Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 114 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location:Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Heli Hiking Franz Josef. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 114 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Graham A
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

It rained the day we were supposed to fly so the staff were really helpful and arranged us to do a hike on the glacier with another company. They booked us on a helicopter flight the next morning, provided the weather cleared which it did. I thought they ran the tours very profesionally, given they are subject to the weather.

Jeremy S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

the staff was very helpful staff, he recommended us to reschedule to Sunday for a better weather as the forecast for Saturday was not good. The weather was perfect on Sunday.

Karen G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

We didn't do the Heli Hiking because the weather was bad, but we exchanged it for a Scenic Flight over Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers and Mt Cook, and that was fantastic! We got out on the glacier for a walk around and had fantastic views!

Steve C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

Cost a lot of money, but we will probably not get back to this beautiful part of the world again for quite a while so had to do it & glad we did.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2008

It was an unbelievable experience hiking around the glacier up and over ice one hundred and fifty meters thick and through crevices.

David P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

The trip was affected by weather, as we did not go as high as expected. One of our party had an accident, which curtailed the trip slightly. The helicopter flight was fantastic!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Amazing trip and tour guide but not value for money...

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was a good expérience but very expensive for what we did!

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I enjoyed it but my wife didn't. I think we should have walked on the glacier higher up.
The guide was not vigilant enough in caring for the party. As a result my wife fell over twice, she is very fit, the second time dropping into a big hole very close to the path, with a layer of thin ice over it, I hate to think if a child had fallen in. She injured herself as a result and broke her glasses and was most upset from that moment on.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Very good - only disappointment was the helicopter ride - would have liked to have seen a little more viewing of the countryside. Perhaps a little longer ride for the money we paid.

Gary R
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The photos in promotion do not truly reflect the actual expereince - an example on this page does not happen. However the trip was worthwhile.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2014

We were lucky insofar as we went to the information centre the day before to check details and were told we would be unlikely to fly the next day because of the weather but that we could go if we were ready in 2 minutes. Safety procedure and equipment took a while, helicopter flight was fun but we had to stand around for a while on the glacier until everyone was there. Our guide seemed quite disinterested in getting us to actually hike anywhere, would chip/ hack the ice randomly while we did nothing, then would go in a different direction. After taking an hour to walk about 200 yards, we then returned to the helicopter in about 20 minutes. The whole experience felt very staged.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Cancelled due to weather.

fdik
Russian Federation

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

Disgusting excursion. The helicopter line for the unclear reasons didn't execute excursion, didn't offer alternative. Weather was good, other companies flied round glaciers and organized foot walks. It was very offensive to lose because of them 2 days for nothing in New Zealand

From USD $ 275.76

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3434WHO_HELIHIKE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message