4 star rating: Recommended 213 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 213 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

First class...couldn't have been better.
Slight worry at the start when the pick-up was 20 minutes late, but after that it was great. Pandas were running around in their enclosure, and China is unbelievable....men being shaved in the streets by a barber. live snakes in cages etc !!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Great but exhausting day.The guide made our trip into China more enjoyable with his dry humour. Highly recommend this tour as a must for anyone visiting Hong Kong. The Panda was very active and we were lucky and entertained by his continuous walking around his enclosure.Plenty of photo opportunities.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

This was a great tour the amount of knowledge gained from visiting Shenzhen and Guanghou was amazing the tour guides were very helpful and contributed to the experience. We were lucky to go on the time the Chinese were celebrating National Day so the visit to the zoo saw 2 Pandas not the usually sleepy one. They put on a good show for everyone. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see a little of China. Viator a big tick to you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Congratulations to Michelle (tour guide) who managed to keep track us all. A full day of sightseeing. Wonderful Cantonese banquet for lunch.Would like to have been let loose in the shops and not in designated Government places for jewellery, tea etc. I did enjoy the cultural aspects. Transport great.

David D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Really enjoyed the tour and the tour guide was excellent and always very very helpful, Alex was his name. This tour was one of the main reasons why l came to HK China on holidays. One thing only was a let down and that was the Terracotta Warriors. I expected to see lots of Terra cotta Warriors instead it was a sales showroom for Jade producta which l found very very dissapaointing. Everything else was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

fantastic sights. good tour guide.

Sally N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This trip was a fantastic experience and our guide Amy was very informative. The countryside is beautiful and the cities are crowded. The walk thru the locals market was a seeing and smelling experience. The tour was very well organised as it was a long day. Remember to take toilet papertissues.

Joy B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

What can I say, from start to finish this 13 hour trip was none stop with guides that obviously enjoy their job. The group was the right size of 20 and the whole day was packed with both fantastic places to visit with the background information to go with it from a guide who obviously loves her country, China. What a memorable day. Do not stop offering this trip, it is a must for all visitors to the area.

Glenda R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

Loved the panda. I was a little disappointed with the set up of the zoo. It could have been more environmentally aware. All the stops we made to look at local interests were very enjoyable. Shopping was good.

Bruce W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We found this a very enjoyable and rewarding day, and excellent value. Everything worked like clockwork to fit a lot into one day. It is maybe not one for tourists looking for major sights but for the money and time invested it gives you a glimpse into China,old a new,. The guides were enthusiastic, informative and helpful although occasionally you wished they would stop talking, for example on the bus journey to Guangzhou. The visits to the terracotta warrior and the porcelain shop were basically shopping opportunities. The market was not - just a walk through a mainly food market, but interesting. Lunch was very good in a pleasant restaurant. The Sun Yat Sen memorial hall and the temple were impressive. After a long day, it was good to relax on the train all the way back into Honk Kong. Most lasting impression was of the incredible growth of Shenzhen and Guangzhou - if you were in any doubt, it brought home to you that China will be the ecionomic super-power of the century.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent tour. Great organization and fantastic guides. It could be even better with more emphasis in the city of Guangzhou Canton.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent, except for the amount of time spent at the Exhibition Hall in Shekou, which ended as an exercise in hard sell for an extended period of time.

Susan H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent! Prior to going on this trip we had read the reviews and were well aware that a lot was crammed into the day but despite that we thought it was extremely good value for money. The guide in China was very good although he seemed to keep reeling off facts and figures which got a bit boring. We were constantly on and off the bus and that got a bit tiring but we knew it would be like that. This is a good way to see China in a one-off trip and made life easier with a group visa although the immigration at China was a nightmare, but a good experience. I cannot understand why we had to visit the Kindergarten as this would be strongly opposed in any European country and we feel this could have been cut out of the itinerary enabling a bit more time at another place. The trip to the zoo to see the panda was good although a bit more time could have been spent seeing the other animals too. Pick up and drop off by the tour operator was excellent and on time. A thoroughly good day and well worth the money. Don't be put off by earlier reviews, if you know you are not going to have much time at each place of interest then you just make the most of what time you have. Be prepared and it is great!

Simon A
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

If you have never travelled into China before it is a pleasant experience to have all transportation and the group visa clearly arranged, so you can just sit back, relax and take in the sights. It's an excellent day out. People are nice and friendly and you have a sense you are getting a glimpse into the real China.

Margaret S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

There were four of us on this trip and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Traveling was quite tiring but definitely worthwhile. Our tour guide for the day was seamlessly helpful and informative through the whole journey. He explained everything to us about the places we will visit before arrival, what to do and when to stick together as a group. We all thought had we not had a tour guide on this trip, group visa's and travelling to and from the different destinations would have been very complicated. The tour is very well organised and timed perfectly. However the Panda was slightly disappointing; we expected a better view of him but he was flat out asleep in the distance of his bamboo hut so if you are expecting to see the Panda close up prepare to be disappointed. The Market in Guangzhou was an experience full of all sorts from spices to snakes. When you visit each of the destinations you are encouraged to spend money so be prepared especially the museum. We read a review on Trip Advisor saying that you needed Chinese currency. This is not true; they do accept other currencies, e.g. HK dollars. If you have special dietary needs it is possible to inform the Tour Guide and they can call the restaurant before arrival. All in all a great day.

From USD $ 195.77

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 10+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message