Viewing All 174 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Russell E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was spectacular. We lucked into perfect weather with crystal blue skies. The guide was informative and very friendly and worked her butt off for us. The hike is dependent on the fitness ability of the slowest member on your hike, so luck of the draw. I would have liked a bit faster hike but if you want something more challenging, select the ice climbing option. Overall very satisfied with the tour and the guide, Katiana, from Canada/Russia was super!

WENXIAN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Safe but adventurous and challenging way to experience glacier. Guide is knowledgeable and attentive.

Ameet M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed the Franz Josef Glacier walk. The guide was excellent and we had a blast.

Martin N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Simply a must do when in Franz Josef if the weather allows. Our guide was very friendly and helpful, she cleared paths with her ice pick to make the hike easier, lent a helping hand on the steeper obstacles and even took group photos for us. The scenery is amazing and exploring the paths, stairs and caves is real experience. The hike itself was no trouble at all for average fitness people, if you can walk and climb stairs you can do it, the crampons and the guide do all the hard work for you. We went during summer so didn't need many extra layers, most on the tour had to take off the gore-tex jackets.

nicole t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was the highlight of our New Zealand adventure. An experience we will never forget. Have ticked it off my bucket list !!!!

Kevin R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a lot of fun. Our guide was great. This particular tour takes you up on the glacier, a bit lower than the HeliHike option. Also, the helicopter ride is a quick 5-10 minute flight to the glacier, I believe the Heli Hike gives your more airtime but less glacier time. Highly recommend this tour, we wanted to be on the glacier longer so that's why we picked this one.

Randy O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Despite an event where one of the participants took to altitude sickness and had to be helicoptered down , all else went smoothly. The guide did quite well at explaining equipment and technique. I would rate this experience as one of the most exciting for me.

Jill B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing!!! The guide was knowledeable and professional. It was by far the most fascinating and unusual trip I have ever done!! I loved every second!

L A N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Brilliant informative and fun

Emily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

great experience!

Viggy Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Perfect tour!!! I enjoyed the helicopter flight and the walk! I personally have acrophobia, but surprisingly i weren't scared within the flight, since the Pilot drive it very very stable, i keep taking photos of the beautiful scenery almost forgot i was in the air. Our guide is very handsome according to all our girls! Especially when he was running on the ice really fast, like teleport! he was leading in front of us with his hammer, to make us walk safe and easier. It is really easy and safe walk with a very little tiny adventure!

I was wearing a thermal underwear, a knit sweaters, and a ultralight down jacket, then on top with their provided gore-tex jacket! but after 20 mins i started feel hot, and wanted to throw all them away, i think i don't need that much next time since the walk keep your body really warm, that's why the guide only wear a short pants!

If you are a photographer and wants to take much photos and don't want to damaged your camera, just make sure you have the waterproof cover/case/bag for your camera, cause mine was half dead in the middle of the walk, since was too cold and the water drop from some of the ice in the cave. if you just want to take photo with your phone, just make sure you have the waterproof cover for your phone as well!

For this walk, they provide you a bag, you can put some food or water, for my opinion since this is not long, and you don't really have time to sit down to have a snack or something, just make sure you have enough food before the walk (there's a nice cafe just next to the registration, have food there!), then bring a bottle of water and a camera and your id, that's it, oh of course a hat and sunglasses! don't bring anything else heavy will keep you walk clumsy!!

I really love this walk!!! So much fun!!! 100% Satisfied!

Cherry Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Amazing view, adventurous tour, and well-trained guide. Recommended!

Pamela Vianne T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

my review here http://msozpinay.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/glacier-walk-experience-at-franz-josef/

Emma J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The trip is absolutely amazing, highly recommended, one of the highlights of our NZ trip. The guide was extremely knowledgeable. You don’t need to be an elite athlete to do it. Take snacks and water as you walk up an appetite. The hot pool entry is an added bonus and just what the body needs after 3 hours of ice walking.

Staicy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Amazing experience. Our tour guide (Will) was great! Well worth the price, you won't regret it!

Anita C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The glacier walk was my favourite activity in New Zealand by far. It was well organized and the guides were great. They give you all the gear you require. We spent nearly 3 hours on the glacier and it was amazing as was the helicopter rides up and back. It wasn't very difficult physically, but was done at a relaxed pace. Our guide, Milo, did his best to make our trip interesting and enjoyable. The views were great and the ice caves were too. I would highly recommend this trip for value, excitement, and something you won't get to do too many times in your life. Loved it!!

Eva S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Awesome experience, this is a must do

Bethan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Honestly - the only experience I have ever had in life that rivalled diving on the Great Barrier Reef. The Glacier itself was just incredible and the hike did not disappoint. The helicopter ride was short but long enough to experience the thrill of seeing such an amazing landscape from the skies. And the staff at FJ Glacier Guides were brilliant - very professional and thinking of safety at all times but Yanna (our guide for the hike) was just amazing. Friendly, funny and extremely informative - she really made the experience what it was and we couldn't have asked for anything else. Don't go all the way to New Zealand and not do this...you'll regret it!

Robert C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Was fantastic, recommend this to anyone looking to try something different

Ming chien Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

So great. It is a good experience especially for those people live in tropical area.

C P H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

An exhilarating walk/scramble over, throiugh and occasionally under the glacier with an excellent guide (Mike), preceded by a wonderful helicopter ride up the valley. Great value!

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

A truly amazing experience. The trip was cancelled on our scheduled day due to high winds but we were slotted in the next day (had to shuffle our schedule a bit so be prepared for this). They would have given a full refund if we could not fit the reschedule so that was comforting. A MUST DO!

Wen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

one of the highlights for may son and I during our 2 week NZ holiday. A must do if you are at Franz Josef.

Weijie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Definitely a great experience!

Ciel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Absolutely amazing! Must do if in New Zealand.
There was a slight mix-up with our tour time which was a little irratating as we were only in Franz Josef for 1 day and had a long drive that afternoon but the tour itself more than made up for it. The guides were really great and walking on the glacier was like nothing I've ever done before. Would definitely recommend it.

Viewing 2 of 7

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 242.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message