• USD ($)
  • English

4 star rating: Recommended 183 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  13 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Guangzhou (Canton) China Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 183 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Margaret S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

There were four of us on this trip and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Traveling was quite tiring but definitely worthwhile. Our tour guide for the day was seamlessly helpful and informative through the whole journey. He explained everything to us about the places we will visit before arrival, what to do and when to stick together as a group. We all thought had we not had a tour guide on this trip, group visa's and travelling to and from the different destinations would have been very complicated. The tour is very well organised and timed perfectly. However the Panda was slightly disappointing; we expected a better view of him but he was flat out asleep in the distance of his bamboo hut so if you are expecting to see the Panda close up prepare to be disappointed. The Market in Guangzhou was an experience full of all sorts from spices to snakes. When you visit each of the destinations you are encouraged to spend money so be prepared especially the museum. We read a review on Trip Advisor saying that you needed Chinese currency. This is not true; they do accept other currencies, e.g. HK dollars. If you have special dietary needs it is possible to inform the Tour Guide and they can call the restaurant before arrival. All in all a great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Very good experience. We would have liked to have purchased things in China, but they didn't accept outside currencies.

Graham W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Another great tour, highly recommended, the lunch was excellent.

Barry B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

I was very wary about going on this trip after reading some of the reviews. I can only say to those people, what is wrong with you? The trip was fantastic. The panda is an old bear, but she is being well looked after in her old age. She could hardly move around much. The trip to the kindergarten was magical. The children were beautiful and sang us a beautiful song. The Terra-cotta Warriors - there were only three and a horse - but they were magnificent and well worth the visit, the whole museum is lovely and full of beautiful relics. The bus trip was relaxing and the guide very informative. The lunch was lovely and then the Temple of the Six Banyan Trees was beautiful. Everything was wonderful, followed by the train trip home. You can get hot food and drinks on the train. I had lovely beef noodles. Thank you for an amazing experience for my 60th.

John Y
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

This trip was really interesting although it does involve a fairly long bus journey before lunch, would i do it again - Yes.

Margaret M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour is really interesting and not to be missed. We had a fantastic tour guide.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a wonderful tour with very knowledgeable and helpful guides. You learn much about the history and general interest about the area, and the guides answer all questions very well. The meal was excellent, but it's a very long trip, so I would bring along a snack.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

A wonderful day. A very long day, but still wonderful. They do their best to get in as much as possible. The only negative was the panda was a bit disappointing, but it didn't take away from the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

This was an excellent experience with not only an extremely knowledgeable guide, but other local guides as well. I would highly recommend it, except take off the zoo stop. There was just one elderly panda. I did not like the bear that was posed for a photo with any tourist, as the bear was attached with a mouth ring. My family felt sorry for the creatures here. However we felt privileged to see the Terra Cotta warriors, to see the old and the new buildings, to learn about China and its customs, to walk an open market. It was a memory beyond words.

Angela H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

One of the most interesting tours we have taken. We had excellent tour guides in both Hong Kong and China. If you can only do one tour to China from Hong Kong, this is it.

Zsolt J
Hungary

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Great organisation, interesting programme, BIG DISAPPOINTMENT regarding Panda, 2 nice panda in the ZOO, we expect much more activity regarding pandas, but alltogether it was great!

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Was very impressed with the Guides and there Knowledge and happy disposition...Considering the distance we saw all that was needed in a relaxed manner...if you wish to see mainland China without the hassle then I highly recommend this tour. regards John Korkou Queensland Australia.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

We had a great time during the tour. Our tour guide made contact with us twice when we arrived to let us know about the change of pickup time from our accommodation. The local guide in mainland China was very knowledgable. As we toured during the school holidays and it also happened to be a public holiday, it may have been beneficial to be told that there may be time for shopping. Having Yuan (Chinese currency), would have been beneficial for us as we had some time available to shop after lunch.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Very enjoyable day well covered in culture content. The Pandas were naughty but amazing considered good valve for money. The only thing needs looking at is the venue for lunch staff very rude and dirty plates and chipped.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2013

Tour was excellent. Guide was great. Disappointed with the terracotta warriors. Annoyed that we went to a jade shop and high pressure sales team. Jade shop was not on itinerary. Glad I left credit card at hotel

From USD $ 195.33

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 10+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message