4.5 star rating: Recommended 344 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Geneva, Switzerland
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chamonix and Mont Blanc. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 344 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My boyfriend and I did this tour on the 25th of August and we both had a fantastic time.

The tour was well organised, and every item on the itinerary was on time. You don't really feel like you are part of a group most of the day! We particularly enjoyed the views from Auguille du Midi and the ice caves inside the glacier.

With regards to the package itself, we felt that all of the information provided by the tour operator and the guide was helpful and very clear. We knew exactly where to be when, thanks to a map, written itinerary and the tour guide's instructions. We also felt it was great value for money, considering the transport to and from Chamonix, guide, lunch, and all-inclusive ticket to Aiguille du Midi, train ride to Montenvers (glacier) and the ice caves.

The view from the top of Aiguille du Midi was absolutely stunning and very photogenic. They advise that due to the altitude (12,000ft) you walk and breathe slowly but this must affect only very sensitive people as we didn't have any problems. Once you are up there and have disembarked the cable car we would definitely recommend that you catch the lift to the summit. You have to go inside the mountain for this and is a lot less crowded than near the cable car stop.

If you catch the train to Montenvers, you should definitely take the walk down to the ice caves. It may be a gondola ride and 432 steps but it's well worth the hike - the ice caves are amazing! They are a set of tunnels carved into the glacier and lit up in different colours. You won't regret climbing down there.

All in all, we had a wonderful day on this trip that we will always remember. A highly recommended tour - definitely a must-do if you are in the Geneva area and fancy a snowy adventure.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing Must visit...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing Adventure we have . As if you are in another Plant ,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This trip provided great views of the French Alps and the countryside between Geneva and Chamonix. The tour director was organized and informative. Due to the popular nature of the trip to view Mont Blanc we had a little less time than I would have liked at the final viewing platform, we were well prepared for the altitude changes by our guide and no one seemed to have any serious difficulty at the top. The lunch was quite good with plentiful portions of well prepared local foods. It was a very enjoyable day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Highly recommend this trip. The trip was organized very nicely. To have more time shopping in Chamonix, I would recommend not going with the group lunch though. The food was okay but there were plenty of other places that looked better.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Amazing sites, Neil our guide was knowledgeable and provided helpful information. Must see!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was amazing and worth every penny. Our guide was witty funny and very informative. The view up on the summit was breathtaking, in both respects because we were so high up. We were taken then to the ice caves too, which was absolutely amazing. WIth the tour came a 3 course meal that was authentically french. The meal alone would have been worth the trip, but to add mont blanc and the ice caves to it too, is just spectacular. Would recommend to anyone visiting geneva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our guide Neal was FANTASTIC!! The bus trip was very nice, and Neal provided us lots of great information and super fun trivia! Chamonix is a wonderful little village with wonderful food and people. The cable car rides to the Mont Blanc provided beautiful views and the lodge at the top was spectacular! The red train ride up the side of the mountain to the glacier was incredible! This is a MUST DO tour!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Neil, our tour guide was friendly, and informative. We were quite impressed with his knowledge of Japanese. We were very lucky to hit beautiful, warm, and clear weather! The scenery was spectacular! We were more amazed watching the workers shoveling snow and hanging from buildings! We saw people hiking up the mountain peaks! The only glitch was the cog wheel train...it was delayed so we could not go to the ice caves. The lunch was delicious. It was nice, you are given a choice of meals, fish, meat, vegetarian. The restaurant was lovely, the staff friendly and warm. I was expecting cafeteria style...not at all. Chamonix was charming.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Fantastic! Life time memory.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a beautiful day to be up on the mountain. It was breath taking views and the weather was fabuious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a fantastic tour. We love the mountain experience and this definitely gave us this. The tour was well organized and the drive there took us through beautiful scenery. France has beautiful part of the alps. We had a snowstorm at the top so it kind of hindered our view but there was some openings which gave us some photo opportunities. The altitude really affects you up there and so we didn't do the elevator to the top. Chamonix is a beautiful quaint village that we spent some time in picking up some souvenirs. You need to bring a lot of cards for your camera because there are so many beautiful shots you want to take. The tour is a full day but very well planned out. All was very well organized and the guide was very well informed on the whole area. You need to do this tour also.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was a very smooth trip although the weather was not good with all the rain and snow. We couldn't see the Mont Blanc either. BTW, what made the trip so pleasant was the guy Neil, he's absolutely nice and funny.
I'll come back another time. Hope to go again with Neil. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very well run. It rained that day, so the Aiguille du Midi ride took us into a total whiteout blizzard at the top. It would probably have been spectacular if we could see anything, but that's not the tour's fault. The Montenvers experience was spectacular. You definitely need to walk down to the ice caves, which are roughly 10' diameter tunnels dug deep into the glacier. One of the most incredible experiences ever. The lunch meal was very good and served at a fine restaurant.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I can't say enough good things about my guide Neil! Really nice intelligent man. Chamonix is the model that Vail and many of the other older American ski resorts were fashioned after. We had a nice meal there, which is part of the package. Youu also get to visit glacier. The lead edge of the glacier has been modified so that you can walk inside of it. Very interesting! Mont Blanc is about 12,000 feet so your oxygen debt may make you a little uncomfortable at first but don't let this scare you off, the view is pretty awesome from up there.

From USD $ 243.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2510KT001

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message