Viewing All 280 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

ychingm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

A well organised day trip to Shenzen Guangzhou. Michelle took good care of the group has a wonderful sense of humour! Surprising to see how well developed the cities are. Enjoyed the fully packed long day of catamaran, kindergarten, pandas very cute, terracotta warriors, dim sum, local market, temple and memorial hall. A well deserved rest on the train back to Hong Kong.

Melvin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent guide on the tour, lots of different places to see and good dim sum lunch

keithmjeffers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a great day out. As our first visit to China it was great way to see what life is like. It was a very long day, but worthwhile. Very good tour guides, nice lunch and excellent places to visit.

Luiz D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Splendid! Highly recommended. We enjoyed every bit.

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Opportunity to visit 2 major China cities in one day is well worth it. Always learn fascinating things on these tours.

Mary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I found the tour to be extremely well organised and the guide was most helpful. I was very pleased to be visiting a part of mainland China which was bit specifically catering for tourists I found the wide range of places visited fascinating because I felt I was seeing mainland China for what it was. Making fast progress to the future but firmly rooted in the land. For me the most enjoyable visits were to the Buddhist Monastery and the Pandas, I found the market rather shocking, the fault here was mine, not the tour. It was a long and arduous day but most interesting, thank you to the tour operators and Alex our guide. Mary Cahalan, Ireland

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a lovely day and the guide was very informative.

Mags

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Wow! An amazing day - I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't have chance to go to Xi-an to see the Terracotta Warriors. It's only a glimpse at the museum but it's something! The pandas were the highlight of the tour for me but the trip in it's entirety exceeded my expectations. A visit to two great cities which were everything I thought non-touristy cities in China would be like. Busy, lots of hustle and bustle and day to day activity - great! Our tour guide for the, Michelle, was wonderful, very experienced and made the trip enjoyable with her sense of humour and fun. The other people on this trip were wonderful too. I met a couple from South Africa who had been to S Korea for their son's wedding and a couple from Stoke on Trent on their way to a wedding in Oz - thanks to all of them for making this day very memorable. Thank you Viator - an unforgettable trip.

Deb P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An excellent tour. It was like stepping into another world! Be prepared for a long day, but definitely worth doing! Our Tour Guides are so passionate about their country, but it really hits home and makes you appreciate where we live here in Oz even more. A real eye-opener!

Brigitta G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour made for my favourite experience out of our four week honeymoon! Michelle and Richard are stupendous guides who really made the day worthwhile.
The whole thing ran seamlessly. We were picked up from a hotel, given the chance to buy some snacks for the road at the pier, then sped over to China on a catamaran. Entry into the country with our group visa was well organised and quick. The bus through Shenzen was fascinating and far different to what I was expecting. The museum with terracotta warriors, jade and different Chinese teas was a potential low point as we had to deflect the constant sales pitching of souvenirs, jewellery etc. This was nothing to do with the tour company though. The next stop was the safari park where we met two Pandas (AMAZING) and two lion cubs. Great experience but again we had people chasing us putting with snakes and birds trying photos for money. Mildly annoying but worth it to see the pandas and again, not the tour’s fault.
Following this was the drive to Guangzhou which seemingly took no time at all with Richard on the mic sharing his fascinating anecdotes the whole way there. The guy is probably the most hilarious person I’ve ever met, and the best part is that he doesn’t even realise it which just makes everything he says that much funnier. Upon arriving at Guangzhou we enjoyed a delicious lunch of traditional Chinese dim sum. I get the feeling they served a somewhat simplified menu for us Westerners.. suffice it to say I didn’t see any chicken feet on the lazy susan. After lunch we took a brief but magnificent tour of a local food market, a definite highlight. The things I saw in that five or ten minute walk will stay with me forever! After this we visited the historic town hall and the biggest temple in the city. Both very interesting as well. When we finally got off the train back in HK at 11pm we were exhausted from the sheer amount of mental stimuli and energy expelled that day, but my goodness was it worth it!

Misty H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had a wonderful time on this tour. There was so much to see. It was a shame it was holidays and we missed the kindergarten. We would have also loved more time at the zoo. Our tour guides were fantastic.

Makshman C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well organised trip. Knowledgeable tour guides doing their very best to show China in one day!

Kathleen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent - a long day, but well worth it...

paulmac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour, very long but really well organised, Michelle and Richard the tour guides were great and very witty, great lunch at the Chinese restaurant were the food was plentiful and of top quality.

