4 star rating: Recommended 116 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Frankfurt, Germany
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 116 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Before i review the trip i want to clarify that my ratings is based on:-

1) The tour guide - 5 Stars
2) The Bus - 3 Stars
3) The trip and locations- 5 Stars
4) Snacks - 4 stars

My review rating does not include the tour office or office manager as the office was a mess and the office manager was not friendly at all (Maybe because he was working on a Sunday)!

That aside the important part that was the trip itself was great!! The tour guide was amazing...who knew everything about anything and was really funny. Some people might find his sense of humour a bit corny but when you are out on a vacation and on a day trip with strangers...nothing breaks the ice better then jokes!!

The tour guide (whose name i am sadly forgetting) was very informative and also knew the perfect spots for pics. He is an ex-journalist and very well versed with all worldly matters :-)

I would definitely recommend this trip...although i wish the bus had been a bit more newer!!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This was a very good trip we had a very good travel rep with us (Adrian). He was very knowledgeable, informative and very entertaining. Heidelberg is a very pretty destination steeped in history. It was a good trip which I would recommend. The Christmas Market was quite small but gave the flavour of Germany at Christmas time.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide Alan was great - had a lovely trip. Shame it rained just when we were going around the shops in Heidelberg

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour but a little short due to the travel time to/from Frankfurt.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour, heidelberg is soooo beautiful and you just feel like you were transported back in time, really enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Was a fun city tour, the duration was just right

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Good trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

worth seeing good trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great for the price, amount of time spent, information from the guide. We went during the beginning of the Christmas Market as well (very cute but not a must see when in Germany, especially because the Frankfurt Christmas Market was open as well at the time and it's much, much bigger than the one in Heidelberg).

Had we visited in the warmer months it's possible we would have liked to stay a bit longer and take our time seeing the sights. Since it was about 2 degrees Celsius at the time I think the fast pace of the tour was appropriate. Now that we've been there at least once we can go back on our own another time without a tour and have a more relaxed visit.

Overall a good experience. :-)

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour very well organized guide was exceptional! Only complaint is we were never told that there was a fee to pick us up from the hotel to meet the bus and take us back. Man in charge at office was rude. Tour though was great.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

A very friendly and knowledgeable guide. Overall has been nice and tour is nice. A little bit too short for the free time given in the city though. It's a nice city deserving more time to explore but I guess this is a half day tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Very knowledgable tour guide Peter made it a very interesting trip. Lunch was pretty disappointing, even for a "box lunch". It was a sandwich with a piece of cheese and a pickle, and a juice box. Not much food for a long day. So much good food in Germany,it was disappointing. The bus was comfortable, the usual walking tour to the castle and a quick trip through town. Never enough time on quick tours like these, but we did get to see a lot even though there wasn't much time for poking around. I would recommend it if you don't have much time. It was a pleasant experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The visit to Heidelberg was great. This little town sells itself with its history and beautiful setting. The bus ride was pleasant and overall I thought the tour to be well balanced. Not too much, not too little, just right, like the porridge in the three bears story.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Enjoyed the tour. Would have liked more time in the town itself. Could have had less time at the castle. Also, had I known lunch was going to be provided on the bus, then I wouldn't have used my time in the town for lunch and would have walked around more. Tour guide was very nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

A beautiful city well worth a visit.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Meeting spot sort of difficult to find. Once on the tour our guide was excellent, she was very funny and full of information about not only Heidelberg but Frankfurt as well.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Our guide was very informative and responded well to questions put to him. It was a very cold day and our time outside was somewhat curtailed, but the trip was very worthwhile.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Our guide, Nathalie, was very energetic and good-fun. The city was beautiful and we had a very nice weather. However, I think the length of the tour was too short and that more information and explanations would have been appreciated. Overall it was very nice and I recommend it. Had a great time!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

We took the afternoon tour and as it was getting dark earlier due to winter approaching we realised that we would rather take the morning tour next time.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Good tour definitely worth doing. The tour company is near enough to the Main Train Station. It is expected to tip driver and guide.

Heidelberg Castle is stunning and the city definitely worth visiting. You get a small sandwich of fair quality and a juice to have in between Castle and City visits, basically you will eat it on a moving bus (which is luxury class).

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

NOS HUBIERA GUSTADO PASAR MENOS TIEMPO EN EL CASTILLO PARA PODER RECORRER Y DISFRUTAR DE LA CIUDAD QUE ES PRECIOSA.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

It was A great day in Heidelberg! there was just the two of us, So we got are own limo to Heidelberg!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

My daughter and I both enjoyed this tour, one comment we would like to make, as we did the morning half day tour, to do away with the snack sandwiches as provided, thus making the tour slightly cheaper up front. The reason for this is that we had to eat them on the bus in a hurry as we drove down to the old town square, and as we were at the old town square at lunch time, and there were some lovely eating places we would have preferred to taste some of the local food. (The sandwiches were nice but not necessary.)

YJ
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

the city of Heidelberg is great. the driver was pleasant. the tour guider was under prepared. partially because it was a collaboration between viator and a travel agency in Frankfurt. the travel agency was not very committed to viator customers.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

We had good time at each scenic spots. Our guide was helpful and informative.
Don't expect too much on the sandwiches and drinks provided.

From USD $ 87.76

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5326HEIDELBERG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message