4.5 star rating: Recommended 119 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 119 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Alan W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

We were picked up promptly from our hotel and driven approx. 3 hours to Halong Bay with a stop half way, going and coming back. The guide spoke excellent english and had a good sense of humour. She took us onto our junk which we had to ourselves and for the next 3 hours we sailed around the islands. We also had lunch on-board which was included and it was cooked fresh and dish after dish kept coming to the table. We were full afterwards and enjoyed the scenery for the rest of the cruise.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

I would have loved for it to be longer, but for a one day trip it was an amazing experience and made me want to come back for more. The boat and staff were very nice, and the guide very friendly and informative. The driver was very nice about stopping for photo ops!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Wonderful tour, great guide!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Loved Halong Bay and the cruise. Wonderful adventure and a nice group of people. The van ride to and from the bay was long and the van not that comfortable for an 8 hour round trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Very good guide. It's a long day but worth it - the views are stunning. The boats are a bit old and the bay is a little crowded but we didn't mind as the trip as a whole was very good. I'd recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The Halong Bay portion of the trip gets a five star rating. It was much better that my wife and I expected... The boat was excellent, the food was great and plentiful and the crew were capable and friendly. Overall it was a wonderful experience.
The tour guide and driver were a pleasure to spend the day with.
The only downside was the travel time and the condition of the roads, but all things considered, it is excellent value for money and a MUST SEE experience

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

I have good holiday!!!

BC
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour went on well as expected as I have read. The service of the guide was good and in general we enjoyed ourselves.
However, the transport given was a bit disappointing. It was an old mini bus. It had really bad suspension. The ride was terribly bumpy. It was impossible to sleep on the bus going and returning from the bay.
I can confirm that the bus was bad as our other experience in a saloon car was a lot better. We could not feel the usual bumps on the Hanoi highway.
I would insist that a more up to date vehicle be used for this trip. It increase the enjoyment of the trip to the bay and back.
We developed a back ache from sitting in the bus and it was not pleasant.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Pick up from hotel was good, the driver and guide did an excellent job, and the boat and its crew were attentive and the lunch was good, in fact to much to eat. A really enjoyable day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was enthusiastic, extremely knowledgeable and ha excellent spoken English. The lunch on the boat was beautifully presented, a good variety and tasted wonderful. We weren't prepared for the extra fee for the kayak or boat ride, maybe prior heads up on that would be appreciated. (We assume they only accepted cash). It was a wonderful day and would strongly recommend. Our guide was kind enough to set up another tour for us the following day.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This is definitely worth a visit, just a shame about the 3.5 hour trip each way on the bumpiest roads in history. Had the good fortune of getting in a row boat and going through the rock formations (additional cost).

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

It was a great day out taking approx 12 hours. The boat ride in Halong Bay was perfect and a seafood meal was supplied. There were only 5 of us on the day trip and we had a boat to ourselves. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who doesn't really want to spend 2 or 3 days on a boat looking at the Bay, which I felt we saw most of what needed to be seen in 1 day.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Great tour, small group, we had an amazing time over the Halong Bay. The guide was good, although he didn't speak english so well. Overall it was an amazing tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Amazing place worth to be seen.
The mini-bus was new and clean.
We were lucky to get a large boart for only 8 people.
The guide was a nice guy.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Highly recommended

From USD $ 102.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5060VUJ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message