4.5 star rating: Recommended 120 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 120 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Just fantastic! The lunch on the boat was nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Excellent trip and excellent service

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent and reliable service !

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

As there were no other bookings for that day, I have ended up having a private tour and the experience was great. The guide was very nice, knowledgeable and had good English. Well worth it.

Bud46
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

It was a long day but worth it. Its amazing to see so many natural limestone rocks. We had already seen some in Krabi but not on this scale. Our guide for the day was able to share his knowledge about Halong bay and general life for a local Vietanmese person. it was grey and cloudy as we started the cruise which was disappointing however we were fortunate enough to have blue skies on the return leg of the cruise. I was also provided with a vegetarian lunch on my request and i have to say the food was lovely. There were only 5 of us on this big junk so we didnt need to fight over any space when taking our pics.

Mazza
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent day trip with a good meal on board ship.
It's a long way from Hanoi but well worth it and stops half way there and back made the journey easier. The five other people on our journey made for a good trip and guide was most helpful and informative. The only downside were the toilets on board ship could have been a lot cleaner!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Very nice. Drive is tiring, but worth it when you are out on the water. Lunch was fresh and very good. A must see if you are in hanoi.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

When I was picked up by the guide, hen then told me that I was the only person on today’s trip to Halong Bay , so instead of driving to Halong Bay on a big tour buss I then got a good SUV witch was nice and comfortable. On the way to Halong bay, my guide told me a lot about Vietnamese life and culture. It was nice to have a good one on one conversation with a local and the guide spoke very good English .
Arriving at Halong Bay the weather had now changed, it was now completely overclouded and foggy, that was really a bit off a bummer and I guess my guide could see the disappointment on my face, after all Halong Bay is one of the most beautiful places on this planet and the biggest tourist attraction Vietnam has to offer.
Again since I was the only person on today’s trip my guide and I got the hole tour boat for our self’s and that certainly wasn’t a bad thing and the lunch that we shared was simply just excellent.
I would like to say thank you to VIATOR for a great service and I would like to say an even bigger thank you to my guide who was just great and he excused about the weather over and over again, but as I also told him many times as well, we humans can control a lot of things, but we are not masters of the weather .
One last thing. when I go back to Vietnam and I will, I will then definitely book a Halong Bay tour with Viator again I only hope that the weather will be better but as said before, we humans are not masters of the weather ……..yet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Very nice trip, really enjoyed it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Fantastic!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

very beautiful trip

Deena N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Highly Recommend this tour.. A long drive but well worth the trip, excellent tour guide great explainations (very Funny). Had the boat to ourselves, our group had 4 people in it... Thanks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

It was an excellent tour. Our guide was personable, knowledgeable and lots of fun. He made the tour outstanding.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

I made my booking only one day before my trip. I was a bit worried if it is to late (as they require at least 24 hours in advance) so I called the number on the voucher after I made my booking. The lady was very nice and helpful and she confirmed it. She also advised that I am the only one who booked the tour but according to their rules they will do it even if it is one person who booked only. And yes, they did it for ONLY me and I had an amazing time. There was a very nice car came and pick me up from my hotel and there was a professional tour guide with the driver. Their English was perfect and they gave me a fantastic explanation about Vietnam, Hanoi and Halong Bay.
As soon as we arrived to Halon Bay and proceeded to the cruise I was advised that I am the only one who will be joining the boat. Lucky me :-) I saw same boats with 40 tourist doing the same cruising trip. I felt like a VIP to get that very special treatment.
I am absolutely satisfied with the service of the Travel Agency and all the Viator procedure. Definately I am going to book with them. I can only recommend for others to do the same thing. You dont have to worry about anything and you can reallz rely on them.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Other than the following observations, the trip was wonderful and the place deserves everyone to visit for at least once:

- more than 3 hours on the 165KM distance;
- driver's on-n-off on the clutch quite annoyed;
- tour guide didn't talk about any historic or cultural background of the places;
- it was hazy and misty by the time we arrived around 12:30 noon. It may be better to arrive earlier in order to enjoy a clearer view of the scenery.

From USD $ 102.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5060VUJ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message