Viewing All 126 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

vabrant

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2012

Can't really review it, as the dinner was cancelled due to lack of participants. Local tour operator was rather efficient dealing with the situation and offering a refund via Viator

Christopher B Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

we did this same excursion 2 years ago and had a great time then,sadly this has changed and the food content was ordinary at best . The presentation was poor and the food was put down on the lazy susan with no explaination on what it was , with just enough to feed the small group of 6 dinners..I have had better meals in a B grade cafeteria

John D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2012

I had done this tour 4 years ago and hoped it was going go be as good. I took my dad this time and it appears that they must have been running late , as it was rush rush rush. The food - fish was good and the rice . The rest was not brilliant. The pork was hard and "steamed prawns" were fried and hard to eat.

sure the boat ride was good, good view of Hong Kong. Would I go again ? No. Others reviews will say it was great. It would have been but I am comparing to my last time and I didn't think it was as good.

John

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

Mrs P B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2011

The pre-dinner cruise is probably better as they were on the same boat and could take more advantage of the unlimited drinks, this one was just a trip to be dropped off at the fishing village. the fish market was interesting, but we were in a back room of a restaurant, not the one described, on hurriedly put up tables in a back room by the back yard and rushed through the meal. Not a very enjoyable evening when it promised more.

Erica S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2010

Five stars for Ricky the guide, who was fun an informative, but only 2 stars for the bland dinner - which was not up to UK standards.

CLARE C Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

Not a great trip! The tour guide was hard to hear and understand. Attitude was that he was so not interested in doing the job, and the food at the selected restaurant was an awful example of the local cuisine. I'll never do that one again!

Hilary C United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

The trip's timing actually didn't allow us to see the 'light show' as we were steaming towards Lei Yue Mun at the time but the meal was okay and the staff very friendly.

KEVIN C Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

We found that there wasn't enough food supplied for the number of people at our table. We were under the impression that alot of seafood was to be served but it was very limited, not as advertised in your brochure.

Fatih C United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

Nice trip on the boat. The dinner was nothing really special, just edible. No one understood the tour guide on the boat. Nice view.

Brenda S USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2008

We didn't actually get to see the light show as it occurred during dinner.

Catherine G United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

We could not hear the commentary because of the poor quality of the speakers on the boat. The food in the restaurant was excellent, but our being the only people in there made the atmosphere a bit lacking.

Christina S. Y. C Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2007

This tour is worth doing for visitors of Hong Kong to appreciate the night lights of HK harbour. However, the tour guide could have put in more effort to make the tour more interesting and informative. Also, the quality of the dinner can be improved.

Patrick B USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2007

I had to walk a long way in heavy ran. Nothing in the tour description said anything about the walking.

Lindsay H USA

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2006

I felt this cruise was slightly overpriced.

Note from Viator: When you book with Viator, you will never pay more online or at your destination. Read our low price guarantee and, if you find a lower price anywhere, let us know about it!

Vincent T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

It wasn't a tour. A boat picked us up, took us to a restaurant to eat, and took us home. No guide introduce themselves to us. I knew it was our boat because I saw a picture of it on Viator. The food was mediocre and not what was advertise on Viator. And after dinner, they let us loose on the island to wander around for ourselves. Wasted half a day.

Scott C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

rip off. Food WAS very average and in VERY short supply.

Yin May Y

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

Not worth of money. Only have small prawn, fried squid, steam fish. We thought we will enjoy great seafood dinner. We passed by lot of seafood restaurant before reaching the restaurant where we had our dinner. Only cheap seafoods were served. We paid USD48 per pax. Not worth it, really disappointed.

john m

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Too rushed would not recommend to anyone. No time to stop for a photo. Waitress's rude actually told my brother to move in a rude way, and countless times pushed me sideways to put food on table. A very simple excuse me would have worked very well.

Sandra F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2012

Our flight to Hong Kong was delayed 18 hours. So, couldn't call to confirm 24 hours ahead and the boat was not there when we showed up. So, don't book unless you are sure you can do all this!!

Bernie

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

Thay went to A diferent restaurant insted of the one we were spose to go to the food was not much every plate was left .with lots of food on it

rvonhoff

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2011

This tour was crap, we did it because other review was 50, 50 but it was a waste of money. the crew were sloply dress and not very profesional. the free drinks were crap and the bar tender was rude and keep asking for tip and was pushy about it, so did not eveb bother to get drinks.The food was ok but the restaurant was in some dirty back street which i did not find to be nice or cultural.

Peter D Canada

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2010

This tour was depressing. For some people the harbour tour was more about how much free booze they could consume. For others it was more about how to escape the party then how to enjoy the cruise. Also the loudspeaker quality was so poor that it was unable to overcome the engine sound so any information that was given while touring the harbour was useless. The dinner was unimaginative and unsatisfying. The fish and the shrimp, for instance, was still whole as it came out of the water. It took a lot of effort to eat more than a few shrimps or more than a few mouthfuls of fish. Other dishes were deep fried and had more batter than seafood. In fact no one at our table could identify one of the dishes because it was so heavily battered. Overall a bit of a nightmare for someone who expected either a good meal or an interesting cruise.

Susan D Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2009

Poor instructions on how to meet the boat, the meal was very rushed and not of very good quality. I would not really recommend.

Billy S USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2008

Time wasted. We missed the Harbor Light show. The food and the cruise and food were only average. Again, not up to Viator standards.

Caroline L USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2007

The cruise was OK and a nice break from the unbearable Hong Kong humidity in late September, but we completely missed the 8 pm light show. The crew and guide were very helpful on and off the ship. A positive for those who drink is that drinks are unlimited on the boat. So get your money's worth there, because you're definitely not going to get it at dinner.There was commentary on the boat, but no one could understand it through the old speakers, not even us, and we're Chinese! It became a source of laughable annoyance.

The dinner left much to be desired, especially for the price. There were no crabs, scallops, whole fish, or lobsters in what is supposed to be a seafood dinner. The worst part is that you have to walk through the markets where all the fresh seafood is just waiting to be bought and cooked, but you never see any of it land on your plate. I remember two shrimp courses, two types of oysters, and maybe one squid course. Two of the courses are only vegetables, and one course was sweet and sour pork! Any alcohol at dinner is extra, and they make you pay as soon as you order it!

For less than half the price, the three of us enjoyed a much better dinner a few days later at a restaurant at the Temple Street night market, including a delicious spicy double crab course. To sum up, you can easily take the ferry and have a nice dinner somewhere else, or see the light show from either the Kowloon or Hong Kong side, and skip this one.

Viewing 5 of 6

Page: Previous | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | Next

From USD $ 93.29

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Enter Total Number of Travelers

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675HLSVDC

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message