5 star rating: Highly Recommended 92 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  9 hours 30 minutes (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Full-Day Bruny Island Tour from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 92 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

I would recommend this tour. The guides were friendly and very informative. The boat ride was fun even with the rain and rough seas.
Really enjoyed the day.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Nice tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

The weather was very bad which can be expected. As a result we did not complete the full boat tour, the water was very rough. I feel there should have been some type of credit towards another trip if we decide to do this again. The trip is very beautiful and I will probably take my partner again so she can see what I did during my first tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Boat ride absolutely thrilling. Got up very close to seals on the rocks. Magnificent. Lunch beautiful especially hot pumpkin soup as it was a very cold day. Well worth it. Staff very helpful and efficient

William M
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

A unique experience and one not to be missed!
The people conducting this tour are very professional, the views are amazing, the wildlife still wild resulting in a thoroughly enjoyable day.
Two words of caution: the movement of the boat is considerable - the crew give out anti-nausea tablets (ginger) but I'm sure seasickness on rough days is an issue (we had a calm though cool day) and secondly, you can't wear too many clothes, when the boat is moving at speed, which it often does the breeze (read gale) across the deck is freezing!

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Unforgettable experience, my family n i had a good time in this tour. The down side is that we need to travel a long time to reach the bruny island, but its worth. Just make sure u only take ginger tablet if u have seasickness.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

The bus ride and the Vehicle ferry crossing to Bruny were both very efficiently carried out. On the boat trip around the island we experienced very rough seas with high waves. The boat crew were very competent, and I enjoyed the trip thoroughly..

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

Fascinating trip, everything was well organized with tasty morning tea and lunch. Staff was nice and informative, beautiful scenery of sandstone cliffs, close-up watching dolphins and fur seals was amazing.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

Breath taking scenery a great experience but very cold you need to wrap up extremley well but well worth it.

Kaia D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Our tour guide was lovely and the trip to Bruny Island is pretty easy (short bus ride followed by a short ferry ride and another short bus ride).

If I could give any advice it would be to wear very warm clothes. We went in December (the middle of summer) and it was absolutely freezing. You need to wear heavy closed in shoes and a warm jacket. Luckily I bought gloves and a beanie before we went on the boat.

The boat ride is very fast which I enjoyed but it can also be quite rough. We had 2 metre high seas. If you get sea sick or have a sore back or neck, sit at the back of the boat. But the crew supplies sea sick tablets and takes good care of you.

We saw a lot of seals on our trip. The scenery was pretty but I'm not sure it was worth the freezing cold, rain and hail. Having said that, my husband absolutely loved it!

The lunch was delicious (soup, gourmet roll and hot chocolate or coffee) - included in the price.

The people in Tasmania are lovely. If this type of trip appeals to you, I would highly recommend this tour.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2011

Very enjoyable day

Sally C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2009

It's a bit different than expected but still worth going. The scenes were nice.

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Enjoyable tour - great guides. Weather was not good, nothing can be done about that. Would love to re-do the tour on a fine day.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2012

Great day, sea condition's quite calm. The Captain of the boat excellent in his professionalism. Lunch was okay a little slow on our table which in the end had to rush to board the bus. The only dampener of the trip that the bus driver/ tour guide was not very professional, comments made were not acceptable. I also felt that he had to override people even though questions weren't directed to him.

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Well organised, great staff. Unfavourable weather meant we didn't reach the seal or penguin colonies which was very disappointing. However, the rough conditions made the boat trip an adventure in itself. I would deinately do it again under better weather conditions.

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2011

The day we went was windy with squalls of hail blowing across every now and then. I couldn't hear the commentary above the noise of the wind and the outboards and in spite of the ginger tablets I was seasick. However the staff were attentive, and the scenery was magnificent. Unforgettable! Blueberry muffins for morning tea warm from the oven and lunch when we got back were both delicious.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2009

The guide was friendly but not really personable. The weather was not the best and it rained on us, which did not help out. I wish we could have stopped at the rockery but they said we did not have time, which it turned out we did.

From USD $ 145.09

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 5500BIC_FD

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message