4 star rating: Recommended 243 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 243 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Long trip.....Our tour guide was exceptional. My husband had hard time with the immigration officials in China due to his passport not reading in their system. Our tour guide took an extra step ,she went back to the immigration control. She talked to the immigration and had my husband joined me few seconds before the train departed.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the experience. The guide, Alex, was very good..
The only downside was that we were not allowed to take photos of the Terracotta warriors, which will disappoint many people.
The timing to view the pandas was excellent because it was feeding time so they were awake and quite active.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good first-time trip to China

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Alex, our tour guide, was excellent. The only complaint I have is about the bus driver, "Bill". He was honking all the time. It was very annoying. He was angry and was driving like crazy. We couldn´t even rest during the bus hours because the honk was too loud. He also smoked several cigarettes and the smoke went into the bus. Everything else was pretty nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A long but very entertaining and busy day. The tour guides were very good and took care of all the little details from getting us through customs and passport control to interpreting for us with vendors. The tour had so many great stops and the interaction with the kids at the kindergarten was just fantastic. Jade shops, museums, the Temple of the 6 Banyan Trees, Sun Yat Sen memorial, all were worth the trip. Of course for my 13 year old it was the Pandas that made the day. Worth getting up way early and making the trek.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

another good tour ,guides were excellent.good way to see how people live in china

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent value! Looking just at $/£ paid per hour of tour - this was brilliant value. Add to that the sheer variety of transport in the day (fast ferry, coach, high-speed train) and and things visited (from kindergartens to pandas) and this has to be one of the best trips I have taken in a long time. The guides were very good too. It's a very very long day (7am to 11pm) but well worth the effort - I highly recommend it to all.

L E. B
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really Interesting
The day was very long and the crowds at border control are stressful
However our guide for the day, Alex, was great, and took care to make sure that we were safe, culturally sensitive, and understood what we were seeing and experiencing, as did Richard, our local guide in China. He was also clear about where the clean toilets are, which was great.
We were well briefed on the catamaran trip
To my surprise, really enjoyed the kindergarten, The children are just delightful.
Was a little disappointed when we saw the Terracotta figures. There were three, a standing soldier, a kneeling soldier, and a horse. The figurines were outstanding, but was irritated to be called away from looking at them to listen to a hard sell on jade items. The doors are shut at both ends of the room, and I had to ask to be directed to the lades room.The hard sell continued with the next room, jewelery. Uncomfortable, when I had actually come to see the figurines.
The pandas were great, awake and eating, and would have enjoyed more time to look around
Canton is an interesting city to visit and really enjoyed the traditional Cantonese cuisine. If you like Chinese food anyway, or are not afraid to try different things, you will enjoy this.
The market was a whole experience, which overall we enjoyed, and is a must.
The 6 Banyan tree temple is a peaceful and beautiful haven.
Our last stop, at the memorial hall was impressive and a learning experience again.
Overall, the day was crowded, but we listened hard to what we were told, and took advantage of the information given. At each stop we were given time to ourselves also.
The train trip back was relaxing.
All in all a very worthwhile and interesting day if you keep your eyes and ears open, and are up for extreme experiemnces.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A very full day (Take a few snacks and drinks with you as lunch is around 3.00pm/4.00pm) but you will enjoy every minute. Michelle and Richard were fantastic hosts and kept us entertained all the way. An ideal way to get a slice of the Chinese culture!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a well planned day that provided me with great insight into mainland China. Lunch was nice, the Panda bears were very cute and the visit to the museum was good. My only disappointment was the lack of warriors. I thought there would be more than two to view.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A long day, make sure you have food with you as lunch wasn't until late afternoon. A very informative and funny guide. A lot to do in one day - mostly distance travelled, but would do again

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent rip and extremely good guides all through

Zsolt J
Hungary

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great organisation, interesting programme, BIG DISAPPOINTMENT regarding Panda, 2 nice panda in the ZOO, we expect much more activity regarding pandas, but alltogether it was great!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Was very impressed with the Guides and there Knowledge and happy disposition...Considering the distance we saw all that was needed in a relaxed manner...if you wish to see mainland China without the hassle then I highly recommend this tour. regards John Korkou Queensland Australia.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

We had a great time during the tour. Our tour guide made contact with us twice when we arrived to let us know about the change of pickup time from our accommodation. The local guide in mainland China was very knowledgable. As we toured during the school holidays and it also happened to be a public holiday, it may have been beneficial to be told that there may be time for shopping. Having Yuan (Chinese currency), would have been beneficial for us as we had some time available to shop after lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very enjoyable day well covered in culture content. The Pandas were naughty but amazing considered good valve for money. The only thing needs looking at is the venue for lunch staff very rude and dirty plates and chipped.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Tour was excellent. Guide was great. Disappointed with the terracotta warriors. Annoyed that we went to a jade shop and high pressure sales team. Jade shop was not on itinerary. Glad I left credit card at hotel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Interesting to see the changing face of China. The Panda Bears were delightful.
It was amazing to see some of the 'Terracotta Warriors'. A very tasty and filling traditional 'Cantonese' lunch. Extremely knowledgable guide.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Alex was a brilliant guide, who ran things like clockwork. He deserved our generous tip. The other guide was also good and provided enough statistics to fill a book.
Our higher rating is given because of Alex's efforts

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Very interesting trip with excellent guide - enjoyed it immensely

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

The tour was very well organised and professionally run. However the Panda experience was a let down, with one Panda on display in an unnatural environment. Overall, though, it was good day with the kindergarten, lunch and markets as highlights. The Hong Kong tour guide was fabulous. Worth it.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Alex, the guide was very informative, entertaining and well organised. It is a long day and traffic in China is chaotic. Many times I thought we would be sanwiched between a truck and another bus, only the skill of the driver got us through unscathed. Lunch would have been fine, except traffic meant we were delayed and therefore most food only warm. Walk to see panda in zoo quite hilly and pace set by local guide fast. Local market very interesting with scorpions, pieces of crocodile, live snakes etc on offer. It was a place of stark contrasts and tour gives a glimps of modern China

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Great tour. We saw a lot in one day and gave me a feel for China. The kindergarten was obviously a Chinese showpiece with the children volunteering to have their photos taken. Lunch was great.

From USD $ 216.14

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message