4 star rating: Recommended 250 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 250 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Angela H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

One of the most interesting tours we have taken. We had excellent tour guides in both Hong Kong and China. If you can only do one tour to China from Hong Kong, this is it.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Well worth doing. Was a very long day but did feel like it. Very good tour guides who were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and experienced. Everything well organised right down to visas.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Awesomeexperience. Tour guides were informative

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was fabulous however with the distance travelled and busy schedule it was too rushed and the time spent at the chosen destinations of which was the sole purpose of selecting this tour was minimal. to go to markets and almost run through isn't exactly what was expected, maybe drop kindy visit?

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Generally don't like group tours only way to go to China was a group visa so I went skip the kindergarten the king soldiers Part was fake and really a way to get you to look at items for sale. A good way to see a lot of china Ina day. Guides were great. They did not let you shop for some reason

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour is fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed it - but it went on way too long! Picked up before 8am and we got back to our hotel at 11:30pm!!! That's a very long day so bear this in mind. Visiting the kindergarten was great, the kids so cute. Seeing the pandas was good, but I felt sad that their indoor enclosure was pretty stark. The lunch was terrific, and all the places of interest we experienced was fantastic.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I went on the trip with my 64 yr old mother. The trip went very smoothly from hotel collection to hotel return by coachThe chinese visa was included in the price which made the tour very affordable.
The toilets were a bit of an issue if you are older as some of the ones at the restaurant and on the train were squatting ones so it was an issue for my mum. My favourite bit was with the pandas in Shenzhen as they were very active as they are only 4 yrs old. Quite a similar set up to those in Ueno Zoo in Japan feeding in glass viewing pens. The zoo is called a safari zoo but the only safari thing about it was the coach bus was able to drive up to the panda zone. Lunch was pretty average, large range of dim sums but mostly were too greasy and we were on a very short time to finish up an eat and get back to the tour. The local Shenzen market was interesting but it is quite similar to the local markets you see in HK except they were chopping heads off chickens in the market place I had to cover my eyes. The Xian terracotta soldiers were impressive but how they were displayed was unimpressive they were in a tiny glass display area with flaky posters pasted on the walls around them and most of the museum was actually a jade store. My mum enjoyed the buying items from the jade store.
Overall its a great trip but beware you will be zipping about from sight seeing spot to another spot for about 13-14 hours! Leave at 7am not to return to your hotel till around 10pm! Lunch wasn't available till 3pm so bring snacks or sandwiches. Also you only have a 15 minute window at 8am to buy some snacks/coffee at the train station and after that not really anytime to buy anything, not even souveniers unless its from the museum. I enjoyed Richard the tour guide in Shenzhen, he was a local and very funny!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Long trip.....Our tour guide was exceptional. My husband had hard time with the immigration officials in China due to his passport not reading in their system. Our tour guide took an extra step ,she went back to the immigration control. She talked to the immigration and had my husband joined me few seconds before the train departed.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the experience. The guide, Alex, was very good..
The only downside was that we were not allowed to take photos of the Terracotta warriors, which will disappoint many people.
The timing to view the pandas was excellent because it was feeding time so they were awake and quite active.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good first-time trip to China

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Alex, our tour guide, was excellent. The only complaint I have is about the bus driver, "Bill". He was honking all the time. It was very annoying. He was angry and was driving like crazy. We couldn´t even rest during the bus hours because the honk was too loud. He also smoked several cigarettes and the smoke went into the bus. Everything else was pretty nice.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A long but very entertaining and busy day. The tour guides were very good and took care of all the little details from getting us through customs and passport control to interpreting for us with vendors. The tour had so many great stops and the interaction with the kids at the kindergarten was just fantastic. Jade shops, museums, the Temple of the 6 Banyan Trees, Sun Yat Sen memorial, all were worth the trip. Of course for my 13 year old it was the Pandas that made the day. Worth getting up way early and making the trek.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

another good tour ,guides were excellent.good way to see how people live in china

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Excellent value! Looking just at $/£ paid per hour of tour - this was brilliant value. Add to that the sheer variety of transport in the day (fast ferry, coach, high-speed train) and and things visited (from kindergartens to pandas) and this has to be one of the best trips I have taken in a long time. The guides were very good too. It's a very very long day (7am to 11pm) but well worth the effort - I highly recommend it to all.

L E. B
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really Interesting
The day was very long and the crowds at border control are stressful
However our guide for the day, Alex, was great, and took care to make sure that we were safe, culturally sensitive, and understood what we were seeing and experiencing, as did Richard, our local guide in China. He was also clear about where the clean toilets are, which was great.
We were well briefed on the catamaran trip
To my surprise, really enjoyed the kindergarten, The children are just delightful.
Was a little disappointed when we saw the Terracotta figures. There were three, a standing soldier, a kneeling soldier, and a horse. The figurines were outstanding, but was irritated to be called away from looking at them to listen to a hard sell on jade items. The doors are shut at both ends of the room, and I had to ask to be directed to the lades room.The hard sell continued with the next room, jewelery. Uncomfortable, when I had actually come to see the figurines.
The pandas were great, awake and eating, and would have enjoyed more time to look around
Canton is an interesting city to visit and really enjoyed the traditional Cantonese cuisine. If you like Chinese food anyway, or are not afraid to try different things, you will enjoy this.
The market was a whole experience, which overall we enjoyed, and is a must.
The 6 Banyan tree temple is a peaceful and beautiful haven.
Our last stop, at the memorial hall was impressive and a learning experience again.
Overall, the day was crowded, but we listened hard to what we were told, and took advantage of the information given. At each stop we were given time to ourselves also.
The train trip back was relaxing.
All in all a very worthwhile and interesting day if you keep your eyes and ears open, and are up for extreme experiemnces.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A very full day (Take a few snacks and drinks with you as lunch is around 3.00pm/4.00pm) but you will enjoy every minute. Michelle and Richard were fantastic hosts and kept us entertained all the way. An ideal way to get a slice of the Chinese culture!

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a well planned day that provided me with great insight into mainland China. Lunch was nice, the Panda bears were very cute and the visit to the museum was good. My only disappointment was the lack of warriors. I thought there would be more than two to view.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

A long day, make sure you have food with you as lunch wasn't until late afternoon. A very informative and funny guide. A lot to do in one day - mostly distance travelled, but would do again

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent rip and extremely good guides all through

Zsolt J
Hungary

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great organisation, interesting programme, BIG DISAPPOINTMENT regarding Panda, 2 nice panda in the ZOO, we expect much more activity regarding pandas, but alltogether it was great!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Was very impressed with the Guides and there Knowledge and happy disposition...Considering the distance we saw all that was needed in a relaxed manner...if you wish to see mainland China without the hassle then I highly recommend this tour. regards John Korkou Queensland Australia.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

We had a great time during the tour. Our tour guide made contact with us twice when we arrived to let us know about the change of pickup time from our accommodation. The local guide in mainland China was very knowledgable. As we toured during the school holidays and it also happened to be a public holiday, it may have been beneficial to be told that there may be time for shopping. Having Yuan (Chinese currency), would have been beneficial for us as we had some time available to shop after lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very enjoyable day well covered in culture content. The Pandas were naughty but amazing considered good valve for money. The only thing needs looking at is the venue for lunch staff very rude and dirty plates and chipped.

From USD $ 216.18

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message