Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 165 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 165 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

great experience!

Viggy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Perfect tour!!! I enjoyed the helicopter flight and the walk! I personally have acrophobia, but surprisingly i weren't scared within the flight, since the Pilot drive it very very stable, i keep taking photos of the beautiful scenery almost forgot i was in the air. Our guide is very handsome according to all our girls! Especially when he was running on the ice really fast, like teleport! he was leading in front of us with his hammer, to make us walk safe and easier. It is really easy and safe walk with a very little tiny adventure!

I was wearing a thermal underwear, a knit sweaters, and a ultralight down jacket, then on top with their provided gore-tex jacket! but after 20 mins i started feel hot, and wanted to throw all them away, i think i don't need that much next time since the walk keep your body really warm, that's why the guide only wear a short pants!

If you are a photographer and wants to take much photos and don't want to damaged your camera, just make sure you have the waterproof cover/case/bag for your camera, cause mine was half dead in the middle of the walk, since was too cold and the water drop from some of the ice in the cave. if you just want to take photo with your phone, just make sure you have the waterproof cover for your phone as well!

For this walk, they provide you a bag, you can put some food or water, for my opinion since this is not long, and you don't really have time to sit down to have a snack or something, just make sure you have enough food before the walk (there's a nice cafe just next to the registration, have food there!), then bring a bottle of water and a camera and your id, that's it, oh of course a hat and sunglasses! don't bring anything else heavy will keep you walk clumsy!!

I really love this walk!!! So much fun!!! 100% Satisfied!

Cherry
Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Amazing view, adventurous tour, and well-trained guide. Recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

my review here http://msozpinay.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/glacier-walk-experience-at-franz-josef/

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The trip is absolutely amazing, highly recommended, one of the highlights of our NZ trip. The guide was extremely knowledgeable. You don’t need to be an elite athlete to do it. Take snacks and water as you walk up an appetite. The hot pool entry is an added bonus and just what the body needs after 3 hours of ice walking.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Amazing experience. Our tour guide (Will) was great! Well worth the price, you won't regret it!

Anita C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The glacier walk was my favourite activity in New Zealand by far. It was well organized and the guides were great. They give you all the gear you require. We spent nearly 3 hours on the glacier and it was amazing as was the helicopter rides up and back. It wasn't very difficult physically, but was done at a relaxed pace. Our guide, Milo, did his best to make our trip interesting and enjoyable. The views were great and the ice caves were too. I would highly recommend this trip for value, excitement, and something you won't get to do too many times in your life. Loved it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Awesome experience, this is a must do

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Honestly - the only experience I have ever had in life that rivalled diving on the Great Barrier Reef. The Glacier itself was just incredible and the hike did not disappoint. The helicopter ride was short but long enough to experience the thrill of seeing such an amazing landscape from the skies. And the staff at FJ Glacier Guides were brilliant - very professional and thinking of safety at all times but Yanna (our guide for the hike) was just amazing. Friendly, funny and extremely informative - she really made the experience what it was and we couldn't have asked for anything else. Don't go all the way to New Zealand and not do this...you'll regret it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Was fantastic, recommend this to anyone looking to try something different

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

So great. It is a good experience especially for those people live in tropical area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

An exhilarating walk/scramble over, throiugh and occasionally under the glacier with an excellent guide (Mike), preceded by a wonderful helicopter ride up the valley. Great value!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

A truly amazing experience. The trip was cancelled on our scheduled day due to high winds but we were slotted in the next day (had to shuffle our schedule a bit so be prepared for this). They would have given a full refund if we could not fit the reschedule so that was comforting. A MUST DO!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

one of the highlights for may son and I during our 2 week NZ holiday. A must do if you are at Franz Josef.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Definitely a great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Absolutely amazing! Must do if in New Zealand.
There was a slight mix-up with our tour time which was a little irratating as we were only in Franz Josef for 1 day and had a long drive that afternoon but the tour itself more than made up for it. The guides were really great and walking on the glacier was like nothing I've ever done before. Would definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Loved the helicopter ride there and back. Stunning views and a once in a lifetime experience. Pricey but worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great guide. Showed us much more than we expected on this valley glacier walk. Very small group too...which we liked. Able to cover a lot of turf quickly and see things a bigger group probably couldn't. Great experience. Did I mention how much we love New Zealand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Absolutely amazing. The glacial walk rates as one of the best things I have ever done. The views were spectacular, but the feeling of being in such a majestic part of the world was spine tingling.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I LOVED LOVED this - great from start to finish! The gear provided keeps you warm and is perfect for the hike. Helicopter ride is amazing round trip. Our guide was professional and knew a lot about the glacier. It is a bit strenuous but so worth the adventure! Soaking in the hot pools was so relaxing! A must do for NZ!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

It was a really amazing way to see the glacier. The guides were professional and fun. I would definitely recommend this experience to others.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Unstable weather conditions delayed my trek. It was first pushed back from 10am to 10:55am, then again to 12:15pm, and again to the next morning at 8am. This was not an issue for me because I had no real itinerary or plans otherwise. I do quite appreciate their caution, however. I could not imagine being stuck on a glacier would be an enjoyable experience. The time was quite useful as there is a cozy coffee shop directly next to the tour base with free wifi. There are also quite a few short walks right in town that allow you to explore the amazing wilderness that Southwest New Zealand has to offer.

As far as the actual trip, it was absolutely an amazing, one of a kind experience. I would have paid twice as much as I did. It was totally fun riding in a helicopter to start off with, and the glacier itself was absolutely stunning! The ice is so blue and bright! My child like sense of wonder was brought out as I was literally in an icy wonderland of crawling tunnels, winding mazes and and massive crevices. I could have spent all day exploring the endless nooks and crannies of this amazing natural phenomenon.

Everything necessary is provided by the tour company: hat, gloves, windproof jacket and pants, boots, crampons(spikes that attach to your boots to aid in walking) and an awesome red fanny pack to carry your water and a snack in. The organization of the company as well as the tour guide, Jeff, was perfect.

The tour definitely requires a moderate level of fitness. After all, you are climbing a glacier for 3 hours. Don't bother lugging a water bottle with you, there is plenty of crystal clear delicious, ice cold glacier water to drink. I would recommend a good breakfast and a small snack, an apple or something like that.

There are several other tours available. In my opinion this it the best one. There is a more expensive one, in which you get more time in a helicopter, and less time on the ice. There is also a cheaper one that only takes you to the base of the glacier and is not very exciting at all. Choose this one. Trust me

Overall, amazing!!!! I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

What an experience. Totally New Zealand. A have to do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our guide, Kyle, did an excellent job of educating us about the glacier as well as pacing the hike to our group's abilities. My husband and I were the oldest in our group (61 and 57 yr.) and although we consider ourselves in pretty decent shape, this was extremely physically demanding. We are really glad we did the full day experience, but we were exhausted by the end of it. Still, if we were to have the choice to do it or not, we'd go for it--quite the experience!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour, spent a few hours on the glacier, guides were well informed. Would definitely recommend

From USD $ 222.82

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message