4.5 star rating: Recommended 500 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 500 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was one of the best organized and conducted tours that we have had. The guides were personable and knowledgeable and there was adequate time for each planned event. The only drawback was the vegetarian lunch at the monastery. We were basically processed in the crowded restaurant and the food was, with the exception of one dish, simply awful (for our western palates anyway!).

Janice B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We'll organised. Guide excellent, very informative. Lantau is such a contrast to Hong Kong.really enjoyable day. Thank you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fabulous tour guide Great tour Great meal

Keith H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Excellent well balanced tour. Ryan our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Very interesting to see this other side of Hong Kong-the cultural and historic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent! The sites and the tour guide were terrific!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a cool Tour, Qunidi our tour guide spoke excellent English and was very informative about Lantau and its tribal people from the moment we got picked up by her. The big Budda itself was pretty cool and yes very big. I learnt the background foundations of the Budda and religion. We walked through the stilt house market place aswell as floated through the water way for a closer look at them on a boat. We ate at a vegetarian restaurant which was delicious, even my husband enjoyed it and he is a huge meat eater. To top it off we went back to hongkong on the gondola and enjoyed the views home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A really interesting and informative trip with an excellent guide. Everything that we were taken to was of significant interest and the lunch that was offered to us was of a very good standard. The trip as a whole warrants a five star rating although i would question the trip being a full day trip. The pick up process was a tour in itself and we were back in Kowloon by 3.30 p.m. A trip i would recommend especially if you are in Hong Kong for a short period as it offers a lot of interesting things to see.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

So glad we did this! it was definitely a high light!
With all 3 tours we did in hong kong the disappointment was having to pay extra for taxi to take us to meeting point and back to hotel. These tours were not cheap and when told you would be picked up from your hotel you are not expecting to pay extra money. it made it inconvenient because the meeting hotel was quite a distance away. That was an expense we shouldn't of had to pay. So hpefully Viator will see this and be able to reconsile for those in the future so they don't have to do this!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

this is something you should see while in Hong Kong. After reading previous reviews, I decided to take this day tour, and am glad I did. Our guide was excellent and informative. The day was good weather-wise, which made it even more enjoyable. The Buddah is 11 stories tall! The vegetarian lunch was also good, as I like all vegetables. Cable car ride is amazing, a long ride with beau;tiful views.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very nice experience to visit the island and all the sights. Guide was funny and very informative.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a superb trip which met and even exceeded our expectations. It offered a great variety of experiences, from the fishing village of Tai O, with its quaint houses on stilts, to the magnificent Giant Buddha and Po Lin monastery. We also enjoyed spectacular views both from the peaks and also from the cable car- the longest such ride we have ever experienced. The trip was enhanced by a knowledgeable local guide (Ben) who brought a personal flavour to the outing. A very memorable outing, well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very well organised and well paced. Diane the guide was very informative and managed the group very well. Lantau is an interesting place to visit and the tour well worth the money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great day, pick up right on time and tour guide being a "local" was a wealth of knowledge. Recommend tour to all visiting HK. Peter. Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Guide fantastic. Loved the variety. Highly recommended.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was good awesome staff and guide but pay extra and go on the cristal capin when you go on the ngong 360 cable car ride

From USD $ 116.59

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675LMVL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message