• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 467 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 467 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Keith H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent well balanced tour. Ryan our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Very interesting to see this other side of Hong Kong-the cultural and historic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent! The sites and the tour guide were terrific!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a cool Tour, Qunidi our tour guide spoke excellent English and was very informative about Lantau and its tribal people from the moment we got picked up by her. The big Budda itself was pretty cool and yes very big. I learnt the background foundations of the Budda and religion. We walked through the stilt house market place aswell as floated through the water way for a closer look at them on a boat. We ate at a vegetarian restaurant which was delicious, even my husband enjoyed it and he is a huge meat eater. To top it off we went back to hongkong on the gondola and enjoyed the views home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A really interesting and informative trip with an excellent guide. Everything that we were taken to was of significant interest and the lunch that was offered to us was of a very good standard. The trip as a whole warrants a five star rating although i would question the trip being a full day trip. The pick up process was a tour in itself and we were back in Kowloon by 3.30 p.m. A trip i would recommend especially if you are in Hong Kong for a short period as it offers a lot of interesting things to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

So glad we did this! it was definitely a high light!
With all 3 tours we did in hong kong the disappointment was having to pay extra for taxi to take us to meeting point and back to hotel. These tours were not cheap and when told you would be picked up from your hotel you are not expecting to pay extra money. it made it inconvenient because the meeting hotel was quite a distance away. That was an expense we shouldn't of had to pay. So hpefully Viator will see this and be able to reconsile for those in the future so they don't have to do this!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

this is something you should see while in Hong Kong. After reading previous reviews, I decided to take this day tour, and am glad I did. Our guide was excellent and informative. The day was good weather-wise, which made it even more enjoyable. The Buddah is 11 stories tall! The vegetarian lunch was also good, as I like all vegetables. Cable car ride is amazing, a long ride with beau;tiful views.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very nice experience to visit the island and all the sights. Guide was funny and very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a superb trip which met and even exceeded our expectations. It offered a great variety of experiences, from the fishing village of Tai O, with its quaint houses on stilts, to the magnificent Giant Buddha and Po Lin monastery. We also enjoyed spectacular views both from the peaks and also from the cable car- the longest such ride we have ever experienced. The trip was enhanced by a knowledgeable local guide (Ben) who brought a personal flavour to the outing. A very memorable outing, well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very well organised and well paced. Diane the guide was very informative and managed the group very well. Lantau is an interesting place to visit and the tour well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great day, pick up right on time and tour guide being a "local" was a wealth of knowledge. Recommend tour to all visiting HK. Peter. Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Guide fantastic. Loved the variety. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was good awesome staff and guide but pay extra and go on the cristal capin when you go on the ngong 360 cable car ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a great time on this tour. Lots of cool stuff to see and Andy our tour guide was fantastic - really knew his stuff and had a great sense of humour. I'd recommend this tour to anyone!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was well organised, jam packed, fun, informative - worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We only had two days in Hong Kong we did this trip and went on the Peak Tram, also highly recommend. This trip was well organised with pick up from our hotel, very professional. The guide was well informed and local person from Lantau. He was full of information and knowledge. The first stop at the beach is just break really, quick drink and an Ice Cream. Then on to the fishing village, to a European some of the food on sale looks very weird, not something I would eat. Then there was a short trip on the boat to wooden houses, interesting,how do people live on them. Then back the village for some interesting history and visit to the court house that is a bit like a temple, lots of photo opportunities there. Then of to the the Big Buddha, you have to see the amazing structure to believe it, worth the cost of the trip on its own. All I can say is WoW. Then there was the vegetarian meal, I kids you not if I could make food like that I'd be veggie tomorrow loads of it and delicious. You then have time to stroll around the site before the wonderful chair lift, great day, if there is one thing you do in Hong Kong do this,I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

From USD $ 112.34

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675LMVL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message