Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 101 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heli Hiking Franz Josef. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 101 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Heli Hike was fantastic throughout. The guide was brilliant explaining how glacier was formed. I couldn't ask for more.

PAUL H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We missed out on doing this trip four years ago becouse the weather beat us but it was worth the wait. We had a brilliant guide (Cliff) who knew his stuff and encouraged us throughout to make the best of our time on the glacier. One of the best bits was the flight up as we went up over the glacier and then went into a sharp decent to where we were dropped off.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had a really good time and our guide was excellent. the weather was perfect too although that cant be atributed to Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Guide was great,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent guide with great sense of humour made it especially enjoyable trip.

He encouraged and helped the more cautious members of the party and led us to some beautiful areas of blue ice.

The helicopter flight to and from the glacier was spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

It was brilliant. Highly recommend it. A highlight of our holiday on the South Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Really enjoyed the helicopter ride over the glacier. The walk on the glacier was exciting and amazing. The glacier guide was very capable but also very friendly. A great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Cliff was a fantastic guide, made the experience safe, fun and knowledge filled. Helicopter views spectacular will recommend this trip to friends and colleagues
Wendy from Lockyer Valley, Qld.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Well worth it and comparatively inexpensive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Life time experience. A must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Incredible opportunity. Awesome views from both the helicopter and the glacier. Great guides who made it feel very exciting yet safe and gave a wealth if information about the glacier, how it formed, changes etc.
Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was the highlight of my trip to New Zealand, i would highly recommend it to others. It was definitely worth the price and my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it. Our guide was excellent on the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Loved walking on the glacier . Guides were great . Trip not to be missed esp if the weather was as good as we got.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The highlight of our trip to Oz and NZ!
The views were just amazing - both on the outward helicopter trip and on the glacier. We even had minor rock and ice falls + the accompanying noises!
Our two guides (Ton and a young Czech trainee) were excellent - very knowledgeable, courteous and patient.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The Helihike is an amazing experience. The staff were love what they do and it shows. If you get the opportunity to go to Franz Josef, you have to do this. Put it on your list now. It's a unique experience and I'm grateful I got do do it.

From USD $ 337.45

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message