• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 96 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heli Hiking Franz Josef. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 96 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Guide was great,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Excellent guide with great sense of humour made it especially enjoyable trip.

He encouraged and helped the more cautious members of the party and led us to some beautiful areas of blue ice.

The helicopter flight to and from the glacier was spectacular

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

It was brilliant. Highly recommend it. A highlight of our holiday on the South Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Really enjoyed the helicopter ride over the glacier. The walk on the glacier was exciting and amazing. The glacier guide was very capable but also very friendly. A great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Cliff was a fantastic guide, made the experience safe, fun and knowledge filled. Helicopter views spectacular will recommend this trip to friends and colleagues
Wendy from Lockyer Valley, Qld.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Well worth it and comparatively inexpensive.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Life time experience. A must do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Incredible opportunity. Awesome views from both the helicopter and the glacier. Great guides who made it feel very exciting yet safe and gave a wealth if information about the glacier, how it formed, changes etc.
Highly recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

This was the highlight of my trip to New Zealand, i would highly recommend it to others. It was definitely worth the price and my boyfriend and I really enjoyed it. Our guide was excellent on the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Loved walking on the glacier . Guides were great . Trip not to be missed esp if the weather was as good as we got.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The highlight of our trip to Oz and NZ!
The views were just amazing - both on the outward helicopter trip and on the glacier. We even had minor rock and ice falls + the accompanying noises!
Our two guides (Ton and a young Czech trainee) were excellent - very knowledgeable, courteous and patient.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

The Helihike is an amazing experience. The staff were love what they do and it shows. If you get the opportunity to go to Franz Josef, you have to do this. Put it on your list now. It's a unique experience and I'm grateful I got do do it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We spent 3 weeks traveling around both of NZ Islands and this was one best experiences we had. We Did both Fox and Franz Josef glaciers.
We went as a family of 4 with two boys aged 9 and 10 who just loved the glaciers and the excitement of going on a helicopter. The guide at Franz Josef was Cliff who is very experienced and great with the boys.

We did the Fox glacier the day before however Franz Josef was much better, because of the natural ice formations had a lot more going on. Plus our guide was happy to take us to any of the ice formations that we wanted to look at so long as it was within the safe zone. Whilst at Fox they had a path marked out with stones and you were only able to see what they had planned. Many of the ice formations on Fox was generated by the guide company who were there with picks and shaping the ice.

We felt we did the glaciers in the right order with fox first and then franz Josef because be think that fox may have been disappointing if we had of done it the other way round. It's great to be able to do them both but if you can't do them both then Franz Josef by helihike is the way to go.

Gopal
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our trip was cancelled due to the bad weather but the staff at the Helicopter Line was very helpful and recommended to stay one more day tp make the trip the following day. It was worth extending the stay for such a wonderful experience at the glaciers. Our guide also very knowledgeable and made us feel comfortable. I would recommend that it is a must do item in the itinerary. Thank for making it such a wonderful experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Awesome! Donky was a great guide. Just an unreal feeling being out there. With an exciting helicopter ride up, and an even more exciting/dodgy (from a pilot's perspective) ride back down with low cloud.

From USD $ 344.23

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message