Marc K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great tour. It is a very long day. I was picked up at 7:30am at my hotel and return at 10:45pm. I was tired but the trip was worth it. The tour leader, Michelle, took care of everything regarding transportation and lunch. The tour guide took us all over Canton, talked for hours about China, past and present.
For anyone who wants a taste of mainland China, I highly recommend this tour.

Jennifer R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a fabulous day trip to china from Hong Kong. Three of us travelled, including my 80 year old mum. The day was extremely well organised. Alex, our guide for the whole day was just brilliant. He looked after us so well, kept us very well informed and he was very entertaining. Every part of the day was great. A really good taster of china. It is a very long day but it passed very quickly. We saw some amazing sights, has a lovely meal and travelled by boat, coach and train ... All very confortable.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Susan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This is a great day although long. Michelle our tour guide was with us all day and a great laugh. The highlight for us was Guangzhou and lunch in an authentic dim sum restaurant. There is a lot of ground covered in the day - bus, ferry, bus, train but a great way to see a very small part of China. The Chinese tour guide, Albert, was very knowledgable and provided great insight. If you have a spare day in Hong Kong try this out.

Diane I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent trip and worth the travel. Both guides were good and I particularly enjoyed seeing the pandas in the zoo.

Caroline C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a very nice day in Canton. First of all, we appreciated our guides Michelle and Albert very much. Concerning the tour itself, we expected to see more of the "old Canton " . Moreover, we were surprised to visit the kindergarden. Although the children were absoutely cute, we do not think it was of great interest to us.
The choice of the restaurant was very good and the dishes delicious.
The highligts were the market, in which we would prefer to have more time, and the Dr. Sun Yat Sen mémorial.

Just to thank you very much for this extraordinary day !
Pierre-André et Caroline

Philip John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful. What a terrific, if very long, day. Michelle, our guide for the duration couldn't have been more helpful, informative or fun and Albert, who joined us once we arrived in Shenzhen, was a mine of information. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone, indeed, it has whetted our appetites for a longer trip to China in the near future.

Jim Bris Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a long day, but not too much walking, so overall very good and an interesting introduction to a changing China. We were collected at our hotel (City Garden HK Island) by Michelle at the allotted time (also confirmed prior to collection) and taken by bus to collect others around HKI. We then went through customs and immigration and took a 1 hour ferry ride to Shenzen where we were met by Richard (Michelle stayed with us all day too) and a comfortable coach. We did the Kindy thing first and then to the Cultural Museum. There are four selected "original" terracotta figures here and you get a brief overview of the history behind them. Next into the shop by the terracotta warriors for the "hard sell" aspect where they get you to hopefully buy jewellery mainly, but some miniature terracotta warriors too. The emphasis here is unfortunately not the warriors but more the jewellery - if anything, this was the low point of the trip and in my opinion, unnecessarily drawn out.
Next on to the zoo - which was almost empty when we arrived and the coach drives in up to the panda area - no chance to see anything else at the zoo aside from the pandas, nonetheless, quite interesting.

Long drive (2+ hours depending on traffic) to Guangzhou which was interesting although pretty much built up all the way. Lunch (quite late - so Michelle encourages you to buy snacks before you leave HK and can be eaten on the bus) next in busy Guangzhou - Cantonese and pretty authentic, although a bit rushed. Walk through some markets with interesting and live things for sale (warned of pick-pockets here - so be careful). Off next to a temple and then to the train station for a pleasant train journey back to HK, arriving back around 11.00pm.

They also take photos during the day and offer these for sale at days end - quite nicely presented.

Finally - tips are requested/suggested by Michelle.

A very interesting day for a first trip to China - probably not good for small children.

John A D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My family and I had an exceptionally pleasant and enlightening experience on this excellent tour. It was very well arranged and organised. Alex, our knowledgeable and entertaining Tour Leader, deserves much credit for his contribution to our high satisfaction level. Congratulations!!! The tour is highly recommended. John Durnion

F.M. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Local HK Tour East company went far beyond our expectations in arranging our trip and sending info to our hotel before our arrival. Alex our tour guide was excellent and Albert, who joined us in China continued the informative commentary throughout our day. Ben, the bus driver did an outstanding job in some very congested traffic. A very good, value for money first tour into China. Thank you!

foxecho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great experience, Michelle was one of the best group leaders I've ever seen! our Tour guide on the china side was a great guide as well I can't remember his name again unfortunately..... I would HIGHLY recommend this tour on a day trip from Hong Kong.......

Donna Turner M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The trip was fantastic and China was certainly an eye opener. The Tour guides were great and the day whilst long, ran smoothly. Would highly recommend.

Viewing 2 of 12

Page: Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next

From USD $ 231.23

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message