4.5 star rating: Recommended 246 Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
  • Location: Istanbul, Turkey
  • Duration:  8 hours (approx.)

Read what other Viator.com travelers think about the Istanbul Shore Excursion: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour. What they loved, what they liked and what they think could be improved, it's all here to help you make the most of your next trip.

Click here for tour details, schedule and pricing

Viewing All 246 Reviews What's this?
Sort By:
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was superior to others on our cruise excursion list. Our tour leader was informative, helpful, and delightful. Our other tours were marred by late departures, late arrivals, excessive numbers of people on the tours. None of that occurred on this tour. The walking was a bit much for a couple of people in our group so perhaps that should be made clear up front by Viator.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Good tour guide, Actually. Informative

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This as a very good tour. It was a bit difficult finding the guide off the dock as there were so many in a small space. I held up my printed reservation and he found me! The guide was knowledgeable and answered questions. He gave us plenty of time in each stop to wander around and take pictures. As most of the sites are in 1 area there is a considerable amount of walking. It is flat but I have arthritis and asthma and had a bit of a problem keeping up at few times (but I made it!) We were there on a Friday. The Blue Mosque is closed for prayer until 2:00 so there was quite a line to get in but it moved rather quickly. He usually likes to do it first on other days, which would have cut down on the walking. The lunch was very good. After visiting the Grand Bazaar some people wanted to get off the bus and visit the spice market and other areas and he was ok with letting them off the bus.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Knowledgeable, friendly. Omar gave us a really comprehesive tour .

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We on Celebrity Reflection with an overnight stay in Istanbul. Since this tour was on our first day, there was no worry about not making it back to the ship. This compared well with excursions available from Celebrity, but this was almost half the price. We were a much smaller group and saw other traveler from our ship at many of the same places, but with a less personalized tour. Meeting location was easy to find. My only gripe was the carpet demonstration, which seems to be a part of every tour. It reminds one of the pressure sales for timeshares. None in our group bought a carpet.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very organized and the guide was knowledgeable and kept his group together. The lunch was also very good.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was fantastic.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very nice excursion! Our tour guide was nice and very well informed! He spoke beautiful english, and you could tell he loved his country. Top rate!!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I loved our guide, Derya, and it was great to be able to skip the lines because everything was very crowded! I would recommend this tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I recommend everything about this tour: punctuality, number of people, size and kind of bus used, the places visited and, most important, a knowledgeable and nice guide. The lunch food was not very good but it solved our lunch need. Also, the price was fair for the service received. Thank you very much!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

excellent guide very knowledgeable and courteous, good rappor with the group. good group size and stress free tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Tour guide was outstanding. Very knowledgeable and personable. Well worth the time and money.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour guide (Hakan) was on time. The tour lasted longer than expected which was good. We saw an additional attraction and were very pleased to have it added. It was great to be able to "jump" the lines as we had a guide. I wouldn't have had the time to see all the things we did if it weren't for our guide. He was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Guide Ada was very pleasant and extremely knowledgable. She knew how to get us where we needed to be most efficiently, told us all we needed and wanted to know in the short, one day tour. Meeting the tour after getting off the ship was easy and well organized.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We were on the Celebrity Reflection and picked this shore excursion because I had used Viator in the past and was very satisfied. As soon as we were off the ship at the port, the Viator signs were visible and we got checked in and taken by the tour company. It was a van which sat no more than 12 people and very comfortable.
Our guide, Omar, was so knowledgeable, interesting, and made our tour much more worthwhile. We were taken to all the important points of interest. There was a Turkish lunch included, which was very good. My husband, who is extremely picky, really enjoyed it as well as everyone in my party of four. It was a quaint restaurant with Turkish lamps all over the ceiling, a wonderful experience.
We highly recommend this tour because of the criteria, our guide Omar, the fact that it is a small group setting and worth the price.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Great tour and great tour guide.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour showed us all of the big sites in the city in a very limited amount of time. Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable about history as well as current events in Turkey. Since we had an extra half day in Istanbul our guide gave us excellent recommendations for how to spend our time at less touristy locations.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

You get to see most everything. The ride through the town is very interesting.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Enjoyed tour. Guide knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Lunch in Turkey restaurant god

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Outstanding tour. This was our first trip to Istanbul. This tour met all of our expectations for a first time one day tour. Price was far better than the one offered by the cruise ship. Although we usually try to avoid trips with a meal we found the meal to be quite enjoyable rather than the usual rubber chicken that is often served. Guaranteed cruise pickup and timely return was a plus. Thank you for a great tour.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I loved the tour with only 12 people on a van, rather than a 40 passenger bus from the cruise line.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Pick up no problem, small group in minibus. Excellent guide, just enough information and free time to explore. Good lunch. Less than half the price of cruise ships similar itinerary, thoroughly recommend..

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Everything was perfect. Our tour guide, Omar, was amazing and all of our activities were great. Even lunch was terrific!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great Tour. Our guide Tibet was well organised and very knowledgeable.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Dear Sirs, Nov 11, 2013

With reference to our visit to Istanbul on Oct 19, 2013, what I would like to
say here is it was a very nice day trip and an unforgettable experience of
not only to us but also to everyone at that day, we believe.

Mr. Tour Guide, a local young man educated in USA, impressed us very
much for his solid knowledge of both about Istanbul and Turkey in the
fields of history, culture, tradition, economy, and geography etc.

Also, the lunch is a standard and nice one with three plates. So, my
rating for this tour is 5 stars without any suspense.

Should We have the new schedule for cruising at sea in future,
we would certainly again book the shore excursion programs at
your esteemed company.

Best regards.

Weicheng Gu
Lisheng Fu

From USD $ 85.00

View price calendar

Low Price Guarantee

Select Travel Date

Flexible Date Guarantee

Enter Total Number of Travelers

What's this, and can I change it?

Please note: After your purchase is confirmed we will email you a link to your voucher.
What's this?

Tour code: 3795PRTIST01

Advertisement
Advertisement

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message