4.5 star rating: Recommended 494 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 494 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very knowledgeable tour guide and very interesting tour. Highlight was the Giant Buddha, meal at the monastery and cable car trip down.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip! The fishing village and the Buddha were the best. Mr. Pen, our tour guide, was fantastic. We could have skipped the beach - it wasn't particularly pretty and there was nothing to do or see. Be sure to shop at the cluster of nicer stores on the way to the cable cars, and don't spend your limited time (I would have liked more time) at the first big souvenir shop. This was really interesting - the ferry ride over, the tour guide's comments, the tour and boat ride in the fishing exhibit.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed this tour, and it was one of the best things I did on my short visit to Hong Kong. There's no way I would've been able to see as much of Lantau Island if I'd tried to do this on my own, especially with all the different forms of transportation needed. The tour was very well organized, and the tour-guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she kept everything on schedule. It was nice to see the rural aspects of life on Lantau Island, including the stop at 'long sand' beach, the drive by the pretty reservoir and a couple prisons, and the lovely drive up and over the lush mountains to the Tai O fishing village. The village itself was an interesting look into traditional culture, even though it did smell quite bad (imagine the heat mixed with drying fish parts). I was very happy that our tour bus drove to the top of the Giant Buddha, sparing us the 268-step climb in the horrid heat/humidity :) The tour also included entry into the special exhibit area inside the Buddha, which wasn't much help without commentary (I had no clue what I was looking at), but I enjoyed the air conditioning anyway! The walk through the Po Lin monastery was interesting, and the vegetarian lunch wasn't that bad. We didn't have as much time as I would've liked to wander the shops in Ngong Ping village before boarding the cablecar, but that's okay. The cablecar ride was amazing - the views over Lantau Island and the south China sea were beautiful. Be sure to look back for views of the Big Buddha. Then topping the ridge, you get views of the Hong Kong airport - which was also very cool, as the airport sits on a man-made island. Overall, this was a very good all-day tour, with the highlights being the Big Buddha and the cablecar ride. I'd definitely recommend this tour, and I recommend you bring a small backpack with a few bottles of water, sunscreen, and an umbrella for small rainshowers, or to keep the very hot sun off you (do as the locals do!).

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. The tour of Lantau island was interesting. The cable car ride had good views of the island and seeing the Big Buddha was worth the trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Highlight of Hong Kong and This was an amazing trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A great way to experience the highlights of Lantau Island. Our guide was very informative and kept everything to time (even with it being a rainy day). The mist coming and going around the Buddha, added to the experience.

Celeste
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful day trip! Highlight of Hong Kong.

almamia66
Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

serene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was brilliant. We were a little aprehensive before the trip but it was interesting and the things we saw were amazing. The meal was quite good though the noise was intense with about fifteen tables and what seemed like two hundred people inside the 'restaurant'. It was worth it though. The Buddha from any angle is so imposing.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A great trip and guide - Ryan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an amazing trip. Ferry from Hong Kong to Lantau. Coach in the rain. Boat ride at Tai O village. Up the mountain to see the big Buddha before the thick cloud rolled in. Vegetarian lunch was excellent at the Po Lin Monastery. Then back down the mountain in the cable car in the clouds. Great day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

excellent tour Ryan was very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

trip was excellent. Our guide could have been more visible. We had trouble following him a few times.We almost missed the bus ride home because there were 2 possible exits after the gondola ride.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour! we were taken by boat across to Lantau Island then in a very nice air conditioned comfortable bus to see the HUGE Buddha - we also visited the Po Lin Monastery and had a vegetarian lunch there included in the tour - went to the Pass Tai O fishing village and saw traditional houses on stilts - we loved the 25-minute sky rail cable car to Tung Chung town- one of the highlights of the trip - awesome view so high up! In all a really good tour
•Enjoy a vegetarian lunch at the monastery

From USD $ 116.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675LMVL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message