4.5 star rating: Recommended 144 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hanoi, Vietnam
  • Duration:  11 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Halong Bay Small Group Adventure Tour including Cruise from Hanoi. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 144 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Susan M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

HaLong Bay itself was a real treat, even if the day was misty and we got enveloped in fog. Our tourguide was a disappointment - obviously not a professional, offering very little commentaries during the 3hr drive THEN slept for 2hrs on the way home ! She also was not cleanly dressed (looked like she was the tourist), altho she did smile to us a lot. More importantly, when we got trapped in the fog for 30min, we were practically lost at sea ... it appeared the boat did not carry a compass (at the very least). We missed a barge or two by metres only. It was myself and another tourist, who was able to activate his Blackberry GPS apps showing our location to be heading straight North, when I said my little knowledge tells me we should be turning West !!! Nothing wrong with the UNESCO attraction we went to see; perhaps Viator should do a serious enquiry on this incident, and re-train our tourguide.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Great. The bay and the cave was excellent. the food was great. Highly recommended. The only down side was the uncomfortable seats in the mercedes mini van. Apart from that a great day

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Great experience!! Let down only by the weather nevertheless so worth it!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

this trip was really enjoyable and informative. the group was small - only 6 people and the guide really knew his stuff! shame it was raining............

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Tour guide has very good command of English. Food on board the boat was nice. Lovely trip and group size is small (only 5 of us) but a price kinda on the high side.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

The trip was very beautiful and started without any delays or hassles with hotel pick up. The food on board could have been better though, in both quality and quantity.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Very well organised - magnificent part of the world - knowledgeable guide - couldn't have asked for more.

David D
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Throughly enjoyable trip with one exception. The visit to the limestone cave was chaotic with too many people in a small space.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

A great day, excellent guide and driver, only three of us, so we had the boat etc to ourselves, Lovely freshly cooked lunch, We enjoyed the day very much.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Although the drive from Hanoi was very long, the tour was excellent. Our English speaking guide was very nice and knowledgable. The boat ride in Ha Long Bay was worth the lenghty journey. Next time I would stay overnight and do some kayaking in the lake.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Halong Bay is a lot nicer than imagined. Will be staying on the overnight junk tour next time around.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

Great day out, however it is a long day as the drive to and from is long, 6 hours in total! We were lucky as we had a huge Boat for 6 of us, so plenty of room and a chance to move around the boat. Well worth seeing.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

The driver and guide showed up quite promptly. Only 2 of us booked this tour on our day, but everything went on as if we had a full group. I quite enjoyed having an almost private tour :) Just know that the drive is long from Hanoi, about 4 hours each way. The driver was good at stopping every 2 hours or so for a stretch and bathroom break. When we made it to the boat, we also found we had the whole boat to ourselves. The lunch was awesome!! This is a beautiful site that should not be missed.

Kenneth B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2010

The food was excellent and the scenery gorgeous. Shame there was only 3 hours sailing in the Bay

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

The Halong Bay is very nice, although in Autumn the sea waters are not so clear, as a result of the Red River flow. The trip from Hanoi and back takes around 7 hours due to the bad traffic and it is a bit too much. The service ( driver, guide, boat, food) was impecable.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

It was just a couple of us on this trip which collected us form the hotel in Hanoi and took us for a journey up to Halong Bay. The tour guide was very friendly and made sure to keep us informed throughout the trip on various Vietnamese customs and history. The Halong Bay tour itself is well organized. The boat is more than sufficient and food delicious. It's a simple trip and perfect if you have a short stay in Hanoi and only want to do a quick day trip to Halong Bay itself. The tour operator is professional. We had a private car for the journey but they also do minibuses if there are more people booked. The tour guide and driver never suggested we pay for tips as is the case on some other such trips which made the whole trip a much more pleasant and hassle free experience. Would I recommend this trip to anyone else? Absolutely - if a quick day trip and tour is what you want then this is the tour for you!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

This tour was most enjoyable, a three hour road trip from our hotel in Hanoi stopping at a factory showroom for disabled people. The boat trip at Halong Bay was very pleasant,we toured caves and had a most appetising lunch on board which was pre booked by our guide. For a day tour this was very good the guide was very informative and helpfull, .I would recomend this day tour. J Marsh .B Marsh

Christy M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

An enjoyable tour with a fantastic tour guide however it is a long way to travel for one day and wish now that we had done the overnight tour. A great option if you are pressed for time like we were. Only real dissappointment was not having the opportunity to swim in Halong Bay - but we were very pushed for time and spent only a couple of hours out on the water.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

It was a good trip, although it would have been better in a group. I booked a group tour, but was the only one on the tour. The guide and driver were friendly. The weather was overcast with sprinkles and I imagine much more scenic with better weather. The food on the boat was quite good.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Halong Bay was amazing...really the only thing I liked in Hanoi area! Bad weather which couldn't be helped, but still beautiful. Great to do in a group.

Laila S
South Korea

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

The guide was good and the total trip was very satisfactory.

ST Oz
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

Excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

As a single traveler I had booked the shared day trip rather than the private one, simply for social reasons, but I ended up on a private tour anyway since no one else had booked the shared one. Even though that wasn't my first choice I cannot complain about that of course. I had high expectations of Halong Bay and even though I enjoyed the day I cannot say that it was amazing, but certainly worth while. Part of it was maybe that it was a hazy day as a result of which the scenary may not have been as spectacular as on a clear day. Lunch on board was more than adequate and tasty but was surprised to hear that some of the rolls contained fried dog meat. For most travelers probably an usual dish but I was happy that at least I asked. For me, a day trip to Halong was enough but talked to several people who spent a few days and absolutely loved it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Promised tour of fishing village and cultural experience and this was not offered. Thumbs down for the higher price and the decreased number of service offered.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

It was alright! No doubt the scenery was amazing. And the lunch was very good too. I was annoyed that one of the tourists in my group didnt eat Seafood and we were in the middle of a body of water. The thing that bothered me was that the guide just pointed at things and mentioned its name without giving historical data. I couldve avoided a guided tour if that was the case. Do you research for this trip. There are lots of options.

Special Offer
$121.00 Save $12.10

From USD $ 108.90

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5060VUJ

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message