Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 149 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 149 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Absolutely amazing. The glacial walk rates as one of the best things I have ever done. The views were spectacular, but the feeling of being in such a majestic part of the world was spine tingling.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I LOVED LOVED this - great from start to finish! The gear provided keeps you warm and is perfect for the hike. Helicopter ride is amazing round trip. Our guide was professional and knew a lot about the glacier. It is a bit strenuous but so worth the adventure! Soaking in the hot pools was so relaxing! A must do for NZ!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

It was a really amazing way to see the glacier. The guides were professional and fun. I would definitely recommend this experience to others.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Unstable weather conditions delayed my trek. It was first pushed back from 10am to 10:55am, then again to 12:15pm, and again to the next morning at 8am. This was not an issue for me because I had no real itinerary or plans otherwise. I do quite appreciate their caution, however. I could not imagine being stuck on a glacier would be an enjoyable experience. The time was quite useful as there is a cozy coffee shop directly next to the tour base with free wifi. There are also quite a few short walks right in town that allow you to explore the amazing wilderness that Southwest New Zealand has to offer.

As far as the actual trip, it was absolutely an amazing, one of a kind experience. I would have paid twice as much as I did. It was totally fun riding in a helicopter to start off with, and the glacier itself was absolutely stunning! The ice is so blue and bright! My child like sense of wonder was brought out as I was literally in an icy wonderland of crawling tunnels, winding mazes and and massive crevices. I could have spent all day exploring the endless nooks and crannies of this amazing natural phenomenon.

Everything necessary is provided by the tour company: hat, gloves, windproof jacket and pants, boots, crampons(spikes that attach to your boots to aid in walking) and an awesome red fanny pack to carry your water and a snack in. The organization of the company as well as the tour guide, Jeff, was perfect.

The tour definitely requires a moderate level of fitness. After all, you are climbing a glacier for 3 hours. Don't bother lugging a water bottle with you, there is plenty of crystal clear delicious, ice cold glacier water to drink. I would recommend a good breakfast and a small snack, an apple or something like that.

There are several other tours available. In my opinion this it the best one. There is a more expensive one, in which you get more time in a helicopter, and less time on the ice. There is also a cheaper one that only takes you to the base of the glacier and is not very exciting at all. Choose this one. Trust me

Overall, amazing!!!! I highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

What an experience. Totally New Zealand. A have to do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our guide, Kyle, did an excellent job of educating us about the glacier as well as pacing the hike to our group's abilities. My husband and I were the oldest in our group (61 and 57 yr.) and although we consider ourselves in pretty decent shape, this was extremely physically demanding. We are really glad we did the full day experience, but we were exhausted by the end of it. Still, if we were to have the choice to do it or not, we'd go for it--quite the experience!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour, spent a few hours on the glacier, guides were well informed. Would definitely recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Admit we had reservations on how the day would pan out after we arrived and a mix up with our booking meant we had been put on full-day tour instead of half (but still had to pay the additional $200). As it turns out it was a blessing with the tour absolutely magnificent. Our guide Jeff was helpful and knowledgable. Disappointed not all groups got to cover as much ground as others as we had been promised but that is neither here nor there. Brilliant day! (Would have liked enough hot chocolate at the end of the long day for all though. Our entire group missed out - and it was freezing so we needed something to warm us up.) Would thoroughly recommend the full-day tour.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very rewarding, half day was perfect amount of time. More challenging than we expected.

Melinda M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

WOW, loved every minute of it. Fantastic experience. The hike there is the hard part but just added to the experience. Had beautiful weather which I believe made me love it more than anything else I did in New Zealand. Thanks to the guide, good work. Would mention his name if I remembered it.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was a great experience. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful, and were a big help to some of the people that weren't able to maintain a fast pace up the glacier. Wonderful experience.

Note from Viator: 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excelent, from the begining to the end everything was well organized and perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was an amazing day out. I was quite a lot older than the rest of the group, in my mid 50s and though it was strenuous and you have to keep up with the group, it wasn't overly difficult. I learned so much about the glacier from a brilliant lady guide called Tori. A degree of fitness is definitely required. Of the thousands of things you could choose to do in New Zealand, I would certainly you include this trip.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

Graham E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Had a really great trip, a real experience and a 'must do' if in the region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The Glacier walk was the highlight of our NZ trip - and the hot spring pool took care of our sore muscle after the walk. A must do activity in NZ!!!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

From USD $ 270.41

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message