4.5 star rating: Recommended 570 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 570 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a "must do" for every visitor to HK.Super guide and a very enjoyable day.Well worth the cost.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very well organised to from my hotel pick up to drop off. Andy was a great guide-very informative, funny and well organised. You see and experience so much on this tour-it's great!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour has been great. The tour guide provided a lot of information about the history of Hong Kong as well as some nice details about everywhere we have been to. The transportation was excellent.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

lantau tour was very nice, we enjoyed it very much,we had a very knowledgeable tour guide,his name was Ryan,he was funny too.the highlight of that trip was the vegetarian lunch at the monastery. their foods was so delicious.it was ended a pleasure to see lantau island and the giant buddha tour,it is a must see tour,you will not regret it.thanks viators.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was nice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Apart from the tour people forgetting to collect us from the hotel (but they did pay for us to get a taxi to the ferrry) it was a great day. Unfortunate the weather was not the best but still had a great day. Would highly recommend this tour. The English speaking guide was great.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The trip was everything that we expected. The guide was very knowledgeable and personable. The activities were great and we had ample time to enjoy them...especially the fishing village. This is a full day of activities capped off with a cable car ride that gave a complete overview of Lantau...well done

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Really great day out picked up from hotel and taken on ferry driven round Lantau island then cable car ride. Biggest surprise was the Vegetarian lunch at the monstery was expecting maybe a bowl of noodles got a banquet!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tours was fantastic. Great guide and perfect structure for my parents who were visiting. Really liked Andy.

Jennifer E
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a great day tour, very well organized and with an experienced English speaking guide.
Lunch was included, being the Vegitarian lunch at the Monastery. This lunch was one of the best we had on our whole trip. Highlights were the historic 600-year-old Fishing Village and the return Cable Car ride, which is the longest experienced so far anywhere. A big advantage of this tour was to escape the crowds of Hong Kong, a very peaceful and tranquil setting. This tour did not feel at all pressurized, as there was ample time to take everything in. One can ignore the merchandising at the Village on the return leg if one chooses. All in all highly recommended............

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Throughly enjoyed the day out. The coach collected us from our hotel on time. We were taken to Hong Kong Island where we got the ferry to Lantau Island. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very good English skills.
Very interesting looking inside the Gaint Buddha and viewing the statues in the surrounding area. Then we went for a vegetarian meal made by the monks. Lovely food.
Then it was off to the cable car for a 25 min trip. A very smooth ride.
I would highly recommend this trip.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The whole day was well organised, we were picked up from our hotel at the advertised time and taken to the ferry where our guide was waiting for us. Ryan was very knowledgable and gave an interesting commentary, he also made sure the whole group knew exactly what we were going to see at each stopping place and where and when to meet afterwards.
The content of the tour is great, so many excellent experiences and we came away feeling we had really seen and experienced some local culture.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide for this trip was a very experienced mature individual who shared his experiences in a realistic way. The Buddha was very impressive as was the monastery however the fishing village on stilts was very impressive. Plenty of time was given to explore this village and the shopping buys were great. .The final part of the trip was a tram way ride of about one half hour that was very enjoyable and offered spectacular views of the Island

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Nothing more to say then highly recommend

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A wonderful day and our guide Ryan was both funny and very informative which made the trip even more enjoyable. A great mix of people from all four corners on the tour which made for good conversation over lunch. The vegetarian meal at the monastery was delicious. I can't choose what the highlight of the day was as every minute of it was enjoyable. Thank you Viator for making the trip so easy and enjoyable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

i thought the tour was very well done ..no hiccups , all on time and very professional , would highly recommend this tour to anyone ...well worth it !!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Everything was great

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide and enjoyable itinerary. A full day with lunch and varied route culminating in amazing cable car ride down to ground level near to impressive airport built on re-claimed land

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our day started with a bit of chaos as the bus scheduled to pick us up at our hotel couldn't make it because of the protesters in Hong Kong. So, they called the hotel and told us we had 45 minutes to get ourselves to the ferry dock. We jumped in a cab, but quickly got stuck in traffic. We paid the cab and jumped out, running across the stopped traffic and down the road to the dock. We made it in time for our boat. The day starts with a ferry ride to Lantau Island. From there, you take a bus to the beach. The beach is uneventful and the best I can tell, it's only included because it's a convenient bathroom stop. Otherwise, there's nothing to see or do. Back on the bus and up to the fishing village. Excellent. We walked through the village and even got a ride in a boat to see the houses on stilts in the area. This was a fun stop. Back on the bus and up to the Giant Buddha. When we arrived, we were driven to the top. We got off and got a tour in and around the Buddha. Then we had time on our own before gathering down below for lunch at the monastery. The vegetarian lunch was actually quite good. Then we had time for shopping as we made the walk to the cable cars. Finally, the cable car ride down to the other side of the island was fantastic. I suggest doing the car with the clear floor. It's a few dollars more, but worth it. The day ended with a rather lengthy bus ride through rush hour traffic back to our HK hotels. Long day, but excellent tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is excellent. The tour guide is great and he give us a free time to take pictures and shop around for souvenirs. A very educational tour and love to go back again.

Rick W
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a great tour, very well organised and the duration of the trip was spot on. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. The Giant Buddah is very impressive, the food at the Monastery was excellent and the curio shops in the area are packed with good quality local merchandise. The trip back down the mountain in the cable car was simply spectacular.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day out,the Buddha is huge and beautiful.Loved the chairlift,great views.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour, everything we thought it would be, and this was helped by the tour guide we had who was born and bred on Lantau. The vegetarian meal was delicious.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well, it was a surprise to have such a professional and knowledgeable guide, explanation of the tour wet your senses for what was to follow.
The fishing village was a memory I will keep for a long time, followed by the monastery and lunch. What a treat to behold.
The history and beliefs behind this icon of Lantau Island are simply wonderful.
We were thrilled to take the cable car ride back over the mountains and then to come down by the airport,views that took your breath away.
Thank you for the experience of a lifetime.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding tour! I couln't ask any better! Maybe the restaurant was not the best choice ever, because it was really crowded, but the food was delicious,

From USD $ 130.25

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675LMVL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message