Insider's Guide to Ho Chi Minh City

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Viewing All 99 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Lu Yih Jacyln O Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2009

The tour around the city was interesting and definitely worth it.

Feng W

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

My guide Tony was very nice and flexible, he was in my hotel on time, and so nice to have someone do the driving as well.traffic was bad! I have special Interests in war museum, Tony let me took my time. Went throught it thoroughly. We went everywhere. Had a good trip.

Christine O

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Could do it yourself

Abrie P

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We could barely understand our tour guide, his English was very broken and we did not enjoy all of the stops on the tour. There was a very old couple paired with us and they had a hard time moving around the busy markets which made the experience tough.

Paul F

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Very good trip unfortunately our guides pronunciation was not easy to understand but he tried he,s hardest. He was off course very knowledgable about Ho Chi Minh. And keen to help.

Debbie A Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

For my first visit to Saigon on my owe this was a great way for me to get my bearings and get to know the city.
Highlight - finding the local restaurant for lunch, which I went back to.
Lowlight - you could do most of these attractions by yourself just as well.

Dawn K

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2012

The post office was a bust - just a post office and no history, but the palace and war museum were great.

TREVOR R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

language barrier and the guide wanted to get away early
back 2 hours early

Paprika Hong Kong

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

Tour covered basic spot like Notre Dame Cathedral. General Post Office, War Remnants Museum and Reunification Palace, Thien hau temple and Giac.. Pagoda. Lunch included was good choice from our young lady guide. I would have preferred less temple though. not much to see (We have lots in HK already) One thing I MUST say is that the guide is very good at helping you to take good photos. We were lucky as well as there are only 2 on our group tour. But i would have love to learn more about Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City's information, history etc more. I think there should be more explanation by the guide at the Museum, we were just left to walk around ourselves. I would conclude that trip as OK but not as good as one expect. For those travellign during the weekend, this 48 hours before confirmation request will drive you VERY MAD as the so called hotline is ALWAYS engaged and you can hardly get through. I did not get confirmation and have to call many times long distance. The end is I just have to wait at the Lobby and hoping that they will come.

Brooke W

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

All the sites visited were terrific. Good overview of Ho chi Minh city. Only complaint was that my tour guide did not speak English as well as I would have liked. That is not to say that he was not extremely lovely and knew everything exceptionally. Just a little hard to understand at times.

Veronica C

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2011

Our tour guide Thi was very nice and knowledgeable about the area. Her English was adequate although softly spoken at times.

Karl B

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

Same comments as above concerning contact of tour guide. Better co-ordination would be beneficial.

Julie Z

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2010

Tour OK but dragged out a bit.

Helen C United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2010

Covered all the must sees quickly so ideal if you're short on time or want a hassle free overview of the city. Guide knolwedgeable, freindly and efficient. Down side this was a very frequent stop tour and used a people carrier that it is difficult to clamber out the back of.

Jamie M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Tour shuttled us around to main sights but the guide did not speak English well (although she was sweet) and was something we could have done on our own

meggs888

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Not real happy with the Reunification Palace but the rest of the tour was ok, tour guide was good though.

Jay S USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2012

Good tour overall, but tour guide needs to be more forceful in speaking. Many times us tourists had difficulty hearing guide.

Maria H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2011

A bit disappointed because War Remnants Museum was closed during our Tour. We have to go there on our own the following day. Also we did not go to the Opera House as our Tour Guide said this is close to our hotel so we are not going there. If I knew I should have gone on our own to tour the City.

Robert H Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2009

Trip was good, but unfortunately I was the only person on trip.

Dimitrios K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

The tour started very promising as it was just two of us and we thought we would get the private tour experience.

We could not have been further from the truth. Our guide (Mr Chan if I recall correctly) was not a suitable guide. He could barely speak English (and believe me when I say we are experienced with heavy accents) and we were always feeling that he was rushing us so he can finish early. Whenever he was giving us information about a site he would start with "Ladies and Gentlemen" (mind you it was just two of us) and then he would mumble some kind of script in English that did not make any sense. The tour ended around 14:00-14:30 with us feeling really frustrated.

We have had experience with small group-turned-private tours before and all of them were good with the guide being informative, discreet and giving us enough time to enjoy the sites but unfortunately this was not this case in this tour.

Kian Fatt Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2013

I couldn't make it for this tour but your tour guide was kind enough to change to cu chi tunnel tour the next day. Unfortunately she made some mistakes by not giving her contact number and separate us into 2 groups. Ended my group of 3 was left out. Later when met at the van she scolded me openly.

Jeff G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2013

There were only 2 of us on the tour which we thought would be a good thing. Our guide simply dropped us off at the different locations and walked away. There was no explanation or guiding at all. I would suggest Viator change their tour operator for this activity.

Olga S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2010

as boring as possible, very bad logistic, because, for example, objects a and c very close, but from first to second must drive via object b, which was in another part of city.

Oliver R Philippines

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2009

We booked for a small group tour. We ended up a private tour and it was expensive.

Viewing 4 of 4

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4

From USD $ 59.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5060VUF

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message