• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 144 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 144 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

What an experience. Totally New Zealand. A have to do.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our guide, Kyle, did an excellent job of educating us about the glacier as well as pacing the hike to our group's abilities. My husband and I were the oldest in our group (61 and 57 yr.) and although we consider ourselves in pretty decent shape, this was extremely physically demanding. We are really glad we did the full day experience, but we were exhausted by the end of it. Still, if we were to have the choice to do it or not, we'd go for it--quite the experience!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great tour, spent a few hours on the glacier, guides were well informed. Would definitely recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Admit we had reservations on how the day would pan out after we arrived and a mix up with our booking meant we had been put on full-day tour instead of half (but still had to pay the additional $200). As it turns out it was a blessing with the tour absolutely magnificent. Our guide Jeff was helpful and knowledgable. Disappointed not all groups got to cover as much ground as others as we had been promised but that is neither here nor there. Brilliant day! (Would have liked enough hot chocolate at the end of the long day for all though. Our entire group missed out - and it was freezing so we needed something to warm us up.) Would thoroughly recommend the full-day tour.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very rewarding, half day was perfect amount of time. More challenging than we expected.

Melinda M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

WOW, loved every minute of it. Fantastic experience. The hike there is the hard part but just added to the experience. Had beautiful weather which I believe made me love it more than anything else I did in New Zealand. Thanks to the guide, good work. Would mention his name if I remembered it.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was a great experience. The guides were very knowledgeable and helpful, and were a big help to some of the people that weren't able to maintain a fast pace up the glacier. Wonderful experience.

Note from Viator: 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Excelent, from the begining to the end everything was well organized and perfect.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was an amazing day out. I was quite a lot older than the rest of the group, in my mid 50s and though it was strenuous and you have to keep up with the group, it wasn't overly difficult. I learned so much about the glacier from a brilliant lady guide called Tori. A degree of fitness is definitely required. Of the thousands of things you could choose to do in New Zealand, I would certainly you include this trip.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

Graham E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Had a really great trip, a real experience and a 'must do' if in the region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The Glacier walk was the highlight of our NZ trip - and the hot spring pool took care of our sore muscle after the walk. A must do activity in NZ!!!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

it was a great experience, would definetly do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

An amazing opportunity to visit a glacier. One of the highlights of our trip to NZ. May be too strenuous for older persons who are not used to hiking uphill.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Absolutely awesome trip! Great experience, guides were fantastic and very knowledgeable. Would recommend to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

dedicated leader. can't remember his name but sure with he is from Holland. prefer to explore new route to facilitate us scenic photoshoot, moderate level of baby team members and informative. SUGGESTION: it's said 3 hrs hiking actually took us almost 4hrs climb from the bottom to ice, so don't join the fastest group if you wanna have pictures on the way climbing up. group 3/4 is appropriate.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

From USD $ 286.94

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message