Viewing All 282 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Bruce W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

We found this a very enjoyable and rewarding day, and excellent value. Everything worked like clockwork to fit a lot into one day. It is maybe not one for tourists looking for major sights but for the money and time invested it gives you a glimpse into China,old a new,. The guides were enthusiastic, informative and helpful although occasionally you wished they would stop talking, for example on the bus journey to Guangzhou. The visits to the terracotta warrior and the porcelain shop were basically shopping opportunities. The market was not - just a walk through a mainly food market, but interesting. Lunch was very good in a pleasant restaurant. The Sun Yat Sen memorial hall and the temple were impressive. After a long day, it was good to relax on the train all the way back into Honk Kong. Most lasting impression was of the incredible growth of Shenzhen and Guangzhou - if you were in any doubt, it brought home to you that China will be the ecionomic super-power of the century.

Sara M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent tour. Great organization and fantastic guides. It could be even better with more emphasis in the city of Guangzhou Canton.

Christopher A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent, except for the amount of time spent at the Exhibition Hall in Shekou, which ended as an exercise in hard sell for an extended period of time.

Susan H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

Excellent! Prior to going on this trip we had read the reviews and were well aware that a lot was crammed into the day but despite that we thought it was extremely good value for money. The guide in China was very good although he seemed to keep reeling off facts and figures which got a bit boring. We were constantly on and off the bus and that got a bit tiring but we knew it would be like that. This is a good way to see China in a one-off trip and made life easier with a group visa although the immigration at China was a nightmare, but a good experience. I cannot understand why we had to visit the Kindergarten as this would be strongly opposed in any European country and we feel this could have been cut out of the itinerary enabling a bit more time at another place. The trip to the zoo to see the panda was good although a bit more time could have been spent seeing the other animals too. Pick up and drop off by the tour operator was excellent and on time. A thoroughly good day and well worth the money. Don't be put off by earlier reviews, if you know you are not going to have much time at each place of interest then you just make the most of what time you have. Be prepared and it is great!

Simon A Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

If you have never travelled into China before it is a pleasant experience to have all transportation and the group visa clearly arranged, so you can just sit back, relax and take in the sights. It's an excellent day out. People are nice and friendly and you have a sense you are getting a glimpse into the real China.

Margaret S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

There were four of us on this trip and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Traveling was quite tiring but definitely worthwhile. Our tour guide for the day was seamlessly helpful and informative through the whole journey. He explained everything to us about the places we will visit before arrival, what to do and when to stick together as a group. We all thought had we not had a tour guide on this trip, group visa's and travelling to and from the different destinations would have been very complicated. The tour is very well organised and timed perfectly. However the Panda was slightly disappointing; we expected a better view of him but he was flat out asleep in the distance of his bamboo hut so if you are expecting to see the Panda close up prepare to be disappointed. The Market in Guangzhou was an experience full of all sorts from spices to snakes. When you visit each of the destinations you are encouraged to spend money so be prepared especially the museum. We read a review on Trip Advisor saying that you needed Chinese currency. This is not true; they do accept other currencies, e.g. HK dollars. If you have special dietary needs it is possible to inform the Tour Guide and they can call the restaurant before arrival. All in all a great day.

Anthony C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Very good experience. We would have liked to have purchased things in China, but they didn't accept outside currencies.

Graham W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Another great tour, highly recommended, the lunch was excellent.

Barry B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

I was very wary about going on this trip after reading some of the reviews. I can only say to those people, what is wrong with you? The trip was fantastic. The panda is an old bear, but she is being well looked after in her old age. She could hardly move around much. The trip to the kindergarten was magical. The children were beautiful and sang us a beautiful song. The Terra-cotta Warriors - there were only three and a horse - but they were magnificent and well worth the visit, the whole museum is lovely and full of beautiful relics. The bus trip was relaxing and the guide very informative. The lunch was lovely and then the Temple of the Six Banyan Trees was beautiful. Everything was wonderful, followed by the train trip home. You can get hot food and drinks on the train. I had lovely beef noodles. Thank you for an amazing experience for my 60th.

John Y United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

This trip was really interesting although it does involve a fairly long bus journey before lunch, would i do it again - Yes.

Margaret M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour is really interesting and not to be missed. We had a fantastic tour guide.

Morgan M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a wonderful tour with very knowledgeable and helpful guides. You learn much about the history and general interest about the area, and the guides answer all questions very well. The meal was excellent, but it's a very long trip, so I would bring along a snack.

Dan N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

A wonderful day. A very long day, but still wonderful. They do their best to get in as much as possible. The only negative was the panda was a bit disappointing, but it didn't take away from the tour.

Linda A J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

This was an excellent experience with not only an extremely knowledgeable guide, but other local guides as well. I would highly recommend it, except take off the zoo stop. There was just one elderly panda. I did not like the bear that was posed for a photo with any tourist, as the bear was attached with a mouth ring. My family felt sorry for the creatures here. However we felt privileged to see the Terra Cotta warriors, to see the old and the new buildings, to learn about China and its customs, to walk an open market. It was a memory beyond words.

