4 star rating: Recommended 81 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Frankfurt, Germany
  • Duration:  10 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 81 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Was a great day out! Would have loved to take more pictures of the view as we were leaving the Black forest but the driver was going a bit to fast :( all in all a great day out!

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A lovely scenic trip, went through some nice towns.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This is a great tour. Our guide, Peter, was interesting and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the one hours stops at each place, but needed just a little more time.The only down side was the lunch. It was two pieces of bread and one piece of cheese with a child's juice box. Good thing we packed some snacks! : )

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

A very pleasant journey in a minbus. Full marks to the guide for changing the schedule to suit the weather. Our driver demonstrated there is no speed limit on an autobahn. The guide should have known that our stop to see the Baden Baden spa house was closed for renovations. Strasbourg was a pleasant surprise.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our guide Ken was very informative..very well worth day trip, we were out for almost 12 hours.. baden baden town was nice, view at the blackforest was amazing and surprisingly it was snowing at the mummelsee hill! great views there unfortunately not much time to spend there, only about 20mins. Then we went down to the town to grab the delicious blackforest cake and head to strassbourg for boat ride and 15 min walk around the beautiful town. A wonderful trip with a taste of both german and french, not to be missed..

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Excelent trip and excelent guide! I rated the tour with 4 starts instead of 5 because I would like to spend more time in Strasbourg.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Our tour guide was excellent, and considering the terrible weather, she did extremely well in altering our itinerary on the spot to cater for the sudden torrential down pour of rain and the blizzard conditions that hit on this day. I feel that a lunch stop should be included instead of the lunch that was supplied as part of the tour:- stale cheese sandwiches! and that was it.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

The tour was wonderful. We enjoyed traveling in the Black Forest. The little town we stopped in the Black Forest was beautiful. The scenery was beautiful. Strasbourg was wonderful at Christmas time. The Christmas market had so many booths. The boat ride was fun. We didn't stay too long in Baden Baden. Our group decided not to go into the Casino. The tour guide was very informative and entertaining.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

We really enjoyed this trip. Baden-Baden and the Black Forest were amazing and the guide even stopped at a wonderful bakery to buy Black Forest Cake and, of course, other irresistible goodies. We loved Strasbourg and the our boat ride on the river. If we had been there a few days earlier the river would have been too high to make the trip, but the boats were running again when we arrived and this boat ride is something you don't want to miss. A sandwich and drink were provided, but if you are picky bring your own. Only around 45 minutes were allowed to see Strasbourg on our own, so don't waste time eating. I wish we had more time, but it is a really long trip with lots to see. We will return on our own sometime.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

good tour. But a bit expensive as too much is covered in the day. Largely exclusive as a small gp joins this trip. Friendly driver and staff.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour could have been better organized! Time was wasted because of difficulty parking in Strasbourg. There was supposed to have been a boat tour on the canals in the city. They were full. Seemed to us a cell phone call could have reserved some tickets for us. Because of the wasted time our guide was always hurrying us along - it seemed rushed. There were eight of us on the tour and I think we all had the same reaction. Black Forest and Baden Baden was good except we never did get the promised Black forest cake!

Karl
India

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Got some guy named peter who was a complete bore.
However the tour was informative and the sights were wonderful.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

The bus broke down and left us with nothing much to do for two hours. However the guide and driver did their best and paid for a coffee and strudel much to our pleasure. We were happy with the tour but two hours meant a very long day. Maybe the company concerned could spend a little more on vehicle service.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

. Places visited and tour guide were good.
. We found that it is cheaper to book from the tour company than through Viator.
. Our trip to Cologne should be on 31 May. But, the Tour company changed it to 30th May. He switched it with Black Forest and Strasbourg and it was raining throughout the trip.
. Boss of Tour company not friendly

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Program was very interesting but it rained all day so not good for tour,cannot see the view clearly,foggy. Anyway I think the departure time was too late,should be 8.30 not 9.30 because we had not enough time to enjoy each place,not worth to drive all day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

