Viewing All 136 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Lisa S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

The tour driver was prompt, entertaining and informative. The tour guide at Port Arthur was also fantastic and had the ability to transform the place using imagination. The whole experience was educational and quite moving. Port Arthur is spectacular and was the highlight of my trip to Tasmania.

Hasnorizal C Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Love the history and would like to remain the ruin as it is.

Alan J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Friendly and knowledgeable driver. We stopped en route to view features of the Tasman Sea Coast - a bonus.

Robyn M

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very enjoyable and interesting. Driver also informed us of different things to and from Port Arthur which you don't get to know if you do it by yourself.

William D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Excellent driver
Good trip

Stephen P Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Another overcast wet day in Hobart. We were collected by our driver in a very comfortable bus to commence our tour to Port Arthur. Our driver Greg was very informative and helpful. Once we arrived at Port Arthur we joined the walking tour for a general overview of the old penal colony. I recommend this as it provides you with good basic information to plan the rest of your day, especially if you have limited time, which we had. The boat trip which is included in your tour was ok but could be missed. It did give us the opportunity
To sit and have some lunch!! Exploring the Town Hall/asylum was great and really well presented. On to the commandants quarters which again included a free tour... Then down to the doctors house and the church....all excellently presented. A visit to the PA Memorial area...very eerie and moving. Last a visit to the museum. A most enjoyable day, however would have enjoyed a little more time to explore...alas not
Available. A very busy day full of interesting facts. Deb n Steve Perth WA

Ursula K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The driver and guides were very helpful and provided any info requested.

Judith A G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

lovely area, interesting, great day

MS LINDA N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was fine...instead of going with the mob go to the various houses etc and talk to the people there,they are far more interesting.The boat trip wasn't necessary except for photos looking back on Port Arthur.

Presto

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great way to see Port Arthur.

Mark I

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour would recommend it 100. Our driver was good and gave a lot of information about the area to us.

Michelle M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was well organised. The driver was friendly and knowledgable. The time spent at Port Arthur was sufficient. It was worthwhile. Thank you.

Frank R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We needed another half-hour to walk around but this tour was excellent because we were able to do it on our own. The driver gave us a hint on where to begin and we took off. Wish a few other houses were open but what houses were available to enter were highly interesting. Seeing the prison was a highlight but we joked that every time we visit a place, something was always be repaired.

Kyriakoola C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour combined just the right amount of flexibility so that people could go and explore at their own pace while offering a suggested timetable for activities. The coach driver was very knowledgeable and friendly. Well organised and fun outing.

Emma L

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Port Arthur is a wonderful place, well worth seeing. Disappointed there were major construction works being undertaken when I visited but that's life. The Derwent River Cruise was a selling point for this tour but didn't deliver. The twenty minute circle out from the jetty didn't allow me to see anything I couldn't have seen from dry land. Would go on the tour again for Port Arthur but I wouldn't waste my time with the cruise.

Janine T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The bus driver was wonderful and had a great knowledge of the area. Be warned though - this tour doesn't give you enough time to see all of Port Arthur. You arrive about 11am and a walking tour starts at 11.45 - don't miss it, it is brilliant! There is a cruise around the bay at 1.00pm with an optional (and is an additional payment) for the Isle of the Dead Tour (40 mins). Then you need to be on the bus at 3pm. Obviously, you need to eat lunch sometime between 11-3. All that said though, I would go again.

Paula A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide very informative. Port Arthur was amazing. Devil's Kitchen and Tasman Arch were beautiful. Would have like to have seen a bit more along the way but time didn't permit.

hendra s

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Friendly tour

Deirdre L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Courteous, helpful and enthusiastic guide who provided excellent commentary throughout the journey. I had a fantastic day and would recommend this tour to anyone.

cicada

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Jeffrey D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great day to a fascinating place.

Adrian B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the bus drivers running commentary . Lots to see at Port Arthur not all that much time but OK. We had a hot day.
The two tour hosts at Port Arthur seemed to have a good knowledge of the history. However perhaps more revision/training of there talk needed.Lacking the professional edge we have had on other tours in various countries.

Courtney O

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

overall a good tour. Mostly oldies on this tour. The driver pointed out points of interest on the drive to port Arthur. At port Arthur you are on your own. There are daily free tours at port Arthur - you can easily tag along on these. This tour included a trip on the ferry to the 2 islands however did not include entry fee to go on the islands.

Chi Ho K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It's good to discover the history that lies beneath the ruins of Port Arthur

Tracey B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very interesting experience of a well maintained historic sight. Highly recommended!

Viewing 4 of 6

Page: Previous | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 96.47

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_774

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message