Angela H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

One of the most interesting tours we have taken. We had excellent tour guides in both Hong Kong and China. If you can only do one tour to China from Hong Kong, this is it.

David F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The trip was well organised and informative. The visit to the school was just a walk through looking at students sitting in their rooms. Could be deleted. The terracotta warriors is just one warrior and a horse in a glass case you walk past as you go into a jade shop. Promotes jade goods. The zoo visit to see the pandas was fantastic. It was a long drive to Guangzhou and lunch was not till 4.30 pm. It would have been better to spend more time here in this city as there was lots to see. On a previous day trip we saw a tomb which was great. This part ended up being very rushed as we caught the 8.30 pm train back to Hong Kong. It is an interesting insight into modern China.

Ian B Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was a very good tour. Michelle and Albert were both great. We enjoyed everything about the trip. ALbert certainly had a good sense of humour when he was talking about places we visited. Michelle also had a good knowledge as well. The train back was not an express train as we stopped a few times at stations on the way back. An express to us is exactly that an express. Bus driver also was very capable and we felt safe at all times. We certainly will be recommending this day trip to our friends when they visit Hong Kong.

Toni M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Propaganda lecture a bit over done. Alex was great, knowledgeable and witty. Stops were a bit rushed not enough time to take information in.

EUGENE S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very long day, but very worth it.

Yvonne G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Quite a long day but a trip well worth doing if you have the time, although the train back to Hong Kong was a little slower than envisaged.

evr.eng

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great trip to get a flavor of China. It was a long day but well worth the trip. Albert provided good information about the places we visited. It was amazing how developed Shenzhen is such a short time. Really enjoyed walking through an old market and seeing the contrast to the new development in Guangzhou. Michelle was great at guiding us from the time we left the hotel, through both immigrations and back. It would be good to let people know ahead of time that it's a late lunch and a long day so they can opt to purchase snacks ahead of time.

Bill604

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a well-organized tour and the tour guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Due to a national holiday, there was no visit to a kindergarten class. Flooding also prevented us from visiting a market.

You do get to see a terracotta warrior and a terracotta horse at the Exhibition Hall in Shekou and you can also buy a miniature terracotta warrior. At another section of the Exhibition Hall, there were various jade jewelry and art pieces for sale. At the Shenzen Safari Park, there were two panda bears on display behind glass.

We didnt stop for lunch until 3 pm. Lunch was good with 12 different dim sum items. After lunch, we made a stop at the Six Banyan Trees Temple and then a stop at the Memorial Hall of Dr. Sun Yat Sen before taking the train back to Hong Kong.

It was a long day but the tour provided a good experience to Guangzhou.

Kevin N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a long day - Picked up at 7.15 and not home till 11.15.pm. The first stop was to a kindergarten was interesting but seemed out of place on the itinerary although I guess you did learn a bit about the culture of Chinese families. The Terracota Warriors were disappointing in that there were only 3 pieces. The jade factory was more a stop to encourage buying. The Panda visit was great as was the visit to the Guanghzou city and the local market

Lesley Ann S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Picked up punctually at my hotel by our excellent guide Alex and Driver Bill a few more pick ups and we were on our way to the port to catch the early catamaran. Alex explained that lunch would be quite late and advised us of places to pick up snacks to stave off any hunger pangs. Group visas had been prearranged and immigration went smoothly. We were met by our Chinese guide Richard and he outlined our itinerary for the day. First stop was the No.3 Kindergarten which was interesting to see the children looking pristine in their little uniforms and learn about the daily scheduled.
Next on to see the Terracotta Warriors at Shekou's Exhibition Hall which was a little disappointing as there were only three items - a horse, a kneeling warrior and a standing warrior and more of a sales opportunity for the Jade and other Jewellery items and souvenirs and was a whistle stop visit. You were not allowed to take photographs and there were no souvenir postcards to buy.
Next on to the Safari Park to see the pandas, the name Safari Park led me to think they would be roaming around in an outside enclosure. Not so as they were inside in separate enclosures behind glass and both sleeping. Photographing them was difficult because of the reflections in the glass.
Lunch was excellent served in a private upstairs room of the restaurant. the food was served on to a Lazy Susan in the middle of the table and just kept coming, plenty of variety and vegetarians were also catered for.
After lunch a walk round the local market which was an eye opener and not for the squeamish with every sort of animal on display dead and alive!
We boarded the coach again and after a long journey arrived at the train station for the Express train back to Kowloon Station. Again immigration went smoothly thanks to Alex's excellent organization.
At the station the mini bus was waiting to transport us back to the hotel . A long but interesting day which despite my disappointment was value for money.

Peter F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour guide

Viewing 5 of 12

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 231.15

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message