tour guide very friendly and knowledgeable. I will say, however, this is VERY STRENUOUS! Hills, hills, and more hills. And, what goes down, must go up. VERY VERY steep inclines. Refreshing to know, however, there is a van driving behind if you cannot make it. Not much flat to enjoy a slow ride through the scenery. Very fast downhills and steep uphills of note, ride my bike almost daily with longer rides sometimes on weekends and this was the most strenuous I have ever done! Scenery and food and wine was so worth it, however. Might have considered a horseback ride with the same company instead.

Lia M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I loved it! The bike ride was incredible with the wine tour and views, but the difficulty level should be better explained. I'm athletic but don't bike often so it was still a workout. Many of the girls i went with early 20s had to walk up hills. The food was delicious and generous. And our tour guide was incredibly sweet. I called him Jack but I totally Americanized it.

Vanessa C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Michelle T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

More rigorous then expected. Excellent views and stops. All of us wound up taking the van the way back. Up hills too much even for the fit twenty-something guys!!!

Zorabel D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Awesome views and great exercise!

Kim Eng C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The meeting point was not easy to locate for any foreigners. Since the bike tour group is small, only 2 or 4 people, perhaps pickup from hotel/hostel will save us the trouble. Also, good to put in your website the road condition and the type of bicycle used as we were used to flat road (no pebbles) and normal bicycle (no gear). Overall scenery, food and wine were good.

Dana N

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Although this was a fun tour, the cycling part is no joke. It's not particularly a lot of cycling done in the day, but the hills make this very hard for anyone other than a very seasoned cyclist. Be prepared to walk up the hills. The bikes are pretty beaten up and our guide's crankshaft broke which required a replacement bike to be driven to where we were. Lunch at the end (with the wine tasting) was pretty good for a cold buffet. There is a lot of standing around/waiting but overall between the views and the gorgeous winery, it was worth going.

Carly P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A fun day of wine, food and cycling. There are a few tough hills but you can always get off the bike and walk up them if you need to.

Sarah E

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was very fun! They picked us up right on time and our tour guide Steven was very outgoing and chatted with us on our ride. The biking itself was good and a bit challenging at some points- lots of hills. The wine tour was great and the lunch stop was good as well. Very worth the price!

Natalie L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic ride through Tuscany with a great guide. Don't be fooled...you do ride up plenty of hills. You need a moderate level of fitness to really enjoy the ride. Lunch was fantastic at a small Tuscan restaurant.

Patricia P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Beautiful scenery! Great winery tour! Nice lunch! Lots of hills. Fun group. The bikes could use some repairs. Also maybe some help to get fitted on the right bike. A different experience for a day in Tuscany. Ciao!

Alyssa S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a pretty intensive uphill ride for more than half of it but the sites were all worth it. It's definitely more advanced than just a beginners bike tour. Very glad I was able to do it though. There should be a tour guide following at the back of the group to make sure we all stuck together.

Joanne G

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Hubby and I did the ride - I would say one thing first...the beauty of the country is experienced throughout the ride. Our tour guide was wonderful, the winery was enjoyable....I just wish I had known how tough going up the Tuscan hills would be. All in all glad I did it.

Viewing 4 of 6

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 115.70

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5049TUSBIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message