4.5 star rating: Recommended 55 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Duration:  2 days (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Halong Bay Overnight Junk Boat Cruise. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 55 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Had fantastic time. Great people and food. Value for money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This was really good. It was a lot better than I expected. Food was great and staff was friendly. Must do and a popular activity in Vietnam from Hanoi. No negative comments about it at all.

Roslyn W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent tour. Value for Money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

Very beautiful and peaceful place that you will forget the city life. And able to get to see all the limestone sites. Will be going back again.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We loved the experience. We were picked up on time in Hanoi, joined by other delightful travelers and transported through the countryside which was beautiful. The crew on board our boat couldn't have been better. Our every need was met before we realized we had it. We were a little disappointed in the condition of the boat but we realized that most of the junks on Halong Bay were in like condition. The tour of the cave was fabulous. The food was delicious and the evening meal was presented as if we were in a 5 star hotel. Cruising back to the dock the next morning was a surreal experience. Don't miss this experience!

Amanda S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The small amount of passengers on board made this cruise great! Halong Bay is such a beautiful part of Vietnam.

Kerrie M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We were not sure what to expect from this tour, but were pleasantly surprised. The cabins were lovely and clean. The staff made our trip most enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were more than we expected. The food was presented in a way that you felt like you were at a five star restaurant. Not being a boating person, I was concerned about sleeping on the boat, but I shouldn't have worried. I had the most enjoyable sleep ever. I would definitely do this trip again.

Ian D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

We had the best time and met some wonderful people. Our tour guide was great and a lovely friendly man who spoke excellent English and taught us many things about local history and other events. Halong Bay is absolutely beautiful. Our cabin was great and very comfortable with good air conditioning. The food was fantastic, plenty to eat and the drinks were reasonably priced. We had no issues with security and felt completely safe, and even left our valuables in our cabin with peace of mind, even though a safe was available. Our only regret was that we didn't do the two-night cruise.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The tour operator did a great job. The van pickup was on time, and the guide was courteous and well-informed. The junk was comfortable, with good food and service. Halong Bay itself was out of this world. I strongly recommend this trip.

Denise H
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

A fantastically calming experience after the buzz of Hanoi. Great vessel, crew and amenities.

Mick E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The trip was for 2 nights and was fantastic - just what we needed after the hustle and bustle everywhere else in Vietnam. The service, food and activities were first class. We would recommend for anyone.

Lynn T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The Jewel of the Bay was a nice way to wind down after 10 busy days before moving on for another 10 busy days. The only downside was the lighting in the cabin wasn't great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2008

The crew and director did an excellent job. The facilities and food were fabulous. We loved the activities.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I can recommend this tour. Ha Long Bay is worth seeing! We had only 3 of us on a boat that sleeps 24. The staff were very attentive. The activities were good and allowed sufficient free time. The food was very good with the Chef catering to individual requests. The accommodation was excellent. The air conditioning on the boat worked well - which was needed as it was extremely hot and humid. My only suggestion would be that some commentary in the bus trip from Hanoi to Ha Long would have been good. This could be provided by CD if an English speaking driver is not available.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Tour was good, the boat had been recently refitted and cabin was great and the food was of consistently good quality but they need to let participants know that non-fish options can be requested (didn't apply for us, we love fish! but one other hardly ate) Probably the main downside on this tour was outside the control of the operator - the area of Halong Bay where we had to anchor overnight was a tip! Or at least, the sea was being used as a rubbish tip, it really was such a pity. The same applied to the area we did the little paddle around which just took an edge off. We felt that one night was enough to give us a feel for the area. Will say that, as we expected for this time of year, there was very low visibility on the first afternoon, though no rain. The next morning the mist was at the 'romantic' level so that was just fine. But, as I said, we were aware of this possibility/probability but this was the only time we could come. I would have no problem recommending this tour.

From USD $ 219.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 11+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 2514HAN_HBJ2DD

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message