Viewing All 174 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Polly J Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The young man who was our guide led our party with humour, confidence and skill. I was grateful to him that he took care that I was comfortable with my climb. The climb was worth the experience of actually being on the ice. I have great images and memories. I'd like to do the climb again.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Ian M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

had a great time shame it rained that day so was a bit cold. would have loved it on a sunny day

Nicole T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

It was not what we expected at all. It was better! We thought we were going to be taken to the top of the glacier, walk out on it, look around and be done. We loved being able to hike up and around and through the glacier. It was a lot of work but totally worth it!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Rossa R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This was such an awesome experience! Everything from the care & time taken to kit everyone out in gear to all questions being answered, the guides were really good. Being on the glacier is like being in another world, definetly something that should be done at least once in a lifetime. Important to take note of the fitness guidelines though as getting to ice was definetly very hard work for the unfit.

Oren S Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

This tour is very recommended, and it was worth every dollar we paid for it. We got a lot of time to take great pictures, and the whole experience was amazing!

Charlie M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Very fun, Very knowledgeable staff and it was a nice sunny day.

Cristina G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

All staff were very professional and experienced. Although at times I struggled due to lack of fitness & age to maintain momemtum, I was always encouraged & assisted by Dan & his trainee. It was an awesome experience & one i would highly recommend

Peter S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Should have done the 1 day trip.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Daryl G South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

FJ Half day ezperience - Amazing. The guide was well versed in his topic and it is clear the group of guides are dedicted to this Glacier to make sure our experience is of a high quality.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Tom R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Great half day adventure, guide was great! Walking on the glacier was awesome.

Jill H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Awesome experience, informative guides and heaps of time spent on the ice. Fantastic photo opportunities and plenty of rest breaks so it wasn't too full-on physically. Would definitely recommend the trip to anyone!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

John Keith W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Exciting and challenging but we were in capable hands. Our guide was the tops; he gives security and has a responsible attitude. A professional outfit.

Cathy C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The Franz Josef Half Day Glacier Experience was unreal. The sights were gorgeous, and the staff was extremely professional. I loved it!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Mihaela M South Korea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I liked it a lot as the pace was not rushed and I could enjoy the view more. Also, the guide is very careful and gives tones of explanations. Also, super friendly atmosphere that makes things go smoother.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

Sara L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

We had a fantastic time at the half day tour. It was very well organized. I enjoyed it a lot and it will be an experience difficult to forget! I got the impression that the Glacier Experience was conducted very professionally from our guides side and very informative as well. Thank you very much for everything!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Archana G Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A very unique and enjoyable experience!

Prueksarat A Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

I really liked this trip! It is a good experience of traveling through a glacier and seeing how dropstone is deposited. Present is the key to the past!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Valentina F Slovenia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A really good experience! Walked the first time with crampons, awesome!

John A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Simply an amazing experience. Guides were both informative and humorous. Although physically exhausting, it is well worth it. Strongly recommend a waterproof camera, some lunch, and a change of clothes.

Yu-ching H Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

it was an amazing experience, everyone travelig in New Zealand at the first time should go for it at least once in life!!

Yvette B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Informative, safe, very interesting, an awesome experience for the whole family.

Marc S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our fabulous guide made our trip, we had complete trust in him. The most wonderful experience in all my 42 years, you certainly have to be very fit, but did we sleep that night or what!

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great experience.

Nermeen L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The guides were experienced and very entertaining. The walk up to the glacier to the locations for ice climbing were tough, and not recommended for unfit people. We did about 7 climbs each, the first set easier than the last set, and the group size was 8 people, with 2 routes to climb in each location. We spent 2.5 hours walking to the ice climbing route and then around 3.5 hours ice climbing, with plenty of breaks in between. On the descent back tot he valley, we also looked at some ice caves.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

Robin B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

The glacier was an awesome experience, I wish we would have had time to do the full day walk or the helicopter tour that included hiking!! A must do when you are in New Zealand.

Note from Viator: This review was based on an alternate itinerary that is no longer offered due to natural changes in the glacier. The current itinerary provides you with a similar great glacier experience.

James J France

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A first class experience.

Viewing 5 of 7

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 242.26

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2524HDICE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message