Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 99 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heli Hiking Franz Josef. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 99 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Zor M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic voyage!

Zane B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Amazing!

Kevin W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We have just got back from our New Zealand holiday, and it is all fresh in our minds, and will be forever. The helicopter ride to the glacier, the 2 hour walk around, and the sights all are so much better when you have keen staff who share their love of the glacier and New Zealand. We were lucky to have the flight because of the weather that came in. My recommendation is go for the early morning flight and get any questions you have ready, because the experience of seeing such beauty is breathtaking. To the pilots that took us up and down Franz Josef, and the 2 guides that took us around and presented a beautiful look at the glacier, our thanks. Perfect trip, highly recommend!

PETER H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Absolutely brilliant. From the helicopter ride to the actual hiking was a new experience for all 4 of our party and we loved every minute of it. The guide was excellent and looked after us very well.

Brenda O
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was a totally awesome experience! Definitely a highlight of our holiday! The guide was informative and involved us in a fantastic adventure.

pat/peter
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Our trip was definitely well worth the price, my partner didn't want to go as he is afraid of heights, but thankfully was persuaded the night before we left Sydney. The staff were all so helpful. Thank you all for a wonderful holiday experience!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Absolutely Priceless! I will remember it for the rest of my life!

Lucy T
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The hiking was fantastic!

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Brilliant experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Well run, well organised, our guide knew her business and was brilliant. Weather was good for us, but cannot be trusted.

Sharon E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2009

Everyone should do this! It's totally awesome.

Robert M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

I can't begin to describe the experience, it was outstanding. The guide was fabulous giving lots of info and safety tips. The photos are great but really don't do it justice, it has to be seen to be believed.

Gillian P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was the highlight of my trip. The helicopter ride was exciting as we flew around the glacier before landing and spent two exhilarating hours hiking. I was lucky with the weather, which was clear and sunny. I thought the trip was a good value for money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Walking in the crevasses and on the glacier was awesome. The guide was knowledgeable and experienced. Like the way the group was divided into 2 smaller parties. Good level of fitness is required to gain maximum benefit.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2007

This was a very unique and wonderful experience! Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and the glacier formations were incredibly rugged and gorgeous to watch!

From USD $ 343.04

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message