3.5 star rating: Worth doing 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

The tour was very interesting and they gave you as many samples as you wanted. You could buy a carton of mixed seconds for $12 which is really cheap, only trouble is if your flying the weight of your luggage. If you really are a chocoholic try the hot chocolate !!!!!

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

It was very easy to book the tour online. I discovered I made a mistake with the date but, this was easily solved without any fuss.

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

This was actually a combination of two smaller tour activities. Pick-ups, transfers and direction between activities was smooth and organised, so that the whole morning was very enjoyable, without being rushed for time.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2010

The trip was organised and as promised. Just curious why Cadbury charges to tour when there is no tour but a movie and display. After all a lot of money is being earned by their off sales.

Andrea W
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2009

This was a great tour by bus and river cruise, and all questions were answered. They both had lots of knowledge of Hobart. It was a bit disappointing that at Cadburys we weren't able to walk through the Factory while they were making chocolate. However, apparently they are looking at reopening it so that we can walk through the factory again when safety measures have been implemented. When this happens I will definitely rebook. The bus tour guide very friendly and helpful, and the cruise staff were very friendly also.

Stephen H
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2009

A fantastic day. The luncheon was a little sparse with little choice, but was filling and healthy. The staff both in the office and on the cruise were first rate!

Sheena B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2009

This was most enjoyable. Unfortunately workplace health and safety laws forbade us from seeing the process, but we were shown an informative video with a live presenter on hand to answer any questions. The staff at Cadbury were friendly and helpful which added to the enjoyment.

Jamie B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2008

This was a great day out with plenty to see. Take a camera, as the boat trip goes past plenty of historic landmarks!

Rob P
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

The coach trip and the tour of the factory was excellent, however, we were very upset when on the return boat cruise our children were not given lunch as we had paid for and it clearly stated on our ticket voucher. The hostess was most unhelpful and other families with children were treated the same. Luckily for us other travellers who had seen what was going on offered their lunch to our children. We were going to complain when we got to the dock at Hobart but could not find anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2008

Wonderful! What a great way to do things, being picked up then taking a cruise back to where you started from with lunch provided was fabulous.

Suzanne C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

Loved the tour, but the voucher times were confusing. The factory tour was very informative and as soon as we were off the bus the aroma of chocolate hit our olfactory nerves and we were off to chocolate heaven. Free samples before and after and just the sight of chocolates on the conveyor belts was fantastic. It was great to get there, with my 11 year old daughter, as this has been an ambition of mine since I was about 11!! Very good.

Diane C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The overall trip was excellent. Our bus driver was great, the trip in the factory was a little bit of a let down though.

Michelle S
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2007

The tour of the factory was very interesting and enjoyable. Time spent in waiting room was a disappointment - merchandise not varied or different.

Wayne C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

We had a ball, but we're disappointed we didn't get to see many working areas of the factory. Bus and boat trip were wonderful. Bus tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Leoni R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2007

Everyone was very friendly.

From USD $ 63.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_744

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message