• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 70 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Frankfurt, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 70 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

My wife, daughter and I really liked the trip to Strasbourg. There was only one extra person on the trip, so it was an extremely small group which was great and we could ask the guide many questions. The guide went out of his way to inform us about the different sites and even suggested places to go or buy. He didn't take us to places where it was a tourist trap which was great. In Strasbourg the guide bought a baguette out of his own pocket and shared it with all of us since he had spoken about how Germans like their bread and the differences between bread in Germany and France. He was really nice and made a great impression on my daughter. As others have mentioned the sandwich wasn't as great but you can always buy something along the way in the black forest or Strasbourg. Make sure to try out the black forest cake. The trip for us included a boat ride in Strasbourg which was very delightful and a good way to see the city. Overall, it was a great experience and all of us enjoyed our guide, Peter, and the great scenery.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

My great granddaughter, niece and I represent three generations and we loved the trip. The sights and weather were perfect and tour guide "Winkie" was exceptional. he was very. knowledegeable and graciously shared his depth of experience, his humor and his enthusiasm for touring Germany.
Winkie was very considerate and accomdating of each of his passengers. The design of the tour was perfect for us. We would like to go back to Baden Baden for a visit. The visit to Strasbourg was incredible. It was the city from which one of my revolutionary soldiers came to the US I wonder how he could have left such a place of peace and beauty. From each of our generations perspective we have much to share and memories to love. Thank you

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Would like to spend more time in Black Forest

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

It was a small tour - so we felt very spoilt
The tour guide knew lots of facts and information which he shared willingly

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

driver / guide knew all about where we going and the country

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Our trip was very worthwhile - with one consideration. We travelled on a Sunday so when we got to Baden Baden, the thermal springs were closed - the casino was closed , which meant we wasted a lot of time walking the streets to these venues only to be told by our guide when we got there that we couldn't enter...whats the point of that ? Either show us something that IS open or spend less time in the town (maybe a coffee break / toilet visit) and concentrate more time in the other towns.Having said that, the Black Forest was amazing (would have liked more time there) and Strasbourg was really interesting too.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide Peter and the driver were attentive to number of tour members and did a headcount every time before departure.

Due to rain, there wasn't much to view at Baden Baden. Black Forest trip was okay but could have been better. Strasbourg was nice especially Catheral of Notre Dame and river cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Tour guide Peter and the driver were attentive to number of tour members and did a headcount every time before departure.

Due to rain, there wasn't much to view at Baden Baden. Black Forest trip was okay but could have been better. Strasbourg was nice especially Catheral of Notre Dame and river cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We were part of a small group traveling in a van, our guide was great and helpful. Baden-Baden was beautiful and more time would have been good to look around and enjoy such a pretty place.The lake at the forest was nice but doesn't need much time allocated to it, a bit touristy with the shops etc. Strasbourg was a fabulous place to visit, a sunny day and lovely vibe. We were very Disappointed that the canal trip around the city didn't happen because the queues were so long and advance tickets aren't available to tour guides. We could have had more time to do this with less at the lake or different sequencing of the day. Sandwich and drink so basic it would be better to grab something yourself. Well worth doing this tour!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This was a great trip. Michael was a great tour guide and a wealth of information. A bit more time at the last stop for shopping and looking around would have been nice. The wine tasting was at the restaurant/bar where lunch had been and was not very impressive. If at a winery it would have been better for such as being on a tour.

Unimpressive, was the local agent's office. It was a place I'd never consider using as it was junky (not just messy or disorganized but plain junky), crowded and mgr at desk was not very nice. People from about 4-6 tours were all waiting their leave time in about an 10x10 sq ft area, with only about 4 chairs. Does not represent a successful and professionally operated business.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was very nice. We did get to see a lot and our guide, Peter, seemed knowledgeable. I think the biggest drawback to the entire tour -- and several in our group expressed this -- was that we had little or no time to buy souvenirs. We had no time for souvenirs in Baden Baden and only 10 minutes in Strasbourg. For many, this is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and you would like, even need, more time to collect mementos of the trip. Please fx that. One way to rectify it might be to allow 30-60 minutes of "free time" where those on the tour can loook around at their leisure and then just meet back at a pre-agreed meeting point. But the sights were marvelous and the trip itself was not very difficult. The cathedral in Strasbourg was simply jaw-dropping. Do wish we could have spent a bit more time inside the Black Forest itself but the view was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

This was a wonderful day! Our guide Peter was great, very informative. It was just myself and one other person on the tour and we had a lovely time. The only thing I would have hoped for was some more time to shop in the towns we visited.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Being the end of tourist season, a small group and our tour guide drove us in a van. Super day, And very informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Was a great day out! Would have loved to take more pictures of the view as we were leaving the Black forest but the driver was going a bit to fast :( all in all a great day out!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A lovely scenic trip, went through some nice towns.

From USD $ 230.16

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5326STRASBOURG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message