Insider's Guide to Franz Josef & Fox Glacier

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended 150 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Franz Josef, New Zealand
  • Duration:  4 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Small-Group Franz Josef Glacier Walk. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 150 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this experience. The weather was great. The staff were all very friendly, knowledgeable and took a great deal of care explaining what we were going to do and all the safety aspects of the trip. We had a great time and would do it again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The experience was well organised and we were given all the equipment needed for a safe trip. The guide was very experienced and was patient with those members of the group that were less confident. It was hard work but great fun. We achieved a sense of accomplishment.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Amazingly beautiful glacier (better than Fox Glacier from what I could tell). Great hike, very professional and friendly guides, good and adequate equipment provided. A good value and a must do activity on the south island. If you are in decent physical shape it is a much better deal than the half day. You go almost three times farther up the glacier and get much better views and chances to explore crevices and irises. Highly recommended!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Amazing, would have done it again the next day if we could.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

An incredible experience. I was surprised that there were no New Zealanders in my group.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Brilliant day, well worth the money!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This glacier adventure is a ONCE in a lifetime experience in NZ! No one should skip out on the excitement of this adventure! I would of love to have hiked longer. I love hiking and what else beats hiking on a glacier?!!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great guide, gorgeous views!!!!! Wish we could have climbed a little farther up on the glacier, although digging the tunnel was pretty cool.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Awesome trip, a must for anyone visiting the glacier.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Best day of my trip to NZ. Would recommend to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Amazing! Definitely glad we did the full day rather than the half day.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

It was the best excursion of our trip. Even loved the rain & wet boots! Thank you all for an amazing experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great day, great experience, helpful staff and guides. Would highly recommend it!!

Alan K
Ireland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Physically quite tough but well worth the effort. One of the top 2 things we did during our 3 weeks in NZ. Highly recommended.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

It was a fantastic and most enjoyable experience i have had. Our tour guides were so professional and well experienced. Who said the canada was too far from Australia.

From USD $ 262.08

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 17+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message