3.5 star rating: Worth doing 82 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 82 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Sheena B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

This was most enjoyable. Unfortunately workplace health and safety laws forbade us from seeing the process, but we were shown an informative video with a live presenter on hand to answer any questions. The staff at Cadbury were friendly and helpful which added to the enjoyment.

Jamie B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

This was a great day out with plenty to see. Take a camera, as the boat trip goes past plenty of historic landmarks!

Rob P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The coach trip and the tour of the factory was excellent, however, we were very upset when on the return boat cruise our children were not given lunch as we had paid for and it clearly stated on our ticket voucher. The hostess was most unhelpful and other families with children were treated the same. Luckily for us other travellers who had seen what was going on offered their lunch to our children. We were going to complain when we got to the dock at Hobart but could not find anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Wonderful! What a great way to do things, being picked up then taking a cruise back to where you started from with lunch provided was fabulous.

Suzanne C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Loved the tour, but the voucher times were confusing. The factory tour was very informative and as soon as we were off the bus the aroma of chocolate hit our olfactory nerves and we were off to chocolate heaven. Free samples before and after and just the sight of chocolates on the conveyor belts was fantastic. It was great to get there, with my 11 year old daughter, as this has been an ambition of mine since I was about 11!! Very good.

Diane C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The overall trip was excellent. Our bus driver was great, the trip in the factory was a little bit of a let down though.

Michelle S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The tour of the factory was very interesting and enjoyable. Time spent in waiting room was a disappointment - merchandise not varied or different.

Wayne C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

We had a ball, but we're disappointed we didn't get to see many working areas of the factory. Bus and boat trip were wonderful. Bus tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Leoni R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Everyone was very friendly.

Melissa M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2007

The cruise was very interesting and good fun!

Robyn J
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2007

The trip was well worth doing. Coaches were very reliable and comfortable. We were well informed along the way on all the highlights of Hobart and the history behind the attractions. The Cadbury factory was interesting.

Alison C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2007

Definitely worthwhile. We enjoyed it, and would definitely do it again.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Sadly Cadbury Chocolate Factory display and shop looks a bit dated. River cruise boat named Mr I was really nice. Great food on board.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

I thought the Cadbury tour was very disappointing as you only got to watch a video you didn't get to see them actually making any of the chocolate. A good idea to overcome all the Work Health and Safety aspects would be to have tours but with viewing windows at least that way it is safe and you can still see the chocolate being made and probably have a sample bin where everyone could have one sample of either "seconds" or broken chocolate that they cannot sell. Other than that all our bookings were great. Thank you for your assistance. Will definitely use you again next time, just have to save up some more money.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Well we loved the chocolate factory and walked away with some great deals. The tour bus dropped us off at MONA which is fantastic, as you see all these wonderful sculptures that are outside. Then you take this great cruise down the Derwent River and see all the beautiful views of Hobart. Just loved it!!

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

We were under the impression that we were going to go to the Cadbury factory both ways by boat. By the time we boarded the boat to return to Hobart it was a little late for morning tea. In your tour title you mention '.... and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart'.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

enjoyed immensely

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2013

Whilst we were happy to be able to visit our favorite chocolate factory we have previously been able to go through the factory which is much better. They now show you a video presentation on the making of chocolate due to OH and S concerns. We would only suggest this tour to other tourist if they have ample time, as there are a lot of tours and places to visit in Hobart that would be better to do.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

The tour was great, very informative. Cadbury needs to give away more chocolate.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

"Tour" is just a presentation -speaker was excellent- then a chance to shop in their outlet. The local bus company mixed up our tickets and did not have us down to do the cruise back. They fixed it tho.The cruise was the same trip on the same ferry we caught from MONA the day before. Not worth $70+

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

The bus driver was very knowledgable and gave us an excellent tour out to the Chocolate factory. I was disappointed that we couldn't go into the actual factory! The river cruise was magical and the lunch was delicious.

DAVID L
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2011

The Cadbury Tour was great. Great presentation and demos from the Cadbury's staff. We got a block of chocolate as we walked through the door. The Cruise was not very impressive. It was more like a ferry service instead of a sightseeing cruise.

Leyland W
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

Non entry to factory was not advised prior to booking tour, found out on Bus. We were not told when to collect our lunch and would have missed out if we hadn't asked for it.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

The tour of the Cadbury Chocolate Factory was a bit of a disappointment. However, the Derwent River Cruise was excellent and now affords an opportunity to visit the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA) as well.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2011

it was a good day. the factory was great.

From USD $ 60.03

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_744

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message