4 star rating: Recommended 130 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Frankfurt, Germany
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 130 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

The trip was wonderful. The hostess spoke very good English and was courteous throughout the tour. The scenery was awesome, especially the detail work at the castle. I highly recommend this trip and vendor.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fun day, a little hot

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Bom!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Lovely Guide with good knowledge of what we were seeing. A great place to visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was great. We just wanted a little more free time in the city to explore. Over all it was a very nice half day trip and I would recommend to anyone :

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We went for the afternoon tour. Everything was perfect.
Mr.Peter our Guide was very hilarious and gave us all the information.
Had a Good Time.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good small group. Guide provided a good commentary on Heidelberg, but it felt like it was all out of a book - nothing really 'personal' to bring the tour 'alive' lots of attempts at 'jokes' that didn't quite work. It was annoying that I had booked a tour that said times were 9.30am to 3.30pm, but right from the start we kept being reminded we had to be back by 3.00pm.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

a very nice half day trip. tour guide were funny and friendly, u won't feel bored during the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Enjoyed the tour. Guide is knowledgable. Found it too short though. You can spend a day here.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Even though we went in a very cold and rainy date, but we appreciated that the guide tried hardest to cover all the sites and try to make it interesting. The city is beautiful even in the winter. It's much easier to join the tour if you want to visit Heidelberg from Frankfort.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this trip! The tour around the castle was informative and we really enjoyed hearing about it's history. We would have liked a bit more free time in Heidelberg for lunch instead of being given sandwiches on the bus, however the tour was a good taster for this romantic town.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Before i review the trip i want to clarify that my ratings is based on:-

1) The tour guide - 5 Stars
2) The Bus - 3 Stars
3) The trip and locations- 5 Stars
4) Snacks - 4 stars

My review rating does not include the tour office or office manager as the office was a mess and the office manager was not friendly at all (Maybe because he was working on a Sunday)!

That aside the important part that was the trip itself was great!! The tour guide was amazing...who knew everything about anything and was really funny. Some people might find his sense of humour a bit corny but when you are out on a vacation and on a day trip with strangers...nothing breaks the ice better then jokes!!

The tour guide (whose name i am sadly forgetting) was very informative and also knew the perfect spots for pics. He is an ex-journalist and very well versed with all worldly matters :-)

I would definitely recommend this trip...although i wish the bus had been a bit more newer!!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a very good trip we had a very good travel rep with us (Adrian). He was very knowledgeable, informative and very entertaining. Heidelberg is a very pretty destination steeped in history. It was a good trip which I would recommend. The Christmas Market was quite small but gave the flavour of Germany at Christmas time.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Alan was great - had a lovely trip. Shame it rained just when we were going around the shops in Heidelberg

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour but a little short due to the travel time to/from Frankfurt.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, heidelberg is soooo beautiful and you just feel like you were transported back in time, really enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Was a fun city tour, the duration was just right

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

worth seeing good trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great for the price, amount of time spent, information from the guide. We went during the beginning of the Christmas Market as well (very cute but not a must see when in Germany, especially because the Frankfurt Christmas Market was open as well at the time and it's much, much bigger than the one in Heidelberg).

Had we visited in the warmer months it's possible we would have liked to stay a bit longer and take our time seeing the sights. Since it was about 2 degrees Celsius at the time I think the fast pace of the tour was appropriate. Now that we've been there at least once we can go back on our own another time without a tour and have a more relaxed visit.

Overall a good experience. :-)

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour very well organized guide was exceptional! Only complaint is we were never told that there was a fee to pick us up from the hotel to meet the bus and take us back. Man in charge at office was rude. Tour though was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A very friendly and knowledgeable guide. Overall has been nice and tour is nice. A little bit too short for the free time given in the city though. It's a nice city deserving more time to explore but I guess this is a half day tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very knowledgable tour guide Peter made it a very interesting trip. Lunch was pretty disappointing, even for a "box lunch". It was a sandwich with a piece of cheese and a pickle, and a juice box. Not much food for a long day. So much good food in Germany,it was disappointing. The bus was comfortable, the usual walking tour to the castle and a quick trip through town. Never enough time on quick tours like these, but we did get to see a lot even though there wasn't much time for poking around. I would recommend it if you don't have much time. It was a pleasant experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The visit to Heidelberg was great. This little town sells itself with its history and beautiful setting. The bus ride was pleasant and overall I thought the tour to be well balanced. Not too much, not too little, just right, like the porridge in the three bears story.

From USD $ 88.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5326HEIDELBERG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message