Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 152 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 152 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was an amazing day out. I was quite a lot older than the rest of the group, in my mid 50s and though it was strenuous and you have to keep up with the group, it wasn't overly difficult. I learned so much about the glacier from a brilliant lady guide called Tori. A degree of fitness is definitely required. Of the thousands of things you could choose to do in New Zealand, I would certainly you include this trip.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

Graham E
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Had a really great trip, a real experience and a 'must do' if in the region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The Glacier walk was the highlight of our NZ trip - and the hot spring pool took care of our sore muscle after the walk. A must do activity in NZ!!!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

it was a great experience, would definetly do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

An amazing opportunity to visit a glacier. One of the highlights of our trip to NZ. May be too strenuous for older persons who are not used to hiking uphill.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Absolutely awesome trip! Great experience, guides were fantastic and very knowledgeable. Would recommend to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

dedicated leader. can't remember his name but sure with he is from Holland. prefer to explore new route to facilitate us scenic photoshoot, moderate level of baby team members and informative. SUGGESTION: it's said 3 hrs hiking actually took us almost 4hrs climb from the bottom to ice, so don't join the fastest group if you wanna have pictures on the way climbing up. group 3/4 is appropriate.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We enjoyed our half day Franz Josef trip very much. All the staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. It was well organised and we felt very safe. George, our guide was lovely, very knowlegeable and made the trip so interesting, he brought my high school geography lessons on glaciers to life. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fantastic Experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Absolutely fantastic experience would consider 1 day trek next time. Half day trek suitable for all ages and Remy ensured plenty of rest stops for less fit of the group.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

My husband and I enjoyed the half day experience - this was certainly one of our highlights of our NZ trip and the hot pools afterwards was magnificant!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

it was totally awesome i highly recommend it. the guide was great and so was the climb

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fantastic experience; very professional all the way. Can now cross Franz Josef Glacier off my bucket list but then again I didn't do the full day option.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We all had a wonderful time on the glacier many thanks :) The guides were competent, informative and great fun and the added bonus of the included pass to the hot springs made it a perfect day. Many thanks.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Awesome........never will forget, amazing day! Our tour guide Daniel so professional, informative and great personality!.. felt extremely safe as his guidance and care for each of us was exemplary! Fabulous day and met some wonderful people in our group.

From USD $ 258.02

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message