4.5 star rating: Recommended 121 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Port Arthur Tour from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 121 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The bus driver was wonderful and had a great knowledge of the area. Be warned though - this tour doesn't give you enough time to see all of Port Arthur. You arrive about 11am and a walking tour starts at 11.45 - don't miss it, it is brilliant! There is a cruise around the bay at 1.00pm with an optional (and is an additional payment) for the Isle of the Dead Tour (40 mins). Then you need to be on the bus at 3pm. Obviously, you need to eat lunch sometime between 11-3. All that said though, I would go again.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide very informative. Port Arthur was amazing. Devil's Kitchen and Tasman Arch were beautiful. Would have like to have seen a bit more along the way but time didn't permit.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Friendly tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Courteous, helpful and enthusiastic guide who provided excellent commentary throughout the journey. I had a fantastic day and would recommend this tour to anyone.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Great day to a fascinating place.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Enjoyed the bus drivers running commentary . Lots to see at Port Arthur not all that much time but OK. We had a hot day.
The two tour hosts at Port Arthur seemed to have a good knowledge of the history. However perhaps more revision/training of there talk needed.Lacking the professional edge we have had on other tours in various countries.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

overall a good tour. Mostly oldies on this tour. The driver pointed out points of interest on the drive to port Arthur. At port Arthur you are on your own. There are daily free tours at port Arthur - you can easily tag along on these. This tour included a trip on the ferry to the 2 islands however did not include entry fee to go on the islands.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It's good to discover the history that lies beneath the ruins of Port Arthur

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very interesting experience of a well maintained historic sight. Highly recommended!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Bus driver was very informative. Everything ran to schedule. Tour guide once we were inside Port Arthur was fantastic. Well spoken and so informative. Loved the cafeteria. Friendly people and good coffee. Would recommend the bus as it is a long drive from Hobart. Could sit back and enjoy the scenery.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Perfect timing. Enjoyed the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Good trip. Driver/guide was very competant and knowledgeable. Interesting day but should the weather had been wet it would have been a 'wash out'! Make sure you check the weather forecast. The entrance ticket to Port Authur is for two days consecutively so if you have a friend going the following day with their own transport give them the ticket and save them $32.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The tour itself is fairly basic. It gets you there and back. However, a visit to Port Arthur is a must. The location and natural beauty is breathtaking only to be haunted by its history and desertion.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Excellent day.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Overall the tour was excellent. Port Arthur is well worth seeing. However I could have done without the ghost story video all the way back - there was a reason I didn't choose to do the Ghost Tour. Still, very well organized and well worth the money

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Well organised tour. Very interesting piece of Australian history.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Comfortable trip there and back, imformative friendly driver. Not enough time there to take ferry to both isle of dead and other island stop.(i did do isle of the dead tour- worthwhile) But enough time if you just want to wander and enjoy. Beautiful!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

If you don't have much time- this tour is great. We had brilliant historic commentary by the fabulous Bruce all the way there and back which was wonderfully dense, quirky and fascinating. On arrival you get a potted history tour of the site which allows you to choose what you'd like to focus on. If you're not a keen walker this is great as it is quite spread out but surprisingly accessible- ie its not as far as it looks . We were happy with the amount of time we had to explore but that will be a personal judgement. I would forgoe the cruise tour around the Isle of the Dead in favour of more time to explore the site. We got the opportunity for some 'kodak ' moments on the way up with stops to take pics of The Tasman Arch and Devil's Kitchen. We loved being given our convict 'playing card' and finding our convict in the exhibition, which you must give yourself time to tour- at least 1/2hr- but its chocca with facts, figures, artefacts and atmosphere! The cafe is good too!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We enjoyed our trip to Port Arthur. It is a very beautiful place and well worth the trip. The bus that we had for the day was pretty uncomfortable though.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

this was a very enjoyable day in spite of the fact that it's at a former prison. the grounds are beautiful, and you get the feeling that you're in a beautiful park. the history is there, and the tour guide is very helpful along the way. overall, I was glad I visited this site.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Had a great day, very relaxed and nice to just let someone else worry about the details, highly recommend this day out if you haven't been before...

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Very pleasant day. Lots of time to see all of Port Arthur. Some beautiful scenery on the way.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

This was my fourth visit to Port Arthur and the best! Kevin our driver made the whole journey interesting and entertaining. The only change I would make is that the boat cruise is scheduled later in the day as the 1.pm time interupted the flow of the seeing the buildings. I highly recomment this tour and make sure you get the Kevin trip!! Desmond

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

The bus driver was good, friendly and informative on the way there and back. Once at Port Arthur we were given clear instructions on what was where and how to make the most of the day. Walking around the site was easy and the signs and paper guide were informative. The time at the site could have been 1 hour longer to enable a more relaxed walk around and have time to spend on the island of the dead, which I didn't do.

From USD $ 85.30

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_774

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message