Viewing All 127 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Alastair W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Well organized and informative trip. Glacier is shrinking quite a bit so not quite so impressive as in previous years.

Sharon C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Abraham J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Beautiful weather, impressive colors, pleasant guide, exciting cave crawling, romantic experience to celebrate our 30 th wedding anniversary!

Holly P

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Really enjoyed hiking on the Glacier in Franz Josef. The company were very accommodating when we had to change the time of our booking at the last minute due to a closed road. I'm glad we chose to walk with the faster group so we got to see more of the Glacier, our guide was fantastic and very interesting, knew what he was talking about and had many stories to tell. Only downside was some of the other people in our group (about ten of us per group on the glacier) who were very irritating and didn't follow the instructions the guide gave them, meaning one ended up falling through thin ice!!!

Stephen R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Great tour - the promotional pictures misrepresented the actual tour as we went no where near the ice caves shown. Views were impressive and a good excursion

Jef G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very nice experience!

Rab F

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Our scheduled flight was cancelled due to weather and were asked to return in the afternoon....cancelled again.
We were allowed to try again the following day, so we were booked in for the lunch time flight and on a standby for the morning flight.
There were two seats available in the morning, so up we went to the Glacier. Superb views and the guide gave everyone so much interesting information. Alas, never enough time. We are so glad we held in there as it turned out when we got back that the lunchtime flight was cancelld to to heavy winds up on the glacier.
My advice if you are looking to go on this tour is give yourself a couple of days, so if the weather plays up you still stand a chance of getting onto the glacier. We would have been so dissapointed if we left without completing this part of a fantastic holiday.
Viator personnel were extremely helpful and understanding and the glacier walk was stunning.....a must do!

Martin_dillon Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

A bit disappointed the ice caves were no where near what is pictured

Kerstin W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

The helicopter and glacier experience is great and we were overawed by the size and beauty of it. Our only criticism is that there was a lady who had an injury on our trip who couldn't cope without assistance, and both the guide and other people on the trip had to help her across the ice. Wouldn't have minded except it reduced how much we saw compared with the other groups and our guide started to shout at us at the end to get back to the helicopter meeting point as it was very expensive to have to them to have to wait. We all ended up much earlier than needed despite being in the last batch of people dropped off at the beginning of the ice walk.

Srini USA

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Well organized heli-hike. I was disappointed that they didn't take us through the ice tunnel but other than that we had a lot of fun.

clasta100

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Helicopter rides were fantastic but we were a little disappointed with the hiking on the glacier. The pace of the hike was quite slow and not a great deal of the glacier area was covered. Some excellent photo opportunities though!

Slow Mouse Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

Overall, the hike was well organized and we were well looked after. A group of 10 is a little too big because the guide could not communicate with the front or the back of the group depending where he was position at the time and how spread out we were. The guide was very professional and friendly.

Graham A Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

It rained the day we were supposed to fly so the staff were really helpful and arranged us to do a hike on the glacier with another company. They booked us on a helicopter flight the next morning, provided the weather cleared which it did. I thought they ran the tours very profesionally, given they are subject to the weather.

Jeremy S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

the staff was very helpful staff, he recommended us to reschedule to Sunday for a better weather as the forecast for Saturday was not good. The weather was perfect on Sunday.

Karen G Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We didn't do the Heli Hiking because the weather was bad, but we exchanged it for a Scenic Flight over Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers and Mt Cook, and that was fantastic! We got out on the glacier for a walk around and had fantastic views!

Steve C Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Cost a lot of money, but we will probably not get back to this beautiful part of the world again for quite a while so had to do it & glad we did.

Julie S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

It was an unbelievable experience hiking around the glacier up and over ice one hundred and fifty meters thick and through crevices.

David P United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

The trip was affected by weather, as we did not go as high as expected. One of our party had an accident, which curtailed the trip slightly. The helicopter flight was fantastic!

Rohit D

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Amazing trip and tour guide but not value for money...

Nicolas D

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was a good expérience but very expensive for what we did!

David H

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I enjoyed it but my wife didn't. I think we should have walked on the glacier higher up.
The guide was not vigilant enough in caring for the party. As a result my wife fell over twice, she is very fit, the second time dropping into a big hole very close to the path, with a layer of thin ice over it, I hate to think if a child had fallen in. She injured herself as a result and broke her glasses and was most upset from that moment on.

Karen S

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Very good - only disappointment was the helicopter ride - would have liked to have seen a little more viewing of the countryside. Perhaps a little longer ride for the money we paid.

Gary R United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The photos in promotion do not truly reflect the actual expereince - an example on this page does not happen. However the trip was worthwhile.

Mrs Gillian A W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

We were lucky insofar as we went to the information centre the day before to check details and were told we would be unlikely to fly the next day because of the weather but that we could go if we were ready in 2 minutes. Safety procedure and equipment took a while, helicopter flight was fun but we had to stand around for a while on the glacier until everyone was there. Our guide seemed quite disinterested in getting us to actually hike anywhere, would chip/ hack the ice randomly while we did nothing, then would go in a different direction. After taking an hour to walk about 200 yards, we then returned to the helicopter in about 20 minutes. The whole experience felt very staged.

Boyd L USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Cancelled due to weather.

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 305.98

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message