Viewing All 270 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Anthony C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2009

Very good experience. We would have liked to have purchased things in China, but they didn't accept outside currencies.

Graham W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

Another great tour, highly recommended, the lunch was excellent.

Barry B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2009

I was very wary about going on this trip after reading some of the reviews. I can only say to those people, what is wrong with you? The trip was fantastic. The panda is an old bear, but she is being well looked after in her old age. She could hardly move around much. The trip to the kindergarten was magical. The children were beautiful and sang us a beautiful song. The Terra-cotta Warriors - there were only three and a horse - but they were magnificent and well worth the visit, the whole museum is lovely and full of beautiful relics. The bus trip was relaxing and the guide very informative. The lunch was lovely and then the Temple of the Six Banyan Trees was beautiful. Everything was wonderful, followed by the train trip home. You can get hot food and drinks on the train. I had lovely beef noodles. Thank you for an amazing experience for my 60th.

John Y United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2008

This trip was really interesting although it does involve a fairly long bus journey before lunch, would i do it again - Yes.

Margaret M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This tour is really interesting and not to be missed. We had a fantastic tour guide.

Morgan M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

This was a wonderful tour with very knowledgeable and helpful guides. You learn much about the history and general interest about the area, and the guides answer all questions very well. The meal was excellent, but it's a very long trip, so I would bring along a snack.

Dan N USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2007

A wonderful day. A very long day, but still wonderful. They do their best to get in as much as possible. The only negative was the panda was a bit disappointing, but it didn't take away from the tour.

Linda A J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2007

This was an excellent experience with not only an extremely knowledgeable guide, but other local guides as well. I would highly recommend it, except take off the zoo stop. There was just one elderly panda. I did not like the bear that was posed for a photo with any tourist, as the bear was attached with a mouth ring. My family felt sorry for the creatures here. However we felt privileged to see the Terra Cotta warriors, to see the old and the new buildings, to learn about China and its customs, to walk an open market. It was a memory beyond words.

Angela H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2006

One of the most interesting tours we have taken. We had excellent tour guides in both Hong Kong and China. If you can only do one tour to China from Hong Kong, this is it.

EUGENE S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very long day, but very worth it.

Yvonne G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Quite a long day but a trip well worth doing if you have the time, although the train back to Hong Kong was a little slower than envisaged.

evr.eng

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great trip to get a flavor of China. It was a long day but well worth the trip. Albert provided good information about the places we visited. It was amazing how developed Shenzhen is such a short time. Really enjoyed walking through an old market and seeing the contrast to the new development in Guangzhou. Michelle was great at guiding us from the time we left the hotel, through both immigrations and back. It would be good to let people know ahead of time that it's a late lunch and a long day so they can opt to purchase snacks ahead of time.

Bill604

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a well-organized tour and the tour guides were friendly and knowledgeable. Due to a national holiday, there was no visit to a kindergarten class. Flooding also prevented us from visiting a market.

You do get to see a terracotta warrior and a terracotta horse at the Exhibition Hall in Shekou and you can also buy a miniature terracotta warrior. At another section of the Exhibition Hall, there were various jade jewelry and art pieces for sale. At the Shenzen Safari Park, there were two panda bears on display behind glass.

We didnt stop for lunch until 3 pm. Lunch was good with 12 different dim sum items. After lunch, we made a stop at the Six Banyan Trees Temple and then a stop at the Memorial Hall of Dr. Sun Yat Sen before taking the train back to Hong Kong.

It was a long day but the tour provided a good experience to Guangzhou.

Kevin N

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

This was a long day - Picked up at 7.15 and not home till 11.15.pm. The first stop was to a kindergarten was interesting but seemed out of place on the itinerary although I guess you did learn a bit about the culture of Chinese families. The Terracota Warriors were disappointing in that there were only 3 pieces. The jade factory was more a stop to encourage buying. The Panda visit was great as was the visit to the Guanghzou city and the local market

