• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 284 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Geneva, Switzerland
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chamonix and Mont Blanc. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 284 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Spectacular views and well organised - well worth a day trip. Chamonix is a lovely town and I would skip the lunch and do your own thing - lovey cafes in town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great tour, excellent tour guide (Neil)!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A brilliant day tour. Chamonix is the most beautiful little town and the views from Mont Blanc on a clear will stay with us forever. A definite highlight of our 20 day tour of France and Western Europe. Just a magic day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

A wonderful day in Chamonix in the gently falling snow. Unfortunately we could not go to Mont Blanc because the train could not run because of the snow, but nevertheless it was fun to walk in the snow and see the sights in Chamonix a picturesque village.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

A terrific day, all around! Our guide, Neil, was like a true professor. On the way into France he educated us about glaciers, ice ages, warming, earthquakes, and put the day's topography into perspective. He went out of his way to show us sites others don't see. Nobody remembered Euros, and he lent people $$. His language skills were incredible, even to the Japanese in our group. WE had political discussions, as well, about the USA economy and the Fed. LUNCH in Chamonix and the shopping time were exactly appropriate. WE went up the cog railway to Mer de Glace, and on the way home saw the moon over MontBlanc, just as the pictures depict! It was perfect in every way. I've taken many Viatours around the world, and I'm never disapponited. I knew it'd be worth every cent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Awesome trip. Beautiful outlook. Don't judge the weather by what it looks like in geneva. We left drizzly Geneva but had a perfect day in the alps. Skip the lunch option and do your own thing. The restaurant was just OK and some others didn't finish their meals.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It was a great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Chamonix is a sweet little tourist town in a valley surrounded by awesome mountains. The gondola ride to view Mt. Blanc is a thrill. Then at the top there is an elevator to give you the last 200 or 300 feet of elevation and an unbelievable viewing platform. Then take the cog wheel to view the glacier. This is a triple E ticket.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent tour, loved our guide Neil who was funny and informative. Mont Blanc, what can you say but beautiful and the views from the top fantastic. Would do this one over and over again!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Chamonix and Mont Blanc are amazing. I highly recommend this tour. In fact- I would do it again. Neil is a fantastic tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Left the “Gare Routiere” in a double-decker bus (combining tours with public transportation) a little after 8:30 AM. Got to Chamonix after 10, directly to the cable car for Aiguille du Midi, took the cable car up – around 90 minutes to explore (counting two cable cars each way). Down to the city, then walk for lunch at 12:45 (good restaurant, you pre-order on the bus: 4 options for appetizer/entrée, 3 for dessert).
At 1:45 PM walk to the railway to Montenvers, you have then there almost one hour – enough time to go (by yourself) to the Mer du Glace (the cable day-pass covers this too, plus 380 stairs each way).
Bus left back from the Chamonix rail station at 16:45; don’t be late: presumably due to the public transportation part it won’t wait for you. No extra charge for anything; on the bus there were people with very different selections – probably buying directly from the local operator (KeyTours.ch): they were offered upgrades at (presumably) lower prices. It might be worth considering this if able to better plan for it. Viator had this trip only with lunch, Expedia with/out lunch – picked Viator with a 7% coupon and it became a little less than Expedia no-lunch.
Great guide: Neil.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Our guide was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour.
The only minor downfall was I became unwell with altitude sickness.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

The Chamonix and Mont Blanc tour was even more than expected. Just beautiful. We recomend this excursion. I wish we could have had the time to stay in Chamonix a couple of days.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

This trip was the highlight of our whole trip to Switzerland! The tour made it easier to navigate around. Only wish we had more time to stay. Now that we know more about the area, next time we'll go on our own.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

A tour that I will remember for the rest of my life. Tour guide was great. Scenery was beautiful! I was scared to death as I am scared of heights... but it was worth every minute to be able to say I was up that high in the Alps.

From USD $ 270.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2510KT001

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message