5 star rating: Highly Recommended 72 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Duration:  9 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Stirling Castle, Loch Lomond and Whisky Trail Small Group Day Trip from Glasgow. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 72 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

I highly enjoyed this trip even though it rained most of the day. Our guidedriver was highly informed and made the trip even more enjoyable.

Takeshi I
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2010

Great driver John, memorable trip. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

This tour was was fantastic. The group is small so you get to know your guide pretty well. The sites that you see on this tour are great. The castle is pretty, the Loch looks like a postcard, and the Whisky distillery is great fun. This is a great tour for the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2009

I loved it. My tour guide was great, very knowledgeable and personable, and even though the weather wasn't that great in the morning, we made the best of it.

Rita C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

A fantastic day out that was varied, interesting, fun and exhilarating. Our driver was a superb guide who seemed to hold the complete history, geology and geography of Scotland in his head. Stirling Castle was a revelation, as was the landscape and the journey through the Trossachs, and the visit to the Glengoyne Distillery. A wonderful, unforgettable day.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great Trip and very well organized! I recommend this to everyone!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

It was a day well spent. Good value for the money. I'm sorry I've forgotten the driver/guide's name, but she was excellent. The tour left on time, came back on time, and was pleasant.

Jaime
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The only tour of choice for that time from Glasgow, I went on April 03 2014. I find the whisky tour is a waste of time and pricey too. But the rest of the places we have been were nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

George is a good guide. Helpful and interested in his bus load.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

this tour was great

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Beautiful tour amidst the stunning scenery of Scotland. Stirling Castle is a great experience and the amount of history behind this is amazing. The tour guide Andrew was very knowledgeable and understanding and took good care of all aspects in explanation. Wish it was a 2 day tour I had taken.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

An interesting tour enjoyed by myself and 10 year old grandaughter. The tour guide was informative and helpful. My grandaughter was included by all guides during the tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Nice

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

we were on a quick visit to Glasgow for a competition (on Saturday) and wanted a one day tour for the Friday. We had an excellent young lady driver/guide who was very knowledgeable about the area and who passed that knowledge on very well. She was unphased when some of our group were late arriving and very hekful at the end of the day.
I would reccomend the tour and the firm (Rabbies) to anoyone who wants a tour with a personal touch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Good tour guide. No rushing schedule. No unreasonable shopping invitation. I really enjoyed it.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

We really enjoyed our little excursion. Mike was very informative and a lot of fun. We had a smaller group and he was able to attend to all our needs and questions. Despite the rainy day he brightened it up with his cheerful manner. I only wish we would have had a bit more time at Stirling. If you take the tour (1 hr.) you need at least another hour min. to see the rest. All in all it was a good day.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2011

Very impressed with tour - we had a small group and it was an enjoyable day. Could have done without he Whisky Trail -- but other aspects of tour were worth the time spent.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

It was a second homecoming for me – I studied in Glasgow 16 years ago. Two youngsters, my nephew and my niece accompanied me this time. Fortunately, given the sever time constraint, I found in Viator the right medium for a sneak overview of what Scotland is all about. And the experience was just fabulous, all the way. Beginning with a little wait at the historic George Square before boarding the coach, the day long journey was an experience to cherish. The coach was comfortable; the Guide-cum-Driver a skilled, knowledgeable and pleasant lady; the itinerary was thoughtfully framed; the scenery was breathtakingly stunning just as it was 16 years ago; and yes, that thing called Sun was in full glorious view through the day… Stirling Castle evoked historic sentiments, made even more eloquent by the erudite commentary on the electronic tour-guide. The view from the top made the youngsters absorb the Scottish beauty in awe…The roads in Scotland are as well kept as ever. Yet, the orderly manner in which the road users handled a little freak accident on the road involving a not-too-young biker was both exemplary and heart-warming. The Lakes of Scotland are still the stuff legends are made of…The stopover at Loch Lomond was a grand experience, both for the picturesque environs and the majestic aura of the lake. The stop over at Glengoyne was a grand experience even for us teetotalers, for sheer Chemistry content! Viator made it possible for us to get ten times more than we expected from a day out in Scotland, and we’ve returned determined to visit Glasgow and Scotland again very soon, for a longer and even more enjoyable trip with Viator. We truly found Viator to be value for money and more… Thanks, Team Viator!!!

Tong L
Ireland

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

Low cost with high value tour!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Good length of trip, got to see a lot in a small amount of time. Our tour guide knew her stuff; she was very informative and professional.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

1. The trip promises to take you to three places. However, the time spent at Lake Lomond is very less and it shows the worst side of the lake where you hardly can spend time.
2. The whiskey distillery tour is not for everyone - there are many who wouldn't want to do this. Either because of religious reasons or otherwise being not interested I belong to the second category. There should be tours with other options.
3. The distillery is in an area where there's nothing around it. If you don't want to do it, you have no place to hang out or sit even. Terrible. And, even if one wants to do the whiskey tour, who has heard of Glengoyne? Really??

On the positive side,
1. The coaches are quite comfortable
2. The driver/guide is knowledgeable and friendly.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

Our tour guide was obnoxious. He told convoluted stories that I could not follow, and was ten to fifteen minutes late in the beginning and at every stop. When we reached Loch Lomond, he brought everyone to the edge of the water and immediately started pressuring people to go to a local pub, saying he had made reservations for everyone. I didn't go to Loch Lomond to see a pub, I went to see a loch. My friend and I had to sneak away from the group to get some sightseeing done. The sights themselves were very worthwhile, there is a path into the woods at Loch Lomond that was amazing. The tour guide just sort of soured it a bit for me.

From USD $ 53.55

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 225012

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message