Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4.5 star rating: Recommended 35 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Franz Josef Glacier Valley Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 35 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the experience. Leader informative, friendly and supportive.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very enjoyable. Whilst you can walk to the glacier by yourself it was nice to have a guide who could explain a lot of the geographical features that we were seeing. Being on a tour also meant that we could proceed past the public limits and get that little bit closer to the glacier.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Fully worth it, the guide was very helpful and he had good knowledge of the terrain, it was not as tough as we thought, but you need to be fit to undertake it. Trip to the Glacier is not complete without it. Would have undertaken the full day tour if we had more time.

Edyta R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2010

Great tour and even suitable for children.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Misleading ads. No walking on glacier. Information on vocuher all wrong. This walk can be done on your own. Just need to drive 10 minutes from town. Waste of money and time.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Tour was fun,guide very good ,kids enjoyed walking through creeks on the hike through the valley to the glacier face ,shame u can't get too close nowadays,if you can afford it do the heli hikeon top would be great fun but bit pricey as the only way to get up ontop is helicopter

Vivian
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Well, we changed our mind last minutes before the trip starts. We did the Ice Explorer on Glacier instead by paying extra $250. It was totally worth it. Initially, we didnt want to spend too much on the trip (as it is a big difference) but we were pleased that we made the executive decision to change the trip. The IceExplorer is fabulous and it is definitely an unforgettable life time experience to surrounded and walk around ice for 3+ hours. For those who has chosen this trip, but if you think you are fit enough, please do the Ice Explorer instead. It is remarkable and amazing!! You also get to sit the helicopter to the glacier.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

While the tour guide was good and interesting, I found the advertising of this difficult walk to be incredibly misleading, a fat asthmatic could have done that walk, especially at the rate we were going. Also the 'need' to get kitted up was unnecessary as we went no where near the ice and the day was quite warm. For what it was - definitely not worth the money!

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The guide was a great character and took us of the main path, however the main patch to the glacier was a pulic walk way so we could have done it for free, not good value

From USD $ 55.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524GV_ECO

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message