4.5 star rating: Recommended 318 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Geneva, Switzerland
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Chamonix and Mont Blanc. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 318 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I can't say enough good things about my guide Neil! Really nice intelligent man. Chamonix is the model that Vail and many of the other older American ski resorts were fashioned after. We had a nice meal there, which is part of the package. Youu also get to visit glacier. The lead edge of the glacier has been modified so that you can walk inside of it. Very interesting! Mont Blanc is about 12,000 feet so your oxygen debt may make you a little uncomfortable at first but don't let this scare you off, the view is pretty awesome from up there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

The culmination of an awesome vacation. Honestly the Alps were a dream come true. The ride up from Geneva wasn't that bad and the weather was beautiful .So on our tour we had the snow capped peaks with warm weather and lots of sunshine. The coolest thing was the cable car ride to the top, breath taking. Great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Fantastic day trip from Geneva. The guide was very helpful as well. Well done!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a great tour for the price. Our tour guide was helpful and gave useful information and reiterated the itinerary so there was no confusion.

The weather was not ideal- overcast and a whiteout at the top of Chamonix, but the views on the way up and down were amazing. The lunch we had was incredible- the food was high quality and delicious (I opted for the vegetarian options). As great as that was I might have opted to skip lunch and have more time for shopping as there were plenty of quicker places to grab food.

The train ride to the glacier was scenic and the glacier itself was impressive from the overlooks. The gondola service to take you down for the hike to the glacier entrance was temporarily suspended when we got there due to high winds but did start back up while we were there. I did not know wht aluck that was until I went down and did the ~350 steps down to the glacier entrance. You are able to walk through the glacier in a small loop and it's a unique experience. The walk back up is a bit tiring but well worth it.

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour and imagine it's that much more amazing on a day with clear weather.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Excellent adventure. We had a great guide, Neil and driver Bernard. If you can stand the heights then this tour is for you. We had a wonderful time.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Tour was very well organised and a pleasure. Information about trip and area supplied with enthusiasm and fun. Neil, our tour guide was meticulous and lunch at the L'M brasserie was excellent. Would definitely recommend this trip as a great value great way to visit Mont Blanc and area.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

I would do it again in a second. The guide was thoughtful, informative and intelligent. The views were breathtaking ,,,,what little air there was at 12000+ feet. The town was charming, the food at the resturant was very good and the ice caves were cool. Thanks again for a memorable time.
Viator has not failed me yet.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Spectacular views and well organised - well worth a day trip. Chamonix is a lovely town and I would skip the lunch and do your own thing - lovey cafes in town.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Great tour, excellent tour guide (Neil)!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

A brilliant day tour. Chamonix is the most beautiful little town and the views from Mont Blanc on a clear will stay with us forever. A definite highlight of our 20 day tour of France and Western Europe. Just a magic day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

A wonderful day in Chamonix in the gently falling snow. Unfortunately we could not go to Mont Blanc because the train could not run because of the snow, but nevertheless it was fun to walk in the snow and see the sights in Chamonix a picturesque village.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

A terrific day, all around! Our guide, Neil, was like a true professor. On the way into France he educated us about glaciers, ice ages, warming, earthquakes, and put the day's topography into perspective. He went out of his way to show us sites others don't see. Nobody remembered Euros, and he lent people $$. His language skills were incredible, even to the Japanese in our group. WE had political discussions, as well, about the USA economy and the Fed. LUNCH in Chamonix and the shopping time were exactly appropriate. WE went up the cog railway to Mer de Glace, and on the way home saw the moon over MontBlanc, just as the pictures depict! It was perfect in every way. I've taken many Viatours around the world, and I'm never disapponited. I knew it'd be worth every cent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Awesome trip. Beautiful outlook. Don't judge the weather by what it looks like in geneva. We left drizzly Geneva but had a perfect day in the alps. Skip the lunch option and do your own thing. The restaurant was just OK and some others didn't finish their meals.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It was a great experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Chamonix is a sweet little tourist town in a valley surrounded by awesome mountains. The gondola ride to view Mt. Blanc is a thrill. Then at the top there is an elevator to give you the last 200 or 300 feet of elevation and an unbelievable viewing platform. Then take the cog wheel to view the glacier. This is a triple E ticket.

From USD $ 260.51

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 13+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2510KT001

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message