Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 112 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heli Hiking Franz Josef. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 112 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Absolutely spectacular! You get up a lot higher on the glacier by chopper and the view on the way up and back is incredible. The guides are well informed and entertaining and wandering around on the glacier is fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Booking through Viator web site was easy and secure. the Heli Hiking Franz Joseph tour was fantastic. Great scenery from helicopter and walking on ice was great fun with knowledgable guide who catered for our adventurous group by allowing us the opportunity to crawl through a worm hole in the ice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Well run trip with excellent guides. Totally worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Amazing, We both had a great time on the Heli Hike, I will be recommending this to many friends and family. Cheers

John V
Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

awesome, wouldn't have missed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

We had a fun and safe journey around the glacier. The views, the senses, the exciting will never be forgotten. Highly recommend the chopper ride up to the Glacier.

Charles S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

A unique expierence. Would love to do it again ,perhaps for a longer period .

Ruth C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

The highlight of our visit to South Island - very well organised with an excellent guide who recognised those less able to cope and called them forward to follow closely in her steps.

Ray L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

What an amazing experience! Walking through the Glacier is spectacular. I would have liked the Guide to have provided some history on the Glacier but he did not talk much.

Zor M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic voyage!

Zane B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Amazing!

Kevin W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

We have just got back from our New Zealand holiday, and it is all fresh in our minds, and will be forever. The helicopter ride to the glacier, the 2 hour walk around, and the sights all are so much better when you have keen staff who share their love of the glacier and New Zealand. We were lucky to have the flight because of the weather that came in. My recommendation is go for the early morning flight and get any questions you have ready, because the experience of seeing such beauty is breathtaking. To the pilots that took us up and down Franz Josef, and the 2 guides that took us around and presented a beautiful look at the glacier, our thanks. Perfect trip, highly recommend!

PETER H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Absolutely brilliant. From the helicopter ride to the actual hiking was a new experience for all 4 of our party and we loved every minute of it. The guide was excellent and looked after us very well.

Brenda O
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This was a totally awesome experience! Definitely a highlight of our holiday! The guide was informative and involved us in a fantastic adventure.

pat/peter
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Our trip was definitely well worth the price, my partner didn't want to go as he is afraid of heights, but thankfully was persuaded the night before we left Sydney. The staff were all so helpful. Thank you all for a wonderful holiday experience!

From USD $ 329.75

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message