• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Anita C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The glacier walk was my favourite activity in New Zealand by far. It was well organized and the guides were great. They give you all the gear you require. We spent nearly 3 hours on the glacier and it was amazing as was the helicopter rides up and back. It wasn't very difficult physically, but was done at a relaxed pace. Our guide, Milo, did his best to make our trip interesting and enjoyable. The views were great and the ice caves were too. I would highly recommend this trip for value, excitement, and something you won't get to do too many times in your life. Loved it!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Awesome experience, this is a must do

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Honestly - the only experience I have ever had in life that rivalled diving on the Great Barrier Reef. The Glacier itself was just incredible and the hike did not disappoint. The helicopter ride was short but long enough to experience the thrill of seeing such an amazing landscape from the skies. And the staff at FJ Glacier Guides were brilliant - very professional and thinking of safety at all times but Yanna (our guide for the hike) was just amazing. Friendly, funny and extremely informative - she really made the experience what it was and we couldn't have asked for anything else. Don't go all the way to New Zealand and not do this...you'll regret it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Was fantastic, recommend this to anyone looking to try something different

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

So great. It is a good experience especially for those people live in tropical area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

An exhilarating walk/scramble over, throiugh and occasionally under the glacier with an excellent guide (Mike), preceded by a wonderful helicopter ride up the valley. Great value!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

A truly amazing experience. The trip was cancelled on our scheduled day due to high winds but we were slotted in the next day (had to shuffle our schedule a bit so be prepared for this). They would have given a full refund if we could not fit the reschedule so that was comforting. A MUST DO!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

one of the highlights for may son and I during our 2 week NZ holiday. A must do if you are at Franz Josef.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Definitely a great experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Absolutely amazing! Must do if in New Zealand.
There was a slight mix-up with our tour time which was a little irratating as we were only in Franz Josef for 1 day and had a long drive that afternoon but the tour itself more than made up for it. The guides were really great and walking on the glacier was like nothing I've ever done before. Would definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Loved the helicopter ride there and back. Stunning views and a once in a lifetime experience. Pricey but worth it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Great guide. Showed us much more than we expected on this valley glacier walk. Very small group too...which we liked. Able to cover a lot of turf quickly and see things a bigger group probably couldn't. Great experience. Did I mention how much we love New Zealand.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Absolutely amazing. The glacial walk rates as one of the best things I have ever done. The views were spectacular, but the feeling of being in such a majestic part of the world was spine tingling.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I LOVED LOVED this - great from start to finish! The gear provided keeps you warm and is perfect for the hike. Helicopter ride is amazing round trip. Our guide was professional and knew a lot about the glacier. It is a bit strenuous but so worth the adventure! Soaking in the hot pools was so relaxing! A must do for NZ!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

It was a really amazing way to see the glacier. The guides were professional and fun. I would definitely recommend this experience to others.

From USD $ 284.89

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message