4.5 star rating: Recommended 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Port Arthur Tour from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Anna S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This is one of the best trips i have ever taken, starting with a friendly and interesting coach driver. The scenery stops along the way were a good idea and most welcome for a first time visitor to the region. I would ask that the time spent at Port Arthur itself be extended by another hour or 90 mins as i did not get to take in everything, and there is much more to see and read than i had thought. I'm sure getting back to Hobart at 6 or 6.30 pm is no big difference to day trippers.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

Fantastic tour rich in history with very good guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Great tour

Lisa S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour driver was prompt, entertaining and informative. The tour guide at Port Arthur was also fantastic and had the ability to transform the place using imagination. The whole experience was educational and quite moving. Port Arthur is spectacular and was the highlight of my trip to Tasmania.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Love the history and would like to remain the ruin as it is.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Port Arthur is a wonderful place, well worth seeing. Disappointed there were major construction works being undertaken when I visited but that's life. The Derwent River Cruise was a selling point for this tour but didn't deliver. The twenty minute circle out from the jetty didn't allow me to see anything I couldn't have seen from dry land. Would go on the tour again for Port Arthur but I wouldn't waste my time with the cruise.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The bus driver was wonderful and had a great knowledge of the area. Be warned though - this tour doesn't give you enough time to see all of Port Arthur. You arrive about 11am and a walking tour starts at 11.45 - don't miss it, it is brilliant! There is a cruise around the bay at 1.00pm with an optional (and is an additional payment) for the Isle of the Dead Tour (40 mins). Then you need to be on the bus at 3pm. Obviously, you need to eat lunch sometime between 11-3. All that said though, I would go again.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide very informative. Port Arthur was amazing. Devil's Kitchen and Tasman Arch were beautiful. Would have like to have seen a bit more along the way but time didn't permit.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Friendly tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Courteous, helpful and enthusiastic guide who provided excellent commentary throughout the journey. I had a fantastic day and would recommend this tour to anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great day to a fascinating place.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the bus drivers running commentary . Lots to see at Port Arthur not all that much time but OK. We had a hot day.
The two tour hosts at Port Arthur seemed to have a good knowledge of the history. However perhaps more revision/training of there talk needed.Lacking the professional edge we have had on other tours in various countries.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

overall a good tour. Mostly oldies on this tour. The driver pointed out points of interest on the drive to port Arthur. At port Arthur you are on your own. There are daily free tours at port Arthur - you can easily tag along on these. This tour included a trip on the ferry to the 2 islands however did not include entry fee to go on the islands.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It's good to discover the history that lies beneath the ruins of Port Arthur

From USD $ 92.84

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_774

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message