5 star rating: Highly Recommended 100 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  5 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Horse Racing at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Happy Valley. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 100 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Judith s P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

The tour was really well organized. We were picked up and told a brief history and then shown how to place a bet. We were given a betting voucher each and had a beautiful lunch and drinks all afternoon. The horses on the day didn't run in our favour - but then they never have - yet it was a great day, and we will definitely do it again on our next trip to Hong Kong.

Robert B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Extremely enjoyable night out, well organised, with excellent food. First class view of the racing and good companionship. We would recommend this trip wholeheartedly.

LINDA M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

If you like racing this is a must do. Fantastic value for the money.

Heather T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2008

Superb setting, food and wine. Excellent!

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We loved this tour..the Guide was gre as t and the meal snd einr w as s excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great night

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Always a great outing although the food this time was not as good as the last. Cannot thank our tour guide Shu enough she goes way beyond to make your outing the best it can be, hope we get her next time we're here.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

A great night. Well organized, on time, Guide couldn't do enough for us. Nice meal. Would recommend this to any-one who enjoys horse racing.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a lovely tour for anyone who likes horses, the people who looked after us were lovely and the ground at happy valley was a fabulous sight, we had a fab night and met some lovely people from all different countries.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

This trip did not start well as the tour company does not pick you up from your hotel and we got lost trying to find the pick up point. We were 6 minutes late and got told off by the lady doing the tour. On our way to the track we were given instructions on how to bet and so forth but was also given a lecture on smoking. Not impressed! The actual track, facilities and food were awesome and we did end up having a really good time. We all walked away winners.

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great service by the operator. The buffet dinner was very good. The highlight was the view of the horse racing. Worth every penny

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great fun night, excellent hosts who looked after all attendees who were from different countries. Up close and personal at the mounting yard and finish post. Buffet could have had more choice but overall very good.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

It was probably a little cheaper to go to the races by ourselves, however, not knowing anyone else in Hong Kong the bus full of eager friendly tourists led to a great night and worth every dollar. The only way to do the races in Hong Kong!!

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

great experience when we were brought down to the winner's circle and paddock to watch one round. got up close to the horses and jockeys and managed to catch some drama!

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2012

We had a great night food was good backed a winner tour guide fantastic would recommend

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Absolutely worth while and a great experience. Even not being a punter it is still fun.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

We really enjoyed our night at Happy Valley. Only complaint was the food choice was limited with popular choices quickly taken and not refilled. Our experience at Sha Tin was better.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

good night out plenty of food and grog. only complaint - position overlooking track a bit far past winning post. service excellent.

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

We were unfortunate enough to visit the HKJC on the night a typhone was quickly approaching. Our hostess was brilliant, the buffet food wonderful, the staff assisted us with our betting but nothing could compensate for the bad weather. The rain spoilt the last few races but all in all - an experience you should enjoy whilst in Hong Kong.

Diana D
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Very well organised, guides were excellent and a wealth of knowledge. A shame there was a big storm that evening however the race meeting went ahead and the dinner was very good.

Robert G
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

good night out

Charles S
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

The start was spoiled by a no-show at the pick-up, so we had to wait which spoled the party atmosphere. We were taken to the venue efficiently and courteously. The food was excellent - the wine beer table service could have been better but the waiters were obviously under-trained. The whole evening was great fun. We especially liked the trip down to the paddock ring at race 5.

Peter W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2008

Excellent day, brilliant host, good food, great service. Definitely recommended.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

I guess the fact that I had been to Happy Valley before made this visit a bit more ho-hum, but nevertheless it was pretty good value and well organised by a very good guide.

The drizzling rain probably put a bit pf a dampener on the evening and marred the spectacle a little. The drinks pacakge (continuous ) was excellent, the substantial buffet meal was of good though not spectacular quality, and the location of the dinig room/ viewing area (way past the winning post) and a long way from the mounting yard was not in excatly a prime spot. But maybe those aspects were important to me, but to so much to first-time racing visitors.

The HK Jockey Club organisation was spot on - guides to meet the bus, hand out entry tickets and escort the group to the Dining area. The $HK30 betting voucher was an inexpensive but nice touch.

Incidentally, at no stage were passports required (although if you choose to go by yourself, they are needed to gain a good-deal entry to the HKJC Members' area.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2008

The horse racing tour was interesting, but too long for me and my girlfriend. I could sense her boredom after the 3rd race and we still had 7 more races left. The service was good and the staff was friendly, but I do not think it is worth a whole day if your trip to Hong Kong is 5 days or shorter. If you have a long trip planned, then by all means book this tour.

From USD $ 166.13

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675HRT

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message