4 star rating: Recommended 249 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 249 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Knowlegeable and informative tour guide (Alex) - was a long but extremely enjoyable day. We got to see elements of Chinese life and venues which gave us enough of a taste to know that we would like to go back for a holiday to explore more. Tranport and arrangements were excellent. The Chinese guide was also informative and appeared to really enjoy giving us lots of interesting information. The only disappointment for the day was the terra-cotta museum. The venue had only a few of the original relics and was more a jade and jewelry sales pitch. Was great to see the pandas veey active and on show at the zoo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Fascinating trip. Very much worth the money. The presentation of China by the guides was eye opening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I had a great day visiting China.This trip met and exceeded my expectations. The guides and arrangements were top notch. it's a long day but a great chance to see and experience China. I liked seeing the coastline on the high speed ferry, the streets of Guangzhou, the explosive growth of Shenzhen and of course the pandas. The guides in China are so positive and informative about their country. I'm so glad I took this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

5 out of 5 stars for this fantastic trip into China.
Our tour guide Michelle was great and we had a really great time. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see China

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Very good. your tour guide Alex, was really great, informative, humourous, helpful, really good. had a most enjoyable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A must for anyone visiting Hong Kong who wants to experience a little bit of the People's Republic of China. Fascinating tour!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

My husband and I both enjoyed the excursion to Mainland China! Got to experience so much all in just one day! We loved seeing the Terra Cotta figures, the pandas, the little children at the school. Everything was just great!

johnmcf
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Michelle the tour guide on this tour was very friendly, helpful and caring. She was interested in her job and is a credit to the company who who employs her.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

From the moment we were picked up from our hotel in the morning we were looked after by our Hong Kong tour guide and also our Chinese guide. We were taken on a ferry into China, bus tour taking us to the kindergarten, the terra cotta museum, then 2 hours into the countyside to Guangzhou, we saw the panda's had beautiful lunch in a resturant in Guangzhou. We saw a local market watching everybody collecting their dinner for that night. Went to Six Banyan Temple, such a beautiful place. The whole day was well worth we had a lovely time. Then a train trip back into Hong Kong was really good. Our guides told us all the things you need to know and do. we were then droped off at our hotel. After a 13 hour tour we enjoyed each place we went to with a small group we all got on and made many new friendships. Thank you all for making it a great tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Great value for money and such an intersting day .courier was fantastic and informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Although a long Journey it did not feel that long to reach the final destination in China and the day was packed full of interesting stops. Ever so helpful friendly and patient Tour guides and this was appreciated. Nice meal in China and it was well worth going. We asked the Tour Guide in China if he could post our postcard to ourselves from China and he did. Good communication very informative! Bought lovely Lychee Tea and teapot set after sampling it on this trip along with other bits that we liked. The Kindergarten visit was good. Our daughter enjoyed this too. All shook hands with us and we posed for photos. Very nice Class room and play area. The experience was worth it.
Keep your eyes open on the route to each destination, from the coach window you can see allot of new and interesting things.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Long day, but totally worth it, the pandas were amazing and the rest of the tour was facinating. i would definately recommend this tour :)

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

One of the best tours I have ever done (and trust me, Ive done lots!) so well planned. Was a long day (bring snacks to get you through the day). A big lunch is provided. The tour did not back track at all. We went in a horse show type of route. Our tour guide was fantastic. Bring a decent amount of money as there are plenty of opportunities to shop. Hong Kong dollars were accepted every where. the visit to the kindergarten was such a unique experience. The kids were gorgeous! Such a fantastic tour. HIGHLY recommended!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Great day highly recommended tour guides was great help very informative.
Seeing the Pandas was the highlight of the trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

Fantastic tour. Alex the tour guide was helpful, knowledgeable and funny. I wasn't expecting to enjoy the visit to the school but it was delightful and the kids were cute. The tour is timed so that you get to the zoo at Panda feeding time (panda is asleep otherwise). The markets were a culture shock but very interesting. Definitely a tour not to be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

this was truly a great experience. The visit to the panda was great as this is a very nice zoo and we had a chance to see the setting and some of the other animals. It was great to visit 2 of the largest 5 cities in China and to see the amazing pace of development. We also enjoyed the various methods of transportation and the amazing guides. The visit to Terra Cotta was ok but was a bit of a sales pitch from Chinese government. This is a tremendous value and a trip not to be missed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

enjoyed the experience,fellow travellers were good company. michelle ,tommy and camera lady were terrific

if we come back will use your services again

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

It's a fantastic day, take this trip and you will not be disappointed.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

This tour was an all day affair. There was so much included in the tour. What an amazing value - book it and enjoy the adventure!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

Amazing trip. Tour guide great and entertaining. Guide also looked after us well in regard to immigration. Lunch was nice. A very cultural informative trip. Spot on time in picking up at hotel. Very organised trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

We went to mainland China and as we arrive at customs I was a little apprehensive by the seriousness of the whole thing. The custom officer checked our passport for several minutes and I started to worry. I had never had any custom officer be so thorough.
Once our tour started we were met by our tour guide named Bill (didn't look like Bill to me) We was very serious and detailed. I was so surprise that China was so modern. New cities and infrastructures. We travel to Guangzhou were we went to a kindergarten class room and were greeted by the children saying "hello" in English. This was very nice, it seems that English is being taught to all the children. We visited the zoo and saw the pandas and a museum that house several artifacts from Terra-cotta Warriors and horses of Emperor QinShihuang,( very interesting). We stocked up on Jade and many other souvenirs.
We had lunch, nothing special. We visited several Buddhist Temples and the hall were the Japanese surrendered to the Chinese. Very interesting. In all it was an informative tour. Worth the money

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great tour. And Alex is the best guide :-) Good transport, Panda was lovely, lunch was very good, market was incredible, Guangzhou is a very interesting city. Excellent trip for a fantastic long day in China.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Great trip. Extremely interesting and very worthwhile for anyone to understand more about China. Excellent tour guides. Alex you were great.
Our group of 4 from New Zealand thought the whole experience totally exceeded expectations.

DIO C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Not being orgainised tour people we were surprised how much we enjoyed our daytrip to Guangzhou. The tour was extremely well organised and Alex took great care of us. We managed to see a lot without feeling overly rushed at any point. Its hard to pick out a highlight from the day as everything was great even the bus trip seemed to go quickly when listening to our amazing China Guide Albert recite all those facts and figures. Although we weren't very interested in going to the kindergarten we actually enjoyed it. The Terracotta Warriors display and the Jade outlet were great - we never felt pressured to buy and liked the chance to check out the great carvings. I love that we saw two very active panda's at the zoo in their large and interesting enclosures. Lunch was fantastic and the walk through the local market was amazing (I can still see those live snakes in the cage) The temple and Memorial Hall for Sun Yat-Sen were brillient photo opportunities and a chance to pick up some nice souveniers. Even the forms of travel - going by ferry and returning by train added to the experience. This definately was a highlight of our recent Hong Kong holiday!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2011

Had a fantastic day. Alex our tour guide was a star. He is perfect for the job and what is a long day with lots of travel he made it fun. The Chinese meal was the best we had during our whole stay and the staff could not do enough for us. Visit to zoo was too quick and the panda a little sad! School trip was interesting, encouraged to take photos and talk to children, this would not be the case in England!! Perhaps we should learn from this. Market was not that interesting would have preferred to go shopping.Staff very informative at Chinese Museum and most people bought something to take home. Great tea. Do not let Alex leave your company he is fantastic

From USD $ 216.12

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message