4 star rating: Recommended 83 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Frankfurt, concludes Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  3 days / 2 nights

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 83 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

This was a fabulous trip. Germany is such a delightful tourist destination. We enjoyed the castle experiences and Rothenberg is a treasure. The guide commentary was clear and informative, but non-intrusive. The hotels were well appointed with friendly professionals. They offered good breakfasts. Bus/taxi pickups are well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Outstanding, everything was ready and professionally done. Would recommend viator tour to our friends.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Amazing places. I travelled solo and did not experience any problems, instructions were very clear, comfortable buses and nice hotels. My favourite was the Muller Hotel in Hohenschwangau, hotel staff were very friendly.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The pace was just right and the hotels were great. The bus was comfortable and commentaries were made on a loud speaker as we traveled through the cities and towns. We stayed 24 hours in Rothenburg which was my favorite part. We avoided long lines at Neuschwanstein castle because Viator had made reservations but it took the guy a long time to find them as the tix were under a tour company name, not ours.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Our hotel accommodations was very nice. The Rothenburg hotel we stayed in was very quaint, and the people were very nice. The Hohenschwangau hotel was also very nice. The staff were very helpful in both places. Our transfers from the bus stop to the hotels was very well organized as well. I would definitely do this route again.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Overall we really enjoyed the tour, especially the stay in Rothenburg. It was nice to take the time and stay in Rothenburg and Hohenschwangau, and we were able to enjoy the cities once the weather cooled and the crowds left. The hotels are just ok, but we didn't spend much time there and the free wifi at each and on the bus was a nice surprise.

I felt the bus trips were more just scenic drives than an actual tour. We did have audio guides both days that gave some information about each city I also bought a small book about the Romantic Road for more info/maps, and the driver/guides were helpful and nice. We didn't have many stops only about 1 the first day, 2 the second and each was only about 30 minutes. They were really only long enough to walk around the main square and get snacks/use the restroom. The bus had almost no air conditioning it was so light, it took an hour or so to actually feel cool. It's weird, but I would actually recommend a mini-fan or something if you're travelling in the summer.

Our only problem was on the third day to Munich. They were going to split us up so that one person would have to take a different bus and wait in Munich by themselves for an hour for the next bus to arrive. As young women travelling together that would have been a problem the area by Munich's main train station where the bus leaves you did not seem very safe. Luckily, after some time and arguing with the bus driver, the tour guide managed to sneak on our entire group of 3. We booked well in advance, so I still don't understand why the arrangements weren't made for us to ride the bus together.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I didn't understand that this was an individual tour, riding together on a bus with others on individual tours. That said, once I understood that I was on my own, I enjoyed the freedom and flexibility. The hotels booked for each of my two nights were lovely.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Everything went really smoothly. Rothenburg was beautiful. The night watchman tour was very entertaining. The second day on the bus was very long with little explanation about where we were going. Hohenschwangau was a lovely surprise. We arrived very late but the hotel was very accommodating and provided dinner even though the dining room was closing. The town and castles were beautiful. I would recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I think it's a great way to see the romantic road! You stop at major cities (however, it would be nice if the stops were longer...20 minutes is a bit short!).

Hotels we stayed at were in good locations and quant.

