4.5 star rating: Recommended 124 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Florence, Italy
  • Duration:  7 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Tuscany Bike Tour from Florence. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 124 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

This is a must for anyone visiting Florence! Our American tourguide was well versed in knowledge of the region and accomodated everyone's skill level on the bike while navigating extreme inclines and downhills. Be forewarned...some of the hills in the Tuscan countryside are steep and you should be in somewhat decent shape as they will test your endurance, but it well worth the ascent to coast on the downhills in charming and picturesque wine country with the Alps and the city of Florence providing your backdrop. You won't be disappointed!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

scenery was spectacular and the lunch was amazing. The only complaint we had was the shuttle back to Florence, the 7 of us were put in one van on the way, however coming back we got split up and our kids got on one van and my husband and I didn't get picked up until almost a half hour later. However the overall experience was great, and a great tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Bike ride and scenery was LOVELY! I really enjoyed it, as well as the lunch at the Corsini vineyard. The 15-mile ride is NOT for the novice, however. My 20-yr old daughter is in good shape, but is not an avid exerciser. She had a tough time with the hills. The tour guide was a bit arrogant and not very genuine, but I could overlook that. The tour-guide-in-training was nicer, but he spent way too much time texting on his cell phone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Wonderful! Excellent guides, fabulous lunch, beautiful countryside. The bikes were were great.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Very very good tour. Very informative. Beautiful scenery and EXCELLENT lunch afterwards. Tour guide very friendly and knowledgeable. I will say, however, this is VERY STRENUOUS! Hills, hills, and more hills. And, what goes down, must go up. VERY VERY steep inclines. Refreshing to know, however, there is a van driving behind if you cannot make it. Not much flat to enjoy a slow ride through the scenery. Very fast downhills and steep uphills of note, ride my bike almost daily with longer rides sometimes on weekends and this was the most strenuous I have ever done! Scenery and food and wine was so worth it, however. Might have considered a horseback ride with the same company instead.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I loved it! The bike ride was incredible with the wine tour and views, but the difficulty level should be better explained. I'm athletic but don't bike often so it was still a workout. Many of the girls i went with early 20s had to walk up hills. The food was delicious and generous. And our tour guide was incredibly sweet. I called him Jack but I totally Americanized it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

More rigorous then expected. Excellent views and stops. All of us wound up taking the van the way back. Up hills too much even for the fit twenty-something guys!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Awesome views and great exercise!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The meeting point was not easy to locate for any foreigners. Since the bike tour group is small, only 2 or 4 people, perhaps pickup from hotel/hostel will save us the trouble. Also, good to put in your website the road condition and the type of bicycle used as we were used to flat road (no pebbles) and normal bicycle (no gear). Overall scenery, food and wine were good.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Although this was a fun tour, the cycling part is no joke. It's not particularly a lot of cycling done in the day, but the hills make this very hard for anyone other than a very seasoned cyclist. Be prepared to walk up the hills. The bikes are pretty beaten up and our guide's crankshaft broke which required a replacement bike to be driven to where we were. Lunch at the end (with the wine tasting) was pretty good for a cold buffet. There is a lot of standing around/waiting but overall between the views and the gorgeous winery, it was worth going.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A fun day of wine, food and cycling. There are a few tough hills but you can always get off the bike and walk up them if you need to.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour was very fun! They picked us up right on time and our tour guide Steven was very outgoing and chatted with us on our ride. The biking itself was good and a bit challenging at some points- lots of hills. The wine tour was great and the lunch stop was good as well. Very worth the price!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Fantastic ride through Tuscany with a great guide. Don't be fooled...you do ride up plenty of hills. You need a moderate level of fitness to really enjoy the ride. Lunch was fantastic at a small Tuscan restaurant.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Beautiful scenery! Great winery tour! Nice lunch! Lots of hills. Fun group. The bikes could use some repairs. Also maybe some help to get fitted on the right bike. A different experience for a day in Tuscany. Ciao!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a pretty intensive uphill ride for more than half of it but the sites were all worth it. It's definitely more advanced than just a beginners bike tour. Very glad I was able to do it though. There should be a tour guide following at the back of the group to make sure we all stuck together.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Hubby and I did the ride - I would say one thing first...the beauty of the country is experienced throughout the ride. Our tour guide was wonderful, the winery was enjoyable....I just wish I had known how tough going up the Tuscan hills would be. All in all glad I did it.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Lots if fun. Less biking than there could have ben but involved a few hills so requires a decent level of fitness. Wine tasting was a highlight.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The tour was great but we had the worst group leader. This person was so rude and uninterested in our group - I really cannot believe that he was hired to be a tour leader. We still managed to have a really good time - the group of people with us were great and biking to Tuscany and then going to the winery for lunch was really terrific. I definently recommend this tour!!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Great tour!! Stunning countryside and a great wine and food tasting lunch at a beautiful location.
Bike ride itself is not for the faint hearted and a good level of fitness is required, especially for the first 10 minutes where it's completley up hill!!
At one point we got seperated from our tour guide as he rode off at great speed. He was forgiven however as it was his first tour.
Would recommend this tour for a unique view of the countryside!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Loved the day, it was lots of fun but with weather at 35 degree and biking at midday it was a challenge. Perhaps more warning about level of fitness required is necessary as the day I participated in was not a leisurely bike ride through the countryside more a marathon!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Both an exhilarating and interesting journey through the delightful Tuscany countryside. We loved every moment and it really tested our fitness. My wife and I are both 65 years young!!!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was a favorite day for my family as we reminisced about our time in Italy and the first of our four planned viator tours. That said, the check in process was a bit stressful as we were told "we weren't on the list" initially and had to go upstairs where we were indeed confirmed on this outing. Then we were left standing around until we asked about boarding the bus and were told "yes, yes, get on the bus". Now, though a bit skeptical about your organization, we were ready to start our bike tour adventure but to our amazement our bus stops at the gates to Florence to wait (a good 20 minutes) for another bus whose driver we are told is lost/late?? Finally we are on our way and as we arrive the rains begin. This doesn't faze or dampen the spirits of our lovely half bostonian/half italian guide. He gets us all fitted on bikes, with helmets, and rain gear. All the riders get to know one another as we try to wait out the rains - which we do! We are then motored to the top of the first steep ridge to begin a wonderful sunny fresh ride to our winery destination. The stop at the local shop for refreshment was very nice and tasty! Upon arriving at the winery we were shown inside and upstairs where we were served two glasses of wine and lunch. The lunch was surprising as we were fed nothing but carbs - no protein and no dessert. However, it was well presented and the wines were lovely. The cellar tour was nicely conducted by our guide as we watched the skies rain down again. However, the rains stopped as we were boarding our bikes and our ride home was beautiful, easy (well planned for more downhills in this direction) and rewarding. Our guide was charming, knowledgeable and calm in the face of all obstacles.

From USD $ 89.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5049TUSBIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message