4 star rating: Recommended 115 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Frankfurt, Germany
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heidelberg Half-Day Trip from Frankfurt. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 115 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

BUS Clean, guide pushy and made guests boo a pair of Japanese tourists who were late back to the pick-up. Very bad look given that they were given instructions in English by a non English speaker. Maybe you could provide a better written instructions in other languages if the timing for the return is that critical. Heidelberg is pretty but of course that has nothing to do with your tour arrangements. Suggest that you ditch the cheese sandwich as it was dry and rather awful. Just provide some cold bottled water as we all went for a meal in Heidelburg. Don't waste time on the group photo - we don't know the others. Make it optional but I know it is a way of trying to monetise the tour group. Include in your advertisement that the visit inside the castle is not included.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Really enjoyed ourselves and Heidelberg. Our guide was excellent. Only negative would be the sandwiches were pretty average. Overall happy though.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Wonderful informative trip through the countryside en route. I loved the castle and the history lessons included. Heidelberg itself is a picturesque little snapshot of historic German architecture inhabited by modern tenants. It's made all the better by "locals" in large part, walking rather than driving. So enjoyed sitting at an outdoor table observing the busy pedestrians on an old world street.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Guide is informative, food is very simple sandwich. Just fine for a half day tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Had reservations when first booking this trip as hadn't heard of Viator previously. Found it very easy to book the tour we wanted. Tour was well organised when we arrived in Frankfurt, and guide was very knowledable. Would certainly use Viator again. Lindsay

Francine
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

This was a lovely trip with and Grit was a very good guide. You are given free time to explore Heidelberg and indulge in a little shopping if desired.
The lunch pack was a bit disappointing though. The sandwiches could have been a little fresher.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

It was a very good trip and the tour guide was so helpful

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This trip was a great introduction to Heidelberg - a beautiful city. The bus was comfortable, we visited the castle, old town, and had a little bit of free time to wander. We look forward to going back and spending a few days here. The trip itself was 5 stars, but the "lunch" provided on the bus trip back included a gas station sandwich that was inedible and a children's juice box which makes the overall rating 4 stars. Had we known, we would have had lunch during our free time in Heidelberg.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The driver on the day was careless several times and raced to get back for next tour
Tour guide was excellent

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

The tour gave you a taste of Heidelberg, the castle is well worth visiting and the guide gave an excellent in sight to the history.
Unfortunately the longer you spend at the castle the less time you have in the city, but having time to explore the city on your own was good

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Great place. Castle tour good but then left to explore town on our own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Castle was great as was the town. The tour guide thought he was a comedian, except he wasn't. After awhile it was just annoying.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

It was an alright trip. I felt that the tour-guide treated us like children.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I enjoyed our tour guide Krystle; however, we actually did not get to spend much time exploring the city of Heidelberg (only 30 minutes), most of the tour time was spent at the Schloss Castle (which was amazing) or traveling. We were also given a stale sandwich for lunch, it would have been better spending that time allowing us to explore the town.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour guide was great. The bus ride was not bad. However, when going to visit a castle one would be under the impression you would have time to enter the castle. I was looking so forward to seeing Heidelberg Castle only to be told after the hour and ten minute ride that we only have one hour and that that is not enough time to see it. Than we go into town, again for about an hour to hour and half and go back on bus for the hour and ten minute bus ride home although now with stopping at airport and a hotel to drop people off. As far as tours go if you need to do a group tour than this was fine but if you can afford to get a taxi or take the train and do it on your time, you will be much better off so you can actually see and enjoy the site intended.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Jack is creppy.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

This was a pretty nice tour. Had a good tour guide. At least we got to see the castle unlike the rhine valley tour.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Hi I enjoyed the tour and the guide was informative.The bus driver was friendly too. Julian.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

It was a nice tour but it was really rushed. This was the time we had allotted to take a tour that day so it worked for us but if I had it to do over again, I may have taken a longer tour or possibly just taken a train to Heidelberg and paid for a tour once there n my own. Our group enjoyed it but thought it was pricey for this particular experience. A word of warning, we were told once we got to Frankfurt to contact the local tour operator and sometimes they would pick you up instead of meeting at a central location. They picked our group up but charged us 10euro and didn't tell us there was an extra charge. They fed us lunch which we didn't expect but it was a prepackaged sandwhich with a juice box. The tour guide was great and spoke several languages. He was very informative.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Was definitely worth the tour to visit the castle and Heidelberg itself, however, we were disappointed in the tour guide rushing us through. We didn't get a chance to appreciate the castle, as the guide was too busy trying to move us on. Bit of a shame, but the time in Heidelberg was sufficient to have a good look around, which was great. Also, we didn't realise the trip was 1.5hrs, so 3hrs of the tour is travelling.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

We thought a cruise up the Rhine would be magical, however when we went the waters along the Rhine were at flood level. The cruise on the water itself was not as interesting or as fun as the bus driver who took us to the dock and the restaurant for lunch on the way. He was funny and shared a lot of information on Germany and the areas within. Lunch was good but we were not impressed with the "wine tasting" after. Glad we only did the half day trip!

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Wish we could have gone in the castle rooms. Did not enjoy all the stops on the way back to Frankfurt to drop off people at different locations. It took over two hours to return to the office. We could have spent another hour in town instead of just 50 min. if we didn't have to go to the airport and all the hotels and gotten back to the office at the scheduled time. Sandwich was rather dry and tasteless.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Heidenlberg was very beautiful city,can enjoy the city all day. Half day,tour departed 9.30,cannot cover,gave 30 minutes to relax and hurry to go back to run the next program,a bit rush.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Bit rushed. Woud be no good for people with walking difficulties

From USD $ 88.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5326HEIDELBERG

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message