4.5 star rating: Recommended 68 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Frankfurt, concludes Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  3 days / 2 nights

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 68 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Amazing! So glad I stumbled upon this trip!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fantastic. Great hotels to stay in. Lovely old cities. Nice tour guides. Bus comfortable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Wonderful! Beautiful! We had a really great time on the "Romantic Road" trip. All of the details, hotel rooms, tours, were absolutely wonderful! This was our first time using Viator and we will certainly book again. Price, value, experience, couldn't have been more perfect!

Francine
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Well worth the price paid. Everything worked well - the transport and accommodation was first class. The hotels that were booked were top quality. I recommend the nightwatchman's tour in Rothenburg. You are given a choice of that or the day tour and I opted for the night one. The nightwatchman was great and the atmosphere was fantastic. This was a great way to see the Romantic Road - plenty of photo opportunity stops along the way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We had a wonderful experience. The buses were nice, the drivers and staff at Touring (the local company) went out of their way to make sure our experience went smoothly. The hotels were charming and clean with excellent service. I will book through Viator again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

They were very accommodating to our change in schedule. We enjoyed the trip very much!

Tintin
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Very good trip! The Hotel was fantastic. I love every part of the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This trip was wonderful, and it was perfect for us. We needed to get from Frankfurt to Munich and wanted to see some of Germany while doing so. The towns and villages we saw along the way were so quaint and charming. We had plenty of rest stops, and occasionally stopped to go into a church or museum. Our hotels the two nights we spent on the way were comfortable and very conveniently located for sightseeing, and we had plenty of time to do some sightseeing and shopping. We highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

This was a fabulous trip. Germany is such a delightful tourist destination. We enjoyed the castle experiences and Rothenberg is a treasure. The guide commentary was clear and informative, but non-intrusive. The hotels were well appointed with friendly professionals. They offered good breakfasts. Bus/taxi pickups are well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Outstanding, everything was ready and professionally done. Would recommend viator tour to our friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Amazing places. I travelled solo and did not experience any problems, instructions were very clear, comfortable buses and nice hotels. My favourite was the Muller Hotel in Hohenschwangau, hotel staff were very friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The pace was just right and the hotels were great. The bus was comfortable and commentaries were made on a loud speaker as we traveled through the cities and towns. We stayed 24 hours in Rothenburg which was my favorite part. We avoided long lines at Neuschwanstein castle because Viator had made reservations but it took the guy a long time to find them as the tix were under a tour company name, not ours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our hotel accommodations was very nice. The Rothenburg hotel we stayed in was very quaint, and the people were very nice. The Hohenschwangau hotel was also very nice. The staff were very helpful in both places. Our transfers from the bus stop to the hotels was very well organized as well. I would definitely do this route again.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Everything went really smoothly. Rothenburg was beautiful. The night watchman tour was very entertaining. The second day on the bus was very long with little explanation about where we were going. Hohenschwangau was a lovely surprise. We arrived very late but the hotel was very accommodating and provided dinner even though the dining room was closing. The town and castles were beautiful. I would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I would have rated this tour higher except for two things.
First, the agency where we collected the vouchers the day before told us to wait in the wrong area for the bus - It was only as 8am approached that I went back to the agency and spoke to another member of staff and was given directions to the correct bus stand. We then raced around the corner with our suit cases to the correct stop followed by another family. I told the driver and he did stop at the first stand where it picked up more passengers. We had all been given the wrong instructs in the agency.
Second, the hotel in Rothenburg was substandard. Our intinerary indicated that we would stay at Hotel Spitzweg or similar. That hotel looks lovely with quality furnishings etc - on Tripadviser it ranks as no 6 in Rothenburg. We had to stay at Goldene Rose - really a basic B and B, not a hotel. Apart from a pretty exterior, it lacked charm and was very basic and not very comfortable. A real disappointment and not in the same class as Hotel Spitzweg so I felt we had been mislead.
On the positives, the route is terrific - the stops are well chosen. Rothenburg is gorgeous with its city walls and mediaeval buildings and the night watchman walk is very entertaining and great fun. The second night is spent at Hotel Mueller - this was a lovely hotel. We had a comfortable room, great breakfast and the hotel staff were so well organised and efficient. They had tickets ready in the morning to visit Neuschwanstein Castle and we got them to buy us extra tickets to Hohenschwangu Castle as well.
This is a great tour but needs fine tuning - perhaps options can be given to select from a rage of accommodation. I would recommend it if they can fix up the accommodation in Rothenburg.

From USD $ 515.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2160TEB607F

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message