• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 77 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Port Arthur Tour from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 77 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Took our 5 year grandson with us and we all enjoyed the experience. We didn't do the walking tour but made our own way around. The driver was very informative and they had arranged an earlier bus for the ship customers so go back on time.

Kaia D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

My husband and I both loved this tour. We're not huge history buffs but thought we should visit Port Arthur while we were in Hobart. This is a must see for all Australians. It's a fascinating tour through history,

The bus was early picking us up from our hotel. The driver was funny and very knowledgable and it was quite a quick trip to Port Arthur.

The grounds are simply stunning and the walking tours (incl in your ticket price) are very informative. The tour leaves you to explore at your own pace which we really enjoyed.

My advice would be to spend a little less time in the visitor centre and a little more time exploring the grounds. Walking tours leave every half hour and you don't have to go on the 11.30 tour which is assigned to you. It may be better to go on an earlier walking tour so that you have more time to explore the grounds or go on a cruise out to one of the islands (this costs extra).

Port Arthur is an absolute must see if you are in Tasmania!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I really enjoyed the trip to Port Arthur and it was very well organised. Collection from the hotel was great, sitting back and relaxing the scenic journey on the way was better than driving myself, and I felt the price was very good for the day. No negative feedback :)

Jenefer P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Guides were passionate and knowledgeable. An incredible experience!

Michael C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This was a great experience, a must do for everyone. I liked the flexibility you could either be part of a tour, or just go off and do your own thing-great.

Anna S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This is one of the best trips i have ever taken, starting with a friendly and interesting coach driver. The scenery stops along the way were a good idea and most welcome for a first time visitor to the region. I would ask that the time spent at Port Arthur itself be extended by another hour or 90 mins as i did not get to take in everything, and there is much more to see and read than i had thought. I'm sure getting back to Hobart at 6 or 6.30 pm is no big difference to day trippers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic tour rich in history with very good guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great tour

Lisa S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour driver was prompt, entertaining and informative. The tour guide at Port Arthur was also fantastic and had the ability to transform the place using imagination. The whole experience was educational and quite moving. Port Arthur is spectacular and was the highlight of my trip to Tasmania.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Love the history and would like to remain the ruin as it is.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Courteous, helpful and enthusiastic guide who provided excellent commentary throughout the journey. I had a fantastic day and would recommend this tour to anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great day to a fascinating place.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the bus drivers running commentary . Lots to see at Port Arthur not all that much time but OK. We had a hot day.
The two tour hosts at Port Arthur seemed to have a good knowledge of the history. However perhaps more revision/training of there talk needed.Lacking the professional edge we have had on other tours in various countries.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

overall a good tour. Mostly oldies on this tour. The driver pointed out points of interest on the drive to port Arthur. At port Arthur you are on your own. There are daily free tours at port Arthur - you can easily tag along on these. This tour included a trip on the ferry to the 2 islands however did not include entry fee to go on the islands.

From USD $ 106.09

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_774

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message