4.5 star rating: Recommended 60 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Helsinki, Finland
  • Duration:  1 day (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Helsinki Card. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 60 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

It was a great way to see Helsinki. We used it to take the ferry out to Suomenlinne, took a guided tour there, then we took the ferry back, and took an audio bus tour of the city. It was a fabulous day!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

It was truly a major helpp- in both getting around and getting into so many interesting places, everything from Soumelinna to the Zoo. Any tourist would find this useful.

RONALD K
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Helsinki's coastline and harbours are fantastic, and there is plenty to do and see. The people are very friendly. The Helsinki Card was very good for transport and attractions, and I would highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2009

Wonderful experience with the Helsinki Card - great city tour and visit to Suomenlinna. Good value, easy access, easy to find location to pick up card. Would highly recommend. Much better than tours offered by cruise line.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

Easy, the audio tour was very nice.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Helsinki Card was really good. I highly advise you to do the audio bus tour first thing to get the general feel of Helsinki. The tram system was very easy to understand and, being free with the city card, was very economical. The fact that they had highlighted one specific tram route and listed what attractions were near the different stops really helped. But it would also have been nice if the specific tram and stop were listed with the description of the site. The overall feel of Helsinki was warm and friendly. We needed the whole day to truly enjoy and see Suomenlinna, and it was our favorite place of all on the trip. The guide doing the English guided tour was so dramatic and interesting in the descriptions and explanations that anyone any age would be able to see it all come to life. We had the 3-day card, but if you only have 1 day be sure to see Suomenlinna on at least part of that day.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2006

It was the first time to Helsinki for my wife and three children and having the Helsinki card made it so easy to plan. It allows you to focus more on enjoying the holiday with the kids. Otherwise, it would have been constant pondering, queues and missing out on the enjoyment of being somewhere beautiful with your family. All my children remarked how good an idea it was to have the card before we arrived and how lucky we were to be able to use it to its full capacity.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good value, though I had to plan a fairly busy day to save enough to make the card worth it. The included booklet was useful to find the tours I wanted.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Helpful. Not a lot to do here in the short time we arrived. Off the cruise ship.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very worthwhile. Works really well in Helsinki. Your paying for the convenience most of all - there aren't enough hours in the day to visit many of the "free" attractions. The boat cruise is definitely the highlight of the packaged attractions.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

I found that the trip was a good value for the money spent. I found that the bus tour gave a very good tour that highlighted some of the main attractions of the city. The tour operators were very knowledgable and were able to provide good tips. When I wanted to go on the ferry, they were able to help me know (a) where to go, (b) how to find the times to go, and (c) what to do when I arrived at Suomenlinna. The only downside was the actual pickup of the card: the location that is mentioned on the printed voucher at the airport no longer exists - it's a service center on the ground floor. Even though the voucher was electronic, the lady behind the counter was hasseling me because it wasn't printed out even though it explicitly says on the voucher that I do not need to do so. Also, they aren't clear that you still have to pay for the bus ride into the city - but it was still at a reduced rate of 4 euros instead of 6.5.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The card was very useful, especially with free public transport. Unfortunately we did not get to use it enough in other areas.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

We saved money on some of the tours using this card

Viv M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Our accommodation was a little out of Helsinki centre so we used our Helsinki card many times to get into and around the city. e enjoyed the tour by ferry to Suomenlinna Island - a high light of our visit and we probably wouldn't have gone if we didn't have our Helsinki Card.. We were fascinated by Kiasma and Ateneum both of which allowed free entry. The convenience of not having to worry about the cost of transport and having change makes the card worthwhile but we also saved more than the card cost.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

We found the Helsink Card provided helpful
tours and transportation to many sites. Would recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Worth the money as it was very convenient not to have to pay to go in all the museums art galleries etc.Boat trip to Sommenlina was great . City tour very good but a pity you cannot use the open top bus when the weather is good.Discount on the airport bus also useful.
Loved Helsinki.Not as expensive as expected. Kampi district much cheaper for eating and drinking.Sales were on in the shops too which was a bonus.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

The "Helsinki Card" is a great system - I visited some museums twice knowing that each visit would not cost me extra. The main problem is having to print-out a voucher and collect the card - no card to use when getting airport bus from airport to city on arrival or being able to use card first evening as "Helsinki Expert" is closed - why not post-out the card already pre-dated?

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Had a great visit to Helsinki, and the Helsinki Card was extremely handy. The tram was a particularly easy system to use, and it was great that the card covered all the trips. It was also extremely easy to redeem the voucher at the Central Train Station.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

The card was very convenient.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The card is great if you are planning to do a lot of things in the city. Look at the different things offered, compare it with what you want to do, and see if the card will save you money. Don't forget to calculate transportation fees. I found it really easy to just flash the card when getting on public transportation. It was also easy to use to get into things; I just flashed the card and I was in.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2006

Best way to get around and visit top sites.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2012

Useful, particularly if you intend on using mass transit. In contrast to Stockholm, there are less museums and sights to see.

Joanne T
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2011

A good card in principle but it was hard to get your money's worth; especially at the time of year we went. We bought a two day card with the intention of using it to see the submarine and military museum in suomenlinna but they were both closed on the sunday we went in September. We did however use it on the ferry a couple of times and went on the audio tour which was good. Didnt use it at all on any other form of public transport though as the city is all walking distance and the tram map we had didnt have clear streets on it so we only found our tram stop as we were leaving to go to Estonia!

From USD $ 49.79

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3485HELCARD01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message