4 star rating: Recommended 78 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Frankfurt, concludes Munich, Germany
  • Duration:  3 days / 2 nights

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 78 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

It was worth to join this trip if you just want to spend only 3 days in the romantic road. The trip highlight the key scenery of the romantic road, the hotels are good. However, the last day from Neuschwanstein to Munich was arranged in the car of local tour, my husband and I need to sit separately as most of the seats are already occupied on the local tour. Suggest the tour to reserve some seats for the people book in this trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Fantastic scenery!! Hotel Spitzweg and the Hotel Muller were great choices. The bus connections were slightly confusing but all in all a very memorable trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We were not too impressed with the bus service. It got us where we were going but it would have been nice to stop at more locations along the way. Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein were just as I imagined. I always said that if I went to Germany, Neuschwanstain was definitely going to be a location that I would visit. I was not disappointed. The lodging there was excellent. The hotel in Rothenburg was like out of a fairy tale book. It looked and felt medieval, but had all the amendities that I expected. The town had so much character. I would definitely recommend this tour to others.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Absolutely wonderful. We were the only two on the entire tour bus! The only draw back was the fact that part of the castle was covered with scaffolding! Our Frankfurt hop-on hop-off tour was cancelled with no notification before hand!!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Started with a small issue with the bus driver but by the end of the day we were fine. The bus was a bit warm. Everything else was great! Beautiful countryside, fabulous and friendly hotels in both Rothenburg and Hohenschwangau!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

Started with a small issue with the bus driver but by the end of the day we were fine. The bus was a bit warm. Everything else was great! Beautiful countryside, fabulous and friendly hotels in both Rothenburg and Hohenschwangau!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

A very nice trip down Romantic Road. Hotels and rooms are superb too. Staff at hotels were very professional and friendly. Very worth the time and money, and I have been telling my friends that they must take this tour when traveling from Frankfurt to Munich. The driver on the first day from Frankfurt to Rothenburg is very good. He drove at good speed, allowing us to take pictures along the way. When starting after every stop, he took pains to re-count and ensure everyone's on board. The driver on the second day from Rothenburg to Hohenschwagau was trained like a race driver. He was driving too fast, left without re-counting if all is in the bus. There were some parts of the trip we didn't get on the Romantic Road as we were running behind schedule.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2008

We really enjoyed the tour and the inns that were booked. The routing was excellent except for going to Munich on the way to Hohenschwangau, which caused a quite late arrival at Hohenschwangau. Also, the trip to Munich the following day was late leaving, so the trip was in the darkness and no stops were allowed. We were crammed into a bus which was conducting its own tour and seated facing backwards all the way back to Munich. In spite of these inconveniences, we enjoyed the first part of the tour very much, and the day at the castles was wonderful. The accommodation was first rate. The process of the tour, managing all the vouchers, etc., could have been explained better before embarking.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The trip was great - no pressure. But the hotel in Rothenburg was substandard. The people were very nice, but the room was inadequate. However, we were totally compensated for that by the hotel in Hohenschwangau, which was was wonderful. The room was superb, with a direct view of Neuschwanstein, and the staff was wonderful. I would recommend this any time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The tour was organised really well - connections, hotels and pre-organised tickets were brilliant.E.g. already having tickets to Neuschwanstein so we could avoid the queue was amazing. The only let down was the second day we didn't get to spend much time in the towns along the way to Hohenschwangau

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Overall enjoyed the trip. We did expect more stops in the villages and time to explore. We loved Rothenburg but were disappointed with the Hotel Goldene Rose because our room was on the third floor with no elevator. Of course the highlight of the trip was Neuschwanstein Castle and Hohenschwangau. The Hotel Muller was the lovliest small hotel we have ever stayed in with the most helpful employees. The food in the restaurant was wonderful too. More than made up for the Goldene Rose.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

The Romantic Road was lovely..Rothenberg was just beautiful and the Castle Neuschwanstein was awesome...

