Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 114 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heli Hiking Franz Josef. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 114 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Absolutely Priceless! I will remember it for the rest of my life!

Lucy T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The hiking was fantastic!

Irene E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Brilliant experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Well run, well organised, our guide knew her business and was brilliant. Weather was good for us, but cannot be trusted.

Sharon E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Everyone should do this! It's totally awesome.

Robert M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

I can't begin to describe the experience, it was outstanding. The guide was fabulous giving lots of info and safety tips. The photos are great but really don't do it justice, it has to be seen to be believed.

Gillian P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was the highlight of my trip. The helicopter ride was exciting as we flew around the glacier before landing and spent two exhilarating hours hiking. I was lucky with the weather, which was clear and sunny. I thought the trip was a good value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Walking in the crevasses and on the glacier was awesome. The guide was knowledgeable and experienced. Like the way the group was divided into 2 smaller parties. Good level of fitness is required to gain maximum benefit.

Lisa V
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

This was a very unique and wonderful experience! Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and the glacier formations were incredibly rugged and gorgeous to watch!

Sara A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

This was absolutely the pinnacle of our trip around the south island. A definite must do!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

If you go to New Zealand South Island this is a must! The glacier is spectacular and you could spend all day on it. Two hours felt like 10 minutes. If I ever go back I will go back for a second hike.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Helicopter ride was fabulous and then the walk on the glacier was exciting we even climbed through a river cave well worth the expense

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The trip was nice and a good experience with the glacier. The only sad part is the company and guide. Guide is not very interested to assist us.

Good for first time. I will say all good except for the company hospitality

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Well organized and informative trip. Glacier is shrinking quite a bit so not quite so impressive as in previous years.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful weather, impressive colors, pleasant guide, exciting cave crawling, romantic experience to celebrate our 30 th wedding anniversary!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed hiking on the Glacier in Franz Josef. The company were very accommodating when we had to change the time of our booking at the last minute due to a closed road. I'm glad we chose to walk with the faster group so we got to see more of the Glacier, our guide was fantastic and very interesting, knew what he was talking about and had many stories to tell. Only downside was some of the other people in our group (about ten of us per group on the glacier) who were very irritating and didn't follow the instructions the guide gave them, meaning one ended up falling through thin ice!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour - the promotional pictures misrepresented the actual tour as we went no where near the ice caves shown. Views were impressive and a good excursion

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very nice experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Our scheduled flight was cancelled due to weather and were asked to return in the afternoon....cancelled again.
We were allowed to try again the following day, so we were booked in for the lunch time flight and on a standby for the morning flight.
There were two seats available in the morning, so up we went to the Glacier. Superb views and the guide gave everyone so much interesting information. Alas, never enough time. We are so glad we held in there as it turned out when we got back that the lunchtime flight was cancelld to to heavy winds up on the glacier.
My advice if you are looking to go on this tour is give yourself a couple of days, so if the weather plays up you still stand a chance of getting onto the glacier. We would have been so dissapointed if we left without completing this part of a fantastic holiday.
Viator personnel were extremely helpful and understanding and the glacier walk was stunning.....a must do!

Martin_dillon
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A bit disappointed the ice caves were no where near what is pictured

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The helicopter and glacier experience is great and we were overawed by the size and beauty of it. Our only criticism is that there was a lady who had an injury on our trip who couldn't cope without assistance, and both the guide and other people on the trip had to help her across the ice. Wouldn't have minded except it reduced how much we saw compared with the other groups and our guide started to shout at us at the end to get back to the helicopter meeting point as it was very expensive to have to them to have to wait. We all ended up much earlier than needed despite being in the last batch of people dropped off at the beginning of the ice walk.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Well organized heli-hike. I was disappointed that they didn't take us through the ice tunnel but other than that we had a lot of fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Helicopter rides were fantastic but we were a little disappointed with the hiking on the glacier. The pace of the hike was quite slow and not a great deal of the glacier area was covered. Some excellent photo opportunities though!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Overall, the hike was well organized and we were well looked after. A group of 10 is a little too big because the guide could not communicate with the front or the back of the group depending where he was position at the time and how spread out we were. The guide was very professional and friendly.

From USD $ 276.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message