4.5 star rating: Recommended 138 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 138 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Very well organised - magnificent part of the world - knowledgeable guide - couldn't have asked for more.

David D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Throughly enjoyable trip with one exception. The visit to the limestone cave was chaotic with too many people in a small space.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

A great day, excellent guide and driver, only three of us, so we had the boat etc to ourselves, Lovely freshly cooked lunch, We enjoyed the day very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Although the drive from Hanoi was very long, the tour was excellent. Our English speaking guide was very nice and knowledgable. The boat ride in Ha Long Bay was worth the lenghty journey. Next time I would stay overnight and do some kayaking in the lake.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Halong Bay is a lot nicer than imagined. Will be staying on the overnight junk tour next time around.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Great day out, however it is a long day as the drive to and from is long, 6 hours in total! We were lucky as we had a huge Boat for 6 of us, so plenty of room and a chance to move around the boat. Well worth seeing.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

The driver and guide showed up quite promptly. Only 2 of us booked this tour on our day, but everything went on as if we had a full group. I quite enjoyed having an almost private tour :) Just know that the drive is long from Hanoi, about 4 hours each way. The driver was good at stopping every 2 hours or so for a stretch and bathroom break. When we made it to the boat, we also found we had the whole boat to ourselves. The lunch was awesome!! This is a beautiful site that should not be missed.

Kenneth B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

The food was excellent and the scenery gorgeous. Shame there was only 3 hours sailing in the Bay

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The Halong Bay is very nice, although in Autumn the sea waters are not so clear, as a result of the Red River flow. The trip from Hanoi and back takes around 7 hours due to the bad traffic and it is a bit too much. The service ( driver, guide, boat, food) was impecable.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

It was just a couple of us on this trip which collected us form the hotel in Hanoi and took us for a journey up to Halong Bay. The tour guide was very friendly and made sure to keep us informed throughout the trip on various Vietnamese customs and history. The Halong Bay tour itself is well organized. The boat is more than sufficient and food delicious. It's a simple trip and perfect if you have a short stay in Hanoi and only want to do a quick day trip to Halong Bay itself. The tour operator is professional. We had a private car for the journey but they also do minibuses if there are more people booked. The tour guide and driver never suggested we pay for tips as is the case on some other such trips which made the whole trip a much more pleasant and hassle free experience. Would I recommend this trip to anyone else? Absolutely - if a quick day trip and tour is what you want then this is the tour for you!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This tour was most enjoyable, a three hour road trip from our hotel in Hanoi stopping at a factory showroom for disabled people. The boat trip at Halong Bay was very pleasant,we toured caves and had a most appetising lunch on board which was pre booked by our guide. For a day tour this was very good the guide was very informative and helpfull, .I would recomend this day tour. J Marsh .B Marsh

Christy M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

An enjoyable tour with a fantastic tour guide however it is a long way to travel for one day and wish now that we had done the overnight tour. A great option if you are pressed for time like we were. Only real dissappointment was not having the opportunity to swim in Halong Bay - but we were very pushed for time and spent only a couple of hours out on the water.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

It was a good trip, although it would have been better in a group. I booked a group tour, but was the only one on the tour. The guide and driver were friendly. The weather was overcast with sprinkles and I imagine much more scenic with better weather. The food on the boat was quite good.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Halong Bay was amazing...really the only thing I liked in Hanoi area! Bad weather which couldn't be helped, but still beautiful. Great to do in a group.

Laila S
South Korea

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The guide was good and the total trip was very satisfactory.

ST Oz
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

As a single traveler I had booked the shared day trip rather than the private one, simply for social reasons, but I ended up on a private tour anyway since no one else had booked the shared one. Even though that wasn't my first choice I cannot complain about that of course. I had high expectations of Halong Bay and even though I enjoyed the day I cannot say that it was amazing, but certainly worth while. Part of it was maybe that it was a hazy day as a result of which the scenary may not have been as spectacular as on a clear day. Lunch on board was more than adequate and tasty but was surprised to hear that some of the rolls contained fried dog meat. For most travelers probably an usual dish but I was happy that at least I asked. For me, a day trip to Halong was enough but talked to several people who spent a few days and absolutely loved it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Promised tour of fishing village and cultural experience and this was not offered. Thumbs down for the higher price and the decreased number of service offered.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

It was alright! No doubt the scenery was amazing. And the lunch was very good too. I was annoyed that one of the tourists in my group didnt eat Seafood and we were in the middle of a body of water. The thing that bothered me was that the guide just pointed at things and mentioned its name without giving historical data. I couldve avoided a guided tour if that was the case. Do you research for this trip. There are lots of options.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

Halong Bay is beautiful.....thou if you' ve been to the Phi Phi Islands in Thailand you kind of get a similar feeling. Nevertheless it was a good paceful ocean ride. Im glad we didn't do the overnight cruise because it would have been a tad monotonous.
Without taking anything from it....If you are in Vietnam, go to Halong Bay.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Although the journey from Hanoi to Halong Bay was incredibly long, which we were not expecting, the trip was worthwhile. The boat journey was comfortable and the staff very attentive. Our tour guide spoke excellent English and provided us with interesting information around the history of Vietnam and the sights we passed along the way. Halong Bay itself is stunning. You cannot visit North Vietnam and not see Halong Bay. Definitely a worthwhile trip.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I new this was a full day tour; but was surprised that it was over 3 hours each way from the Old Quarter. Scenery on the way was interesting; rice planting was going on, so could watch the various steps of planting really along most of the drive.

The bay/islands are very impressive, clearly a good take. Unfortunately they served lunch inside the barge just as we were arriving at some of the most interesting sites; so lunch remained mostly uneaten as we were enjoying the views and taking pictures. I knew that we would be seeing some caves, but I didn't expect CAVES ! It took about an hour to walk thru the caves and take pictures of the stalagtites and stalagmites as well as other limestone formations. Tour is recommended, just be aware of the long ride (van was comfortable) and be prepared to skip the lunch.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

For once it is worth going for this tour . Beautiful nature and hassle cusp city life. It was good that my tour only has 6 people. just nice for the tour guide to lead us. everyone was so intimate in a very small group tour. Our tour guide was good. Clear English speaking for everyone understanding. Lunch was good too. **should have include drink in the meal.

Paprika
Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Took 4 hours by car to arrive at pier to took ferry. A simple lunch with combination of cucumber salad, seafood, fried meat. Drinks exclusive. The lime rocks are quite fascinating which as you travel along/between, each angle is different and is a different picturesque for photos. Is like a never ending business. After travelling along for few hours, we end up at the Cave with icicles etc which worth watching. Arrived back in Hanoi and hotel around 8pm so you better bring along some snacks with you if you have stomach problems. Other than this, scenery was enjoyable.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Guide arrived at our hotel early which was great. The guide was very knowledgeable but not as sociable. All in all it was a good day out.

From USD $ 121.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5060VUJ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message