• USD ($)
  • English

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 145 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 145 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

dedicated leader. can't remember his name but sure with he is from Holland. prefer to explore new route to facilitate us scenic photoshoot, moderate level of baby team members and informative. SUGGESTION: it's said 3 hrs hiking actually took us almost 4hrs climb from the bottom to ice, so don't join the fastest group if you wanna have pictures on the way climbing up. group 3/4 is appropriate.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We enjoyed our half day Franz Josef trip very much. All the staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. It was well organised and we felt very safe. George, our guide was lovely, very knowlegeable and made the trip so interesting, he brought my high school geography lessons on glaciers to life. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fantastic Experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Absolutely fantastic experience would consider 1 day trek next time. Half day trek suitable for all ages and Remy ensured plenty of rest stops for less fit of the group.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

My husband and I enjoyed the half day experience - this was certainly one of our highlights of our NZ trip and the hot pools afterwards was magnificant!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

it was totally awesome i highly recommend it. the guide was great and so was the climb

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fantastic experience; very professional all the way. Can now cross Franz Josef Glacier off my bucket list but then again I didn't do the full day option.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We all had a wonderful time on the glacier many thanks :) The guides were competent, informative and great fun and the added bonus of the included pass to the hot springs made it a perfect day. Many thanks.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Awesome........never will forget, amazing day! Our tour guide Daniel so professional, informative and great personality!.. felt extremely safe as his guidance and care for each of us was exemplary! Fabulous day and met some wonderful people in our group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Wear 3 layers and bring a 4th layer if you tend to get cold easily. It's easier to climb if you're wearing shorts or leggings - wearing pants and the over pants that they supply makes for awkward movement around the knee and will wear you out fast. There are numerous stops as your guide creates steps but this hike does require a decent level of fitness so if you haven't been doing any cardio consistently for a few months already then I recommend you start conditioning your heart and legs at least a month out. Use the elliptical trainer (legs only) at a random hill setting, walk on a hilly route and do lots of lunges (with a backpack on) at least 3x/week.
Enjoy! It's well worth the experience and view!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The half day glacier experience was excellent. Appropriate warm clothes and ice walking equipment were supplied. The guides were professional yet relaxed but well aware of safety. They were knowledgeable on the history and geology of the glacier as well as the Maori legends about its creation. They encouraged questions and were able to answer them well. We spent about 2 hours on the ice with plenty of time for photos and just enjoying the experience. Well worth it!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience. The weather was great. The staff were all very friendly, knowledgeable and took a great deal of care explaining what we were going to do and all the safety aspects of the trip. We had a great time and would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The experience was well organised and we were given all the equipment needed for a safe trip. The guide was very experienced and was patient with those members of the group that were less confident. It was hard work but great fun. We achieved a sense of accomplishment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Amazingly beautiful glacier (better than Fox Glacier from what I could tell). Great hike, very professional and friendly guides, good and adequate equipment provided. A good value and a must do activity on the south island. If you are in decent physical shape it is a much better deal than the half day. You go almost three times farther up the glacier and get much better views and chances to explore crevices and irises. Highly recommended!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Amazing, would have done it again the next day if we could.

From USD $ 285.31

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message