4.5 star rating: Recommended 518 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 518 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is excellent. The tour guide is great and he give us a free time to take pictures and shop around for souvenirs. A very educational tour and love to go back again.

Rick W
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour, very well organised and the duration of the trip was spot on. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. The Giant Buddah is very impressive, the food at the Monastery was excellent and the curio shops in the area are packed with good quality local merchandise. The trip back down the mountain in the cable car was simply spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day out,the Buddha is huge and beautiful.Loved the chairlift,great views.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, everything we thought it would be, and this was helped by the tour guide we had who was born and bred on Lantau. The vegetarian meal was delicious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well, it was a surprise to have such a professional and knowledgeable guide, explanation of the tour wet your senses for what was to follow.
The fishing village was a memory I will keep for a long time, followed by the monastery and lunch. What a treat to behold.
The history and beliefs behind this icon of Lantau Island are simply wonderful.
We were thrilled to take the cable car ride back over the mountains and then to come down by the airport,views that took your breath away.
Thank you for the experience of a lifetime.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding tour! I couln't ask any better! Maybe the restaurant was not the best choice ever, because it was really crowded, but the food was delicious,

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the best trip I had ever

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Brilliant trip to see lots of the island and hear about this history. Well run and tour guide was very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a great day and found this to be a very worthwhile day-trip to explore places near Hong Kong that we would otherwise not have been able to see.
DATE: Sunday 7th September 2014.
GUIDE: Our guide, Andy, was absolutely fantastic throughout the day - helpful, informative, friendly - and taught us so much more about Hong Kong and the surrounds than we would have imagined.
FOOD: Being vegetarian we found the vegetarian banquet lunch to be perfect ;) seriously, plenty of food to go around, good, basic flavours, easy on those with sensitive G.I.s.
HIGHLIGHTS: Giant Buddha was fun of course, and the Po Lin Monastery was nice, while the 5km cable car ride over mountains offered some wonderful views.
SURPRISES: The Tai O fishing village was quite the eye-opener and definitely worth the visit - for both good and . . . "interesting" reasons!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were a group of Canadian and British teachers from Mainland China spending a few days in Hong Kong. Our highly positive experience with Viator made our Hong Kong stay ten times better than what it would have been normally. This tour allowed us to truly connect to the spiritual roots and the daily life of the Lantau island inhabitants. We think the idea of the tour itself was a fantastic one. The guide was very interesting and had a deep attachment to the island, therefore the tour became very authentic and genuine. His sense of humor was quite unique. The guide's English was excellent. The duration of the tour was just perfect. The itinerary was perfect. The food was excellent. The Gondola ride was breathtaking. We highly recommend this tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, very interesting itinerary, with the highlight being the fantastic cable car. The guide was very knowledgeable and experienced. We had a great time.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very informative!!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

beautiful and majestic. Island is relatively untouched so lovely contrast to hectic city life of Hong Kong. Wonderful cultural experience.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide and very interesting tour. Highlight was the Giant Buddha, meal at the monastery and cable car trip down.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip! The fishing village and the Buddha were the best. Mr. Pen, our tour guide, was fantastic. We could have skipped the beach - it wasn't particularly pretty and there was nothing to do or see. Be sure to shop at the cluster of nicer stores on the way to the cable cars, and don't spend your limited time (I would have liked more time) at the first big souvenir shop. This was really interesting - the ferry ride over, the tour guide's comments, the tour and boat ride in the fishing exhibit.

From USD $ 116.62

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675LMVL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message