Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heli Hiking Franz Josef. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

It was an awesome experience and the trip was run very professionally. Our guide AJ was great and provided great insight into the glacier.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Our heli hike on Jan 18th exceeded our expectations! It was the highlight of our Australia/New Zealand holiday and Matt was a very good guide on the hike, we found the entire tour, hiking gear and all employees to be extremely high standard and very professional. We will be happy to recommend this tour to any of our friends travelling to NZ. Thanks for a wonderful experience! D and D Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Spectacular! Worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Highlight of a four week holiday in new zealand excellent experience hiking the glacier crawling through ice caves. the guides were very professional and helpful even when pointing out i had crampon on wrong foot! The group was split into two to accomodate those of us who were slower across the ice than others. would book this trip every time we go to New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Wonderful staff and guides. Awesome experience overall.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

The flight up was excellent and smoother than I had expected. Our guide was particularly awesome and adapted our hike to our energetic half of the group for particularly fun trekking through the ice and snow!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

Fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Good outing. Guide was professional. We had fun at the glacier.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

It was a trip of a lifetime! Superlatives could not describe how wonderful the entire experience was! I would highly recommend u take the Heli-hike rather than the hike by foot. Although the former is much more expensive, it is worth every cent! My only drawback is that the experience could be enhanced by the staff of Helicopter Line who conducted the tour. From checking in, to collecting your equipment, they could be a bit friendlier. Our glacier guide could improve on his shyness too. He seemed reserved and spoke softly. Other than this, it was one of those trips that u will remember for a LONG time!!

newt
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Well worth the money - a wonderful experience that the kids and I thoroughly enjoyed. We picked the perfect day and saw some wonderful ice caves. Thank you!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

Loved it. The helicopter itself was brilliant. Great views over the glacier and close up of the cliffs. A very professional operation. Once on the glacier the guide was a lot of fun also and made it great for our group. Would do it again tomorrow.

They cancelled us the first day because of the weather. Was well handled and went off without a hitch the following day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2011

A once in a lifetime experience and would recommend it to anyone! Jess our guide was great, the glaciers were stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!!

GracieJ
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Being so high up on the glacier was awesome! Stunning views with rock avalanches happening in the distance, wow! We had great weather, great guides and good gear. Loved the helicopter too!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

The heli hike was the highlight of an excellent visit to NZ, Well organised, exciting, a really new experience for us and very informative. Excellent guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

One of the most exhilarating experiences I have ever had and worth every dollar. First class, professional organization with expert guides (Levi and Dan) on the glacier.

From USD $ 331.38

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message