4 star rating: Recommended 69 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Granada, Spain
  • Duration:  7.5 - 8 hours

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 69 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2010

Fantastic tour, the Alhambra was amazing. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. We had a sociologist on the tour who bombarded the tour guide with questions, and the tour guide knew all the answers. Hotel pickup and dropoff were great, but the tour just kind of ended abruptly with no real closure. Arab baths were OK, nothing special.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Nice trip, good English, but the historical information shown only from the Spanish side without any respect to the Muslim Arab side. The Spanish killed and forced about 2 million Arabs to change their religion to Christianity after they conquered Granada.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2008

Overall, it was excellent. Our guide at the Alhambra was great. However, the actual group for the tour was too large 30 people. The arab bath was nice for the difference and price and the massage was great. It was something very nice to do after a day of walking the Alhambra.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The Alhambra tour is definitely worth doing and our guide Marco was fantastic, however, we did find it a bit disorganised. We also booked for the Granada Hammam tour and the massage but in our booking they hadn't let the Hammam know that we had booked the massage so they were insisting it wasn't part of our package. After wasting a lot of time they called the tour company and finally realised the error. At that stage it had pretty much ruined the serenity of the experience. The hammam was nice but I must admit I was expecting a bit more after reading all the reviews. That may have also been because a few days prior we had the opportunity of experiencing the Hammam in Seville and it was by far and away superior - it was magic - the building was nicer and set out better, the pools were bigger and deeper and they had a salt pool and a hydrotherapy pool on top of the steam room and warm, cold and hot baths. At the session we went to at 10pm they had an orchestra play while you relaxed in the baths (I don't know if this happens at every session). If you have the choice I wouldn't bother with the Granada Hammam I would opt for the one in Seville.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

Pick up for the tour was punctual, although once we were at the starting point, we had to wait without much idea of when we were due to start the tour. We had a mixed party of German and British; the majority were German and our guide was much more orientated towards her German guests who she spoke to for longer and with overtly more affection! At times she was very difficult to hear and understand and (in English) rather repetitive. Despite the indication in our itinerary, the guide knew nothing about a voucher or a map for the Arab Bath part of the tour and initially was very unhelpful, shrugging her shoulders and saying it was nothing to do with her. Happily the recepitionist at the Parador was most helpful in confriming the details on the phone with the local agent and all went smoothly in the end.. Concerns about locating the Arab bath were ill-founded. It is very well signposted. The Alhambra was of course splendid: it was a shame that our guide did not recommend taking time to go into the Alcazba, which she did not take us into; by the time we got back there later it was too late to enter. The Arab bath was fun and worth the time and money, but this is not, I believe, an historic building. Overall a trip not to be missed, and just hope for a better guide!

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

Although worthwhile, we lost the value of the guided visit due to constant translation from the guide since 2 langages were mixed in the same group although more than 12 people per langage. Bath experience is interesting but the presence of kids and the non respect of the silence affected the experience.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

the alhambra visit was good though a big group of 30 people i prefer smaller groups if possible. the guide was good and had excellent english not so impressed with the baths, people extremely noisy despite signs, not clear where and how to go about the process and massage was minimal and just okay. leave the baths to turkey in my opinion.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Tour was satisfactory, better directions to the Baths would be helpful. Alhambra itself is beautiful!

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2011

Tour was informative, though was crowded and each stop felt a bit rushed. Felt like cattle being pushed along. Not sure if doing a self audio tour would have been just as informative yet less crowded/rushed?

The Bath was definitely worth it, so beautiful and relaxing! The massage is about 10-15 minutes (no watch, but it didn't feel all that long), very soothing and enjoyable. I asked for strong and it wasn't that strong, so if you like strong- ask for extra strong! It may be better to book directly through the Bath house in the off chance that you can get with a smaller group- it was definitely crowded for such a tight space! I tried using rooms against the crowds, so it made it less busy/noisy.

Also, make sure you get directions and the information about your time slot for the Bath on the bus to the Alhambra! I wasn't told until the morning of the tour, on the bus there, that my spa appointment wasn't until 6 (the tour ended around 2), so it messed with my plans for the evening since I expected the spa to be directly after the tour.

All in all, it was beautiful- just crowded!

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

Spain doesn't have very good free wifi so I booked my tour last minute from a McDonald's then proceeded on a train to a hostel in Granada. Come to find out, it was necessary for me to confirm my hotel pick up by phone or internet, which was not at my disposal. By the time I checked into my hostel this was impossible so I did not get picked up from my hostel. Thanks to my hostel receptionist, I found my way to Alhambra by bus. The tour guide was adequate though at times his English was not that great. Some things were lost in translation like for instance, he said our tour included free wine and tapas and when I asked about this later, he said what are you talking about, that place is already closed. The whole experience of being guided through the massive Alhambra and Generalife in a structured manner and concluding it with the most relaxing time in the Arab baths was a grand experience and you could forgive the disorganization of having to find your own way to the Alhambra in the first place. Let's just say you have to be a little resourceful with this tour company, a little Spanish goes a long way but you won't regret the overall experience. If you were even more resourceful, you could probably buy the whole experience 20 euros cheaper on your own.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

I would like to state that the Alhambra is really quite amazing, though it is under renovation. The guide was knowledgeable and very pleasant, though I don't think that the adding of the tour guide made it worth doubling the price. Also , the group that one is suppose to contact, Granada vision, was a little lax in being on time, or even matching the time on the voucher. No one in the tourist office or the Alhambra knew anything about them, this should be changed as finding any one in that area is hard. I was asked about where I was staying, but sent to a predetermined pickup point, which is fine, it should just be noted on the voucher where the pick up points are so the traveler can chose one.As for the Arab baths, it was amazing, and I highly recommend them as an add-on. As I traveled around Spain after, I would recommend them to anyone I met who was going to Granada. Also, the price in Granada is less than the Arab baths in other cities, and so so nice. I can't speak highly enough about them.

John W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

The Alhambra is definitely worth seeing. If you also arrange for the Turkish bath massage, be aware that it isn't until early evening so there's about 4hrs between the Alhambra tour and the baths. You get a total of one and a half hours in the baths and the massage only lasts for 20 mins I was disappointed in the latter.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2010

Overall OK. Alhambra tour seemed rushed, but we still saw all the major areas. The guide didn't help explain where the baths were just pointed to a rough area on our city map. No mention of having to cross the river to find it. Definitely room to improve on logistics and guide instructions. Otherwise, the Alhambra was beautiful and the Arab Bath with massage is well worth it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

Too rush, The guide walk so fast . Havn't see the interesting place in detail. Also I went on the national holidays that a lot of visitors

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2011

This tour was a disaster. First, we were never picked up by the bus and instead had to find our own way on the public bus to the Alhambra. We were constantly calling the number provided by Viator only to get " this number is not in service" messages. Once up there, we could not locate the tour in the designated meeting place and were put on another tour with a guide who spoke very fast and was boring. They took our vouchers which left us with nothing to show for the arab baths. Once we got ourselves to the arab baths, no help to the tour, they were the high point of the day. My recommendation, don't do this tour just book them in advance on your own. Its cheaper and less stressful. Arab baths are definitely worth it.

From USD $ 98.03

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3443G2

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message