Viewing All 92 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Mario S Malta

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is a very scenic trip to two famously picturesque areas, one in France and the other in Germany. The problem was that it was too much to fit in Strasbourg, Baden-Baden and the Black Forest all in one day's trip. Strasbourg is such a lovely city, that it merits a whole day trip to itself to properly enjoy all that it has to offer and not be pressed for time. That said, we got enough time to visit the Cathedral and take a scenic boat ride on the canals. However, back in Germany, we made a stop-over in Baden-Baden, and then there was only time left for a drive through a part of the Black Forest. Perhaps on this trip, the stop at Baden-Baden could be eliminated, and more time spent experiencing the Forest, and maybe visiting a Cuckoo Clock workshop. All in all, though, the experience was unforgettable.

csui.babbage

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Would like to spend more time in Black Forest

loraine E

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a small tour - so we felt very spoilt
The tour guide knew lots of facts and information which he shared willingly

George B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

driver / guide knew all about where we going and the country

william m

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Our trip was very worthwhile - with one consideration. We travelled on a Sunday so when we got to Baden Baden, the thermal springs were closed - the casino was closed , which meant we wasted a lot of time walking the streets to these venues only to be told by our guide when we got there that we couldn't enter...whats the point of that ? Either show us something that IS open or spend less time in the town (maybe a coffee break / toilet visit) and concentrate more time in the other towns.Having said that, the Black Forest was amazing (would have liked more time there) and Strasbourg was really interesting too.

Wei Han L

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide Peter and the driver were attentive to number of tour members and did a headcount every time before departure.

Due to rain, there wasn't much to view at Baden Baden. Black Forest trip was okay but could have been better. Strasbourg was nice especially Catheral of Notre Dame and river cruise

James K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We were part of a small group traveling in a van, our guide was great and helpful. Baden-Baden was beautiful and more time would have been good to look around and enjoy such a pretty place.The lake at the forest was nice but doesn't need much time allocated to it, a bit touristy with the shops etc. Strasbourg was a fabulous place to visit, a sunny day and lovely vibe. We were very Disappointed that the canal trip around the city didn't happen because the queues were so long and advance tickets aren't available to tour guides. We could have had more time to do this with less at the lake or different sequencing of the day. Sandwich and drink so basic it would be better to grab something yourself. Well worth doing this tour!

Dennis V

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a great trip. Michael was a great tour guide and a wealth of information. A bit more time at the last stop for shopping and looking around would have been nice. The wine tasting was at the restaurant/bar where lunch had been and was not very impressive. If at a winery it would have been better for such as being on a tour.

Unimpressive, was the local agent's office. It was a place I'd never consider using as it was junky (not just messy or disorganized but plain junky), crowded and mgr at desk was not very nice. People from about 4-6 tours were all waiting their leave time in about an 10x10 sq ft area, with only about 4 chairs. Does not represent a successful and professionally operated business.

Selwyn

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was very nice. We did get to see a lot and our guide, Peter, seemed knowledgeable. I think the biggest drawback to the entire tour -- and several in our group expressed this -- was that we had little or no time to buy souvenirs. We had no time for souvenirs in Baden Baden and only 10 minutes in Strasbourg. For many, this is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and you would like, even need, more time to collect mementos of the trip. Please fx that. One way to rectify it might be to allow 30-60 minutes of "free time" where those on the tour can loook around at their leisure and then just meet back at a pre-agreed meeting point. But the sights were marvelous and the trip itself was not very difficult. The cathedral in Strasbourg was simply jaw-dropping. Do wish we could have spent a bit more time inside the Black Forest itself but the view was great.

Henny USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This was a wonderful day! Our guide Peter was great, very informative. It was just myself and one other person on the tour and we had a lovely time. The only thing I would have hoped for was some more time to shop in the towns we visited.

Joy M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Being the end of tourist season, a small group and our tour guide drove us in a van. Super day, And very informative.

