3.5 star rating: Worth doing 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  3 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Cadbury Chocolate Factory Tour and Derwent River Cruise from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Linda S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2008

The cadbury chocolate factory was not worth going to. All you do is sit and watch a video, which I wish we had been told before we went as we would not have bothered. After the video they just push you through to the factory buy chocolates. The chocolates are not that much cheaper and I feel the chocolates are stale. Also we were pushed through by the bus driver. We got told we had to be back for the river cruise by 11.30 but the cruise didn't leave until 12.00 so we were sitting around for half hour. The cruise was great I would only do the cruise if I did this again.

Noel B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

We were disappointed that the river cruise did not run from the Cadbury Factory back to Hobart. They did supply a lunch cruise on the harbour but as we had already done that two days before one cruise was a waste of our money.

Gwenda W
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2008

I know they had to stop the tours, but I had waited a long time to go around the factory and was really disappointed when it was a ten minute DVD, and then we were escorted to the chocolate shop. I feel the money we paid was not relevant to what we got. I paid that price for a complete tour and was only notified after I paid that a tour was no longer available. I would not have booked it otherwise, and we actually saw a similar tour for a vastly reduced price when we went down to meet the bus. Sorry, but this was very disappointing.

Katrina B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

A bit lame. But, the boat trip was nice.

Ron B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

The tour was good, but being left stranded at the wharf was shocking. We were picked up at the motel. I expected to be returned to the motel.

Eleanor B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

The cruise and bus ride were very interesting and informative, but the factory tour was a bit boring. It needed to have more emphasis on the fun side of chocolate - the company should have some fun mascots and more free stuff, and better interaction is needed so the kids aren't bored.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2007

It was a little bit boring for an adult, but would be great for a family.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

Total tourist trap, rip off. The 'cruise' is just a $20 trip on the MONA ferry and it's not like the museum is included.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

The Cadbury factory was a let down. We were at the factory for no longer than one hour. We received a block of chocie on arrival and were left to browse the shop. We then saw a 20min DVD of how is made. We had a short time to enjoy the hot chocolate recommended to us but were then told we needed to leave and therefore had to leave our hot chocolate unfinished. That was the end of the tour- In other words there was NO tour. The ferry trip was great however we had to strongly advise we had five people for morning tea. As our bus operator took our booking I luckily had my orginal email as they were not going to give us morning tea for the kids. As it was we only had morning tea for three rather than 5 of us anyway. $294 for three adults and two kids was over the top and would not recommend to anyone.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2012

No tour involved. A look around the gift shop and a short 10 minute lecture on chocolate from an employee.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2011

Cadbury chocolate factory component was not a tour, it was a 15 minute description of how chocolate is made, the remaining 45 minutes could be spent purchasing chocolate from the shop or eating/drinking at the cafeteria.
The derwent river cruise was 30 minutes from MONA museum back to the Hobart starting point and included a small sandwich with a drink. Overall I was not satisfied with this tour and would not recommend it for your visit to Hobart.
I would not reccommend this tour to anyone I know.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

What a let down. You no longer tour the factory. Save your money and buy some chocolate.

Troy M
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2010

It is not a factory tour, only a visitor centre. And the river cruise with lunch and refreshment is a bread roll and a soft drink. There is no guarantee that you will make the river cruise as the river cruise will not wait if the drive from the chocolate factory is running late. It wil leave without you. Our chocolate tour got cut short in order to make the cruise.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2008

The fire alarm went off before we sat in on the talk about the history of Cadbury Chocolate so we spent our limited time there on the lawns out front where staff tried to make light of the situation with free chocolates. The tour does not include even a viewing of the actual chocolate making process. I found the whole experience mundane and boring.

Nicole B
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2008

Was not what i had expected at all. I did the Cadbury tour many years ago which included a guided tour throughout the factory. This time we sat in a little room, was given a mini presentation, watched a DVD for 10-15 minutes and that was it. I would not have wasted my time by having to get up extra early to be on time to find we were just going to watch a DVD. It was raining on the cruise and couldn't see clearly out of the windows due to the fog and rain. Unfortunately, I felt it was a complete waste of time and money.

From USD $ 63.07

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_744

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message