4.5 star rating: Recommended 296 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
  • Duration:  5 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cu Chi Tunnels Small Group Adventure Tour from Ho Chi Minh City. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 296 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

One of our best days in Vietnam ... Mary our tour guide was fabulous, very friendly and informative . Would thoroughly recommend booking with this company

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was awesome. Our guide, Long, was very friendly. He's also quite knowledgeable and provided a lot of historical context on Vietnam, Cu Chi, it's people, and the tunnels.
The tour started out with a trip to a local family's home where we were able to watch the making of rice paper, then afterwards, to try our hand at it. The matriarch also showed us how they raised livestock and extracted sap from rubber trees, which grow abundantly in Cu Chi.
We spent the rest of the morning going around the tunnels, learning of its history, architecture, and its importance during the Vietnam War. We got a chance to "drop" into a tunnel access, then later try to traverse one that's been enlarged for tourist access. Our group didn't get to finish the whole 100 m stretch, exiting at around 40 m because the tunnel is claustrophobia inducing, but it was still great fun. We learned about the various traps they used during the war as well. For gun enthusiasts, there is a firing range at the Cu Chi tunnels, though for non-gun enthusiasts, it can get a bit noisy.
At the end of the tour, our guides took us back to our hotels, which was very convenient, and even provided us with general tourist tips for Saigon. All in all, a great way to spend your morning. :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great experience. You get a sense of how committed the people were in fighting for what they believed in.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Marie Huong is an excellent tour guide. It was a great tour. Very comfortable, well planned and informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We loved this tour. Our tour guide, Queenie, was really great. We wouldn't have gotten as much out of this experience without her. She knew so much about the site and the history, so it was wonderful to have her there to guide us and answer our questions. I will definitely recommend this tour to others!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful tour, a must for any trip to Ho Chi Minh. Do not worry about going in the tunnel, it is only about five minutes of the whole day tour, and if you do not go in, as I did not, you won't miss anything, as the real tour is seeing and experiencing what is above ground.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very knowledgeable guide who was fluent in English and very friendly. At the time I was a little disappointed that we didn't get to go down into one of the bigger "rooms" located in the tunnels but after walking through the narrow tunnels I reckon that maybe it was for the best after all.
Also would've appreciated if there was some more light in the tunnels but that's just a minor thing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As someone who as studied the Vietnam War over many years this was a fascinating insight into the Vietnamese take on things, although naturally heavily biased towards their view of the war, it was for me, a one off experience to be able to experience and see some of the aspects of the war I had read about in the past.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Heong (Mary), our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour! She also gave us tips and suggestions for our remaining days in Ho Chi Minh.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour guide was very informative and her English was very good. Very friendly driver even though there is not much interaction with the driver.
We had heard mixed reviews for this tour, but it was well worth it. I visit countries to find out about their history and this was amazing to see and hear about how the Vietnamese survived the war. Climing through the tunnels was something else. As I'm 6ft I dropped down into the tunnel opening and then chickened out, however there was a bigger tunnel at the end of the tour which I went in and I'm glad I did.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was the only person on the day, so people didnt show, i had a personal guide, Long, who was great, this trip is a must

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good value for money! The tour guide was very pleasant and informative. Totally recommend it!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Tom was awesome, really recommend him and this trip. Was absolutely insane to see how the tunnels were used and lived in during the war. Try out walking the enlarged tunnels if you are brave - we only made it 20 meters!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very good and interesting tour, bus was a little uncomfortable (high density seating). Tour guide very knowledgeable and overall a good experienece. Definitely recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was excellent. Luke was our guide and did a wonderful job (highly Recommend). If you get a chance ask for Luke Dinh, he is a great tour guide with a wealth of information and we feel made our day a really great one. It was a great fun day 5 stars all the way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Was a very interesting trip. Our guide was very good and explained the history of the tunnels well. Pace of trip was good, didn't feel rushed. Guide helped ensure everything ran smoothly and even gave time for my husband to have a quick go on the shooting range. Great day out.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very unique experience and informative tour guide. Very glad i took the trip though i wont have the need to ever crawl through a tunnel like that again - even if it was only 15 metres in length.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

As a history enthusiast, I found the Cu Chi Tunnels an exceptionally interesting Vietnam War battle ground. The story of The Tunnels is being told from the perspective of the North Vietnamese and Vietcong fighters. In short, fascinating.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very good and it was just what I hoped it would be. However be warned. The place is packed out with tourists constantly being herded in groups from one item of interest to the next so your experience will definitely be affected by how large a group you are in and how interesting - or world weary - your guide is. Some reviews elsewhere tend to bear this out by saying they felt rushed or herded or the guide was just going through the motions. Here we had a group of thirteen which was about right and Long, our guide was very interesting, explaining everything well. Definitely worth going down into the tourist part of the tunnels because although enlarged from the impossibly tiny originals, it still tightens down enough to convey the atmosphere and you have to crawl along in semi darkness. It's 100 metres long and you can bottle out every 20 metres but try and stay for the last sloping section into "a field hospital" which is most rewarding. The whole thing is pro Vietcong and anti American but the original scenario must have been hell for all concerned. Definitely recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour is a must see. The history, ingenuity, and resiliency of the people is extraordinary and on full display. Our tour guide, Gem, was great, too. This tour is highly recommended.

almamia66
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

adventure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent half day tour, we had 12 people on our mini bus and a very informative English speaking guide. A truly amazing insight to the Vietnam war and the displays on show there are incredible. You can even fire a number of assault weapons there at the rifle range if you wish, [which I did and also recommend as its certainly not an every day practice]. The tunnels are extremely tight in places but the exits are about 20 meters apart, so it is up to the individual on how far you go according to your durability. You can choose not to go down at all if you like and I can still assure you that you will enjoy the tour regardless.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a must tour when in Ho Chi Minh. The Cu Chi tunnels are a real insight into the lives of Vietnamese people during the war. Very thought provoking. We had the brilliant Luc as our guide, he is so knowledgeable, great fun and speaks excellent English.

Dono
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This tour is an absolute must and should be on everyone's bucket list. The operator of our tour is to be commended. Our choice as a low numbers tour was well worth it and additionally, the central despatch point agreed with us,as having been on many a tour the arduous collection from around the city of guests is painful. Making our way to the despatch point is easy, central and simple to locate. Our guide...Luc, was a gem. A beaut young bloke, full of knowledge, speaks clear and understandable English and is a real character. The operators bus was pristine, in top notch condition and had massive,full view windows. The visit to the typical village home was very interesting part of the tour also. Don't miss this, the history and displays are awesome. Greg,Claire,Graeme and Terri

From USD $ 43.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5060VUN

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message