Lesley Ann S

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Picked up punctually at my hotel by our excellent guide Alex and Driver Bill a few more pick ups and we were on our way to the port to catch the early catamaran. Alex explained that lunch would be quite late and advised us of places to pick up snacks to stave off any hunger pangs. Group visas had been prearranged and immigration went smoothly. We were met by our Chinese guide Richard and he outlined our itinerary for the day. First stop was the No.3 Kindergarten which was interesting to see the children looking pristine in their little uniforms and learn about the daily scheduled.
Next on to see the Terracotta Warriors at Shekou's Exhibition Hall which was a little disappointing as there were only three items - a horse, a kneeling warrior and a standing warrior and more of a sales opportunity for the Jade and other Jewellery items and souvenirs and was a whistle stop visit. You were not allowed to take photographs and there were no souvenir postcards to buy.
Next on to the Safari Park to see the pandas, the name Safari Park led me to think they would be roaming around in an outside enclosure. Not so as they were inside in separate enclosures behind glass and both sleeping. Photographing them was difficult because of the reflections in the glass.
Lunch was excellent served in a private upstairs room of the restaurant. the food was served on to a Lazy Susan in the middle of the table and just kept coming, plenty of variety and vegetarians were also catered for.
After lunch a walk round the local market which was an eye opener and not for the squeamish with every sort of animal on display dead and alive!
We boarded the coach again and after a long journey arrived at the train station for the Express train back to Kowloon Station. Again immigration went smoothly thanks to Alex's excellent organization.
At the station the mini bus was waiting to transport us back to the hotel . A long but interesting day which despite my disappointment was value for money.

Peter F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic tour guide

Paul L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Well worth doing. Was a very long day but did feel like it. Very good tour guides who were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and experienced. Everything well organised right down to visas.

Cynthia R

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Awesomeexperience. Tour guides were informative

graham b

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was fabulous however with the distance travelled and busy schedule it was too rushed and the time spent at the chosen destinations of which was the sole purpose of selecting this tour was minimal. to go to markets and almost run through isn't exactly what was expected, maybe drop kindy visit?

Christopher K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Generally don't like group tours only way to go to China was a group visa so I went skip the kindergarten the king soldiers Part was fake and really a way to get you to look at items for sale. A good way to see a lot of china Ina day. Guides were great. They did not let you shop for some reason

June D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour is fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed it - but it went on way too long! Picked up before 8am and we got back to our hotel at 11:30pm!!! That's a very long day so bear this in mind. Visiting the kindergarten was great, the kids so cute. Seeing the pandas was good, but I felt sad that their indoor enclosure was pretty stark. The lunch was terrific, and all the places of interest we experienced was fantastic.

Viviane B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

I went on the trip with my 64 yr old mother. The trip went very smoothly from hotel collection to hotel return by coachThe chinese visa was included in the price which made the tour very affordable.
The toilets were a bit of an issue if you are older as some of the ones at the restaurant and on the train were squatting ones so it was an issue for my mum. My favourite bit was with the pandas in Shenzhen as they were very active as they are only 4 yrs old. Quite a similar set up to those in Ueno Zoo in Japan feeding in glass viewing pens. The zoo is called a safari zoo but the only safari thing about it was the coach bus was able to drive up to the panda zone. Lunch was pretty average, large range of dim sums but mostly were too greasy and we were on a very short time to finish up an eat and get back to the tour. The local Shenzen market was interesting but it is quite similar to the local markets you see in HK except they were chopping heads off chickens in the market place I had to cover my eyes. The Xian terracotta soldiers were impressive but how they were displayed was unimpressive they were in a tiny glass display area with flaky posters pasted on the walls around them and most of the museum was actually a jade store. My mum enjoyed the buying items from the jade store.
Overall its a great trip but beware you will be zipping about from sight seeing spot to another spot for about 13-14 hours! Leave at 7am not to return to your hotel till around 10pm! Lunch wasn't available till 3pm so bring snacks or sandwiches. Also you only have a 15 minute window at 8am to buy some snacks/coffee at the train station and after that not really anytime to buy anything, not even souveniers unless its from the museum. I enjoyed Richard the tour guide in Shenzhen, he was a local and very funny!

Mae S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Long trip.....Our tour guide was exceptional. My husband had hard time with the immigration officials in China due to his passport not reading in their system. Our tour guide took an extra step ,she went back to the immigration control. She talked to the immigration and had my husband joined me few seconds before the train departed.

Jacqueline D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Enjoyed the experience. The guide, Alex, was very good..
The only downside was that we were not allowed to take photos of the Terracotta warriors, which will disappoint many people.
The timing to view the pandas was excellent because it was feeding time so they were awake and quite active.

mihnea_vasilache

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Good first-time trip to China

Viewing 5 of 11

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Next

From USD $ 215.12

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675GE

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message