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The time spent in Rothenburg was great. More time should be allowed to visit Weikersheim and its beautiful gardens. The 2nd day was not very good...10 minute stop is not even enough time to go to the washroom!
The unexpected trip to Munich was a waste of our time and resulted in our getting to Schwangau much later than anticipated, with the dining room closing 10 minutes later. Thankfully, the hotel staff were extremely competent in directing us to the hotel restaurant immediately upon our arrival. Visits to both castles were great and thoroughly enjoyed by both of us.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

I wish I had understood that the bus was a regular scheduled bus and not a tour bus. In some of the locations that were interesting there were only 5 to 15 minutes at the stop meaning you really could only stretch your legs. The night in Rothenburg was the best. It was more of a bed and breakfast without all the amenities but it was quaint, rustic, and the people were extremely nice.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Let me start off with the bad. First of all, the lady at the agency in Frankfurt where we picked up our itinerary package was super rude, which unfortunately did NOT make for a very good first impression. I felt a little uneasy about the tour after that. Also, the bus drivers really didn't speak English, so it was a bit challenging to communicate with them.

Now for the good. I was very impressed with the organization of the tour. The taxis and buses were very punctual. The hotels were really nice and I loved that they were ready for us upon arrival. Definitely worth doing this tour but I'm hoping they'll have a chat with the rude lady from the agency.

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I enjoyed the trip to the cities on the tour. Our accommodations were good, clean and as advertised. I was a little disappointed that there was no information given by a person on the bus. We had a enough time at each stop...and there were quite a few...to use the facilities and find some food. One bus driver was friendly and helpful but the second bus driver was not so friendly. He was not helpful with us finding a restroom at one stop. All in all, it was ok.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The sites visited and hotels were great. The bus ride, however, left a lot to be desired. Be aware, the bus ride is the standard bus from Frankfurt to Fussen and has lame canned commentary. The drivers ranged from very gruff and speaking no English to a lech whose main interest was the Japanese girls traveling on the bus.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Good.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

The tour was very good but we thought some of the stops along the way were far too short and the last day at Hohenschwangau was all day and we felt that was too long. Otherwise excellent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2010

I thought there was going to be a physical tour guide, not just a recording, but the sights were worth seeing. The hotels were awesome and Rothenburg was great. Hohenschwangau's hotel was right next to the path for the castles and we had a great view. Good way to see a lot in a short time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

This trip had the potential to be wonderful, and in part it was. The overnight stops at Rothenburg and Hohenschwangau were fantastic. The parts we were unhappy about were missing Wurzburg due to a running race - why was this not known by the tour organisers -so missed seeing Wurzburg. The driving between Frankfurt and Hohenschwangau was at times dangerous with driver writing and reading notes while driving and using elbow to steer. Driver got lost twice, having to ask strangers for directions, and as a result we were running behind schedule, missing Augsburg, and arriving at Wieskirche at 8pm, too late to view. The driving from Hohenschwangau to Munich was excellent (different company). Do not feel we got value for money on this occasion.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Our drive on the 2nd day of our trip went off the Romantic Road all the way to Munich to drop 1 person off and got us to our destination late! We missed half of the romantic road!!!! We were driving and driving. It was awful! There wasnt a tour guide at all. Just a bus trip.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

First day was great and Rothenburg was magical. Second day; however, ended up a huge disappointment. The audio on the bus never played, the driver did not communicate with us, and he took a detour on major highways skipping all of the quaint little towns. We ditched the the last ride and took the train to Munich which was a lot faster.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The tour was Ok but if you sign up for this you should be aware of a few things:
1. There is no tour guide - therefore there is no one to assist you if you have questions or problems. All information given to you (bus) is via taped canned messages that the driver plays over the sound system
2. This is a self guided tour. The tour company provides only transportation, hotel reservations, taxi vouchers and tickets to the castle Neuschwanstein. It is your responsibility to navigate through the itinerary and pickup times ( I sort of expected this as I had read a previous review)... remember there is no one to assist you. If you miss your bus you will be left behind.

However, I did enjoy most of the tour except the last leg where we had a SURLY russian bus driver who spoke no perceptible English and at times was very rude.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Sites, route was nice, but there was little time to see some places. Either look out the window or stop for 30 minutes. Also the bus wasn't exclusive in that it transported people vs dedicated to the tour. The 2nd last day dropped off people in Munich and then backtracked to castle site - didn't arrive till 8pm.

From USD $ 468.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2160TEB607F

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message