• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 197 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 197 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Linda K
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I really enjoyed this trip, the tour guide Richard was really great we all loved his jokes, the tour was very interesting we saw all sort s of interesting places , it was a great day out and the food at lunch was lovely .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An excellent snapshot of modern China. Very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful guides. Interesting and varied itinerary. Plenty of tasty food for lunch. Comfortable travel. Would thoroughly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Highly professional in all respects.
Great tour guides and interesting itinerary.
Will recommend to all I know traveling to Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Particularly for those introverts among us who would really like to visit new and exotic places but are a bit nervous/timid to do so, this is the way to go about doing it. The team of Alex, Tony, and Bill (the driver) were friendly, professional. and extremely knowledgable and competent. They made this complex day trip a breeze! This trip will be a great memory for many years to come. We visited Shenzhen and Guangzhou most comfortably in a combination of ferry, bus and train, saw strange and exotic things, had great food (my vegetarian option was great, a fantastic surprise!), and made new friends. I can't see this trip being possible any other way.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a very pleasant boat ride to shenzen with interesting sights. The coach ride to Guangzhou was a welcome rest for some us as the trip starts early in the morning. The lunch was great and well worth to wait to get it by 3pm only due to the coachtrip. The walk thru the market is impressive and you can still see that Chinese like live animals..... The next points on the program were good too. The train ride back to Hong Kong was another highlight. A very interesting program and worth every single cent. Highly recommended trip. If you want to avoid a disappointment..... then don't eat at the train station while waiting for the train. The food there is like China was 20 years ago...

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Fabulous day tour!! Informative, friendly and entertaining guides. Magnificent lunch.
Access to things I would never have been able to experience on my own. Perfect size group. Highly recommended :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The tour was great! The tour guide who stayed with us the whole trip was very good- helped with tips like "get a snack before we start because it is a very late lunch" and where's the best place to go to the"happy room" (toilet), was very organised and just generally nice. The guy, Richard, who did the spruking during the china portion of the tour, was the "information" guide- he was excellent and had a great sense of humour.
The tour itself was good too, we were a little rushed for time at times but not unpleasantly so. Initially I thought going to a "kindergarten" was a weird thing, but the guides helped that part of the trip give a good insight into life in China.
The people we saw seemed friendly and were - on the most part - good natured with us tourists snapping photos everywhere.
The lunch was fabulous and the walk thru the market too quick for this shutterbug, but great. Some people were disappointed that there were only 3 Terracotta Warriors, but the tour clearly states that - the full collection very much further away.
I wouldn't recommend their "souvenir pack" with map and postcards - a waste f money! it's the worst printing and photography I have ever seen. Another tip, at the little market outside the restaurant they only take Chinese dollars so get some before you go.
The train trip home was very comfortable - shame it was dark and we didn't see much out our windows.
I would heartily recommend the trip as a whole, very well organised (not only the trip but particularly with the visas in and out of china) and a great day.
Some people wished we could stop to shop in shenzhen, If shopping is your thing, get a similar tour without the long trek to "Canton" and a stop in Shenzhen - But that is fairly easily done by yourself from Hong Kong (allow an hour for the visa thing when you're organising it yourself) and its probably better done on your own anyway, to allow you plenty of time to shop .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this day - both tour guides were well organised and made the day interesting for the group. Lunch was fantastic and the train trip back to Hong Kong was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Alex (our tour guide) was amazing, very knowledgeable, active and a great help. This tour became the highlight of our stay in Hong Kong, so much information, both visual and from our tour guides that we are still discussing it among ourselves!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

a fantastic day ,alex ,our guide, could not have been better,his guidlng was superb, and getting us straight through immergration was excellent, guangzhou realy supprised me, so clean so green with plants and gardens.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Tour was very well organised. Our guide was excellent, she had a good sense of humour and made us all feel welcome and comfortable. Very happy indeed, Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We had a great time on this tour. It was very well organised. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see a bit of China.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Knowlegeable and informative tour guide (Alex) - was a long but extremely enjoyable day. We got to see elements of Chinese life and venues which gave us enough of a taste to know that we would like to go back for a holiday to explore more. Tranport and arrangements were excellent. The Chinese guide was also informative and appeared to really enjoy giving us lots of interesting information. The only disappointment for the day was the terra-cotta museum. The venue had only a few of the original relics and was more a jade and jewelry sales pitch. Was great to see the pandas veey active and on show at the zoo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Fascinating trip. Very much worth the money. The presentation of China by the guides was eye opening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I had a great day visiting China.This trip met and exceeded my expectations. The guides and arrangements were top notch. it's a long day but a great chance to see and experience China. I liked seeing the coastline on the high speed ferry, the streets of Guangzhou, the explosive growth of Shenzhen and of course the pandas. The guides in China are so positive and informative about their country. I'm so glad I took this trip.

From USD $ 195.91

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 10+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message