Yolandi K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Was a great day out! Would have loved to take more pictures of the view as we were leaving the Black forest but the driver was going a bit to fast :( all in all a great day out!

Melissa J

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A lovely scenic trip, went through some nice towns.

Michelle L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This is a great tour. Our guide, Peter, was interesting and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the one hours stops at each place, but needed just a little more time.The only down side was the lunch. It was two pieces of bread and one piece of cheese with a child's juice box. Good thing we packed some snacks! : )

John W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A very pleasant journey in a minbus. Full marks to the guide for changing the schedule to suit the weather. Our driver demonstrated there is no speed limit on an autobahn. The guide should have known that our stop to see the Baden Baden spa house was closed for renovations. Strasbourg was a pleasant surprise.

Vince

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our guide Ken was very informative..very well worth day trip, we were out for almost 12 hours.. baden baden town was nice, view at the blackforest was amazing and surprisingly it was snowing at the mummelsee hill! great views there unfortunately not much time to spend there, only about 20mins. Then we went down to the town to grab the delicious blackforest cake and head to strassbourg for boat ride and 15 min walk around the beautiful town. A wonderful trip with a taste of both german and french, not to be missed..

gabymr

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Excelent trip and excelent guide! I rated the tour with 4 starts instead of 5 because I would like to spend more time in Strasbourg.

Peter D O

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Our tour guide was excellent, and considering the terrible weather, she did extremely well in altering our itinerary on the spot to cater for the sudden torrential down pour of rain and the blizzard conditions that hit on this day. I feel that a lunch stop should be included instead of the lunch that was supplied as part of the tour:- stale cheese sandwiches! and that was it.

Irene K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

The tour was wonderful. We enjoyed traveling in the Black Forest. The little town we stopped in the Black Forest was beautiful. The scenery was beautiful. Strasbourg was wonderful at Christmas time. The Christmas market had so many booths. The boat ride was fun. We didn't stay too long in Baden Baden. Our group decided not to go into the Casino. The tour guide was very informative and entertaining.

Diana S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

We really enjoyed this trip. Baden-Baden and the Black Forest were amazing and the guide even stopped at a wonderful bakery to buy Black Forest Cake and, of course, other irresistible goodies. We loved Strasbourg and the our boat ride on the river. If we had been there a few days earlier the river would have been too high to make the trip, but the boats were running again when we arrived and this boat ride is something you don't want to miss. A sandwich and drink were provided, but if you are picky bring your own. Only around 45 minutes were allowed to see Strasbourg on our own, so don't waste time eating. I wish we had more time, but it is a really long trip with lots to see. We will return on our own sometime.

vibhasmangla

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

good tour. But a bit expensive as too much is covered in the day. Largely exclusive as a small gp joins this trip. Friendly driver and staff.

Melvin E W

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour could have been better organized! Time was wasted because of difficulty parking in Strasbourg. There was supposed to have been a boat tour on the canals in the city. They were full. Seemed to us a cell phone call could have reserved some tickets for us. Because of the wasted time our guide was always hurrying us along - it seemed rushed. There were eight of us on the tour and I think we all had the same reaction. Black Forest and Baden Baden was good except we never did get the promised Black forest cake!

Karl India

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Got some guy named peter who was a complete bore.
However the tour was informative and the sights were wonderful.

Thomas C

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The bus broke down and left us with nothing much to do for two hours. However the guide and driver did their best and paid for a coffee and strudel much to our pleasure. We were happy with the tour but two hours meant a very long day. Maybe the company concerned could spend a little more on vehicle service.

GERARD L J L

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

. Places visited and tour guide were good.
. We found that it is cheaper to book from the tour company than through Viator.
. Our trip to Cologne should be on 31 May. But, the Tour company changed it to 30th May. He switched it with Black Forest and Strasbourg and it was raining throughout the trip.
. Boss of Tour company not friendly

Viewing 3 of 4

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next

From USD $ 209.88

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5326STRASBOURG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message