4 star rating: Recommended 108 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Geneva, Switzerland
  • Duration:  2 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Geneva City Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 108 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was a good way to get the lay of the city. However on a rainy day just not good as it is a small open train and the rain guards barely helped

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The tour was very good - the lead up to it was disappointing we sent emails and finally made comments on the facebook links to try and get help to find our way from Geneva airport to the place where the tour began - this was very disappointing as the feeling of being a "long way from home" was enhanced by not having quick response to our emails - In the end had to "wing-it" and get our bags stored at the airport and take the free bus into the city centre -luckily found an english speaking helpful person on the bus who could direct us to the place the tour left from! The tour itself very good - loved the bus then the little rubber tyred train to take us around the old part of Geneva. Rating low because of the lack of good communication.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

I was very disappointed that the mini train that was part of the tour, was not operational because we were told that it broke down. I had to walk within the old city with a broken toe. The coach tour was ok but with the amount of money that I have paid, I was looking for more value because we were rushed.

Simonne C
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The Geneva City Tour was quite interesting.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Brief look at the highlights of the city, tour guide's English was a bit difficult to understand at times, quite informative but rehearsed. No mention of the names of the beautiful flowering trees, we drove through the University of Geneva grounds, stalls were being set up, lots of activity, no mention why. Tour started 10 mins. Late and ended about 10 mins. early.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

It was an enjoyable tour that gave me a good overview,of the city

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

I thought that it was very expensive for what you got. The tour guide was ok - she seemed reasonably knowledgeable, but she didn't explain things like where to go if you weren't doing the boat cruise, etc., and it didn't seem very organized.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

Lack details of specifics

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Its a well rounded tour. The bus station is located near the train station and is very easily commutable. Overall, the tour was comprehensive and well-rounded. I would recommend it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

The guide as a very pleasant and knoweldgeable lady. Please convey rmy sincere thanks to her.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

The first part round the international buildings was a waste of time, plain buildings which will be filled with far more people than are really needed. The "Old Town" was wonderful, and the commentary good.

Tamara J
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

It was very interesting to see the HQ of so many world organisations; we would not have been able to do this on foot. As far as the history of the old town goes I would have liked more stories of the famous individuals involved in founding the city, and more information about the city's main industried today. The commentary was lacking depth and warmth. In the end we didn't feel connected to Geneva.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Good tour to get your bearings with. Unfortunately an extremely rude Indian traveller ruined the tour for most of us by loudly talking on his mobile so that we were unable to hear the commentary !!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2011

Many things to see and to know!

Yu Yu T
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

It was boring especially when the tour guide did not seem like he was enjoying his job. But when you don't have much time in Geneva, it is worth doing at least you learn where the important organisations are located.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

A great way to start your trip to Geneva and see some of the main sites. However it would have been nice to get off the bus more especially around the UN. The street train journey was cute.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I did the tour Sunday, everything was closed so it was a goods way of killing time.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Geneva's not an interesting city. The tour guide pointed at a lot of unattractive buildings and talked about the businesses that owned them... ZzZzZ. Then we took an open train ride on a freezing day.

My recommendation is to visit the towns just outside of Geneva where the real good stuff is.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

We only had a day in Geneva and thought this would be a great way to see and learn a little about Geneva. We think the guide uses English as a second language, as it was difficult to understand her commentary. Included was a mini train trip around the old part of Geneva. We were unable to hear the commentary on the train because of the traffic noise. Earphones would have been much better for this trip.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The tour guide was fine but not the best. She pointed at a couple of statues, mentioned the names but didn't bother to explain to us who these people are. I felt that I needed to read about Geneva's history before I took this tour. What was funny is that I asked a couple of what I thought were simple enough questions and the tour guide just said "I don't really know". We were not a large group, given the time of season, but it was hard to hear the guide all the time. Also, we walked at different paces, and the guide didn't have a sign for us to follow.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

We didn't get the mini train tour of old town it was disappointing.
The tour is ok.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The tour was fine, but the guide's English was quite poor. I realise that this is a French speaking city and that English is probably not everyone's first or second language, but if you're a tour operator offering tours in English, then the English should at least be up to scratch. It was really difficult to understand her English (HEAVY French accent), so we "missed" quite a bit of the tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2013

Stayed in d bus all thru out the tour. There was no time for stops or take pictures. The guide was dry and life less. This tour could be greatly improved.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Tour was very rushed and we were not able to leave the coach and take pics. The tram was ok, not worth the ride and it also finished 25mins before it was scheduled too.
Don't bother with this tour, Geneva is so small, you can do this on your own and take pictures at your leisure.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

Had difficulty understanding the tour operator- poor English. Missed most of what she said. Otherwise, enjoyed the sights.

From USD $ 52.51

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2510KTG202

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message