Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 101 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heli Hiking Franz Josef. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 101 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We spent 3 weeks traveling around both of NZ Islands and this was one best experiences we had. We Did both Fox and Franz Josef glaciers.
We went as a family of 4 with two boys aged 9 and 10 who just loved the glaciers and the excitement of going on a helicopter. The guide at Franz Josef was Cliff who is very experienced and great with the boys.

We did the Fox glacier the day before however Franz Josef was much better, because of the natural ice formations had a lot more going on. Plus our guide was happy to take us to any of the ice formations that we wanted to look at so long as it was within the safe zone. Whilst at Fox they had a path marked out with stones and you were only able to see what they had planned. Many of the ice formations on Fox was generated by the guide company who were there with picks and shaping the ice.

We felt we did the glaciers in the right order with fox first and then franz Josef because be think that fox may have been disappointing if we had of done it the other way round. It's great to be able to do them both but if you can't do them both then Franz Josef by helihike is the way to go.

Gopal
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our trip was cancelled due to the bad weather but the staff at the Helicopter Line was very helpful and recommended to stay one more day tp make the trip the following day. It was worth extending the stay for such a wonderful experience at the glaciers. Our guide also very knowledgeable and made us feel comfortable. I would recommend that it is a must do item in the itinerary. Thank for making it such a wonderful experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Awesome! Donky was a great guide. Just an unreal feeling being out there. With an exciting helicopter ride up, and an even more exciting/dodgy (from a pilot's perspective) ride back down with low cloud.

Mark W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

AWESOME!!!! This is a must do. The staff were incredible. They treated you with such care and respect. The helicopter ride was amazing. Our guide Richard was extremely knowledgeable and went to great lengths to make sure that we were comfortable and feeling ok throughout the hike. This is the only way to see the Glacier and I would definitely do it again. I would recommend it to anyone. It is worth every cent. Thank you for an experience of a lifetime.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Absolutely sensational. Well worth the money. We had a ball and would do it again in a heartbeat.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed this trip! The helicopter trip to the Glacier was awesome, the pilot gave us lots of information about the Glacier and the sights. Once we were on the Glacier our guide George was amazing, helping those of us who needed it and giving us facts,and answering questions. We can't recommend this trip highly enough!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Well organised and supervised clamber over the ice field. Fantastic views and faultless flights. Most memorable!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

It was an awesome experience and the trip was run very professionally. Our guide AJ was great and provided great insight into the glacier.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Our heli hike on Jan 18th exceeded our expectations! It was the highlight of our Australia/New Zealand holiday and Matt was a very good guide on the hike, we found the entire tour, hiking gear and all employees to be extremely high standard and very professional. We will be happy to recommend this tour to any of our friends travelling to NZ. Thanks for a wonderful experience! D and D Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Spectacular! Worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Highlight of a four week holiday in new zealand excellent experience hiking the glacier crawling through ice caves. the guides were very professional and helpful even when pointing out i had crampon on wrong foot! The group was split into two to accomodate those of us who were slower across the ice than others. would book this trip every time we go to New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Wonderful staff and guides. Awesome experience overall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The flight up was excellent and smoother than I had expected. Our guide was particularly awesome and adapted our hike to our energetic half of the group for particularly fun trekking through the ice and snow!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Good outing. Guide was professional. We had fun at the glacier.

From USD $ 337.42

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message