Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heli Hiking Franz Josef. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Pascale
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A must do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We loved it

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wow! I did the helicopter tour around all three glaciers and it was awesome! The drive from Christchurch was not good though so if your going to do it drive from queenstown!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was awesome! I am very happy I went on the trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Fantastic...Really enjoyed the whole trip as the guides made the extra effort to bring us through the caves during the hike. Highly recommended.

Stephen L
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I would recommend this trip to anybody as it was one of the most amazing experiences I have had. The helicopter ride was enough of a thrill in itself, but the hike too was just a fantastic experience. Our guides, San and Lauren, were knowledgeable, professional and sympathetic to the needs of our group which had varying degrees of ability. I was given all the equipment I needed before I left and felt warm and comfortable the whole time. The only regret I had was having to come back down!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was an exciting and memorable experience, and I would recommend all to enjoy the experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

FANTASTIC!!!! An amazing experience with incredibly knowledgable and fun guides. So stoked that I got to do this!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Heli Hike was fantastic throughout. The guide was brilliant explaining how glacier was formed. I couldn't ask for more.

PAUL H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We missed out on doing this trip four years ago becouse the weather beat us but it was worth the wait. We had a brilliant guide (Cliff) who knew his stuff and encouraged us throughout to make the best of our time on the glacier. One of the best bits was the flight up as we went up over the glacier and then went into a sharp decent to where we were dropped off.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

We had a really good time and our guide was excellent. the weather was perfect too although that cant be atributed to Viator!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Guide was great,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent guide with great sense of humour made it especially enjoyable trip.

He encouraged and helped the more cautious members of the party and led us to some beautiful areas of blue ice.

The helicopter flight to and from the glacier was spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

It was brilliant. Highly recommend it. A highlight of our holiday on the South Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Really enjoyed the helicopter ride over the glacier. The walk on the glacier was exciting and amazing. The glacier guide was very capable but also very friendly. A great experience!

From USD $ 333.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message