Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 165 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 165 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Admit we had reservations on how the day would pan out after we arrived and a mix up with our booking meant we had been put on full-day tour instead of half (but still had to pay the additional $200). As it turns out it was a blessing with the tour absolutely magnificent. Our guide Jeff was helpful and knowledgable. Disappointed not all groups got to cover as much ground as others as we had been promised but that is neither here nor there. Brilliant day! (Would have liked enough hot chocolate at the end of the long day for all though. Our entire group missed out - and it was freezing so we needed something to warm us up.) Would thoroughly recommend the full-day tour.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very rewarding, half day was perfect amount of time. More challenging than we expected.

Melinda M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

WOW, loved every minute of it. Fantastic experience. The hike there is the hard part but just added to the experience. Had beautiful weather which I believe made me love it more than anything else I did in New Zealand. Thanks to the guide, good work. Would mention his name if I remembered it.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was a great experience. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful, and were a big help to some of the people that weren't able to maintain a fast pace up the glacier. Wonderful experience.

Note from Viator: 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excelent, from the begining to the end everything was well organized and perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was an amazing day out. I was quite a lot older than the rest of the group, in my mid 50s and though it was strenuous and you have to keep up with the group, it wasn't overly difficult. I learned so much about the glacier from a brilliant lady guide called Tori. A degree of fitness is definitely required. Of the thousands of things you could choose to do in New Zealand, I would certainly you include this trip.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

Graham E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Had a really great trip, a real experience and a 'must do' if in the region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The Glacier walk was the highlight of our NZ trip - and the hot spring pool took care of our sore muscle after the walk. A must do activity in NZ!!!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

it was a great experience, would definetly do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

An amazing opportunity to visit a glacier. One of the highlights of our trip to NZ. May be too strenuous for older persons who are not used to hiking uphill.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Absolutely awesome trip! Great experience, guides were fantastic and very knowledgeable. Would recommend to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

dedicated leader. can't remember his name but sure with he is from Holland. prefer to explore new route to facilitate us scenic photoshoot, moderate level of baby team members and informative. SUGGESTION: it's said 3 hrs hiking actually took us almost 4hrs climb from the bottom to ice, so don't join the fastest group if you wanna have pictures on the way climbing up. group 3/4 is appropriate.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We enjoyed our half day Franz Josef trip very much. All the staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. It was well organised and we felt very safe. George, our guide was lovely, very knowlegeable and made the trip so interesting, he brought my high school geography lessons on glaciers to life. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fantastic Experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Absolutely fantastic experience would consider 1 day trek next time. Half day trek suitable for all ages and Remy ensured plenty of rest stops for less fit of the group.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

My husband and I enjoyed the half day experience - this was certainly one of our highlights of our NZ trip and the hot pools afterwards was magnificant!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

it was totally awesome i highly recommend it. the guide was great and so was the climb

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fantastic experience; very professional all the way. Can now cross Franz Josef Glacier off my bucket list but then again I didn't do the full day option.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We all had a wonderful time on the glacier many thanks :) The guides were competent, informative and great fun and the added bonus of the included pass to the hot springs made it a perfect day. Many thanks.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Awesome........never will forget, amazing day! Our tour guide Daniel so professional, informative and great personality!.. felt extremely safe as his guidance and care for each of us was exemplary! Fabulous day and met some wonderful people in our group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Wear 3 layers and bring a 4th layer if you tend to get cold easily. It's easier to climb if you're wearing shorts or leggings - wearing pants and the over pants that they supply makes for awkward movement around the knee and will wear you out fast. There are numerous stops as your guide creates steps but this hike does require a decent level of fitness so if you haven't been doing any cardio consistently for a few months already then I recommend you start conditioning your heart and legs at least a month out. Use the elliptical trainer (legs only) at a random hill setting, walk on a hilly route and do lots of lunges (with a backpack on) at least 3x/week.
Enjoy! It's well worth the experience and view!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The half day glacier experience was excellent. Appropriate warm clothes and ice walking equipment were supplied. The guides were professional yet relaxed but well aware of safety. They were knowledgeable on the history and geology of the glacier as well as the Maori legends about its creation. They encouraged questions and were able to answer them well. We spent about 2 hours on the ice with plenty of time for photos and just enjoying the experience. Well worth it!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience. The weather was great. The staff were all very friendly, knowledgeable and took a great deal of care explaining what we were going to do and all the safety aspects of the trip. We had a great time and would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The experience was well organised and we were given all the equipment needed for a safe trip. The guide was very experienced and was patient with those members of the group that were less confident. It was hard work but great fun. We achieved a sense of accomplishment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Amazingly beautiful glacier (better than Fox Glacier from what I could tell). Great hike, very professional and friendly guides, good and adequate equipment provided. A good value and a must do activity on the south island. If you are in decent physical shape it is a much better deal than the half day. You go almost three times farther up the glacier and get much better views and chances to explore crevices and irises. Highly recommended!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

From USD $ 222.92

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message