Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 161 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 161 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The Franz Josef Half Day Glacier Experience was unreal. The sights were gorgeous, and the staff was extremely professional. I loved it!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Mihaela M
South Korea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I liked it a lot as the pace was not rushed and I could enjoy the view more. Also, the guide is very careful and gives tones of explanations. Also, super friendly atmosphere that makes things go smoother.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

Sara L
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We had a fantastic time at the half day tour. It was very well organized. I enjoyed it a lot and it will be an experience difficult to forget! I got the impression that the Glacier Experience was conducted very professionally from our guides side and very informative as well. Thank you very much for everything!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Archana G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A very unique and enjoyable experience!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I really liked this trip! It is a good experience of traveling through a glacier and seeing how dropstone is deposited. Present is the key to the past!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A really good experience! Walked the first time with crampons, awesome!

John A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Simply an amazing experience. Guides were both informative and humorous. Although physically exhausting, it is well worth it. Strongly recommend a waterproof camera, some lunch, and a change of clothes.

Yu-ching H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

it was an amazing experience, everyone travelig in New Zealand at the first time should go for it at least once in life!!

Yvette B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Informative, safe, very interesting, an awesome experience for the whole family.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our fabulous guide made our trip, we had complete trust in him. The most wonderful experience in all my 42 years, you certainly have to be very fit, but did we sleep that night or what!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

Nermeen L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The guides were experienced and very entertaining. The walk up to the glacier to the locations for ice climbing were tough, and not recommended for unfit people. We did about 7 climbs each, the first set easier than the last set, and the group size was 8 people, with 2 routes to climb in each location. We spent 2.5 hours walking to the ice climbing route and then around 3.5 hours ice climbing, with plenty of breaks in between. On the descent back tot he valley, we also looked at some ice caves.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The glacier was an awesome experience, I wish we would have had time to do the full day walk or the helicopter tour that included hiking!! A must do when you are in New Zealand.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A first class experience.

Samantha S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Loved the trip - had a fantastic time. The scenery was amazing. The only sour note was my tour guide, who I found standoffish to the point of rudeness - she evidently prefers the male customers.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Lots of ice time, professional training, but friendly and fun at the same time. Very unique experience that was tailored to fit our ability level but challenging too.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Tony D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Fantastic experience. A real life moment. You do need to be fit to do it though! Not for the faint-hearted!

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Good trip. Could have included more of a hiked on the glacier.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Trip was initially cancelled due to the weather. Re-scheduled for the following day and was worth the 2hr drive to get back to Franz Josef.

Well organised and would recommend.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The helicopter ride to the glacier was awesome! The glacier walk was fun but I wish we would have been able to go farther up the glacier. Overall, would recommend this tour. It was a unique experience!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Helicopter flight was brilliant, walking on the glacier was amazing, guide was awesome. Only negative was there was a bit of standing around.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

good introduction to glacier.it was my first time ever seeing a glacier so i was very excited about this trip.our guide was very nice and they have loads of information about franz josef, the heilcopter ride is also cool as you have to fly onto the glacier before walking on it.try not to bring too much stuff with you as they limit what you can bring with you due to health and safety on the helicopter.this trip would suit any age and the walk moderate to easy.wear lots of sunscreen and sun glasses as the glare of sun off ice can burn you very fast,we walked around 12 pm in january and it was very warm.if i get a chance to do any glacier walks again i will probably try something a bit more challenging.all together its excellent value.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Helicopter was cool!
The guide was nice and informative.
Would prefer more hiking.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

A really good experience as some of the views from the glacier are stunning. Tour guides are really friendly and very knowledgeable.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Its all about weather...

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

The trip was extremely well organised in the preparation and kitting out of the participants. The walk through the rain forest was interesting, however the group undertook this unsupervised due to timing issues. More time for a lunch break would have been appreciated. The experience on the glacier was wonderful and the opportunity to explore ice caves and tunnels was amazing. The group was small and this made it more enjoyable, however there was limited supervision of the group and we were not accounted for at significant stages. Having said all that we thoroughly enjoyed the trip and think it was a 4 star event.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

From USD $ 243.68

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message