Our guide Mi was friendly and informative.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I would have rated this tour higher except for two things.
First, the agency where we collected the vouchers the day before told us to wait in the wrong area for the bus - It was only as 8am approached that I went back to the agency and spoke to another member of staff and was given directions to the correct bus stand. We then raced around the corner with our suit cases to the correct stop followed by another family. I told the driver and he did stop at the first stand where it picked up more passengers. We had all been given the wrong instructs in the agency.
Second, the hotel in Rothenburg was substandard. Our intinerary indicated that we would stay at Hotel Spitzweg or similar. That hotel looks lovely with quality furnishings etc - on Tripadviser it ranks as no 6 in Rothenburg. We had to stay at Goldene Rose - really a basic B and B, not a hotel. Apart from a pretty exterior, it lacked charm and was very basic and not very comfortable. A real disappointment and not in the same class as Hotel Spitzweg so I felt we had been mislead.
On the positives, the route is terrific - the stops are well chosen. Rothenburg is gorgeous with its city walls and mediaeval buildings and the night watchman walk is very entertaining and great fun. The second night is spent at Hotel Mueller - this was a lovely hotel. We had a comfortable room, great breakfast and the hotel staff were so well organised and efficient. They had tickets ready in the morning to visit Neuschwanstein Castle and we got them to buy us extra tickets to Hohenschwangu Castle as well.
This is a great tour but needs fine tuning - perhaps options can be given to select from a rage of accommodation. I would recommend it if they can fix up the accommodation in Rothenburg.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Great tour , absolutely beautiful. It should not be taken if you plan on more than a drive through of the cities on the way to Rothenberg , but the stay in Rothenberg was perfect and inn was fine and yet simple. The pick up was on time and no time at any of the towns to the Castle. The Hotel Muller was super and the guides or drivers on the way were great.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The trip was great although time and information was a little short in a few instances.
The drivers need to take a more active role in the trip, perhaps providing commentary as the trip progresses.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Loved them. Rothenburg was lovely, we had only 24hrs. wanted more. Neuschwansten was on our bucket lists.This package was unique, we weren't with a group, taking buses by ourselves, but everything---bus to taxi to hotel--- was cordinated smoothly. loved the flexibility. Hotels were nice. only negative comment is---I had to pick up our itenerary and vouchers in person at travel office in Frankfurt, I went there 3 times because it was not ready until the pm of the before departure. Fortunately, our hotel was very close to the office. The people at the office were not nice either. I really wish we could have the detailed information earlier.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Traveled with my 14 year old child. It was a good way to travel and see what we wanted to see.
It would have been nice if the tour left a little later to allow those coming from overseas to arrive and meet the tour. Ended up missing the 1st part of the tour and taking a train to meet the tour at the first overnight stop. Using the train system was very easy!
Also, because of my daugthers age, she was considered an adult. However, if I had purchased the tickets myself, I would have been able to purchase them at a discount.
Overall, it was a good way to travel

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

The trip was very good. We had decided to stay an extra night in Rothenburg and it was a good decision as there was much to see in Rothenburg and we could do it at our leisure . Rothenburg is such a pretty medieval town and deserved the 2 days. The two drivers that we had had very little English and had to point to timetable or sign language. We managed . Our tour was well organised. A taxi was waiting for us at Rothenburg and pick ups were punctual. Hotel Spitzweig was charming and the proprietors amiable.Hotel Mueller in Hohenschwangau was very nice. Modern and spacious. We took a bus to Fussen as all that Hohenschwangau had was the beautiful castle Neuschwanstein. It was a 15 minute bus ride and well worth the visit as it is another pretty old town.
Dora
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This tour was great. my only complain was the bus detour through Munich and the fact we were joined in with another group to return to Munich and told to meet the bus at 4 PM when the bus did not leave until 5:30 PM which was the "planned departure" for the other group.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Overall the tour was enjoying. It was very relaxing and we had plenty of time to explore the Neuschwanstein castle. The hotels are average.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Overall the tour was enjoying. It was very relaxing and we had plenty of time to explore the Neuschwanstein castle. The hotels are average.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Overall the tour was enjoying. It was very relaxing and we had plenty of time to explore the Neuschwanstein castle. The hotels are average.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

View were so good!!!and hotels were nice~

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

A fantastic tour experience. I enjoyed the spectacular sights, the wonderful hotels and the great blend of independent time and organized activities. Thanks once again to Viator for a hassle-free travel experience.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This tour was ok until the driver ran into an accident and we were late in arriving at our hotel in schwangau in which the driver should've informed the hotel so they can prepare something for us to eat since ALL restaurants (which there's only around 3-4) won't accept customers arriving 8pm onwards

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

The tour was wonderful and everything we expected and more, expect the final transport to Munich. The bus left 1 hour late and was very crowded, my wife and I couldn't even sit together

Barrie Lydiatt

Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Great trip...Drivers were very helpful. Accomadations were excellent. I would take another tour but would probably stay longer at the stops. I didn't know the buses run everyday so you can stay longer at one location

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

first driver (frankfurt-rothernburg)keep talking to a girl sit next to him.
second driver 's english is very limit. and keep silence for the whole trip from rothernburg to hohenschwangau.

the rest of trip is great except drivers.

thanks

From USD $ 469.01

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2160TEB607F

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message