4.5 star rating: Recommended 478 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 478 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

excellent tour Ryan was very good

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

trip was excellent. Our guide could have been more visible. We had trouble following him a few times.We almost missed the bus ride home because there were 2 possible exits after the gondola ride.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour! we were taken by boat across to Lantau Island then in a very nice air conditioned comfortable bus to see the HUGE Buddha - we also visited the Po Lin Monastery and had a vegetarian lunch there included in the tour - went to the Pass Tai O fishing village and saw traditional houses on stilts - we loved the 25-minute sky rail cable car to Tung Chung town- one of the highlights of the trip - awesome view so high up! In all a really good tour
•Enjoy a vegetarian lunch at the monastery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour was fantastic. Very interesting and enjoyable. Tour guide was fantastic. Lunch was lovely and I'm a super fussy eater! I upgraded to the glass bottom cable car and it was amazing!! Would recommend this tour to anyone visiting HK! I also went to the Peak, but preferred this tour, and it was a foggy day at the Peak and I couldn't see anything!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An enjoyable day full of variety. The included vegetarian lunch was more than enough for anyone. Gondola ride and views of the airport and incredible high rise developments were very impressive. Disappointingly we were rushed from the end of the gondola ride and many of us did not have the opportunity to purchase our Gondola Photograph. After travelling such a long way you should insist on time to make your purchase.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour was amazing. I highly recommend the tour. They were in our hotel on time to pick us up. The bus was great and comfortable. We truly enjoyed the tour guide. She was very professional and knowledgeable of the area and gave us a great deal of information. The big buddha is really impressive. The lunch at the Monastery was delicious. The cable car drive back was beautiful. This is a great tour and we were very impressed with Viator. all the tours we took were great. I highly recommend Viator. Thank you for doing such a good job.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Queendy was wonderful. Very good teacher of pertinent facts - history, stats, cult you're, sites we saw, etc . The visit to the fib each thrn fish market including the fun and fascinating boat ride, the cable car ride - and most important - the visit to the Big Anuradhapura was one of the best experiences of my 17-datpy Asia trip. I highly recommend it.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was well run. After hotel pickups we had to transfer to another bus which was late arriving but no big deal. We enjoyed the ferry ride to the island. Our guide was very knowledgable. My only criticism of thr day is that we had to rush a couple of times, for example at the fishing village and viewing the Big Buddha. That said, we were on a fairly tight schedule to fit everything in. Our escort on the final bus back from the cable car (which by the way was excellent,) to our hotel showed us how to use the underground. This was very helpful as we became very proficient at using public transport following her instructions. Would definitely recommend the tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Highly recommended. A truly lovely day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was extremely knowledgable and just a very likable guy!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great experience. Island is so very different to Hong Kong yet right next door! Our guide lived on Lantau and he had great pride in his community. Everyone was picked up at their hotels in Kowloon and put on one bus. You cross over to the Hong Kong side and take a nice short ferry ride over to Lantau. Once you arrive you get on a smaller bus. The highlight of the trip was stopping at the small fishing village to see and understand how people still live a simple life like their ancestors. The trip to the Big Buddha was outstanding. The Chinese government has made a beautiful shrine and grounds for locals and visitors alike. The vegetarian meal was fresh and acceptable. Those who didn't want to eat it were directed to a couple of fast foods available - Subway and Starbucks. The grand finale on the cable car back to Hong Kong had an amazing view. Even though we had a foggy overcast day it was an experience! You really see how big the new airport is and get a great view descending into Hong Kong. The whole trip was not exerting and was very relaxing and informative. NOTE: there is NO shopping unless you want to buy dried fish!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of island, the monastery and Buddha , nice mix of by land and by sea , our guide very knowledgable and genuine and warm- and cable car ride perfect end with great views and a thrilling ride- highly recommend

Richard C
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Everything went like clockwork.from beginning to end great tour.only downside was cable car ride,heavy mist came down couldn't see a thing .just unlucky on the day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic trip. The whole day was brilliant. The Giant Budda is a must, and the amazing cable car ride at the end was very exciting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was one of the best organized and conducted tours that we have had. The guides were personable and knowledgeable and there was adequate time for each planned event. The only drawback was the vegetarian lunch at the monastery. We were basically processed in the crowded restaurant and the food was, with the exception of one dish, simply awful (for our western palates anyway!).

From USD $ 116.70

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675LMVL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message