• USD ($)
  • English

3 star rating: Worth doing 72 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 72 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2012

A disappointment. I did a tour some 40 years ago when you actually saw the factory' s operation. This presentation could have been done anywhere!!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Enjoyed the Cadbury factory even though a plant tour has not been given or offered for the passed 4 yrs. Perhaps they should change their advertising. Coffee was very strong and they were very slow in serving it.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

In my opinion this was not a tour as such but more of a presentation as there is no tour of the factory and really not overly interesting. The cruise could be classified as a ferry trip as their was no commentary in regards to what you were viewing and so I really would not recommend this tour.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Bus an hour late and when it did finally arrive the driver made us walk (we are 75 years old) to the next street to meet him. said the bus was too big for the cul de sac - our bigger airport shuttle bus made the turn ok the day before. rest of the trip ok.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

Bit disappointing, the cruise was unavailable on the day we booked, and the tour didn't exist, just a 10 minute film.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

Not worth the price. The 'cruise' is on board a ferry to and back from MONA (museum) and 'lunch' was a roll from the bar.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2011

Bit of a rip off, and the river cruise is beautiful but boring. The food was terrible too. However, the Chocolate factory was a very fun tour, though due to safety precautions you can't see the actual machines working. They did have samples, examples and lots of explanations. It was great, and i learnt a lot.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2010

Not really long enough at Cadbury, you basically have to buy what you want quickly and get out. Cruise okay, very basic.

Melinda C
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2009

Since 2008, you are no longer able to tour the Cadbury factory itself, only the visitor centre. It would have been helpful to know this beforehand! The river cruise was lovely, although the light lunch was VERY light, a salad roll.

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2009

I was very disappointed that there was no tour of the factory and that the cruise didn't go from the factory. I would've gone on another cruise instead had I realised that we were going back by coach.

Linda S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2008

The cadbury chocolate factory was not worth going to. All you do is sit and watch a video, which I wish we had been told before we went as we would not have bothered. After the video they just push you through to the factory buy chocolates. The chocolates are not that much cheaper and I feel the chocolates are stale. Also we were pushed through by the bus driver. We got told we had to be back for the river cruise by 11.30 but the cruise didn't leave until 12.00 so we were sitting around for half hour. The cruise was great I would only do the cruise if I did this again.

Noel B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

We were disappointed that the river cruise did not run from the Cadbury Factory back to Hobart. They did supply a lunch cruise on the harbour but as we had already done that two days before one cruise was a waste of our money.

Gwenda W
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

I know they had to stop the tours, but I had waited a long time to go around the factory and was really disappointed when it was a ten minute DVD, and then we were escorted to the chocolate shop. I feel the money we paid was not relevant to what we got. I paid that price for a complete tour and was only notified after I paid that a tour was no longer available. I would not have booked it otherwise, and we actually saw a similar tour for a vastly reduced price when we went down to meet the bus. Sorry, but this was very disappointing.

Katrina B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

A bit lame. But, the boat trip was nice.

Ron B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

The tour was good, but being left stranded at the wharf was shocking. We were picked up at the motel. I expected to be returned to the motel.

From USD $ 72.38

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_744

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message