5 star rating: Highly Recommended 26 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 26 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

We enjoyed the walk to the glacier emensley even in the rain. Our guide was a real hottie and i wanted to bring him home for my daughter. The scenery was stunning. Our guide was full of knowledge and answered all our questions.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

It was an enjoyable walk. Our guide was informative and fun. Would have preferred to go further to the glacier and do more at waterfalls than to walk to the duck pond at the end of the trip to make up the time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Weather was not particularly good, but it was worth doing anyway. The guide was very informative and very interesting and I learnt a lot. As I am 63, I was a bit worried that I had taken on too much, but it was really great and I would recommend this walk with no hesitation.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Awesome experienced especially a nice tour guide. Thanks to him that made our tour very memorable one, though our way back the rain starts pouring! Above all it was amazing to be near the Glacier. Thank you again for a wonderful experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Did we have the right shoes? What if it rained? And what if the eight of us had different paces and abilities?Not to worry. Any gear you needed was provided. Slickers, boots, small packs...and the guides were amenable to splitting the group into a more aggressive and more leisurely groups. So, when it did rain...we had the right gear and enjoyed the walk immensely.
Tomr.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the experience. Leader informative, friendly and supportive.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very enjoyable. Whilst you can walk to the glacier by yourself it was nice to have a guide who could explain a lot of the geographical features that we were seeing. Being on a tour also meant that we could proceed past the public limits and get that little bit closer to the glacier.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Fully worth it, the guide was very helpful and he had good knowledge of the terrain, it was not as tough as we thought, but you need to be fit to undertake it. Trip to the Glacier is not complete without it. Would have undertaken the full day tour if we had more time.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Great tour and even suitable for children.

Vivian
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Well, we changed our mind last minutes before the trip starts. We did the Ice Explorer on Glacier instead by paying extra $250. It was totally worth it. Initially, we didnt want to spend too much on the trip (as it is a big difference) but we were pleased that we made the executive decision to change the trip. The IceExplorer is fabulous and it is definitely an unforgettable life time experience to surrounded and walk around ice for 3+ hours. For those who has chosen this trip, but if you think you are fit enough, please do the Ice Explorer instead. It is remarkable and amazing!! You also get to sit the helicopter to the glacier.

From USD $ 64.20

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524GV_ECO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message