There were 3 of us who signed up for this tour, so we went with VW car instead of a bus. In a way, it is nice like a private tour.
Strasbourg is a pretty place to visit, the cruise is wonderful, but we didn't have enough time to explore the city, we had to rush and continued to Black Forest and Baden Baden. I wish we can stay longer in Strasbourg. My suggestion is to have a separate tour to Strasbourg only as it took 2 1/2 hours to get there or we should start the tour earlier. We left at 9:30 am and had to be back by 5 pm.
Black Forest is interesting, the cake is yummy, it was worth the visit to the bakery shop. Baden Baden is ok, I didn't plan to visit this place, just because the other 2 people (a couple) plan to visit so I went along with them.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Maybe my least favorite trip while I was in Germany, and I went on 7 tours. It is just a lot to pack into 1 day - so you don't get to stay anywhere for a solid amount of time. Strasbourg - boat ride was nice but then you rush off to go to black forest - no time to walk around and the city is beautiful. Then once you get to the Black forest it was like here it is - ok get back in the car time to go to Baden Baden. I would have liked to walk on the trails and explored. Baden Baden was kind of a waste of time - there was nothing to do, you walk into the casino and then walk out.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

We saw BadenBaden, the Black Forest, Lake Mummelsee, Strasbourg - quite a lot for the time allotted so I felt a bit rushed. The lake was stupendous - it was too cold for the paddle boat so I would recommend doing this tour in the summer months. A little rushed trying to get everything in. There was a canal cruise in Strasbourg - included - rather drawn out - crowded - would rather have had more time to wander around the town. Some time for shopping at the Lake but not enough! The lunch was provided but was only a juice box and a cheese/pickle sandwich - not good!

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

Very rushed tour- we were rushed through Baden Baden and Strasbourg. We did not get admittance into the casino at Baden Baden which the description said was covered and were not allowed to shop at pretty much any point of the trip. The included box lunch consisted of a sandwich with one piece of sliced turkey on it and a small juice box. Tour was 13 hours long- tour guide Mike was very good - animated and informative, bus was just OK. They did come pick us up from and drop us off at our hotel - which was very nice. Pretty towns with cute houses and flowers.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Disappointing tour. Firstly for this full day tour, it was quite uncomfortable for 8 persons being put in a mini van.
The tour guide / driver was an absolute let down , with hardly any information coming out of him. Since he had to also fend for parking , we were left with hardly any time at Strasbourg and missed seeing the main Cathedral.Lunch was a sandwich provided to us and the drive through Biack Forest was a complete compromise.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

I had paid for this trip as I was really looking forward to go to Strasbourg. It was a small tour group only 3 of us which was interesting. We went to Baden-Baden first where we had a look around the casinos and spas which wasn't too bad. Then went up to Black Forest in order to see an 800yr old castle and then to go to mumlesee. While in mumlesee I asked our tour guide when we were going to Strasbourg when I was then informed that it's too big of a day and we won't be going. If that was th case I feel that I should have been told at the very beginning of the day what our tour would include. I had paid to go to Black Forest and Strasbourg so I was very disappointed that this was not the experience I got to have.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2012

too much driving.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

The location and the view were lovely. But we felt cheated after paying over £250 to find that we had no professional guide. My partner and I were the only passengers in a people’s carrier that took us to all the locations. The driver was sweet but had no clue about anything. There were several brown boards on the autobahn indicating historical sites one was the Ligne Maginot. When I asked him what it was he said it was the special track for emergency services!!! We could have hired a chauffeured taxi for the day for much less and got the same service. Definitely felt cheated and diappointed.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Poorly planned and operated tour. Spent over 9 hours on the bus and Barely had anytime at the locations. Tour operator knew very little history or information regarding the sites. Absolutely the worst tour I have ever been on.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The tour of the places we visited was excellent as expected. However, the air-conditioning on the bus stopped working within minutes of boarding so all of of cooked all day long

From USD $ 204.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5326STRASBOURG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message