• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 114 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 114 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

BC
Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour went on well as expected as I have read. The service of the guide was good and in general we enjoyed ourselves.
However, the transport given was a bit disappointing. It was an old mini bus. It had really bad suspension. The ride was terribly bumpy. It was impossible to sleep on the bus going and returning from the bay.
I can confirm that the bus was bad as our other experience in a saloon car was a lot better. We could not feel the usual bumps on the Hanoi highway.
I would insist that a more up to date vehicle be used for this trip. It increase the enjoyment of the trip to the bay and back.
We developed a back ache from sitting in the bus and it was not pleasant.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Pick up from hotel was good, the driver and guide did an excellent job, and the boat and its crew were attentive and the lunch was good, in fact to much to eat. A really enjoyable day.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide was enthusiastic, extremely knowledgeable and ha excellent spoken English. The lunch on the boat was beautifully presented, a good variety and tasted wonderful. We weren't prepared for the extra fee for the kayak or boat ride, maybe prior heads up on that would be appreciated. (We assume they only accepted cash). It was a wonderful day and would strongly recommend. Our guide was kind enough to set up another tour for us the following day.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

This is definitely worth a visit, just a shame about the 3.5 hour trip each way on the bumpiest roads in history. Had the good fortune of getting in a row boat and going through the rock formations (additional cost).

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

It was a great day out taking approx 12 hours. The boat ride in Halong Bay was perfect and a seafood meal was supplied. There were only 5 of us on the day trip and we had a boat to ourselves. I would highly recommend this tour for anyone who doesn't really want to spend 2 or 3 days on a boat looking at the Bay, which I felt we saw most of what needed to be seen in 1 day.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Great tour, small group, we had an amazing time over the Halong Bay. The guide was good, although he didn't speak english so well. Overall it was an amazing tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Amazing place worth to be seen.
The mini-bus was new and clean.
We were lucky to get a large boart for only 8 people.
The guide was a nice guy.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Highly recommended

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The drive to and from Halong Bay was very long, but the trip is still worth it! Halong Bay is amazingly beautiful.

haihi
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

A great experience sailing along the bay. Food served on the junk can be better though.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

This locations visibility is dependant on the weather. Loved our visit to the cave and time looking at the area islands.
Guide was on time and spoke english very well.
Driver was safe" but traffic was typical to the area. Breaks in local areas to buy things -- the bathrooms are clean.
Food was really good and served family style. Four of us in total on boat. Very nice fresh local fish and squid.

Fun way to see the area and not use up to much time.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

Guide was excellent - providing tons of information on Halong Bay, Hanoi and Vietnam in general. The driver was good and made stops for short breaks. Boat was in good condition and lunch was excellent - vegetables, fish, rice, bananas etc. The boat tour wasn't that amazing though, scenery is okay.

Violet
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The tour itself was awesome. Tour guide Charlie Khanh was very professional. But it said seafood buffet lunch was included in the additional information. What we had was rice and a few dishes, we got scolded when asked for more. The staff of the boat were very rude though I dont blame the tour company for this as the boats are assigned by the permit office and we dont have a choice.

Susan M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

HaLong Bay itself was a real treat, even if the day was misty and we got enveloped in fog. Our tourguide was a disappointment - obviously not a professional, offering very little commentaries during the 3hr drive THEN slept for 2hrs on the way home ! She also was not cleanly dressed (looked like she was the tourist), altho she did smile to us a lot. More importantly, when we got trapped in the fog for 30min, we were practically lost at sea ... it appeared the boat did not carry a compass (at the very least). We missed a barge or two by metres only. It was myself and another tourist, who was able to activate his Blackberry GPS apps showing our location to be heading straight North, when I said my little knowledge tells me we should be turning West !!! Nothing wrong with the UNESCO attraction we went to see; perhaps Viator should do a serious enquiry on this incident, and re-train our tourguide.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Great. The bay and the cave was excellent. the food was great. Highly recommended. The only down side was the uncomfortable seats in the mercedes mini van. Apart from that a great day

From USD $ 102.95

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5060VUJ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message