• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 76 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hobart, Australia
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Port Arthur Tour from Hobart. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 76 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It's good to discover the history that lies beneath the ruins of Port Arthur

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very interesting experience of a well maintained historic sight. Highly recommended!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Bus driver was very informative. Everything ran to schedule. Tour guide once we were inside Port Arthur was fantastic. Well spoken and so informative. Loved the cafeteria. Friendly people and good coffee. Would recommend the bus as it is a long drive from Hobart. Could sit back and enjoy the scenery.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Perfect timing. Enjoyed the trip.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

Good trip. Driver/guide was very competant and knowledgeable. Interesting day but should the weather had been wet it would have been a 'wash out'! Make sure you check the weather forecast. The entrance ticket to Port Authur is for two days consecutively so if you have a friend going the following day with their own transport give them the ticket and save them $32.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

The tour itself is fairly basic. It gets you there and back. However, a visit to Port Arthur is a must. The location and natural beauty is breathtaking only to be haunted by its history and desertion.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Excellent day.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Overall the tour was excellent. Port Arthur is well worth seeing. However I could have done without the ghost story video all the way back - there was a reason I didn't choose to do the Ghost Tour. Still, very well organized and well worth the money

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Well organised tour. Very interesting piece of Australian history.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Comfortable trip there and back, imformative friendly driver. Not enough time there to take ferry to both isle of dead and other island stop.(i did do isle of the dead tour- worthwhile) But enough time if you just want to wander and enjoy. Beautiful!!!

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

If you don't have much time- this tour is great. We had brilliant historic commentary by the fabulous Bruce all the way there and back which was wonderfully dense, quirky and fascinating. On arrival you get a potted history tour of the site which allows you to choose what you'd like to focus on. If you're not a keen walker this is great as it is quite spread out but surprisingly accessible- ie its not as far as it looks . We were happy with the amount of time we had to explore but that will be a personal judgement. I would forgoe the cruise tour around the Isle of the Dead in favour of more time to explore the site. We got the opportunity for some 'kodak ' moments on the way up with stops to take pics of The Tasman Arch and Devil's Kitchen. We loved being given our convict 'playing card' and finding our convict in the exhibition, which you must give yourself time to tour- at least 1/2hr- but its chocca with facts, figures, artefacts and atmosphere! The cafe is good too!

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We enjoyed our trip to Port Arthur. It is a very beautiful place and well worth the trip. The bus that we had for the day was pretty uncomfortable though.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

this was a very enjoyable day in spite of the fact that it's at a former prison. the grounds are beautiful, and you get the feeling that you're in a beautiful park. the history is there, and the tour guide is very helpful along the way. overall, I was glad I visited this site.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Had a great day, very relaxed and nice to just let someone else worry about the details, highly recommend this day out if you haven't been before...

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Very pleasant day. Lots of time to see all of Port Arthur. Some beautiful scenery on the way.

From USD $ 106.35

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 15+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3998_774

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message