4 star rating: Recommended 222 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 222 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The tour was great! The tour guide who stayed with us the whole trip was very good- helped with tips like "get a snack before we start because it is a very late lunch" and where's the best place to go to the"happy room" (toilet), was very organised and just generally nice. The guy, Richard, who did the spruking during the china portion of the tour, was the "information" guide- he was excellent and had a great sense of humour.
The tour itself was good too, we were a little rushed for time at times but not unpleasantly so. Initially I thought going to a "kindergarten" was a weird thing, but the guides helped that part of the trip give a good insight into life in China.
The people we saw seemed friendly and were - on the most part - good natured with us tourists snapping photos everywhere.
The lunch was fabulous and the walk thru the market too quick for this shutterbug, but great. Some people were disappointed that there were only 3 Terracotta Warriors, but the tour clearly states that - the full collection very much further away.
I wouldn't recommend their "souvenir pack" with map and postcards - a waste f money! it's the worst printing and photography I have ever seen. Another tip, at the little market outside the restaurant they only take Chinese dollars so get some before you go.
The train trip home was very comfortable - shame it was dark and we didn't see much out our windows.
I would heartily recommend the trip as a whole, very well organised (not only the trip but particularly with the visas in and out of china) and a great day.
Some people wished we could stop to shop in shenzhen, If shopping is your thing, get a similar tour without the long trek to "Canton" and a stop in Shenzhen - But that is fairly easily done by yourself from Hong Kong (allow an hour for the visa thing when you're organising it yourself) and its probably better done on your own anyway, to allow you plenty of time to shop .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this day - both tour guides were well organised and made the day interesting for the group. Lunch was fantastic and the train trip back to Hong Kong was amazing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Alex (our tour guide) was amazing, very knowledgeable, active and a great help. This tour became the highlight of our stay in Hong Kong, so much information, both visual and from our tour guides that we are still discussing it among ourselves!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

a fantastic day ,alex ,our guide, could not have been better,his guidlng was superb, and getting us straight through immergration was excellent, guangzhou realy supprised me, so clean so green with plants and gardens.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Tour was very well organised. Our guide was excellent, she had a good sense of humour and made us all feel welcome and comfortable. Very happy indeed, Highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

We had a great time on this tour. It was very well organised. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see a bit of China.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Knowlegeable and informative tour guide (Alex) - was a long but extremely enjoyable day. We got to see elements of Chinese life and venues which gave us enough of a taste to know that we would like to go back for a holiday to explore more. Tranport and arrangements were excellent. The Chinese guide was also informative and appeared to really enjoy giving us lots of interesting information. The only disappointment for the day was the terra-cotta museum. The venue had only a few of the original relics and was more a jade and jewelry sales pitch. Was great to see the pandas veey active and on show at the zoo.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Fascinating trip. Very much worth the money. The presentation of China by the guides was eye opening.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

I had a great day visiting China.This trip met and exceeded my expectations. The guides and arrangements were top notch. it's a long day but a great chance to see and experience China. I liked seeing the coastline on the high speed ferry, the streets of Guangzhou, the explosive growth of Shenzhen and of course the pandas. The guides in China are so positive and informative about their country. I'm so glad I took this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

5 out of 5 stars for this fantastic trip into China.
Our tour guide Michelle was great and we had a really great time. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see China

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Very good. your tour guide Alex, was really great, informative, humourous, helpful, really good. had a most enjoyable day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A must for anyone visiting Hong Kong who wants to experience a little bit of the People's Republic of China. Fascinating tour!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

My husband and I both enjoyed the excursion to Mainland China! Got to experience so much all in just one day! We loved seeing the Terra Cotta figures, the pandas, the little children at the school. Everything was just great!

johnmcf
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

Michelle the tour guide on this tour was very friendly, helpful and caring. She was interested in her job and is a credit to the company who who employs her.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

From the moment we were picked up from our hotel in the morning we were looked after by our Hong Kong tour guide and also our Chinese guide. We were taken on a ferry into China, bus tour taking us to the kindergarten, the terra cotta museum, then 2 hours into the countyside to Guangzhou, we saw the panda's had beautiful lunch in a resturant in Guangzhou. We saw a local market watching everybody collecting their dinner for that night. Went to Six Banyan Temple, such a beautiful place. The whole day was well worth we had a lovely time. Then a train trip back into Hong Kong was really good. Our guides told us all the things you need to know and do. we were then droped off at our hotel. After a 13 hour tour we enjoyed each place we went to with a small group we all got on and made many new friendships. Thank you all for making it a great tour

From USD $ 195.78

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 10+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message