• USD ($)
  • English

4.5 star rating: Recommended 464 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Lantau Island and Giant Buddha Day Trip from Hong Kong. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 464 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:

Hendrik H
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Was very well organized. Two excellent day outings!!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is amazing.....The trip from start to stop was great. Out tour guide was entertaining and supplied us with great facts of the island. The cable car ride was also amazing even though it was raining the experience was fantastic. Thank you Viator for your great service. When we checked in to the hotel the tickets were there.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Great tour, shame it was rainy on the day but nothing could dampen the raw beauty of Lantau island. Excellent vegetarian lunch and visit to the Buddha. Loved visiting Tai O fishing village - very interesting market and gorgeous scenery. Magical ride on the gondola at the end of the tour. Highly recommended - so different from Hong Kong Island and Kowloon.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This tour which is run by a local tour company, Lantau Tours, was really excellent. Ryan, our guide, is a Lantau native and has a real passion for his island. The narrative was both informative and, at times hilarious, Ryan really is entertaining and knowledgable. The tour starts with a relaxing ferry trip to one end of Lantau then a bus drive to a beachside pit stop then on to one of the few remaining traditional fishing villages. This stop included a short boat ride through the village, this was particularly poingnant as we passed some of the stilt houses that had burnt down only a couple of nights before. Back on the bus and a very scenic drive over the island to the Giant Buddha. Instead of walking up to the Buddha the bus dropped the group off at the top allowing for a more leisurely walk down to the Ning Ping Monastery for lunch (Ryan even organised for the bus to wait at the top car park to drive one passenger with a baby and another two with mobility problems back down after touring the Buddha, since he considered the walk down too difficult). The vegetarian lunch was delicious and very filling. The final highlight of the tour was the cable car ride down from the Giant Buddha site to North Lantau. This was fantastic, the ride is about 5 kms long up and down over peaks and valleys with a fantastic view of the new Hong Kong airport at the end. This is a great tour, Ryan is a wonderful guide and made the trip a highlight of my Hong Kong holiday.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Brilliant trip. Picked-up on time; it was well organised and extremely enjoyable. Very well informed guides. Great value for money and I would recommend this trip to anyone.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

The tour was very enjoyable. We had sufficient time at each stop to enjoy and take in all the attractions.

The only negative was that we were picked up at 8, as expected, however we we transferred between buses and had to wait for people not on time which meant we did not had off to the tour until after 9.

Would highly recommend.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Everything very good, but feel we should have been warned about tofu lunch. Although not allergic , would not eat it if known.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great day,great value, unbelievable meal and fantastic cable car journey. Add to this knowledgeable and pleasant tour leader and well run day. Will recommend this to all on our return home.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Very interestind day, highly recommended

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Wonderful day out - the tour rep was excellent. The longest cable car ride I have ever been on anywhere in the world - breathtaking (literally!) at times.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Exscellent day trip. Nice small group, our guide Ben was very pleasant, everything ran to time and was as promised. The lunch was our only disappointment, of very poor quality and any soft drinks were charged as extra. 'Service' was extremely poor.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Great tour and very informative guide. Experienced coach driver. Lunch at the Monastery was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

Very well organised and an interesting day.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

There were four of us who travelled on this tour and we all enjoyed it immensely. It was so interesting to drive around this large island and find that it was not densely populated.... The big Budda was amazing and the vegetarian meal we had was a delightful surprise...... Only disappointing thing was we didn't get to ride the cable car as it was closed for maintenance, otherwise a great day......

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour was excellent covering the temple and history of the Budda. I would recommend it but advise passengers there is a lot of walking and stairs to see everything without missing picturesque parts of the tour by riding in the bus as the alternative. Lunch was interesting and plentiful.. The floral gardens around the temple were beautiful and the tour guide was very helpful.

From USD $ 112.32

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date


Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

(Age 12+)

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675LMVL

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message