Insider's Guide to Hong Kong

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

4 star rating: Recommended 93 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Duration:  6 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the New Territories of Hong Kong 'The Land Between' Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 93 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

It was nice trip overall. Organized, and very friendly guides. Felt safe. If you are a Christian, this trip might be a little overwhelming. I didn't enjoy too much of Buddism tour. But, it was an interesting trip overall.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

80% of the tour is a waste of time - will not recommend it (not too sure why it gets such high rating). Only the Fan Ling Village is worth to have a look (visit there yourself-better)/opt for Cheung Chau (do it yourself). However, Marco (tour-guide) is great - informative and helpful.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

Our guide was great and very informative. Enjoyed the temple stop but found the others disappointing. I was picturing a cute little fishing village, not a fish farm that we stopped to look at from the shore. There was no view from the stop on the mountain, which our guide told us was normal, and the waterfall was very, very small. If you have time to kill and want a day out of the city you might consider it, but go knowing the temple is the only really interesting stop.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2011

Gigi was great, but the content of the tour could have been better. I had particularly chosen this tour as I wanted to see the fishing village. However this turned out to be just standing on the waters edge looking out to where a few boats were moored. Very disappointing. I found the tour to be very expensive and the lunch was bland.

Rhonda O
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

We weren't leaving until the evening so decided on this half day tour. I must admit it wasn't really what was advertised. It consisted of stopping at the scheduled "places of interest" usually for only a few mins as this is all they warranted, then get back on the bus and driving to the next one. There were no "colourful stalls" to look or shop at, the bird sanctuary consists of an island with some local birds that you can barely see and the fishing village is just a walk down a pier. You can't even see the submerged fish breeding cages as they're submerged! We were the only ones of a group of 9 that opted for lunch, we were dropped off at a restaurant more like a senior citizens club and collected about an hour later, the food was nice though. If you want to get out of the hustle and bustle of the city, this is a decent enough option but for interesting sites I would say no. We have booked several Viator tours over several countries and this is the first one that I would not recommend.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

The tour was good, the tour guide was fantastic, the lunch was terrible.

Gary P
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

I thought the brochures wrote it up better then the actual trip is, but it's still ok!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

A nice tour if you don't have much time in Hong Kong and would like to see the more greener and villages outside the busy city. A lot of stopping and staring, more time on bus than looking around. Would not go again.

NICHOLAS T
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2009

It was an interesting tour that showed a different side to the hustle and bustle of the island.

Robert W
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2009

Too much to try and see in too little time.

Ruth H
Switzerland

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2009

The tour itself is not of much interest.

Jeffery B
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2008

We were not impressed with the rural areas. Things appeared to be neglected and run down. There was not much to see at the floating fish farm village. Environmental habitats and other nature areas were not very significant. The temple visit was quite good, and the commentary regarding social and living arrangements was quite informative.

Patricia H
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2008

Tour guide was entertaining, but the tour was mainly viewed from the bus. Nice scenery, but could be more interactive!

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2008

Can't really comment too much on the trip as it absolutely poured with rain and was freezing so we avoided getting out of the bus. The temple was fantastic but the rest was average.

Diana S
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2007

It was alright but a bit boring for people under 25.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

Was not worth the mone

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2011

This tour was quite disappointing and expensive for what it entailed. The guide was ok but the stops were brief and some of the features mentioned were viewed from the bus or only had very brief stops. The lunch was average and definately not worth it for the vegetarian selection - there was no option for plain fried rice as they added meat, even though they had adequate time to prepare.

Jaap R
Netherlands

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2011

I was on time at the meeting point, but nobody showed up. I called, but the agency was not prepared to do anything about it. Do not book this!

Note from Viator: Note from Viator: Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your tour. We have contacted the tour company and have addressed your concern with them. Thank you for helping us ensure the quality of our tours.

From USD $ 110.74

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3675TLB

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message