4.5 star rating: Recommended 88 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Port Arthur Tour from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 88 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Superb.. lovely day out with a great driver who was very knowledgable.

Barbara S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Excellent tour - bus trip interesting and informative, Port Arthur tour excellent, plenty of time to explore on your own. ! didn't expect Port Arthur to be so beautiful - some lovely gardens and impressive buildings. I learnt a great deal - there were 'horrors, but there was also a rehabilitation program of training in trades. Very interesting and enjoyable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The bus trip to Port Arthur was very informative and relaxing. Port Arthur is a national treasure. After the initial talk by the guide we were left to explore on our own. What a memorable and beautiful place. Thank you Tasmania for looking after our heritage so well. I think schools should send their classes there to to appreciate our own history.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Mostly self-guided but a gorgeous setting, so much history and the terrific weather was a nice benefit!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

Port Arthur was absolutely amazing. I went 30 years ago and the change in the reconstructed buildings was extraordinary. The trip out there by bus was good with a stop at some other sights. We chose not to do the cruise as we wanted to spend more time at Port Arthur so I really liked the flexibility. Overall well worth the trip and great to be transported so we could relax.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

This is a good one...get to know the history, which is really amazing!!! I wish iIhave more time there...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Took our 5 year grandson with us and we all enjoyed the experience. We didn't do the walking tour but made our own way around. The driver was very informative and they had arranged an earlier bus for the ship customers so go back on time.

Kaia D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

My husband and I both loved this tour. We're not huge history buffs but thought we should visit Port Arthur while we were in Hobart. This is a must see for all Australians. It's a fascinating tour through history,

The bus was early picking us up from our hotel. The driver was funny and very knowledgable and it was quite a quick trip to Port Arthur.

The grounds are simply stunning and the walking tours (incl in your ticket price) are very informative. The tour leaves you to explore at your own pace which we really enjoyed.

My advice would be to spend a little less time in the visitor centre and a little more time exploring the grounds. Walking tours leave every half hour and you don't have to go on the 11.30 tour which is assigned to you. It may be better to go on an earlier walking tour so that you have more time to explore the grounds or go on a cruise out to one of the islands (this costs extra).

Port Arthur is an absolute must see if you are in Tasmania!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

I really enjoyed the trip to Port Arthur and it was very well organised. Collection from the hotel was great, sitting back and relaxing the scenic journey on the way was better than driving myself, and I felt the price was very good for the day. No negative feedback :)

Jenefer P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Guides were passionate and knowledgeable. An incredible experience!

Michael C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

This was a great experience, a must do for everyone. I liked the flexibility you could either be part of a tour, or just go off and do your own thing-great.

Anna S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This is one of the best trips i have ever taken, starting with a friendly and interesting coach driver. The scenery stops along the way were a good idea and most welcome for a first time visitor to the region. I would ask that the time spent at Port Arthur itself be extended by another hour or 90 mins as i did not get to take in everything, and there is much more to see and read than i had thought. I'm sure getting back to Hobart at 6 or 6.30 pm is no big difference to day trippers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic tour rich in history with very good guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great tour

Lisa S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour driver was prompt, entertaining and informative. The tour guide at Port Arthur was also fantastic and had the ability to transform the place using imagination. The whole experience was educational and quite moving. Port Arthur is spectacular and was the highlight of my trip to Tasmania.

From USD $ 103.21

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_774

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message